paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha BL VF G3 / PMI Piranha BL VF G3 / PMI Piranha BL VF G3 / PMI Piranha BL VF G3

PMI Piranha BL VF G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha BL VF G3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha BL VF G3
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 120
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
-Vertical feed body
-No elbow necessary
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha BL VF G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
weeji Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Aggressor XT, black 14" PMI Razzor barrel, 14 oz. co2
Strengths: This thing is EXTREMELY quiet! Stock barrel isn't bad.
Weaknesses: No foregrip (not a problem for me, might be for some). See review for rest.
Review: This gun belongs to my friend, but i used it before. Here's what I found:

STRENGTHS:
Very, very, very, very quiet. I couldn't believe how quiet it was compared to my gun. Sounds like a 'cocker. The stock barrel isnt bad, but it could be better. I didnt chop any balls using it, nor did I break any. Easy to strip/clean. Good customer service, upgrades available. Nice beginner gun. Lightwieght.

WEAKNESSES:
Velocity isn't always steady (fixed by nitrogen and a regulator). No foregrip on it, but that didn't bother me. It might bother some people though, and that's why I mentioned it. I did double feed a few times, but no breaks or chops. Kind of a gas hog.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a project gun, a first gun, or something to get friends started. Is fine right out of the box. Stock barrel isnt bad, but not great. Takes Spyder parts, so it is upgradeable. Can find in packages for around $100 if you look around. Great deal.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 18th, 2003 at 8:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheNightHawk Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have also played with a friend's Piranha eForce. Not bad at all. Compared to the G3, its way better. My friend had to install a bottomline onto it, but I like the electric trigger on it. Compared to the G3 BL VF its much better, because its pretty much a G3 with electric trigger, Venturi bolt, and some more internal upgrades.
Marker Setup: I use a Piranha BL VF with a 20 ounce CO2 (PMI Pure Energy with a PMI Butt-plate on it), Venturi bolt, PMI Gravity fed hopper, 14" Jnj ceramic barrel and a JT nVader mask. Most of my stuff if for woods-ball.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would reccomend you start off with a barrel. The stock barrel is Okay, but compared to the Jnj 14" Ceramic barrel I installed on mine, it fires much farther. Don't make the common mistake that a longer barrel is better because it shoots longer! Sure you can stick it through bunkers, but you can't play as tight to bunkers, and the longer barrel can cause more friction, use more air and actually decrease the performance of your marker, not increase.

Your next upgrade should be a bolt. Go for a Venturi bolt. It distributes air over the surface of the paintball more evenly, reducing breaks and chops.

Of course, if you really want to get a good rate of fire, you're going to need a fast-feeding hopper. A Revvy or Halo B is a good choice. I have never actually used an electric hopper because I don't shoot that fast that often. I'd much rather save my money. However, I do know players that can't play wihtout an electric hopper. Go for one of the above I reccomended. I reccomend the revvy over the HAlo. Who needs a hopper more expensive then your gun. Just get a 12v revvy and save up for a tank..

The last upgrades you'd want to get are for your air system. If you have an electric hopper, nice bolt and like to shoot a lot of paint in a short amount of time, HPA is for you. When you fire CO2 in a marker, every shot is going to be at a different velocity, unless you wait a while for the CO2 to expand, and refresh in between shots. Not a good thing. Also liquid CO2 can damage your internals, not to mention hinder your ability to shoot fast.

Compressed Air, HPA or N2 will do the trick. For the most part, its referred to as Nitrogen. Usually, fields will fill HPA tanks with Compressed air as opposed to Nitrogen. Air is basicly 78.1% nitrogen already, so using Pure N2 won't make much of a change. Nitrogen has a very low condensing temperature, so to get liquid N2, you'd have to cool it a lot. As for air, you'd also have to drop the temperature signifigantly to make it condense. So liquid isn't much of a problem with HPA. HPA is also more reliable. It is more consistant, so every shot you fire will be whatever PSI your regulator is set for. PMI Pure Energy is a popular brand of tanks, and I'd reccomend them.
Strengths: Quiet, good reliability, simpel design, cheap price.
Weaknesses: Needs regular maintanance. Bad stock barrel. Needs simple upgrades.
Review: I won't lie. Its a pretty basic marker. It doesn't come with much, but for the price you pay for it, its about right.

I am the kind of guy who takes care of his marker and has pictures of real guns all over his room. I pull out two cloth diapers after every game, strip the marker completely to its bones, wash them off (in water if the paint is really in there good) and re-oil and reassemble my marker. I do it twice a week if I'm not playing and I do it the night before and usually after games. The Night before I just oil up the bolt assembly.

The stock barrel isn't that good, but it will shoot. I just got my JnJ Ceramic 14" Barrel (PMI markers take Spyder threaded barrels) and have only played with it once. I have noticed a significant change in my performance, but thats not to say I didn't have fun playing with the stock barrel.

I have only had one double feed, and it was because I double cocked my marker (That is, uncocking it, and cocking it again, putting two rounds in the chamber.

It did break down on me once, but I just needed a new tank O-ring. Luckily a cool kid was there to give me one of his. Thanks M8!

