paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Avenger / Brass Eagle Avenger / Brass Eagle Avenger / Brass Eagle Avenger

Brass Eagle Avenger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Avenger

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Avenger
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 398
Average Rating: 6.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Model 2040 Avenger semi-automatic paintball marker from Brass Eagle features a lightweight, aero-space grade aluminum alloy receiver. It has a custom grip and a double finger trigger that allows to fire up to 10 shots per second.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Avenger is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (40):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
A C Friday, February 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months88 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
READ THIS REVIEW!!!!!

a BE talon, a BE stingray, a BE raptor, a spyder sport, and (shot a couple times) my brothers kingman AMG with the lcd frame

1. definately better than the talon and stingray- no question
2. a little better than the sport
3. as good as or better than the raptor
4. of course, not as good as the kingman
Marker Setup: avenger stock (for now, at least- just wait)
Recommended
Upgrades:
i like the gun, but it does need alittle work. heres what mine needs...

1. definately a new barrel- its pretty bad, but dont expect a BE stock to come with a freakin boomstick. takes spyder threads
2. an expansion chamber
3. maybe a regulator
4. not a must-have, but id prefer a drop forward cuz i dont like the way the tank is in my shoulder- thats cheap to fix.

maybe some more expensive upgrades in the future, but these are the more immediate ones youll need- they should last you awhile
Strengths: this thing is a very decent gun (especially in comparison to the other BEs ive used). it has a lot of plusses- certainly good for a gun that price.

1. its shoots balls, doesnt it?
2. light (in my opinion, at least)
3. pretty quick trigger
4. mine is actually VERY GOOD at not freezing and not hogging co2
5. looks awesome (i like the red color, but its pretty showy for woodsball)
6. the grip is sweet- fits right to my hand
7. all metal (except for the trigger), so its fairly durable
8. takes spyder threads, so you can get practically any kind of barrel for it
9. so far, pretty reliable
10. comes with a venturi bolt
11. totally good for the price
Weaknesses: ok, now im not a Brass Eagle basher, but i aint some moron that comes on here just to give it a 10. the gun is great for the price, but (stock, at least) its not meant to compete with $600 guns. im not gonna waste my time and other peoples time by comin on here and sayin its perfect, cuz at $120 msrp, NO gun is, whether BE or not. so heres my complaints- i hope theyll help out someone that might be thinkin about buyin this marker.

1. at 25 yards, a slingshot is more accurate. no, it aint my aim neither, cuz my aim is pretty dang good using anything better. a new barrel could almost fix that, but youll need an expansion chamber and a regulator eventually
2. doesnt come with an expansion chamber (what the heck was BE thinkin?)
3. fairly loud (well, mine is, but i can mess with that, and try to fix it)
4. i like the color, but you stick out pretty bad in the woods
5. it tore apart 3 o-rings on my tank, and an o-ring on my bolt after the first 3 games, but after that i played 6 games and it didnt happen once- dont ask.
6. for some reason the screws on my tank mount kept comin loose, but i fixed that- you just gotta use your imagination if that happens to you
7. its a pain in the butt to take apart and clean out after a days work, but i figured it out and did it without a manual, so shut-up and dont complain
8. i dont care for the vertical feed, but thats just my personal preference
9. it does get a number of barrel breaks if youve got a happy trigger finger but a decent barrel, an expansion chamber, and a regulator ought to eliminate that problem almost completely
10. range isnt the greatest, but its pretty good for what class the gun is in
Conclusion: excellent beginner gun and, with upgrades, a good intermediate gun. it, of course, can never be made good enough to be an expert gun, and anyone THAT good will already know that. REMEMBER, it aint meant to compete with autococker and angels and cr*p like that- especially straight out of the box. anybody should know that. it makes ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE that this gun is a Brass Eagle. dont listen to those guys- they dont know jack if they rate a gun by its brand- especially this one. and if you think otherwise, you can email me and see if you can make an arguement out of it. but only clog my inbox if youve got something legitimate and true to say. otherwise, dont bother cuz ill just block you- i like my time, so dont waste it. LISTEN TO THIS REVIEW! i know (for the most part) what im talking about, and i put down everything i could think of that would be helpful. if youve got questions about the gun (or maybe even my gun, if you actually care and want some advice), email me.

