paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator

AKA Sidewinder Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Sidewinder Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Sidewinder Regulator
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The sidewinder regulator was designed specifically for use on the Excalibur because of its extremely low operating pressure. The regulator will work extremely well on other guns as well. The design of the regulator permits the air hose to be connected to the gun in any location the user wishes within a 360 degree circle around the base of the reg, while still allowing the regulator to be externally adjusted from the bottom. The top endcap of the regulator can be replaced with different length ones to allow the user to adjust total length of the reg.
Product Availability 
The AKA Sidewinder Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
a_system Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Autococker regulator
Marker Setup: 2002 Vert feed Autococker, Dye Excel Barrel, Sidewinder Reg, Shocktech RAM, Palmer Micro Rock Pnuematic Reg, Shocktech supafly bolt, Ricochet 2k hopper.
Strengths: Let's make a little list, shall we?
1. Consistent as hell
2. Crono's at +-3 on a stock cocker
3. Externally Adjustable
4. Good Front Grip
5. Little Spinny thing helps position hose
6. Diferent Sizes
7. Does what a reg needs to, and does it well
8. Experienced players know that it's a good reg even if it doesn't look it
Weaknesses: A much shorter list...
1. Not the best looking reg
2. (there is no 2)
Conclusion: A fantastic reg! If you want to make your gun shoot at full potential and avoid hot-gun penalties then this is the reg you need. It's not as pretty as a Gen-X but it's not especially ugly. As far as consistency goes it's king, even on crappy internals it can manage to pull off a +-3 at the chrono. I would recomend this reg to anyone. And if it's price that you're worried about, then you shouldn't, all regs fall into very similar price ranges and if you get a good one then you won't need to spend more on annother later. This earns my 10, buy this reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
max-flo inling and on gun set ups, palmer stablizer, ergo/black magic regs, and hyperflow regs
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Strengths: very consistant, very low pressure, reliable, and sizes
Weaknesses: color, bottom can come off if one's not careful
Review: best reg for the autococker hands down (it you don't own a stock on) and some other guns. This is the only reg that even rivals the smartparts max-flo inline reg. the only reason the max-flo is better is because it work great with co2 along with hpa, while the sidewinder only is for hpa. the fact that the reg is so consistant at such low pressures is quite amazing. this reg should only be used for low pressure markers that need high flow regs. like...

shocker (stock reg is fine though),
impulse (stock reg is fine though) ,
autocockers (go with this reg),
aka markers (comes with this reg),
matrixes (a good choice),
and not angels (their stock reg is matched to the marker for optimum performance),

don't use it on any co2 requiring markers
Conclusion: if you've got a cocker get this reg. also (i forgot to mention) this reg comes in 3 standard lengths (short (2.8") medium (3.5") and long (4.5")). also the air inlet at the bottom is on a 360* axis so you have easy hose access. dont unscrew the or try to because if you do, your screwed. 9/10 because max-flo can handle co2
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Joker_Fl Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP ergo, black ice, Blackmagic reg, ANS reg, vigilante(if you can call it a reg), palmer, i think thats it.
Marker Setup: 2003 Autococker, custom milled body, ans ram, oracle 3-way, rhino reg, rat valve, lightning bolt, blah blah blah. Yeah the only thing wgp on this thing is the serial #.
Strengths: Consistency. This reg is by far the most acurate, reliable reg on the market.
Weaknesses: None...
Review: I bought this reg at a shop on vacation in Indianapolis, (akalmp's home town, mine too). It was before they even hit the stores, over two years ago. This thing has not given me a single hiccup since purchase. The reg posts constant velocities +,- 2fps, has an easy grip to it and is simple to operate. The hex setting on the bottom is very tight and cannot be accidently changed. (unlike ALL air-america equipment)

Compact design, easy grip, great look in nickle or black anno, and the best performance ive ever seen.

