paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
recplaya Friday, October 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years230 of 247 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra: Bob long torpedo reg; 14'' Dye boomstick; bullet volumizer; shockteck spyder delrin bolt; 12v Revvie; PE 48cu/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
All that stuff up there if you have money. But really, a new barrel and a new bolt will be more than enough. Upgrading to compressed air goes without saying.
Strengths: Low end mechanical semi-automatic with tournament level capabilities after upgrades
Weaknesses: Long and tall with hopper and drop forward
Review: I initally started out in paintball with a Spyder Shutter that my girlfriend's dad let me borrow for a scenario. It was about six years old and well worn, but the thing fired like it was new. So when I went to buy a gun for myself, I looked for Kingman products because obviously they were very reliable and so upgradeable.
The Xtra was already in the "intermediate" performance level out of the box. By this, I mean that it came with basic upgrades like the drop forward and the mini x-chamber with a gas-thru fore-grip and low pressure chamber that you would have to buy aftermarket with other markers (like a Tippman). The stock barrel was also remarkably accurate because it was micro-polished and ported, and gas consumption was moderate.
As far as shooting performance and marker dynamics, the Xtra pushes it's abilities way over the amount it costs to buy it. After the first three cases, I only experienced two chops and those where my fault because I outshot my VL200 when I was spraying my backyard fence for fun. Out-of-box barrel accuracy is pretty good: my groupings were within a radius of 18 inches at about 40 feet using Blue Streak paint (which is certainly not the best, so I don't mind wasting it on a fence). The mini-X chamber seems to help keep shots consistent, but I haven't tested it beyond 10bps. I've heard of other markers freezing up in winter and that mostly occurs if they run off CO2, do not have x-chambers, and most of all if the user is trigger happy. In any case, the action on the Xtra fresh from the box is smooth and satisfying and the barrel accuracy is over par for stock. All in all, I felt that i should have payed at least three hundred dollars for it. It was that smooth and reliable.
The weakness of this gun... well... they're mostly player specific. For general woodsball and scenarios, this gun in stock version will take you all the way. Just keep the bolt and striker o-rings oiled and your barrel as well. For speedball and tournaments, however, you're going to have to change your setup. For one thing, the gun with a hopper and a tank stands about two feet tall and three feet long. This is not good in speedball where you are constantly running and sliding and crawling and leaping over bunkers. Also, having a tall gun like that increases your profile and the risk of hopper hit. The tank on a drop forward is great for a rifle-like hold, but it's awkward if you need to tuck it in for tight snap-shooting. In fact, it's kinda in the way almost. Lastly, the trigger is long... like ten times longer than the trigger pull on a mouse-clicking Angel. This is bearable if you don't mind dishing out less than ten balls a second. It's possible to play front with stock, but you're gonna wanna make some changes after you try it. But hey, I'm comparing this gun to an Angel so if this is all that's wrong with it in comparison then there really isn't anything wrong at all.
Everything has weaknesses, so that's why there are upgrades. As I said, if you only go ballin' once a year or so, stick with the stock.
If you are more recreational and go to every other scenario, I recommend you upgrade the barrel first, then the bolt. My first upgrade was a PMI 14'' Razzor in black anodizing that matched the blue on my Xtra perfectly. It noticeably improved the range and precision of my shots compared to the stock barrel. I bought it for around 60 dollars at the time, so it should be cheaper now. Of course, a boomstick or teardrop would perform better than the razzor. Secondly, a new bolt will help with gas conservation and shot consistency. In woodsball, this setup will let you exchange fire with anyone evenly, so you can concentrate more on honing your skills than complaining about marker inefficiencies.
Now if you're planning to play in tournies, sup'air ball and such, and you want to make a point to everyone that regular mechs in the right hands can play evenly with Angels and Cockers (or you simply can't afford or refuse to buy an electric marker), not only will you need the barrel and bolt upgrades, but you will also need to switch to compressed air, replace the drop forward for a cradle and a revvie at least. Understand now that the majority of people who play in speedball have electronic markers that can shoot over 13bps and are more willing to expend more ammunition to hit you. The Xtra can't keep up with that speed, so you will need to be able to hit them in one or two shots before you duck behind your bunker to avoid the 13 balls that they squeezed off in one second. Commonly, one guy will keep a constant hail of shots on you to make you afraid to poke your head out while his/her buddy sneaks around to bunker you from the side. In other words, your best bet with the Xtra or any mech is to be godly fast and accurate with a good head for strategy. If you can do that, rock on. It's not impossible, just a different style of play (i.e. spray and pray versus position and precision). Don't be intimidated, practice will pay off. It's not the Angel that hit you, it's the guy using the Angel who hit you. Expensive guns will let you shoot faster, but only practice will let you land your shots better. Well, that and a really good barrel, but that goes without saying.
In my opinion, I think the Xtra is best suited for woodsball and beginner's level tournies. However, that is not to say that the Xtra can also be very effective in speedball, but only after the upgrades and a good barrel. I play airball and hyperball with this marker (upgraded as noted before) and I have no problems taking on teams who use high end markers. We all shoot the same, but they shoot faster. That's all that's different. Who gets shot out depends on who makes the first mistake, not who has a more expensive marker. I can't stress the importance of the barrel quality enough. I know by experience that an upgraded Xtra can hold its own against the high end guns, or else I would have just given it a bad review just "cuz it's a spyder" and said to just save up for an Angel. Just use more strategy than paint. If you like to use more paint than strategy, then this or any other mechanical marker is not for you.
Not to gloat or anything, but it is rewarding to see the look on people's faces when you win a match on a field of cockers and angels and they find out later that all you had was a simple mechanical spyder.... Get the upgrades. After that it's all you, baby.

