paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR 2010 / Proto PMR 2010 / Proto PMR 2010 / Proto PMR 2010

Proto PMR 2010 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR 2010

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR 2010
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $449

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Redesigned for 2010. All new 3-D milling, color coded seals for simplified maintenance, and a host of other features make the 2010 Rail the gun of choice. The durable Rail solenoid features consistent airflow, and with a dwell of 18 milliseconds, you get super fast cycle speeds. The small, light Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator comes standard. The Hyper3 regulator provides high flow and smooth velocity adjustment, with non-slip grip rings. The ultimate in ergonomic comfort, the Ultralite 45 Frame with fully adjustable trigger, comes standard on the Rail. The solid construction consists of an aluminum body, bolt, Ultralite 45 Frame and trigger. We've designed the Rail with the goal of providing you with top-level performance at a reasonable price.

Features:

Two piece 14" Micro Honed proto barrel
New increased flow Hyper3 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop break beam eye system
150psi Operating pressure with boost forward
Continuous 3d contoured body
Proto dual-density injection sticky grip
Led program control with 4 tournament modes
Ultralite ergonomic 45 frame
New solenoid with increased durability and flow
Ultralite aluminum trigger
Proto on/off airport
Adjustable clamping feedneck with thumbscrew
Compact and lightweight body styling
Metal eyeplates and back cap
Comes with a durable zippered gun case, parts kit, Dye Slick Lube, and 9-volt battery to keep your paintball gun of choice at its peak level.
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR 2010 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Jdew Thursday, March 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A... First spoolie I've used
Marker Setup: Stock PMR10
Velocity Jr.
Ninja 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Wired eyes - not necessary but Ribbon eyes are prone to snapping.
Barrel Kit - Stock barrel is good but you can't match bore sizes with only one back.
Strengths: Lightweight
Smooth
Weaknesses: Efficiency!!!
Case
Review: I got this Marker in a trade and it is the first spoolie I've ever used, and I have to say I'm quite pleased with it. The marker is quite light and feals great in your hands probably due to the, now stock, UL Frame. It comes with a 14" Proto Ultralite 2 piece barrel. Barrrel is quite nice, accurate (ish?) depending on the size of the paint. I haven't got to use paint that matches the barrels bore yet so I'm not entirely sure on how good it will do. With having the barrel over bored compared to the paint, it did quite well. Frome what I read, the PMR10 is nearly identical to the PMR09 with a few cosmetic changes and the addition of colored o-rings. Since the marker is a Boost forward design, there is no LPR to mess with. Makes tuning easier. It has chopped on me once or twice. They were jsut random chops to. didnt effect anything next ball came out just fine and was just as accurate before the break. No clue why, but on occasion a ball just seems to break.

The Bad.
The efficiency of this gun is bad. Maybe thats just a spoolie thing. I can get maybe 7 pods off my 68/4500. In the scheme of things, it realy just means that you have to fill up each game. Since I dont carry 7 pods onto the field, I run out of paint before air as long as I fill up.
The case it comes with is just sad. It dosn't look as if it will do much protecting and is relativly hard to get the barrels back in the retainers. The case for my Ego was much better. But, thats probably more of a personal preference than a negative.
Conclusion: This is a really good marker. For someone who is looking to get a good mid-end marker for tourni play, I would highly recomend the PMR10. However, if it is as similar to the PMR09 as I have read, I would say buy a used PMR09 and save some $$$. The only downside I really can find is the efficiency... But if you have all day air and time between games, it shouldn't be a problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