DO NOT USE WITH CO2.
Conclusion: If you've got the money, don't hessitate. If your lookin at buying something cheaper.....keep saving.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

be1498 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America Vigilante - not even close
Bob Long Torpedo - great reg, but I don't like having the input anyplace but the bottom of the reg.
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidator w/clamshell, WAS Equalizer, Sidewinder Reg, Delrin bolt, barrels, hoppers, yada yada yada
Strengths: This reg has fantastic consistency!
Weaknesses: Looks...but who cares!
Review: Most Timmy owners love the Torpedo, but the Sidewinder is my favorite. I believe the Sidewinder is the best reg I've used. It's extremely consistent and lets me mount the input hose in a way that keeps it from interfering with my grip. The input is at the bottom, and it swivels to put your hose exactly where you want it. I don't need a gauge port because my Timmy has two right above where this reg mounts.

I wasn't sure about the plain-Jane looks, but it seems to match my LPR and Volumizer pretty well, and makes a good grip.

It has no problem keeping up at high ROF, and there's no shootdown. For $83, it's not a bad deal, and has a real no-nonsense look. You can buy them in 3 different lengths to match your marker or to compensate for different size hands.
Conclusion: Get one! I'm sure you'll like it. Even though I haven't had any problems with it, there's a large amount of information at the AKALMP website.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mtbrdude Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: ICD FS8
J&J Edge kit
STD JDS lrp
AKA Sidewinder
CP Trigger
NOX board coming soon.
Strengths: VERY consistent
Swivel macro fitting
Competitively priced
Weaknesses: Only weakness is that it's hard to take apart without a trap wrench
Review: I got this for my ICD Freestyle V8. The stock regulator would have me shooting anywhere from 255-270fps over a chronograph.. the FIRST time i shot my AKA Sidewinder was over a chronograph, and immediately (WITH ZERO ADJUSTMENT AT ALL) i was getting 266-271. What a huge difference in performance, and the reg isn't even broken in yet.

As long as you've got a strap wrench you'll have an easy time lubing this thing up. it's internals are very simple.

The swivel macro fitting also allows you to screw the reg in all the way without worring which way the macro port will face.
Conclusion: Totally worth the money.
I live in Canada, and AKA shipped it out 3 hours after i ordered it, and they even used USPS so i woulnd't have to pay border fees. GREAT company and they make great products.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gebo Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmers Stabilizer
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Removed R/T, Pure Energy 68/3000, Dye 14" Ultralight barrel, Lapco Grip bottom with Uni-Mount, AKA Sidewinder Secondary Regulator.
Strengths: Ease and accuracy of setup. Customer Service. Bottom Hose connection.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I had the Palmers Stabs on my 2 A-5's. One broke and the other would never let me get over 255 FPS with the Dye ULight barrel. Called and talked to AKA and they were so helpful and willing to work with me. I didn't know but they are the main regulator used in those "Robots" on that "Robot Wars" show. I figure they must have the quality.

I wish I had known about AKA before I wasted my money on the Palmers. Oh yea, the Sidewinders need no break in like the Palmers. I asked the AKA Tech about break in and he just laughed. He said there's are ready to go out of the box.

You can also interchange parts on the body to increase or decrease body length. You don't have to buy another Regulator.
Conclusion: If you use HPA, this is the proven Regulator. Call them up and talk to them. That always tells me a lot about a company.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SaiNt Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Black Magic regulator.
ANS Regulator
WDP Spiral Mini
Marker Setup: My current setup:
Shocktech Bomb
Palmers Micro Rock
WGP STO Ram
WGP Orracle bolt
AKALMP Sidewinder
Eclipse Blade
PMI 68/4500
CP 12" Two Piece
Strengths: - Consistent
- Good recharge rate
- Swivel bottom
Weaknesses: - Nothing really.
Review: Very consistent regulator. It has never creeped on me so far. The recharge rate is incredible. I never experienced drop off yet either. Another thing that caught my eye was the swivel bottom. This was very convenient for me because you will never have that silly macroline in your way. Also the lengths can be changed by just purchasing another top for a pretty low price, so it can accomodate all hand sizes.
Conclusion: Great regulator. Nothing better in my opinion. They are a bit pricey, but you pay for what you get. 9/10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmers Stabilizer: This was OK but I have had better for the money. Great for CO2 though.
CP Regs: Very good regs for a decent price but not as consistant as my sidewinder.
BL Torp: Again, for less that $60 you cant go wrong but not as good as CP or Sidewinder.
Marker Setup: 2K2 Gold to Black Fade Dragon Intimidator
CP Vert. Reg, Check-It Unimount Combo, CP 2- Piece 14', WAS 2.8, Clammy Grip, CP roller trigger.... you better believe that more is comming!!!!