i dont believe that any gun deserves a 10- even cockers have their problems. and cuz i was able to find ten things wrong with it (and cuz, with everything stock, it is only a beginner marker), i dont think it should get a 9, either. so, being realistic, ill give it an 8. but thats not very generous for its price.

guitardude1986@hotmail.com

later AC
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
36 Comments - Add Comment

pbdragon35 Thursday, February 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years22 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triton(awesome gun)
Tippman Custom 98(broke)
BE Raptor Silver Eagle(one of the best)
Marker Setup: BE Avenger, Pure Energy 20oz Co2, motorized hopper, laser sight, expasion chamber(yes there is an expansion chamber for this gun..finally)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
Strengths: This gun is the BEST gun i have ever used!! I've had this gun for over 2 years. No Probems. My Tippmann Custom 98 broke in about a week,i threw that sucker in the woods where it now rusts.(dont buy a tippmann)
Good with Co2
Rarely Breaks Balls
Doesnt chopp many either
Accurate(shot my friend riding a bike from about 150 feet away and hit him right in his back, wasnt even expecting it..and it still hurt.)
Fast
Easy to take apart and put back together
Its semi-auto
The verticle feed
I use this gun EVERY weekend at tourneys.
VERY Reliable
Cheap
Weaknesses: It definantly need a new barrel
Its too shiny...but i sandblasted mine and painted it camo
It leaves BIG welt marks on you
Gotta spent money for buying band-aids
Conclusion: This gun is REALLY awesome!! Im telling you...you need to buy this gun!! Forget what them Brass Eagle haters say..I was a Brass Eagle hater too untill my friend got this for me because my stupid Tippmann broke on me..dont really know what happend to it. I was playing hide and shoot in the woods with my friends and started shooting at them and the sucker just locked up. I took it apart and put it back together and still wouldnt work.So i threw that POS in the woods.but anyways, BUY THIS GUN..ITS WORTH IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

[]D[][]V[][]D Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Sypder TL Plus
Marker Setup: Avenger II, 200 ct. hopper, 9 oz. CO2...basically the stuff from the Avenger pak
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel...
Strengths: CHEAP!!, Acuracy is ok, color, durable, conserves CO2 well, light.
Weaknesses: Vertical feed, bad grip, paints barrel
Review: It may look all crappy when someone else is using it, but when I picked it up I can nail things perfectly. Its just as accurate as any other semi-auto marker. Sometimes I just want to take a sledge hammer and bash the vertical feed so its out of my view, but I seem to hit whatever I'm aiming for even when I cant see that it.
The color is just []D[][]V[][]D...(no explanation needed here...)
Its actually really durable, but sometimes after I play, the barrel get clogged with a bunch of paint. Not too big of a deal (just a little pull with the squegee), but kinda annoying.
It conserves CO2 pretty well, in cold or heat. A 9 oz.
The only thing I wished could have been better is the grip. The handle and the trigger is ok, but theres no place to hold it with my other hand. I wish there was at least some bar.



Conclusion: This is THE Wal-Mart gun (if you aren't the big bad superly obsessed paintballer, then this is your type of gun). : )
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soul06 Friday, March 14th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: BE Avenger Stock, CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dont waste your time!!!
Strengths: Cheap
Looked Cool (was a newbie then)
Weaknesses: Horrible Accuracy
Extremely Unreliable
Frequent Chop/ Barrel Breaks
Freezes with co2 due to No regulator
Review: There is not much to really say about this marker. It was my first ever paintball marker for my first ever paintball trip and at the time I just had to have my own gun. However I didn't really know much of anything about the technical aspect of paintball (ie: paintball to barrel matches, barrel honing, air efficiency, etc).
Like many newbies today I thought a marker was a marker and a paintball was a paintball.

