paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem

PGI Mayhem Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PGI

Buy PGI Mayhem

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PGI Mayhem
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electro pneumatic closed bolt system, left, right, or center hand feed, and accepts all gases.
Product Availability 
The PGI Mayhem is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
eelsman Tuesday, October 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used high-end semi-auto markers but nothing compares!
Marker Setup: Blue Mayhem with a 2 piece Taso StoneCold BigBore Barrel, 120z c02, and an ACI drop forward reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro or Compressed Air is a must, dont abuse this marker, a new barrel is never a bad idea, this is pretty much an all inclusive package.
Strengths: Theres so much...lets begin:
-1.5mm trigger pull (extremely light as well)
-Ectronic timing never breaks a ball
-EXTREMELY air efficient
-QUIET as hell (and thats when you dry fire it with c02)
-Very sturdy to hold
-Easy to find barrels
-no side to side play (on the trigger)
-No bolt, spool valve
-Easy to maintain
-Only 3 moving Parts (including the trigger)
-Symmetrical construction
Weaknesses: The only one thing I didnt like:
-Because this gun runs on such low pressure, it has to get rid of the extra pressure (assuming your regulator doesn't have a blow off valve) and each time the gun fires it shoots excess air out the back of the gun causing for a slight kick, but very tolerable.
Conclusion: This gun wants to shoot, every time you pull the trigger (and sometimes when you shake the gun!) it takes off, almost mocking you, not only does it shoot, but it doesnt it well, without breaking paint, using very small amounts of gas, and extremely accurately. This gun has been wronged, it is horrifically under-rated for it's price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have had a minimag with a z-grip and a 2001 autococker. The mayhem has similar looks to a mag and shoots like mag or cocker flat and straight
Marker Setup: Mayhem ET vertion 2, dye exell barrel, custom gas through grip, custom drop, vert feed tube, 12v rev loader, and anti siphon 20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel other than stock, gas through grip, 12v rev loader, a properly anti siphon tank. PGI has a gas through grip, double trigger frame, and board you can purchase
Strengths: Affordable about 400 dollars new and 300 used for the version 2 . Small and light weight, autococker barrel threads, you can change it from left, right, or vert feed with a ANGEL feed tube or with spyder's plastic vert adapter. 100psi operating pressure (that's super low pressure for a paintball marker) that low of pressure makes the marker shoot brittle paint with ease
Weaknesses: It didn't come with a vert feed adapter, sloppy trigger, plastic frame, can't get any upgrades for it on the internet for it. can't get very many upgrades at all unless you call the company, or your machinist like myself and can make your own parts.
Conclusion: The mayhem doesn't have the fast rate of fire like a bushy or angel but good buy for the money. some people say this gun chops paint bad I personally haven't seen it chop at all maybe because I take it apart every time when I'm done playing with it like my bushmaster and lube it with Dow 33.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicad Thursday, December 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker-
automag-
nova-
Marker Setup: Mayhem ET2, freak autococker barrel, vert reg forgrip conversion, air assist, dropforward, on/off switch, angel trigger switch, 47/3k tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. vert reg or forgrip, drop forward.
Strengths: very light and compact. closd bolt. vert feed. fairly cheep for the features. looks good on paper. easy and fun to modify. looks kinda cool once setup right.
Weaknesses: drinks air like theres no tomorrow! (about as bad as a stock shocker). so light that the kick, what little there is, results in significant movement. low ROF (capped at 8bps)... yet still chops paint too easily, and WAYY to hard to clean once it does chop.
Conclusion: its OK. price makes it worth while i guess. I used it for a few weeks and hung it back on the wall- I perfer a nicely-working autococker. I give it a 8 because the operation design is very well done and unique.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Mayhem ET, clippard board, 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel,
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board!!! clippard is ok, but ROF isn't all that great with it. I heard a morlock board would go great on the mayhem
Strengths: Super accurate(compared to a spyder), had a nice grouping from both short and long distances, it would be descent for backfield play. very consistent, didn't spike bad at all. small, good for snap and shoot positions. very low maintenance
Weaknesses: big gas hog, went through my 20 oz. co2 in about 300 or so shots. tends to chop last shot, probably putting a air assist feed would fix it
Conclusion: This gun is great. good for all players. Not quite as good as higher end markers( angels, matrix...) but awesome for the broke players like me. I would definitely recommend this to anybody and everybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: spyder vert. adapter, vigilante reg, big daddy barrel, ricochet hopper