Red LED 2K3 Trix (Backup)
AKA Sidewinder Vert Reg(Medium), AKA SCM, S.A.M Orange Bolt w/Aardy Red Kit Parts, SM-1 14' Barrel Kit, Check It Low Rise, Check It Unimount ASA, 68/4500 Crossfire LP Tank, Gun20 Chip, Halo B Loader
Strengths: Blazing Recharge Rate
No drop off
Extremely Consistant
Set it and forget it
Weaknesses: None, seriously no reg i have used is this good.
Review: I got this gem of a reg for like 75 bucks and I can't be happier with anything else. Sidewinders are extremely consistant after a proper break in, which can take 5 cases of paint. Once you get it dialed in where you want it, you will rarely need to touch it. I started using one of these in conjunction with their scm on my matrix. Not only was I (+/-3) on the chrono but at really high rates of fire, I didnt get any drop off at all. What was also nice was the increased efficiency I got. I was able to gain about 2 pods more per fill. So after I was less than satisfied with the CP on my timmy, I went and switched the regs and what a world of difference that was. Again i was about +/- 3 or 4 on the chrono and the drop off during the insane rates of fire was gone, totally gone. I am sold on this reg, in fact I went and bought a silver reg to match the timmy so my matrix can have its reg back.
Conclusion: There is nothing more to say, other than stop waiting around and get one. You absolutly can't go wrong with this reg and once you get a chance to rip with this baby, you will be here singing its praises too!!! This really should get a 100/10 but 10/10 is all you can give. AKA, you have shown why you are the absolute best in air regulation systems!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FSU Paintball Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic reg - fairly consistent, very twitchy when you adjust it, difficult to rebuild. Not nearly as nice as the Sidewinder.
Marker Setup: Used on an ebladed Dye Ultralite, and an 04 Freestyle.
Strengths: Consistent
Fast recharge
Reliable
Nice convenience features
Weaknesses: Not beautiful looking
Needs oil occasionally (easy)
A little pricey
Review: CONSISTENCY AND RECHARGE. This reg is second to none in consistency - after your 2-case-break-in-period, most owners see +/-1 FPS with good paint on good markers. It's absolutely incredible. And its recharge is fast enough to keep up with anything.

Aside from that, the base swivels around, so that your fitting can be positioned anywhere. Plus, it's not in your way when you grab the reg.

Also, it can be purchased with different removeable endcaps, which gives you different lengths.

It's real reliable, but you need to keep it oiled. Fortunately, oiling consists of dropping some oil in the ASA and firing your gun a few times. That's it.

On the other hand...
Some people don't like its looks. Also, there's no gauge port, but if you know how, you can drill and tap the endcap for one.
Keep it oiled. Not that that's much of a problem - it's very easy.
A bit pricey - $75 shipped is about the cheapest you'll find.

Something to note - although you will not find fault in this reg, it has been replaced by the 2-Liter reg made by AKA, which is a bit better. However, the sidewinder is adjustable from 0-700psi, while the 2L is only 0-350, plus the 2L's macroline fitting is in the way - at the middle of the reg. And the 2L costs $30 more. So I still think the sidewinder is the way to go.
Conclusion: This is my favorite reg on the market, bar none. An excellent product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 20th, 2005 at 4:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wakejumper731 Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dragun reg and ANS gen X regulator
Marker Setup: dragun "the one" w/ smart parts teardrop barrel, qloader, AKA sidewinder REG, CP flame drop, cobra paintball on off valve, Bandit Bolts TES bolt, 20oz c02 tank
Strengths: everything
Weaknesses: nothing cept the looks but who cares?
Review: of all the regulators that i have tested this is by far the best one it is very consistent and much more accurate than the stock dragun regulator my marker came with. before i got this regulator my marker used to fire all over the place but but when i got this i went out in my back yard and fired it and was able to hit a stick multiple time about 1 or 2 inches wide from about 25 feet away.
Conclusion: over all this is a great reg it is very consistent and i recommend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media