Post Comment: 10/21/05
It's been a while since I last posted. Just to let everyone know, the Xtra for which I wrote this review 2 years ago is still the very same one I bring to every scenario game. This makes almost 5 years of harsh, battlefield use.

When it takes a dive with me it's not into a soft, colorful inflatable bunker balloon; it hits the dirt -- HARD -- Through tree limbs, fallen branches, thick brush, sand, rocks, other people in the way, etc. Maybe if I spent a thousand bucks on it (or maybe if it was a thousand bucks my parents gave to me like so many of you rich kids) I'd be more careful with it.

I'd like to see someone treat their beloved $1K electronic marker like an M1 Garand through Omaha beach on D-Day. I know for a fact the Tippys can (steel > aluminum). My Xtra can.

Can you?


Other, less exciting, Post-comments:
1) a lot of folks say that the mini x-chamber does nothing. Well, that'll be true if you try to machine gun it off of CO2. But if you're not trigger happy the mini x-chamber does its job. I like that fact that the Xtra came stock with at least a mini x-chamber, unlike the Tippmans and Piranhas (of this class) which come stock without it. (Tippmans are extremely rugged, however, and can suffer liquid C02 much better than any other marker I've seen.) The x-chamber on the Xtra will do its job until you can upgrade to either nitro or a bigger x-chamber. Seeing people screw a C02 tank directly to their markers without an x-chamber or, even worse, without even a bottom line just makes me cringe because all that freezing C02 expands right into their valves and blows right into their strikers creating frost and eventually it freezes.... In any case, switching to compressed air will prevent any of these problems from occurring, plus your velocities become more consistent, plus your shot groupings improve,.... (it's wonderful, get it as soon as you can afford it if you're even half serious about the sport).
2) some people complain about the cobalt blue anodizing (except the people who managed to get the apple green while it was still in production). It doesn't really matter what color your gun is in a tourny. In woodsball having a shiny gun makes it difficult to blend in with the territory. Personally, though, I haven't ever had a problem with staying hidden with my Xtra. If you're still paranoid about it, just camo wrap the gun -- not a big deal.
Conclusion: This is one of the best models Kingman has out to date in the semi automatic category. Stock version brings already intermediate level performance, and the right upgrades (which abounds for Spyder parts in stores everywhere) will allow you to exchange fire with any Cocker and or Angel almost equally. It's not the gun, but the person behind the gun that makes the game. I respect all who have put forth effort in customizing their markers, no matter what it is.

Post Comment 12-19-03
Kingman has two newer models out: a blow back Rodeo and a hybrid blowback Fenix. I said that the Xtra is "the best" model Kingman has "to date", but dates change and people come up with newer better things. I've been watching the reviews for both for some time now on this site and it seems that the only problems are that they require some tinkering out of the box, nothing major. In my opinion, they look better and that's about it, but read the reviews on them and decide for yourself. And don't pay much attention to the rating because there were some really stupid bashing reviews posted by retarded people who are full of crap. (the Fenix should've had a nine-point-something but some idiot gave it a one because he said that he shot a "a ref in the balls" and then his mask "grew wings..." I think that review got pulled, though, because I can't find it anymore.