To put it as simply as possible...you get what you pay for! I paid about $150 for this marker from Sports Authority and it came with a mask, gloves and a 16 oz. CO2 tank.
I first wrote this review back in 2003 but now that I know alot more about the sport let me shed some light on you about this thing here. It truly is a "generic" marker good for not much more than playing alittle quit game of paintball in the backyard with some friends. I would strongly recommend you DO NOT attempt to walk on to any paintball field with it and expect to be a match for anyone.

The problems with this marker are numerous:
1. There is no regulator so if you are using co2 expect for freezing due to the liquid CO2 being sucked up into your marker.
2. With all the pressure being pumped directly into your markers internals you also produce alot of chopping.
3. Not at all sturdy, no its not going to fall to pieces in your hands but it has alot of kickback after each shot.
4. Due to the poor barrel you can expect the most unbelievable curve balls you could ever imagine. Trying to be serious, I literally watched my paintballs leave my barrel and make hard curves, HARD CURVES, only 30 feet from me. I'm talking about shooting left, it ends up hard right, wrap around trees type curving.

This marker is just amazingly horrible. I would not recommend this to anyone regardless of what you experience level is. But even more to a newbie as this markers poor performance is enough to possibly turn them away from the sport.
Conclusion: Bottom line:
Anyone whether it be in this forum or in person that tells you this gun is any good or gives it any rating higher than 5 is absolutely lying to you. Either they want you to feel their pain, want to have an extreme advantage over you on the game field, or their a dealer trying to push their stock. This is a horrible marker and I sold mine for about $60 as soon as I finished with it.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

scarficito Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle talon,brass eagle avenger 3 and tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: brass eagle avenger 3 aegis series (same as vl orion) stock for now with 9 ounce
10 inch vl barrel
200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe an expansion chamber
longer barrel
and a drop foward if you like c02 or n2 comfort
Strengths: Very good accuracy
Co2 consistent
Doesnt break balls
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: I found this marker on sale for 80.00 and decided to buy it. this gun is awesome. don't listen to the people who say that brass eagle sucks.its the player not the marker. this marker does not break paintballs. even with brass eagle paintballs(afterburner paintballs). this marker could beat any rich kid marker out there.this marker has a couple of upgrades.
Conclusion: The marker rocks. buy it. and beat those wannabe pros with their expensive markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

insanepenguin Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every cheap spyder and BE gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
x-chamber
Strengths: Nice grip
Cheap
Metal wich is very rare with brass eagle
Weaknesses: Hard to dissasemble
very inacurate
Review: Strenghts:
The grip was pretty comfy I thought.
No elbow needed which is very cool
Its very cheap.

Weaknesses:
The thing was darn near impossible to field strip. You first have to get one of your strong friends or a parent to unscrew a cap in the back. Then you have to find all of the peices that you didnt know were gonna come out of the little hole in the top of the body. Then after you give up, you have to guess how those little pieces fit back in the hole. Then you return it and get a new gun (at least thats how it went for me you might have more patients)
Allthough it was pretty cheap, for a couple bucks more you could get your hands on a nice Spyder which I highly recomend you doing.
It is supposed to have spyder threads, but when you screw in a spyder barrel it only screws in like half way and then it gets stuck and you have to get your strong friend to unscrew it.
Not a lot of upgrades.

Conclusion: Allthough its not to bad of a marker. You can buy way better ones for the price. Even though it may preform close to spyders I would not recocomend it just for the fact that it is hard to maintain and that is a really big deal.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 7th, 2004 at 1:09 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

The Mighty Fred Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Sonix
Brass Eagle Stingray

1. Not as good as the Tippmann
2. Better than or equal to Spyder Sonix
3. Much better than Stingray
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Avenger with 16 oz. PMI CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Decent accuracy at half velocity
Durable
Light weight
Really comfortable grip
Good price
Weaknesses: Bad accuracy at full velocity
color sticks out in the woods
hard to take apart
Review: First of all I would like to say that some of you people need to test a gun more before writing a review. This gun is a good gun for a reasonable price.

A year ago I was new to paintball so I bought my friends Avenger for 35 bucks. The first thing I did was put tape over the gun so that got rid of the problem of its color.

