paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR4 / Kingman Spyder MR4 / Kingman Spyder MR4 / Kingman Spyder MR4

Kingman Spyder MR4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR4

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR4
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A new milsim tactical marker by Kingman Spyder with new EKO valve technology. This helps improve the shots per tank. It has 4 picatinny rails that offer loads of upgrades. It is a mechanical marker that comes with a stock, 12 inch tactical barrel, hopper, clamping feed neck, side cocking aluminum bolt and adjustable sights.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR4 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
nb2paintball Thursday, June 17th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr1. It is in the mr series.
bt-4 combat
cybrid
tippmann 98 custom
JT S.T.E.A.L.T.H
Marker Setup: spyder mr4 with a MR series 16 inch sniper barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
different sight
14 to 16 inch barrel.
Strengths: Accurate
powerful.
light.
milsim look, stock easily attaches. Quiet. doesnt chop paint
Weaknesses: Plastic.
Can't use expansion chamber.
Sight is a little too far from barrel
Review: The spyder mr4 is a good gun. It is light. It is accurate, i shot a tree from 50 feet away and it hit the spot i aimed at. It is powerful, nailed someone in the arm and caused a good sized welt. Also it is quiet you can hear it but it way quieter than the tippmann 98 custom. The gun is mostly plastic, but i am not really picky about that. Also you CAN NOT use the expansion chamber. And the trigger frame came loose during play. Also in my experience it has choppped paint once, only because i was stupid and forgot to clean it after a match. p.s dont use it in the snow, makes it hard to clean.
Conclusion: I love this gun, i would recommend it and it has a reasonable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 15th, 2011 at 11:10 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

AngryLlama Sunday, September 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder MR1
-BT4 Assault
-Tippman A5
Marker Setup: Its just stock so far, but i have the BT4 assault foregrip on my front rail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
really whatever you want to mount on your 3 rails.
Strengths: -Lightweight
-Accurate
-CO2 efficient
-Milsim feel
-sturdy and reliable
-INEXPENSIVE
Weaknesses: Screws tend to come loose after play time, so watch you don't lose anything.
Review: Spyder guns always tend to get a bad rap as being for begginers. i've been paintballing for quite some time now and i've found that spyders are among the most reliable guns. this quality really shines through with the MR4. This gun can take a beating and is very durable, yet it is far more lightweight than any tippman. this gun, which only cost me $200, is the best deal ive seen for a gun of this quality. The gun has 3 picatinny rails which are great for adding whatever accessory you wahnt your gun to have. it is extremely accurate, with me being able to shoot people with bursts of 3 at about 100 yards. It has a sleek milsim look and comes like that stock, so unlike a tippman, you dont have to go pouring extra money into it to make it look realistic. The next thing i have to say is about spyders new EKO valve technology. Now, im not too sure what Spyder did, but its brilliant. It claims that per 20oz. tank, you can get off 1800 shots. I however, was using a 9oz. it got me 850 shots off before i had to refill. and for me, thats more than enough shots. if you dont have a remote feed for your CO2, a great way to loose some weight is to go with a smaller Co2 tank on this gun, unless yopu plan on going trigger happy.
Conclusion: Spyder has outdone themselves on this one. if you arent willing to spend large quantities of money into a tippman then BUY THIS GUN. if you want an easy gun to disassemble and clean, then BUY THIS GUN. if you want to have a useful and amazing gun, BUY THIS GUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buck Dirty Tuesday, July 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1, MR3, and Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder MR4 with MR1 barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good foregrip.
Strengths: Accurate, lightweight, consistent, reliable, and powerful.
Weaknesses: It has a plastic feed neck.
Review: I have been playing paintball for close to seven years now. My first gun was an old talon ghost I bought at a yardsale. Since then I've had a few brass eagle and tippmans but none were as good as my spyder markers. Mechanical markers are my personal preference since I mainly play woodsball and scenarios and my MR1 and MR4 have treated me very well. The MR4 is accruate and lightweight and pretty resilient. My only concern with this gun is the fact it has a plastic feed neck. I get worried every time I go sliding or diving into cover that it's going to break.
Conclusion: Very good gun for newcomers or veterans in paintball. Plenty of ways to upgrade and customize this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toddhunter Tuesday, December 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Syndicate Misfit, Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Stock except for hpa tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Have not gotten that far
Strengths: Solid, works well, son loved the look, reliable, doesn't chop balls, shoots straight.
Weaknesses: Slow firing, screws need tightening, scoring on upper bolt after use, requires screwdriver to fieldstrip.
Review: Son got this for Christmas. The gun is clean, well build and feels very solid. Its a bit bulkier so which I like so yo don't feel like you are carrying around a toy.