Post Comment 10-20-04
Kingman has changed the milling on the receivers of the newer Xtras as well as the anodizing, although I think they're doing that on all of their guns. The Xtra now comes in a deep blue color compared to the cobalt blue that my version came in. The receiver looks almost the same as a Fenix or Imagine Select. It's trendy, but I'm assuming everything else performs the same. Seeing as to how there are new markers out, I'm going to drop my initial rating from 10 to 9 just to keep with the times as I am sure that the Rodeo and Fenix are superior in some way. I can't confirm because I've never used them, so check the other reviews and decide for yourself. As it is, the Xtra is far from becoming out-dated.

Post Comment 11-17-04
I just recently got a question about the Xtra's performance in winter. Expect velocity spikes if you're running off of CO2 without any form of anti-siphon or remote line. In winter it's not unusual to have a range of +/-20fps if you have an unregulated air source. It's not really the marker's fault, it's the behavior of CO2 gas under cold temperatures. Take precautions to prevent this inconsistency, or simply upgrade to HPA with a good regulator.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2005 at 12:32 am PST
I found this review  
73 Comments - Add Comment

Nealske Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year102 of 108 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun T.E.S. ~ Awesome, one of the best electro markers under $300.
Spyder Victor II~ Great, just like Xtra, except Xtra has more features.
Tippmann 98 C~ Real good to get as beginner/ upgrading.
Spyder Pilot ACS~ May be the best electro by Kingman. I might get one myself.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra-
14" Smart Parts Progressive barrel-
Chrome Shocktech Regulator-
32* Micro guage-
Dead On Paintball Bullet drop-forward-
32* 200 rnd. hopper-
20 and 14 oz. CO2 tanks (anti-syphoned)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, thats it.
Strengths: Durable and well made, x-chamber is great, pretty accurate with stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Not many, only one I can think of is hopper is tall.
Review: Spyder Xtra, very sweet. I got it new out of the box well made, shiny, and ready to play. It was loaded with features, some that are non-sense, but mainly good things for a marker. The Expansion Chamber is probably my favorite feature, reducing the amount of liquid CO2 into the gun. This allowed me to play without it freezing up, and having accurate shots. The Low Pressure chamber is also a must for many guns, also included with the Xtra. I am very happy with this marker, it is just a little shiny for woodsball, which was the first type of game I played.

The only problem I ever had with this marker was when I had a trigger frame screw come out. This had happened during a good game of mine. The gun was fine until I had held it by the x-chamber, giving gravity to the trigger. The trigger frame didn't come off, or even have a gap between the gun. What happened was that the frame had slightly then been pulled a little from the striker, giving it a full-auto type situation. Balls were chopping and paint was everywhere, the only thing I could do is push the frame back onto the gun. Giving this lecture, take note- TAKE CARE OF YOUR MARKER, OIL IT, AND MAKE SURE SCREWS ARE TIGHT ALWAYS !!

The Xtra may very well be the hottest mechanical around. The price is outstanding; you usually don't see a grand marker at cheap price ever. The overview of Xtra is top notch. It uses a venturi bolt, for those evenly aired shots. For those that want something cheap, fully upgradable, and has great stock items... need I say more?- go Xtra. The grip on the trigger is very durable and not flimsy. It keeps you a good grip. The feel is grand, and the stock drop is not bad what so ever. You may want to upgrade the drop forward if your a person like me, where you like the gun close to you. Alas, the great Dead On Paintball Drop Forward is the perfect accessory for marker huggers. This gun does not chop. Rarely, if your gun is very horizontal, it may chop. A quick clean it is. This gun definately doesn't need an electronic hopper even though it is a mechanical marker. In fact, if you want a reliable electro marker, just by a Kingman trigger frame, (which most are compatible with any kingman gun, and it saves you from buying a new marker. An electro Xtra is about as pimp as it gets (except the Evil Pimp.)

For the best way I think to keep your gun accurate as well as keeping it at a good ball speed (about 250-280) is getting a regulator. These great upgrades keep a consistant air flow every shot, so no extra air is waisted, or too few of air released. Upgrading to a Shocktech Regulator is what I did, and although it was slightly pricy, it delivered the results I put my money into. All I have to do is adjust the screw on my reg for my air consistancy once after shooting at the crono, and my air shoots the same shots EVERY time. I have been playing for 18 months, and I get the same ball speed everytime I go to the crono. All you need with a reg is anti-syphoned CO2 tanks, (if you use CO2) and the reg works it's magic.