This gun also durable if you know some maintenance tips. This was my friends first gun and he had it for three years and never oiled it but it still worked perfectly. This gun can be hard to take apart without a manual but after you do it once it becomes real easy. The only problem I have had beside of a few broken o-rings was that the valve was damaged where the striker hit it so the valve stem would not go in. With a little bit of sanding the problem was easily fixed.

Performance wise it did pretty good. With the stock barrel and high velocity it would curve a lot but at half velocity it did pretty good. It is easily as good as a cheaper Spyder. Me and my friend that has a Spyder Sonix had a shootout and even though I had less experience than him I still won because this gun is great
Conclusion: A great starter gun at a great price. If you want to get in paintball and want a cheap semi-auto you should get this
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ryan034 Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: I got a new barrel and it has helped out a lot. I can tell the difference in accuracy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
there arent any other upgrades available
Strengths: -cheap
-light
-fairly accurate
Weaknesses: -breaks balls sometimes
-a little too shiny
Review: this is the best gun BE has made
ive had it for 2 years with no problems
well once i over-shot the gun(just to test the fire-rate) ... i thought i broke it but i didnt, so i just recocked it and started shooting again.
most of the time you hit what you aim at
i dont know what else to say in here... apparently i have too few words so im gonna BS here blah blah blah bs bs bs yada yada

ohh by the way.. just a little off the subject topic... you cant say much for strengths and weaknesses. its kind of a 4 word review for that part
Conclusion: if you have never played before this would be a great 'training wheel', if you will, for paintball. its light, fairly accurate with a new barrel, not loud, but also not too quiet. its a good gun basically. even if it is BRASS EAGLE *gasp*
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 21st, 2003 at 10:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB_ryan Wednesday, October 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
'05 electra, Impulse, they both really dont compare to this kind of marker
Marker Setup: Avenger3, 20 oz. pure energy tank, teardrop barrel, Richochet rhino hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
teardrop barrel, richochet
Strengths: Co2 conservation
Accuracy
Price
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Brass eagle
Trigger hard to pull
Not electric
Review: This gun is a great starter gun if you get it on sale. With a better barrel, it is as accurate as any lower priced electronic gun. I dont know about the normal avenger, but mine is an avenger 3. It does have a handle (but its not a regulater) in the front to hold onto. I have clocked this gun at speeds of up to 7 bps. You need a faster hopper if you are to keep up with this. This is a good gun for anyone who needs a cheap but reliable gun. Customer service isnt that great,and the trigger is hard to pull at 12 balls a second. The truth is, I have never out shot this gun. I have chopped a few, but thats the hoppers fault. So i guess i dont know how fast this gun can shoot, but 12bps is the max ive ever gotten. I've never had any major problems with this gun, it has always worked fine for me.
Conclusion: This is a fine starter gun with no major drawbacks except the low amount of upgrades avaiable.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 6th, 2006 at 1:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stephanphat Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Avenger: Next Generation
Eagle air Co2
JT proflex mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are really none made for it
Strengths: Cool looking
doesnt chop
Weaknesses: Trigger is slow and cant be rocked
Expensive for what you get
no upgrades
Review: When bought the gun for $95 dollars i was happy that i had my own gun, when I took it out to the park my frist problem the double trigger was and couldnt be rocked, i had u to just shoot with one shot at a time. Half way at my stay in the park i was about to bunker someone, then i heard something coming out of my hose, after I got shot i went out to go check it out i saw my hose was leaking Co2 i left the park unhappy. I got it fixed and took it out another time it worked other than the trigger i recently bought an ion to replace this gun.
Conclusion: This gun is NOT for the serious paintball because:

-Clocked at 8bps
-No upgrades made for it
-Doube trigger doesnt work
-can never hold in a tournoment
-expensive for what you get

This gun is for the fun paintballer

-It shoots a reasonable amount for recreational play
-pretty durable
-Doent need HPA or Electric hoppers

Not for the serious player, more for the rec. players
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 19th, 2007 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (40):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media