paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper / Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper / Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper

Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 219
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $109

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ricochet-2k agitates with each ball fired, never leaving you without a ball to shoot! The Ricochet-2k operates on one 9 volt battery, and averages about 5000 shots for the battery life. This makes the Ricochet-2k one of the most economical paintball hopper's on the market today.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet-2k Hopper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Calebd2 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
9v Revy- Much better than the 9v, the 9v isn't a very good hopper, but that a different revy
12v Revy- Pretty much the same performance, although the new revys have the brittle shells which make them bad. My old revy is just fine. I perfer the Ricochet though, it feeds just a bit faster
Empire Reloader- Just about the same as the Ricochet, both are great loaders
RicochetAK- Same as Ricochet 2k, but without all the "bells and whistles"
EggyII- EggyII can feed much quicker, but it is more expensive. If you are not shooting more than 12bps you don't need the Eggy anyways, the Rico will suffice
HaloB
Marker Setup: My "back up" Setup
Green Spyder Xtra, 12" CP One Piece barrel, Cocker Reg, White Wolf Delrin Bolt, TASO Turbo Valve, psycho ballistics drop forward, Black Benchmark C/A, 32* LPC, Java Aluminum Feed Adapter, 2k Black Ricochet, ESP Frame, Crossfire 47ci/3000 Nitro
My new "main" setup:
2002 Black Autococker, Hinge trigger, 10" Dye alumnium barrel, Black 2k Ricochet, KAPP Rhino Drop, Crossfire 47ci/3000 Nitro
Strengths: Durable, Fast, and Great Customer service
Weaknesses: Ball counter doesn't do it's job
Review: This is an excellent loader its
-Light
-Fast (12bps)
-Durable
-Pretty Cheap
-Customer service owns

If your running a semi marker, this is the loader for you (or a reloader). It can feed at 12bps which will easily keep up with your marker. If you have full auto you have a little problem. On full auto you will be shooting 13bps, it only feeds 12bps. I have found that it isn't really a problem on my spyder when I'm shooting full auto, but if you have the extra cash get the eggyII

The Ricochet customer service is the best. You call em up and tell em you need a new pair of shells, they'll send a pair right out to ya. There amazing

The only think I found bad about this loader was the counter. It just doesnt work, there's nothing else to say

I really think it's better to go for the Ricochet AK and save some money because the counter doesn't work and you don't really need the game timer. If you do really need the timer, than get the 2k, if not get the AK
Conclusion: Overall, great motorized hopper, stops the chopping and keeps the balls coming at a constant rate. Costumer service owns!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

i r i s h 33 Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Halo B
Marker Setup: Warsensor WS 66 CQB
40mm Red Dot
RIS Front Grip
Armotech Remote
Strengths: Fast Loading
Nice Looks
Timer Helps
Weaknesses: See Review Below
Review: I got this after using my brothers' revy for a few games. Searched the net and used this site to make my decision on what to get. This is the first agitated loader I have owned and I have no complaints about it. I'm guessing I've gotten as fast as 8-10 bps and have NEVER had a chop or empty fire. Got mine at usmilitarygear,com for $64.99. Battery life is better than I expected. Ball counter is close to accurate. Timer comes in handy for longer scenerio games.

The only thing that detracts from it is sometimes when I'm moving the agitator runs.

Conclusion: Price is right! I've seen it as high as $90.00 and as low as $64.99. Great performance for your hard earned dollars.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shufflefield Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v Rev w/xboard, standard hoppers
Marker Setup: 2k1 STO Fade, 12" Equation System, 68ci 3k fixed ACI, Upgrading bolt, rod and frame right now.
Strengths: Agitates with each shot, color choices, weight, low profile, customer service, looks.
Weaknesses: Deflection, ORIGINAL necks
Review: I have been using a 2k for about a year and I love it. Most people who complain about the ball counter or the beeping obviously didn't read their owners manual and it's pretty lame how they give this hopper lower scores and cite those as reasons. READ THE MANUAL. You can turn off the beeping and you can adjust how it counts. The ball counter is a nice guide but not really necessary, however I really like the timer. I have played some outlaw games where it has come in real handy. Even with the LCD I get around 2 cases (4000 rounds) or more off of a single 9volt which isn't too bad.

This hopper also has a small profile when you pop out of a bunker. From dead on it would be very hard to hit, and from the side it is slightly smaller that a revvy. The deflection "engineering" does work as advertised, it often does get a bounce if a shot comes in at an angle. Dead on from the side it's going to break, and dead on from the front it's going to roll right up into your mask.

I don't know exactly how fast it loads, somewhere around 13bps. I haven't outshot it on my cocker, and it kept up with a Spyder Flash LCD on semi, 3 shot, and 6 shot burst. We didn't try it on full auto.