The gun's frame is great. Everything is perfect on this marker. It is very comfortable, and gives great performance. Having that said, the Xtra is a great marker in all catagories. Yes, the stock barrel is fairly accurate. After time, though, when you play games,(like airball)and you get out because your paint just barely missed the opponent, you get anxious for a new barrel. Thus, I recommend the Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel. It delivers the accuracy you want, and it's Smart Parts, one of the best paintball products out there.
Conclusion: Get this gun, because you will be wishing you did when you see it, (believe me, you'll eventually see one around.) This gun is very durable and gives performance unlike any other from a mechanical marker (not electronic.) The only thing you will need is a new barrel, and your set to go. It gets a 10 because there is no other mechanical marker better than it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 10th, 2005 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ShockdUpCocker Tuesday, April 24th, 2001
 
73 out of 81 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Gun is nicely weighted, great anodizing job, easy adjust velocity, comes ready to fire right from the box. Everyone complains about the barrel but it's pretty good for a stock barrel. Any Spyder seems to have an unusual kick that keeps you from a good rate of fire, I don't know why but this is great to fire bursts plus constant in. I currently have about a $900 ShockTech Autococker and this gun for $170 does a good job comparing to it for a fraction of the cost. I also like that it comes with the vertical feed adjustable feed extender rather than making you look for one. I fired about 100 constant shots to put the vertical feed to the test and it never skipped a beat. Anyone thinking of getting the Shutter PLEASE GET THIS INSTEAD!!! You won't be sorry and instead of the TL+ spend the extra $10, for it you get Vertical Feed, and awesome two tone anodizing job, and a much better barrel which even has an o-ring to seal it with a muzzle break like a Boomstick. Waht i love is this takes Dye Sticky grips and any other 45 frame grip, stock is comes with a great rubber one though!
Weaknesses: The gun is a little tall and if you have a 20 oz and not much paint left it can be a little unbalanced. The drop forward's paint job is a little short of the rest of the anodizing quility but still looks great. Other than those few minor problems every gun has, this is about as good as you can get.
Conclusion: Everyone will probaly asking what the specs that are different are so here they go:
-Vertical Feed!
-2nd Gen Venturi Bolt
-Chrome Beavertail (looks awesome)
-Comes with macroline hose and drop forward
-12" Micro-Polished Muzzle Brake Barrel
-Gas Thru-two toned fore grip
-45 frame with rubber wrap around grip
-New cocking grip
-Wrench free velocity adjustment nob
and a few other small things

This gun is awesome and not only just for the price, you should get it over any other $150-$250 semi-auto and i've had most of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

cmorris326 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years48 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I work at a paintball store and have a chance to fire every gun we have. All these guns were fired straight out of the box.

Spyders- I have fired every spyder on the market, and found the Xtra was one of the best. There were only two guns that outperformed the Xtra and they were the Fenix and the Rodeo. Another thing i find is that the Xtra is always compared to the Shutter. Honestly the Xtra is a much better gun than the Shutter. It out performs in accuracy and distance, both are double trigger semi autos so the rate of fire depends on the person. The only thing the Shutter has over the Xtra is a gauge but a gauge is just there it doesn't help performance.

98 Custom- Very good gun but the stock barrel is terrible. Don't get me wrong the 98 Custom is a good gun but the Xtra is better out of the box.

View loaders- Ok but they didn't compare with the Xtra

Piranhas- Good but the Xtra was still better

Brass Eagles- I wont dignify myself with a response to that
Marker Setup: Gun 1.)Spyder Xtra
ESP Trigger Frame- Black
16 inch Smart Parts All American Barrel
Shocktech Super Fly Long Bolt
Shocktech Spyder LPC- Silver
Lapco Spyder Feed Neck-Blue
Dye Spyder Sticky 3 Paintball Grip – Black
Ricochet Apache LED Motorized Paintball Loader – Smoke
Custom Products Grip Regulator – No Gauge Port Paintball Fore grip – Pewter
Dye Mini Gauge 1500psi
AVI Microline Hose Kit Universal – Black
Kingman Java Preset N2 Tank - 48ci 3000psi
Dead On Pro Blade with On / Off Drop Forward – Silver

Gun 2.) Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
Car Stock
Ricochet AK
*I perfer the Xtra for close to midrange combat and the tippmann for mid to far range combat. I don't recomend this gun for snipers. Get a Tippmann with a Flatline if you want to snipe.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Barrel- stock barrel is ok but just like most stock barrels it needs to be replaced. I find Smart Parts products are the best. Or if you want to put out a little more money you can get a barrel kit or Dye Ultralight.

New Bolt- I recomend a Superfly

For Speedball- an Electro grip(but not the Rocking Trigger Frame)


Strengths: Accurate
Distance
Looks
Price
Not picky with paint
Reliable
Weaknesses: Color-a little bright for woods ball but not that bad
Slow- 7-9 bps
Review: The Xtra is a wonderful gun for many players from beginners and intermediate players. It's great for woods ball and scenario but not much good for speed ball. I would recommend this gun for anyone whether your a tournament player or rec. player, but not for anyone with prior military training. If you were in the military I recommend Tippmanns with Flat lines.