Strengths: This is probably one of the best deals in paintball. I have a v1 but it is still a great gun for the money, and low maintance. Good ROF, with the right reg. and barrel it has good precision. Only cycles at 8 bps, but anymore than 8 bps isnt really necessary. Good trigger pull right out of the box.
Weaknesses: It only cycles at 8 bps, but like i said before, that is all that is necessary. Also looks a little too much like a mag
Conclusion: This is the best buy in paintball, and even I recommend getting a v2 or hold out till the v3 comes out. the v1 is a great buy as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tom Dotson Sunday, November 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: Damn accurate! Get a good nitrotank with it (I was using a friend's Nitro DUck tank) and a good barrel with the right paint (my Autospirrit and old paint was responsible for all the breaks I've had with it. I swiched to a J&J Ceramic and Nelsons and had no breaks.) It takes Angel high rise (which I would get right away.). And it takes Cocker barrels (a replacement barrel is a much with any gun). THe stock barrel is alright but I'd replace it. Mine has Dye stickes, a Kapp Angel high rise and the Mayhem foregrip. I don't even use a drop forward. With a 68 ci 4500 it seemed a little back heavy but if I held it by hte grip and foregrip and shoulder it I got very good accuracy and it felt nice too. You can choose between left right or center feed (why would any use anything other than center?) I noticed when you start shooting faster than the gun (I think they locked the chip at about 8 bps.) You'll notice that it'll keep firing after you stop pulling hte trigger. THe reason is that when you pull hte trigger it hits a switch telling the board to run though it's cycle. SInce it's limited when you shoot really fast it has to cathc up. BUt they will be realeasing a new board next year that you can reprogram to shoot as fast as you want. Or you can just go buy a Morlock board now but you'll probably have to modify your gripframe. NExt year they're also be releasing a double trigger frame (cool!).
Weaknesses: Be carefull when switching it to center feed to unplug it of you'll rip the wires coming from the selinoid when you pull the grip frame off. and you'll have to solder them back together. It's not the fastest electro out there I think it shoots up to par with cockers and maybe close to mags. Cockers are quieter than this gun but that depends on your barrel too (I used an Autospirit most of the time and it was still pretty quiet.) . When I got it, it leaked a lot. But some of it was becasue I had a nearly dead battery in it and it just needed oiled. I oied it and waiting a few days they leaks stopped.
Conclusion: With a good nitro tank and barrel it's damn accurate (better accuracy than most guns out there.) I would recomend getting the fore grip with it and a high rise. A tank (or something else) to shoulder it will help alot too. When I had it all set-up the way I like I could shot it at the same spot over and over again. Even though it's slower than higher end electros its a damn good deal for $300. My friends with cockers and Intimidators liked it too. It's got a unique cocking sound. You won't find a better electro for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiger Woods Monday, May 21st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Many people in the above reviews are ignorant. They say it is either the best electro ever, or the worst. In truth it is neither. It has many excellent features for an outstanding price. I purchased mine for $240. Thats only $40 more than a Spyder Shutter. The ROF is amazing for the cost. The gun can cycle at 21 bps without shootdown, but 9bps is realsitic. The wieght of the gun is about the same as a Spyder, and it is relatively small. The kick on the gun is very minimal, which results in a more stable shooting platform, and better accuracy. It accepts Spyder threaded barrels, so you'll have no problem finding an aftermarket barrel. The Mayhem comes with a single finger trigger, which I prefer. It fires from a closed bolt position. Some people believe this leads to better accuracy. Whether it does or not, I can't say for sure, however it does shoot very accurately in my opinion.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is more of a tube than a barrel. It is horrible, and you'll certainly need to buy an aftermarket barrel. It has exposed wires. Personally I couldn't care less. However, some nit-pickers will find this annoying. The grip frame is made out of plastic, but so are parts on the U.S. Military's M-16 assault rifle. Plastic doesn't bother me. Some people might not like the futuristic shape. This is only a matter of opinon, though. The main problem is the chopping. You have to learn the trigger. If you treat it like any other electro you may encounter some problems. Never the less, this shouldn't be considered to large of a problem, since the same applies to cockers and mags.
Conclusion: For $240, I feel I got my moneys worth. The features in an Impulse don't justify its $200 extra price tag over the Mayhem. Both come with excellent regs, both can run on co2, both come with 45 frames, both have center feed, etc...