peeshooter Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye 8, dye 9, etek, ego 3, spyder electra, vibe
Marker Setup: Stock PMR 2010
Halo too hopper
68/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Very accurate and quite. Just as good as the Dye line. Very light.
Weaknesses: None
Review: For have of the price, the Proto 2010 is just as good as the thousand dollar markers I have used. Especially when I could buy two for the same price as one of the high priced markers. Took the marker out to the field and still havent missed my targets. For my targets, I think they were still crying. (speedball and woodsball)
Conclusion: If you have around 500 dollars to spend toward your paintball marker, I recommend this one. Eteks are good but proto is now my favorite. Speed and accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2010 at 3:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Golden Brown Friday, April 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP G3, Angels, Shockers, ect.
Marker Setup: 2010 PMR w/ Dye Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel/barrel kit...
Strengths: FAST
Ligthweight
Very comfortable
Air efficiency
UL Frame
Weaknesses: None really... It's a Matrix so it needs a lot of lube/maintenance.
Review: I've played in 2 tournys with this gun so far and we took first in both of those. I've probably put well over 10 cases through it and I haven't chopped any since it started warming up this year, so the broken balls were probably a result of the cold weather, and even then it was only 3 or 4 broke / case. The last tourny and past 3 practices I have not chopped once and I have achieved a very high k/d (kill/death) ratio that is in large part credited to the "God Factor" that this gun emits... The "God Factor" seems to be highly contagious to all those that come in contact with the 2010 PMR. Now that the 2010 PMR's have the UL frame there's not a lot that sets them apart from the DMs, except about $500 in price difference... Oh but it is a matrix so it is necessary to occasionally take the bolt out and lube it a lot, because matrix's are crazy about lube - it makes them work or something like that.
Conclusion: I'm not going to tell anyone to buy anything... but if you do purchase a 2010 PMR and use it for playing paintball AND as long as winning is a part of your intentions, you will be VERY satisfied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stunna1835 Friday, October 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: 2010 UL Proto Matrix Rail
Black
Hatred board
CP 2 piece barrel
Dye Rotor w/ Exalt speed feed
CP 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-the stock barrel is good for a stock barrel but not as accurate as it could be. Its more of a personal preference on how accurate you want your gun.
Eyes-the ribbon eyes are to easy to break
Strengths: Amazing accuracy
Pretty light
Weaknesses: Effieciency-only get between 8 and 9 pods out of it
Review: Before I bouught my Rail, I tried out so many different guns, trying to see which one that fit me best. I tried out Ego's, Proto's, and Shockers but i just could not turn away from the Rail that I tried out. So i went and bought one from my local store and could not be happier. The weight and the size of it were the first things i noticed right out of the box. The week after I recieved the Rail I used it in a tournament and it shot amazingly. yea there was a jump in velocity but once the reg was broken in it was great. The only downside with this gun is its effiecieny. On average I can only get about 8 or 9 pods out of it, but other than that this is an amazing gun for a mid level tournament player or above. And the Hatred board jsut makes it shoot even better since you can customize your modes to what you want.
Conclusion: Overall this is a good, solid gun that is perfect for anyone already in tournament paintball or who has already started.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elitesmurf Friday, May 14th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm5, pm7, 03 shocker sft,
Marker Setup: 03 sft shocker, rotar, guerilla tank 68-4500, stiffi barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
VIRTUE, to me the switch felt alot more resistant than most protos i have shot, maybe a techt bolt for better air efficiency
Strengths: Light weight, the ultralight frame is very comfortable, quiet, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Efficiency and it has a stiff trigger.
Review: So i have been using proto's since i started paintball, this is an ok gun, i have always trusted proto as a very accurate and ependable gun. Only thing is you have to remember to LUBE BOLT!!! this is a must. As compared to all the other ultralight trigger frames i have used this one had a stiff switch wich may work its way in over time i will find out. All in all this is an ok gun for the price.
Conclusion: Ok gun minor tweaks and you will be on your way :)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WARPARTY ROCKS Friday, August 24th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar. but have used other mid grade markers.
Marker Setup: PMR10, Dye Rotor and Empire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Wired or lazer eyes if you dont like ribbon eyes.
-Just adjust the trigger the way you like it and it will serve you well.
Strengths: -Barrel
-Board
-Grips
-speed
-Light
Weaknesses: -Eyes
-macro line fittings
-kind of a gas hog
-Bolt..