First the drawbacks: my son says the single trigger is slow firing. After a day on the field several screws were loose and needed to be tightened - lose enough that the grip was twisting slightly from the body. I clean the guns after each day of use and I noticed on both this and the MR1 there has scoring on the front of the top bold. Way more than I would have expected for a single day of use. I don't know it this effects the performance and whether it was from lack of oiling at the factory or design. I oiled it well and will check again later. Cleaning requires a regular screwdriver to remove the bolt so that could come into play if you have to work on it in the field. All the other guns we have are toolless

Took it out yesterday and he had blast. First off my son, 18, shoots a LOT of balls. We went through over 4000 - 5000 balls between the 3 of us and he shot more than his brother or I. Never chopped a ball all day long on hpa. Even thought he shot more balls we did seem to use less air, which is the claim to fame for the MR4. He has a remote line but the gun is light enough with the 3000psi hpa tank attached to the gun that he preferred to play with the bottle attached to the gun.

We went through 4 kinds of balls, Marbleizers, JT, Spyder and field paint. The lady at Twisted PB in Conroe was very nice because it was our first time there and let us use JT and Spyder cause they were gifts even though they were not field approved. My son said the Marblelizers flew noticeably straighter than the other three, the JT being the worst.

Drawbacks: Single trigger, slow firing. After a days on the field several screws were loose and needed to be tightened - lose enough that the grip was twisting slightly from the body. I clean the guns after each day of use and I noticed on both this and the MR1 there has scoring on the front of the top bold. Way more than I would have expected for a single day of use. I don't know it this effects the performance and whether it was from lack of oiling at the factory or design. I oiled it well and will check again later. Cleaning requires a regular screwdriver to remove the bolt so that could come into play if you have to work on it in the field. All the other guns we have are toolless
Conclusion: Would definitely recommend this marker. Its solid, shoots straight, doesn't chop balls. What more can you ask for on a day of pb.

For new purchasers I would tighten the screws and oil the upper bolt before first use. Otherwise a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XmunchaX Monday, December 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder R/T, Project Salvo, also have 2 ions and a indian creek
Marker Setup: Still stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and maybe some internals for a quieter noise
Strengths: Look, feel, price.
Weaknesses: The stock isn't collapsable
Review: i have been playing for a while and go just about every weekend and but love woods ball over speed ball and never have owned a true woods ball gun and loved to see how people have moded the MR1's and once this came out i knew i wanted it for X-mas which my wonderful GF got for me. I am in love with this thing and can't wait to really break it in and make some upgrades to it.
Conclusion: This is a perfect gun for starters and beyond even more so for woods ball....i will be posting pics once i get my new barrel and stuff on the 4 system rail system that i love
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foughtwolf Saturday, June 12th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first venture into the .50 calibre(And my last.)
Marker Setup: Punishers built Unibody Phantom.

Rainmaker with many modifications(Punishers frame adaptor, Palmers LPR, UTB, Lapco Autospirit, Freeflow 90* frame.)

Nelspot Challenger II.

2003 Viking(Blind.)

K-framed PGP2.