The Mayhem shoots well, looks cool, and is very affordable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballPimp01 Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This could best be compared to the Nova, DarkStar and maybe an ACI Sonic Griffin.
Marker Setup: ShockTech SFL Autococker
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, please read below.
Strengths: Unique design. Light trigger. Switchable feed system.
Weaknesses: Unique design. Long trigger. Lack of upgrade availability. Bad controller boards.
Review: I had always wanted to try one of these babies out from the day I first saw an ad in APG. One day when I show up for practice at our homefield my friend (now teammate) Dan had one and was happy to hand it over to me. Why? It wasn't firing properly. That is what you do at our field. If it isn't working, hand it over to Pappy or me.

While I admire this gun for it's unique design, I also know to steer clear of it for the same reason. Taking a look back at it's predessors the AirStar Nova series and the Section 8 DarkStar, I see a gun which requires alot of work to get working properly and company that rushes a gun into production before giving it proper testing. AirStar had problems with faulty regs, and other overlooked flaws in the Novas that drove them out of business. From what I understand AirStar split, becoming Section 8 and PGI. Section 8 has since gone out of business and the DarkStars out of production. Like our buddies at these companies, PGI has released a product without first playing with it for some time...

The Mayhem's fatal flaw is the fact that it cannot even operate correctly. The board which controls the firing sequence does NOT have "de-bounce" programmed into it. There fore what you get is a "turbo"-like effect in which the gun will continue to fire a few shots after you've stopped pulling the trigger. This can make the gun VERY unsafe.

My ex-girlfriend's Sonic Griffin (sucker) uses the same Reg and frame as a Mayhem, and they share another thing in common, they both chop like a mother. I mean these things are real blenders, and it isn't anywhere as easy clean them up as it would be with an Impulse/Bushmaster or Autococker.
Conclusion: There is a reason some guns are not "main-stream". Blending paint, bad boards and a lack of upgrades will keep this marker from ever being as dependable and worthwhile and a main-stream marker of equal value.

I would suggest a similarly priced AutoMag or Bushmaster BKO as opposed to this hunk-o-junk. I advise you to stay away from the War Machine Assault 80... it looks like a decendent of the Nova as well.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 20th, 2004 at 10:42 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

crudeidol Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've shot a few Spool markers before, but nothing is quite like this.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C heavily modified, TASCO Tac-Stock, Unknown brand drop forward- on/off, VL Quantum hopper, 5" JCS Shorty, 14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, probably a new reg, various little modifications to improve performance
Strengths: It's quiet, light weight, unique, and has a low operating pressure.
Weaknesses: It's old, and parts may not be readily available
Review: I've had the honor of borrowing my friend's Mayhem, and I love it.. it's quiet, good looking, unique, and a head turner on the field..

it works great on CO2, and Nitro alike, although I think its a little more economical to use Nitro, but that might not be so..

One very awesome thing is that it operates on such low pressures that with some ingenuity an adapter can be made so that the Mayhem can be run off of a shop air compressor, like the ones pneumatic tools use. I've actually done this, and its really easy to make the adapter as well!!
Conclusion: If you can find one of these for a decent price, working or not, snatch it up, but good luck finding one!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shooter311 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nova
Marker Setup: Tremor series shocktech autococker
eclips automag
phantom,
ect
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Fore grip
Strengths: Unique
adjustible feed
can be found cheap
Weaknesses: Extream gas hog
Akward to hold
Chops paint
exposed wires
Stock barrel
Review: I bought this marker new off of EBAY I went to test it out and it shot fine a couple of times but then chopped a ball as soon as I tried to fire fast. I had a evo 2 with z board so I know I didnt out shoot my hopper. after that it was a real pain to clean out because it went into the internals of the marker. I shot a couple hundred balls and my 20 oz was out of air I couldnt belive it. I tried to play a game with it and all it did was chop paint and drain my tank way to fast. I was so unhappy with this marker I sold it to a new kid at the field for $50 and told him to sell it and get a tippmann.
Conclusion: Not worth that much money at all i would not recomend this marker for anyone Try to pick up a used nova or something else on ebay.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media