Review: When you first pick it up, it feels amazing in the hands, super smooth and light, barley to no kick whats so ever. this gun will keep up to higher ends. has some wicked colors. the only thing that really bothers be about the gun when i first got is was the bolt. 2nd time cleaning the gun i tried taking the bolt out and the threads are sharp and cut a Oring on the bolt. but after you get to know more about the marker you will be cleaning it with no problem, i lube the threads to so maybe that will help you prevent losing a Oring. and my field will only fill up to maybe 3200 PSI so i almost need to fill each 3 games or so. never really got a full fill so i cant really say it is a gas hog. but from my POV i dont like how i fill almost all the time. but you are getting a bit more for what your paying for. Packaging by Dye, support by Dye. futures by Dye. but not saying its the best marker for the money. There is still the Etek line, Axe and mini to choose from in my opinion.
Conclusion: I would buy this marker again for the right money. 200 would be a steal 300 is a good decent price for it since it is from 2010. still competes TODAY. better quality then the original Proto rail 2011. all i have to say. BUY it if its for the right price. give it a full 8. just from nit picking the eyes and never came with the UL barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kegr00214 Friday, July 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tricked out smart parts ion (wast of time)
dangerous power g3
dye dm7
ego 07
Marker Setup: 2010 proto matrix rail
cp drop forward
dye rotor
pure energy 88 cu 4500 psi hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i seam to be the only one who still likes drop forwards.
a barrel kit seems to be a good plan
techt l7 bolt
Strengths: lightweight
fast
Simple(stupid proof)
Fast
Pretty accurate
No chopping
Weaknesses: Banner eyes week and hard to remove to clean
Semi clamp feed neck
Review: the majority of my paint ball experience has been played using a smart parts ion. every so often i would get bored of it and buy an upgrade. then one day i stopped and thought it doesn't matter how much money i sink into this ion its still going to be an ion, and it just wont stack up. so off to my favorite site to look at reviews of guns within my price range. i ended up with a 2010 pmr. i am very happy with my purchase. most people complain about having to clean and grease them so much. but i take joy in doing that. most people have problems with the yellow o ring on the bottom of the bolt getting eaten. i find as long as its greased up that never happens. the only problem i have is the banner eyes. they work great and all, but they are week. in fact mine had damage on it from the factory. also i find them hard to remove to clean i am scared that i will break them if i try to force them out. the pmr 10 comes with a nice 14 inch proto UL barrel this is pretty much the best stock barrel i have ever seen but im not happy enough with it to keep it. i plan on getting a barrel kit soon in the future. also in the future i plan on getting a techt l7 bolt. this will help with air efficiency which is not bad but could be better. also the bolt will help with accuracy some.
Conclusion: All in all i am very happy with this gun i dont think anything else would have made me this happy unless i payed another 200 more at least. If it wast for the banner eyes i would have put an easy 10 of 10 but the banner eyes are quite an inconvenience and make maintenance tough. So i will have to give it a 9 of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splat7 Saturday, May 8th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm7, Dm8, Dm9, Pm7, Pm8
Marker Setup: 2010 PMR, Dye Rotor, DXS 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
*****BARREL*****
Strengths: Quiet
Appearance
Board (easy to use)
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Efficiency
Toyish
Review: I opened the case to the gun and it was laid out very nicely. case is small and it is easy to find things, proto provides you with everything you need. Appearance and packaging are excellent.

As I go over the gun the trigger seems almost like plastic...maybe it needs to be adjusted more, but it is nothing like the UL trigger on dye series guns.

It is very inefficient, I can get maybe 6 pods off a full fill of a 68/45

Not too accurate, Compared to other dye series guns and to other egos it is not too accurate. This could be fixed with the addition of a new barrel.

TOYISH!!!, this gun does not have anywhere near as comfortable as higher end guns. When I hold a any dm, pm, ego, macdev gun, etc...i feel like I am holding a paintball gun and shooting an actual good quality paintball gun. When I hold and shoot the 2010 pmr it feels like a toy and shoots like a toy paintball gun. I dont get any where near the satisfaction with the 2010 pmr as I did with my recently sold Dm7. Although I have just recently got this gun, it can be assured that I will be getting rid of it within two months.
Conclusion: Overall, the gun is a good starter gun...but if you are a serious tournament player I suggest to get a used Dm7 or Ego 07 instead. I recommend this gun to players who are just starting out tourney ball and have the little extra cash to buy something new and easy to use. I would not suggest this gun to players who have been in the tourney ball scene for awhile, they will be dissatisfied. I will give this gun a 6/10 and that is being generous.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 8th, 2010 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media