Fact- The distance you get from the Xtra is better than most semi-automatic markers it's good to about 75 feet unless an after market barrel is added on.

Fact- The Accuracy is amazing for a stock barrel. I put it on a stand and shot off 15 rounds at a target 75 feet away and all the shots were in a 24 inch grouping.

Fiction- It chops paint. I have been playing with this marker for 4 years and shot about 50,000 paintballs and have broken 4 paintballs.

Fiction- It's picky with paint. I like to test things and on my recent country outing I brought several kinds of paint and tested them in the Xtra.

RPS Marbs 1000 paintballs
500 Single Shot-(0 breaks)
500 10 round burst-(0 breaks)

RPS Premium 1000 paintballs
500 Single Shot-( 0 breaks)
500 10 round burst-(0 breaks)

RPS Big Ball 1000 paintballs
500 Single Shot-( 0 breaks)
500- 10 round burst-(0 breaks)

View Loader I-balz 1000 paintballs
500 Single Shot-(0 breaks)
500 10 round burst-( 0 breaks)

Brass Eagle Paint 1000 paintballs
500 Single Shot-( 0 breaks)
500 10 round burst-(2 breaks)

DBX(this is some unknown brand i found at Wal-Mart) 1000 paintballs
500 Single Shot-(0 breaks)
500 10 round burst-(0 breaks)

As you can see the cheap brass eagle paint was the only paint to break. You can also see that the Xtra is not paint picky it only chopped 2 out of 6000 paintballs but everyone hopefully knows not to use brass eagle paint.

Fiction- Maintenance is a problem. This gun does require some maintenance but what gun doesn't? All you have to do is oil it after every use and keep the inside free of whatever might be in there.

Fiction- It breaks easily. This is a problem that most people think of spyders. They will not break if you take care of them. As you can see I have had mine for 4 years and it has had only one problem. One of the o-rings on the venturi bolt broke but Kingman gives you extra so all you have to do is replace which takkes bout 15 seconds.

Fact-It is a tall and long gun with the hopper and co2 tank. True it is but it's not that bad because normal people will be aiming for you not the gun, but it will stick out a little when your taking cover behind a small object.

Fact- It is a very slow marker for speedball. You'll get 7-9 b.p.s. tops. This is because the trigger pull is very long. Though you can upgrade to an elecric frame and get about 13-15 b.p.s. tops. Then you can get a new bolt and get about 17-19 b.p.s. tops.

Conclusion: Overall this is a wonderful gun for beginners and intermediate players. It is good for Scenario and Woods ball. Whether your playing in a tournament or just for fun it is a reliable and good gun. There are some flaws ( the ones mentioned the Review Body) but the good clearly outweighs the bad. I give this gun a 9 because it's a performer for its price
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 at 5:13 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

pbbeaver Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tl+ Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: Stock Xtra, 200 rnd hopper, 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Really could use a new barrel.
Strengths: This gun is good right out of the box - just open and go.
Weaknesses: The color is not good for woods games - barrel needs help.
Review: I'm a "woods" baller - and this gun only comes in two shades of blue - but seeing as this marker comes with a few extras, and is very well priced a $90 - I bought it anyway. So far I have not been dissapointed - it has a lot of nice features and the color has not given me away once. The grip, beaver tail cocking system - sight rail, and low pressure system are all very nice features. Even the "mini" expansion chamber has helped out a little - I know guys with a Stock Tippmann, and another 2 with various Brass Eagles, and this gun uses much less air.

The Barrel needs to be upgraded, but that seems to be the case with all markers, and there are some good choices out there starting at $40. Even with that said I have run thousands of balls through my Xtra and have only ever broke two balls - which were when I hade the velocity turned way down....
Conclusion: Excellent choice right out of the box - will keep you in the game until you can afford to upgrade. In which this gun is very upgradeable. Buy it today - and you'll be well on your way to many hours of PB fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

joerocket1 Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP E-Ranger
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Works great stock, but would be improved with a barrel, bigger x-chamber, Electro hopper, and electronic grip if you desire (or just buy the electro version)
Strengths: HUGE value, looks, reliability
Weaknesses: For the price I have nothing to complain about
Review: Originally retailed for $240, I got it for $85. I like it so much I even got my 2 nephews and my father-in-law to buy one and they all love them. I have had no problems with it. combining all of our guns we have played 10 days and not one broken ball. It comes with every upgrade you can get and it is very inexpensive. I actually bought it as a spare for my E-Ranger (POS--see my review) and now I use it as my primary gun because I never have to fix it. It is great.
Conclusion: Either buy this gun or buy an Omen. There are no other choices unless you want to spend $1000. It is such a great value.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 7:15 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 27th, 2001
 