My first shell was a burgundy one with the old neck and it snapped off after 3 months. After 5 minutes on the phone and 3 days later I had a new blue shell with O-rings, not a single problem since then. The customer service is no questions asked and top notch. I was on the field the next weekend so I can't complain.

All in all I would recommend this over a revvy, it probably is no HALO but if you have a low to mid level electro, or a low to high end semi I would recommend it. It also comes in more colors than you can get for a revvy which is honestly half the reason I got it. I like a little color in my game and I wish more companies would realize that black, clear, chrome, and smoke are not the only colors that should be available.
Conclusion: I am going with a 9, I would give it a much lower score because of my neck incident, but the customer service more than makes up for that shortcoming. If I thought it was capable of insane ROF like 18 to 20 bps I would have given it a 10. Hopefully they will come out with some kind of force fed model in the future. You get a lot of bang for your buck out of this hopper though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 8th, 2003 at 7:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mikethehuter Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tested 12v Revy without x-board.
Marker Setup: 98c with 14" Dye Ultralight, phsyco balistics double trigger, Ricochet 2k hopper.
( Nitro soon)
Strengths: Feeds very fast. It's only missed maybe once out of about 3,500 shots.
Agitator never breaks balls in the hopper.
Game timer is easy to program and start.
Looks cool- way better than any Revy.
lid doesn't pop open easily, and when it does it doesn't spill your paint all over the ground.
Design will deflect paint every now and then.
LCD screen intimidates nebies who have never seen anything like it.
Weaknesses: not anything serious but..
1. Has a tendency to drain battery a little more than I hoped it would.
2. The o-rings that secure the feed neck to the elbow have a tendency to wear and break.
3. The shot counter is not that accurate.
But batteries are not that expensive, and I'm sure the people at Ricochet will send you new o-rings if you break the ones it comes with.
The shot counter is more of a gereralization. I don't really pay a whole lot of attention to it though, so maybe it is just me.
Conclusion: Very well designed, and priced reasonably for what you get. I've never had it not agitate when it should be doing that. Like I said, it impresses those who have never seen an electronic hopper. I like to see their faces when you turn it on and it beeps and agitates. They all want one after that. But besides that, the product is dependable. The o-ring situation can be frustrating. Since I have a 98c, what I've been doing is just detaching the elbow and leaving it on the hoper's feed neck. This reduces the wear on the rings and is also quicker that pushing it in and pulling it out. The batteries and counter is no big deal. You can program the counter to custom settings, but i'm to lazy to do it. It probably works great if you do that. Worth the price and your confidence.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jt_paintball Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Triumph ext, Black
-j&j 16" ceramic
-20oz
Strengths: -Strong lid
-Built well
-Fast
-Side mirrors and clear lid
Weaknesses: -Lid is hard to open sometimes
-Battery pack is tough to change
-Feed neck
Review: I bought this hopper so that I could keep up with my gun and it did great and still works well. I am currently using it on my Invert Mini and I have no complaints!

Good:

The hopper is faster than I thought it would be. I am currently using it on my Invert Mini and it keeps up well enough. When I first used it I used on my Triumph Ext from Tippmann. It never skips a ball for me. Occaisanlly it will jam but just give it a light shake and there you go! The idea of having "side mirrors" is really good because when your in the heat of a firefight and you want to see how much paint you have left in your hopper but you don't want to look away from your opponet, the "side mirrors" work well. The lid is clear and sometimes smudges but it is fairly clear and will never (unless you superman and screw up) open up on you. The speed is good... 15-17 balls per second. And to be honest with you... when you see an opponet are you really going to max that? I see people wasting like a whole hopper that goes 30bps just from a peak at an opponent. People! Paint is expensive! Conserve! Think about your wallet! And think about the person on the other end. Do you think they like 30 balls flying at them a second? I sure don't!

Bad:

Of course everything has its cons. This is no exception. The bads are actually very little. Sometimes the lid will jam and is hard to open sometimes and with all the pressure on you in the heat.. you can get really peeved. But a little elbow grease on the spring in the lid and it will open smoothly and still stay clamped shut during the game. Also the battery pack for me was hard to come out.. but hey! It doesn't come out during the game so think of that as a pro! Lastly, the feedneck. The feedneck is alittle on the thick side but it works dandy and won't snap during a game like other hoppers.
Conclusion: Over all, a decent buy. If you are a new player looking for an upgrade from a gravity fed hopper then this is definetly a good buy. I don't regret it. And am using it on a top notch tourney level marker! And if you are a seasoned player or a rookie or whatever skill level you are... It is a good buy. I like it. And just so you know... I put a case of paint through it in 24.335 seconds... Fast enough for me! And fast enough for you! I give it a 9 only because nothing is perfect... Not even Dye!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowbandit16 Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap Basic Loaders
VL Quantum
eVolution 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
-Compact feedneck
-Aftermarket Spring Kit
- Nitro Duck 47ci
Strengths: Faster than advertised
Quiet
Ball Counter w/ alarm
Horizontal lid
Battery life= A million years!
Weaknesses: Innacurate ball count
Deflection?
A bit sensitive on screws, don't tighten too much
Review: First off this is a great hopper, but if you are going to be paying full price, and you are into speedball, you may prefer an "Egg." This hopper is GREAT for being quiet. It's odd shape ball rolling, so if you are sneaking around, crawling, turning, etc. you won't give away your position!
It is faster than advertised too! I have shot several times at speeds of 14-16 bps and not broken a single ball! In the almost 1 year i've owned it Iv'e broken two balls. That's not half bad!
The lid is great for loading pods, as a front guy i load a minimum of two pods per game. The lid is flat so balls don't spill out. And the ball counter, although innacurate, is approximate, and will alert you when you need to reload-VERRY HANDY.
This thing sqeels a bit when it's loading, but it's sensor allows it only to feed when you are shooting.
The battery life is surprisingly good
Conclusion: Deffinately a wise choice for the price. But seriously, i've never heard of one acctually deflecting balls, but that's ok. Just don't get get hit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bdaniel08 Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200, Empire Reloader, VL Revvy.
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter | J&J Ceramic 14” | Rico 2k | 15* Assault Block | ESP Frame | Dye Stickies | AA Vigilante | Bullet Drop | Maddmann Spring Kit | CF 68/3k Fiber | NXe JD Tank Cover |
Strengths: -"Deflecting" shell.
-LCD durability.
-Shell Durability.
-Light.
Weaknesses: -Slow to the hoppers of today.
-Can't buy aftermarket boards for loader.
Review: When I got this as a gift I was thrilled, for it was exactly what I wanted and I loved the looks of the shell. It also came with a nifty LCD screen with multiple usages. The orings on the feedneck ensured a tight fit, in fact a little too tight. So, I took them off and it works just as well.

The Loader's sticker friendly. In fact, I believe it's more sticker friendly than most other loaders that have curved type designs while the Ricochets have the geometric design. The ball counter can help but it's not that accurate. Oh, the lid is pod friendly, too.

However, there are no aftermarket boards for the Ricochet 2k. Most guns of today are capable of reaching over 12 bps (balls per second) making the Ricochet 2k a little outdated for its time.
Conclusion: Over all I'd have to say if you're a die hard Ricochet fan get the Apache instead of the 2k. Other than that, the reloader's just as good and cheaper.

Over all I give this product a 7 because it's a little too outdated but it has a nice concept.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mif_aznslim Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9v revloader.. and...non-electro hopper!
Marker Setup: Impulse, vision
freak barrel
new designz Blade trigger (magnet)
LPR (half new designz/ half palmer reg)
palmer stabalizer
new designz low riser
voodoo delrin bolt
Strengths: Ricochet balls? and timer
Weaknesses: ball counter and feed per seconds.. 12?.. kinda slow
Review: i tried it afew games.. i didnt like it personally.. i chopped like crazy maybe because of the marker.. i can out shoot my egg2... so this hopper is defenetly slow...i just like it for the timer..it comes in handy once in a long time.. we set the Ricochet in our bags and didnt use it for months.. and we finally took it out to time a game because we didnt have a timer.. SEE!.. IT DOES COME IN USE SOMETIMES!!.. but thas about it..yeah.. that is it...
Conclusion: dont get this if u shoot faster then 13bps...if ur going for looks.. this one looks alryte compare to the others.. besides the halo b.. but i have a egg.. mines look like a football.. but i dont care.. it does the job..
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

muhuhaha19 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvy 9&12 volt, egg2, halo b
Marker Setup: 2004 impulse with vertical max-flo, freak 8 piece stainless, new designz no rise clamping feed neck, new designz magnetic trigger, super fly bolt, tape worm
Strengths: -Not too bulky
-Pretty good
Weaknesses: - Read review
Review: I bought this hopper about 2 years ago. I had read some reviews about it, and it sounded pretty cool. It does perform pretty well at first. however, this summer i was playing an intense speed ball game. i got shot in the hopper. a little bit of paint got on the board and completely fried it. i tried customer service, and they didn't do anything.
Conclusion: Save your money for an egg2 or halo b. not a good hopper
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

RAT_Impulse626 Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
9v revy and 12v revy
Strengths: Reflects balls and looks cool.
Weaknesses: Is not as fast as it should be. Ball counter is terrible.
Review: Nice hopper. Reflects a lot of shots, but Is onlny capable of about 12 bps, and the shot counter is not only useless, but it never is accurate in it's numbers. Although it actually does reflect shots, it is not worth it if you are choping every time you shoot.
Conclusion: Don't buy this thing. The LCD screen is a real waste, and the ball counter is never right. If you do want a Ricochet, get the AK, becasue the 2K is a waste of money. And if you have a really fast trigger finger, then don't buy it, because you WILL chop.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media