PGP.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy it in a six pack, one wont last a day of play.
Strengths: Its strengths include, frankly, very little. More about this later on.
Weaknesses: Terrible build quality, More on this later.
Review: When I think Kingman, I generally thing low-end entry level markers, its what they have always done in a consistent and good manor. This Mr4, as it is called, is a terrible excuse for a marker. When I saw how the bolt is also the cocking knob, I had hope, as the old spyders used this setup, and was hoping maybe the build quality had returned, but I was wrong.

Build quality(Or lack thereof.): First Looks.
Under a mediocre milsim stlye coating, you will find a purebred piece of scat not word the name Kingman. Anywhere it was possible, its injection molded, where its not, it looks more like cast metal than anything. The valve stem looks very weak, and the cupseal was begining to deform after a single 200 round hopper.(200 .50 cal paintballs that is.) The hammer on this one was not finished, and had a number of burs down in the oring groove, which in turn shredded orings very quickly.

Test firing the Mr4:
After a look into this marker, we decided it was time to shoot it. Keep in mind that this was a brand new MR4, never used, just unboxed earlier that day. Topping off a 13ci tank for use with this(To test some of the mythical better efficiency theories.) we ventured out behind the shop with 200 rounds of Premium grade .50. I was not shocked to see this had zero accuracy after about 30 feet of travel downrange upon firing, I was, however, surprised when I saw that is velocity was a hair over 370 FPS. Knowing high FPS can create erratic paint flight, we chronoed it down to a usable 300. This took a while because of major fluctuations in the FPS, sometimes 30-50 FPS variances. Eventually we had it working, at 300 FPS, we averaged a flight distance of about 1/2 to 3/4 that of a .68 caliber marker at the same FPS, again, I was not surprised. What really surpirsed me was that by the end of the test, the cocking knob had bent itself forward, because when the marker recocked, it slammed into the back of the body from overpressure in the valve. But by this time the test had ended thanks to the cupseal deforming so far it leaked badly.

The Aftermath:
Returning inside, we degassed and took the paint out of the marker, cleaned the breach of gobs of paint(Yes, it chopped a number of times.) and started taking it apart. It took a while to get the bent cocking knob out, and then the rest of the dis-assembly wasnt to hard. I was shocked to find, after 200 shots, that the hammer had a nice amount of wear on it, and the sear was already dulled, this may have been the way it came, I do not know, I didnt check the sear before firing. The valve cupseal was trashed, Ive never seen something like this from a brand new marker.
Conclusion: Steer clear of this marker, Steer clear of .50 caliber. The smoke Milsim GI tried to blow up everyone's ass is utterly and entirely false. If you have a brain in your head you will not fall for it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

darkstar3000 Sunday, October 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
US Army (Tippman); Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder MR4 (.68)
Fasta 9V Electronic Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
6-Position stock
Additional Rail system
Strengths: Looks good, fires well, and you cannot beat the price.
Weaknesses: Stock, rail system, magazine
Review: I just purchased this item September 2010. I use the weapon to train United States Army Lieutenants in warfare tactics. So it's a typical 6 vs. 28 match.

The fixed stock is just a plain horrible idea. It should have came with a collaps. stock. The rail system is subpar as it could have easier had a 4-position picatinny rail system equipped. The rail system it has on it so far is OK. The inner system is of little use as the rail system is embedded too deep to attached anything. The magazine could have been constructed to hold tools, but has no real purpose except looks.

The price you cannot beat, but if you want a better weapon with more accessories, I would go with the Tippman Phenom X7 w/o eyes. Overall better weapon. But if you are looking for casual play, this may be the weapon for you.
Conclusion: 7 out of 10 stars. You get what you pay for.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jackmr4 Thursday, April 14th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first marker
Marker Setup: spyder mr4 with a chopped stock and Remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel upgrade
red dot
collapsable stock
Remote line
Strengths: Great first woodsball marker
Weaknesses: Loud bolt action
The original stock should be changed
Sight
Review: I think its a good first woodsball marker , not to big like the tippman a5s , lots of accesories
some upgrades would be good but not esential.The mr4 really needs a different stock if you like stocks on your gun but it works fine without.The guy who sold me it had no major problems
Conclusion: If your a beginner its fine
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media