26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: First off this is a great gun its worth every cent you pay for it it works rite out of the box. it has a great grip so no need to buy a dye sticky grip for it. its nice to have a external volocity adjuster for the xtra so you dont need to use a screw driver. The VF makes it load so much faster its got a great low pressure chamber that really does the job. Its a pretty cool andonizing job accept its a little to shiny and it scratches easy which doesnt really matter. Double trigger works awsome and its and easy pull. I can get 5-7 bps very easily . The deluxe drop forward is great and ir really helps the gun perform alot better. The stock barrel is very accurate for a stalk barrel. it shoots great. the paintballs do not turn and the distance is great.the barrel occasionally chops paintballs. The sight rails make it easy to hit any target and is easier than the raised sights. The rear 2nd generation cocking is easier than side cocking and its not as hard to cock
Weaknesses: The mini expansion chamber is very bad so if you were going to upgrade anything upgrade the barrel and the mini expansion chambers. The externnal velocity is cool but its not allowed in some tournaments so if you were to play in a tourment get the spring kit. The braided hose leaks for about ten seconds and i had a leak in the low pressure chamber. its hard to strip clean the gun but once you get the hang of it its becomes easier the bolts sometimes become lose but thats avery minor problem
Conclusion: this is a great gun for begginers and experts

the durability is a 9
performance 10
shooting 10
looks 10
handling 10


overall this is awsome gun !

email me if you have any questions about the gun or want if u want to no somthing

give this gun a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawace Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM 68 (Sheridan), several paintball guns before the VM-68; Spyder Imagine, Spyder Xtra 2004
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, J&J Ceramic/Teflon Barrel, Pure Energy 72 CU/3000 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J Ceramic/Teflon Barrel and an air tank
Strengths: Reliable, Accurate, Easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: The color; a green or black color is better for woodsball.
Review: I am writing this review from the vantage point of people who know little about paintball or are thinking about buying a paintball gun as a present. I started playing paintball in 1995, so I’ve been playing a little while.

First I will explain the features that the Xtra comes with:

Semi Auto Action – means everytime you pull the trigger, the gun will fire without having to be manually re-cocked (compared to a pump gun which requires a manual action)

Straight Feed System – means that the paintballs fall vertically into the paintball gun, most professional players have vertical feeds. The disadvantage is that you cannot see directly down the barrel to aim, with practice this is not a problem.

Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt – The bolt features a star pattern that evenly distributes the air around the ball to produce a more consistent shot.

Field Strippable T-Pin – The gun can be disassembled by removing one pin. The pin has a cotter pin inserted in it, so it will not accidentally come off. After you have done it once or twice, the average person can literally take the gun apart in seconds for cleaning and lubricating. There is a free video on Kingman.com that shows you have to disassemble the Spyder guns. It is amazing how simple it is.

Sight Rail with beavertail – This is the metal at the back of the gun that protects the bolt. The sight rail portion is not useful for aiming because the vertical feed blocks the view down the barrel.

Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose – This makes the air tank fit on the bottom of the gun grip and connects the air tank to the gun.

2 Finger trigger with regulation guard – The double makes it easier to rapid fire the gun because you use two fingers instead of one. The guard protects the trigger from accidental firing.

Anti-double feed – A mechanism that prevents two paintballs from being in the gun at the same time. Double fed balls are more likely to rupture.

Filter system – A filtering mechanism incase contaminants are in your air supply. (I don’t know if this feature actually exists on this gun).

12"micro-polished barrel – The barrel is 12” long and the insides are polished to a mirror finish. The Xtra has a good “stock” barrel, meaning it produces more accurate shooting. However, to improve the gun this is the feature usually upgraded first.

Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame – The gun grip resembles that of a 45 caliber Colt.

TL velocity adjuster – Velocity adjustor is located on the outside of the gun, in the rear of the gun, so that it can easily be adjusted without disassembling the gun.

Removable gas-thru fore grip – The forward grip of the gun is hollowed out to allow the air to expand to produce more consistent shots.

Mini expansion chamber – A miniature chamber under the barrel that allows the gas to expand to produce more consistent shots.

Special anodizing – The aluminum is heat treated to make the exterior harder and more durable and a dye is added for color..

Deluxe drop forward – The air tank is moved forward about 2 inches to make the gun better balanced, reducing fatigue from carrying the gun and making it easier to use.

The Spyder Xtra and the Tippmann Custom 98 are two widely used “starter” paintball guns for entry paintball players and recreational players. Both paintball guns are very upgradeable and reliable. It is like comparing a Honda and a Toyota for automobiles, both with good reputations with owners who swear by the product. The Tippmann Custom 98 lacks two features which are standard on the Spyder Xtra, the mini expansion chamber, venture bolt, and the drop forward. You can buy these upgrades for the Tippmann, but it will cost you more $$$. The Tippmann has an upgrade known as the flatline system that allows puts a back spin on the balls to shoot them further. The Tippmann is also difficult to take apart and clean. Both should be reliable as long as you clean and lubricate them.

The Xtra is shoots up to about 7 balls per second (as fast as you can pull the trigger). That means that your hopper which holds 200 balls will be empty in less than 29 seconds. There are electric paintball guns which can shoot as high as 30 balls per second, emptying the hopper in less than 7 seconds. Who really needs that fast of fire and wants to spend most of the time reloading. I am fine with the 7 balls per second. I had an electronic paintball gun, but forgot to charge the battery the night before a game, so it stopped working because the battery was dead. I learned to keep it simple to increase reliability, so I am sticking with mechanical markers now.

The faster you shoot, the more likely you are to chop balls in the paintball gun. Once this happens, the paintball is coated internally with paint from the paintball. The paint will attach to paintballs, making them fly unpredictably.

A very nice feature of the Spyder guns is that they come with replacement “O” ring and cup seal. I’ve shot 10,000 paintballs through my gun without needing to replace anything. It is a good idea to lubricate the bolt with a few drops of paintball oil after each game. Occasionally I put 3 drops of oil into the air inlet portion of my gun and dry fire it 10 times to lubricate the internals. Make sure you use paintball oil, using non-paintball oil will melt the O rings.

Another nice feature of the Spyder guns is that almost all of the O rings are the same size as the standard O ring that fits on the air tank, making your inventory of parts very simple if you ever have a problem.

I have both the Spyder Xtra 2004 and 2005 models. The primary difference between the two is the exterior, change in color from cobalt blue to shutter blue, change in the styling and a change in the drop forward. The barrel was changed from cobalt blue to silver color and the shape changed slightly. The 2005 Xtra moved an “O” ring on the bolt and left the groove on the bolt, you could put an additional “O” ring on the bolt, but I would not because you increase the number of contact points for the bolt, which may cause it to leak air. The new location of the O ring looks like a better location to ensure a proper seal. The internals of the Spyder are fairly simple compared to the internals of other paintball guns, like the Autococker.

Upgrades: Paintball players often want to upgrade their paintball guns for status, appearance and functionality. The only upgrades I have are a J&J ceramic/Teflon barrel and a Pure Energy 72 CU/3000 PSI air tank. The stock barrel is good, however, the barrel is likely the most important feature for shot accuracy. The ceramic barrel is actually an aluminum barrel coated with ceramic and Teflon. The Teflon is slicker than the aluminum and makes the barrel more efficient use of air, so that you can get more shots from your gun without having to refill your air tank. The Teflon also makes it so that if you break a ball in a Teflon barrel, firing two or three additional paintballs will usually clear the barrel. I do not know if it works because I have shot about 3,000 balls through my ceramic barrel and have not broken a ball yet.

Most players start with CO2, instead of an air tank. The CO2 tanks are cheaper, but has many draw backs. The CO2 is a liquid, so sometimes the liquid will get into your gun, freeze and destroy O rings. The problem I had with CO2 was less consistent shot patterns. The air tank will cost you about as much as a Spyder Xtra itself, but it is worth it. Almost all fields provide CO2, make sure that the fields you play at provide compressed air. I mention that almost all fields provide CO2 because a friend of mine

I bought my 2005 Xtra from Wal-Mart for $99 and recommend buying new from a store because it will come with the replacement o ring and cup seals. Many of the guns you buy from eBay might not come with those parts. I bought my 2004 Xtra on eBay for $66 (it was refurbished did not have the spare parts). I bought my Pure Energy 72 CU / 3000 PSI air tank from eBay for about $100. I bought the J&J Ceramic Barrel for $40. I stayed with the Viewloader 200 hopper, instead of a mechanical hopper because it works fine and keeps it simpler (no batteries to change). The electric hoppers sometimes make noise when you are hiding and don’t want people to know where you are hiding.

The Xtra shoots "hot" out of the box. In otherwords the gun often shoots at higher velocities than you are allowed to shoot. From a manufacturing standpoint, it is better to be high because you can cut the spring. The solution is that you cut the recoil spring with a wire cutters. I cut one "coil" at a time, reassemble, test fire to see if you can get it into the proper velocity. If not, dissassemble and cut another "coil". I cut two coils. It is not a big deal because you do it once for the life of the gun. If you upgrade to a ceramic/teflon or stainless steel barrel, the barrel will have less resistance, so yyou will definitely need to cut a spring, but it is the same with other paintball guns. If you are afraid to cut a spring, you can buy a "spring kit" for $15 with lighter springs.
Conclusion: The Kingman Spyder Xtra is a great paintball gun that I would strongly recommend to any player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 29th, 2005 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coconut18 Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Raptor- Slower, not as reliable or accurate
Tippmann 98- Better at woodsball
Autococker- Faster, more accurate, and quieter
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Xtra
*14 inch Smart Parts Teardrop barrel
*Low rise feedneck
*Halo hopper
*drop foward with on/off valve
*Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrle that is it
Strengths: *Accurate
*Cheap
*Great Starter marker
*Reliable
*Fairly Quiet
Weaknesses: * I have never experienced any weakness with this marker.
Review: I have used this marker since 2001 and I have not had any problems with it. Just make sure that if you bust some paint in it that you take the marker apart, clean it, and oil the bolt and o-rings before putting the marker back together. I have used this marker in the rain, snow, cold, heat, and the only problem was that in the snow the paint busted like crazy. (If you are going to play in the snow then get paint that can be used in the snow.) This gun is quiet, has an accurate stock barrel, reliable through everything. My friend ran over his spyder with a truck and all it did was put a few scratches on it and break the hose (Although his didn't break I wouldn't recommend running yours over just to check. Yours might break). I can hit a small tree with this gun from about 80-100 feet away.

I give this gun a 10 out of 10 because I have never had a problem with it. You just need to take care of it.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are looking for a cheap, reliable, accurate, and a fairly quiet marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Penny4You Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Clones, Tippmans
Marker Setup: 04 Autococker with all the goodies.

Stock Extra
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accurate
Gass Efficiant
Kick Isnt too Bad
Good Anno
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is very long
Hopper adapter makes it very tall
Review: Well, my father wanted to try out paintball. Asked me whats the cheapest thing he could get without looking like a total fool. Ended up getting one of these with a 20oz, and just a regular hopper plus a mask for about $120. I would be shocked if in a game he could fire even half a hopper. Treats it like each shot is gold, while im off shooting everything that twitches. I used it a few times, shocked at the quality, when it costed something like $70. Great quality. I also take care of it for him, keep it all oiled and clean. Very easy. Just pop the pin out, take out the bolt/hammer, few drops of oil, right back in. Takes 60 seconds. Never frozen up. Oh the 20oz co2 is directly screwed into the gun. Drop is worthless though, i will say that. Not sure it does anything at all. Anno is cool looking. Has yet to scratch or anything. Stock barrel is fine. You can hit a foot wide target easily at 100 feet with it in about 4 shots. Trigger pull is massive, but you can still get a good string of paint going. Kick is normal for a blow back, not any worse or better. The only thing i really hate is the hopper adapter, makes the hopper ride about 2 inches higher than what it would on something with a low rise.
Conclusion: Want to get started in this sport? This is the way to go. Screw the tippmans. This thing is half or a third of the cost. And just as good if not better. Definety more simple to operate and take care of. You can upgrade it to a delrin bolt, and even to an electro. Get a reg, and you have yourself a tourney entry marker all for the cost of a stock autococker. It runs very well off co2, i have yet to try my N2 on it. Its all metal, im sure it could take numerous falls, and even a ride out a car window on the highway and still operate just fine. Its definetly a marker made to take the beating of a new player. Im sure this will be working 10 years from now, its that good. The bolt is metal, people say "get a delrin it will scratch the body". Not true. The metal work is outstanding. I have shot it without oiling it before, and it works fine. Bolt still moves very slick inside. Very very durable marker. Defintly over-looked. People who buy a tipmman over this are making a big big mistake. For what you get at the price, its most definetly a 10. Should easily cost $150-$160. Barrel is great for a stock. And the grips are good quality too. They didnt even junk out on the grips. Thats how good this is. Impulse stock grips are aweful. And thats almost a $600 marker stock. Its not heavy either. Weight is about 3-4lb with a full hopper and 20oz. Very sturdy. BUY IT. You wont be disapointed. I promise. If your going to trust anyones advice, trust someone who uses a $1200 autococker as their main marker. This thing is defintly worth what they ask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 at 11:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media