Conclusion: Let's sum up what we have gone over:

-Stock barrel needs upgrading
-Bolt needs upgrading
-For faster shooting, get an electric trigger and electric hopper
-For consistency and overall better accuracy (but remember, the gun only shoots as good as the player plays), get HPA
-Needs regular maintenance
-Cheap
-Quiet

I hope you choose the G3 marker. Its great. Spyders are very similar to Piranha's. Some people consider Piranha's "clones" of spyders, hence the name Spyder Clone.

Some other things to consider is paint-barrel match (every barrel and style of paint has a different size (example: .685, .687 )
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 3rd, 2004 at 12:26 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

hockeybuff Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Model/Custom
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 VF BL w/ 14" Teardrop Barreland a 20 oz. co2 system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Teardrop Barrell
Strengths: Quiet, Doesn't chop any balls, consistent, lightweight, very air efficient, durable.
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrell. No forehand grip.
Review: I got this gun after playing with my tippman 98 for 6 months and this is a much better gun. I use it every weekend with my friends and it is very good with air. I used to get about 600 shots with 20 oz with my tippman, now I get almost 1000. It has no forehand grip but that doesnt bother me at all, I am just as good with one hand anyways.
Conclusion: This is great for anyone just starting to play or for anyone who just plays with their friends.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Radeon1288 Saturday, December 27th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: BL VF G3 with drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
scrap it and get a spyder
Strengths: good scrap metal, Vertical feed
Weaknesses: Chops ALOT, inaccurate,
Review: It is horrible, If you want a good entry level gun go with spyder, they are cheaper and better. I just bought a spyder xtra for 75 and it includes an x chamber and better barrel as well as a venturi bolt.

velocity adjustment knob broke off when i shot and hit my arm, the barrel sucks, the bolt sucks, The block that explode and hit me is made of plastic.
IT DOESNT HAVE A LOW PRESSURE CHAMBER< ITS A SOLID PIECE OF STEEL
Overpriced for what you get
Conclusion: Dont get it, PMI has horrible quality control.
you can get a 50 dollar spyder victor thats better!!!!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 31st, 2003 at 2:41 pm PST
I found this review  
26 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 Custom w/ Flatline, Autococker, Scorpion, Stingray 2, Spyder Shutter.
Marker Setup: Piranha VL BF G3 with Ram Air upgrade, 20oz Co2 tank, Flush cocking bolt thingy with thumb adjust, turbo valve, and smart parts 12in. Progressive Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Bolt, Barrel. New grips too.
Strengths: Looks good, has quick strip pin, verticle feed, bottom line, 45 grip, rear cocking and is highly upgradable, rear cocking keeps dirt out and has bottom line.
Weaknesses: Feels like crap with those grips on because they're made of hard plastic. I took them of and you could cut someone with the edge of it. At the same time, the little safety spring and ball flew of and have been lost ever since. There goes the safety. Mine also chopped like crazzy for some odd reason using Nelsplat, PMI Premium, 32 degrees team colors, and diablo something or other. If yours is doing this, get a new bolt like the shocktech delrin or the flush cocking sys. Strip pin is tight and hard to get out if it's cold and your fingers are numb and is round and rolls around. Get the new one or rig your own like me. Huge trigger pull.
Conclusion: If you're a bigginer to intermediate player I would recommend buying the one right above this (the G3 VF STS) because it has a better bolt and you wont really have to buy anything for it with the exception of a new barrel.

GET STS VF G3
OR UPGRADE THE BOLT EMEDIATLY.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AndBerithFell Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: I have 2 guns:

1.) SP Ion
Smart Parts Linear 16" Barrel
PMI 72/3000 HP Tank
Ricochet Apache LED Hopper
New Designz Roller Trigger

2.) Piranha BL VF G3
Stock Barrel
Pure Energy 16 oz. Co2 tank
Homemade Continuous Agitation Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger. Expansion Chamber/Foregrip.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Fast ROF (For a mechanical gun)
-Ok trigger
-Light
-Easy field stripping
Weaknesses: -Lack of a foregrip makes aiming a bit harder.
Review: Okay. First of all, let's get something straight here. I am not comparing this to a high-end electric, like an Ion or an Angel or a freaking Timmy or whatever. To do so is simply stupid. This is a mechanical gun, made for those who are beginners are just want to play non-competitive woodsball.

For about ten months, I used this with your standard 200-round Extreme Rage gravity-feeding piece-of-crap hopper . No chops. I eventually made the hopper into a homemade revvie, but before then I must have put at least 15 cases (30,000 rounds) through this thing, shooting mostly 8-12 BPS, according to a field chrono. It has never chopped. This gun is also pretty darn accurate. Despite what sure looks like a crappy stock barrel, it's really not bad at all. If you have money for a barrel upgrade, by all means get one, but it does just fine without one. The gun is also easy to field strip. Mine has never broken in a game, but the easy-strip pin is pretty handy. It takes about 30 seconds to completely clean and lube this marker.

The only negative: The Piranha BL VF G3 lacks a forward grip, which makes it a bit awkward to hold and aim at first. I got used to it, and so will most people, i think.
Conclusion: This is a great entry-level gun. Fairly fast, fairly accurate, won't chop. It was my first gun, I loved it then, and even though, after 2 years, I now own an Ion, I still like this one better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntBallPerson5 Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder stuff:compact, java, victor, e-99....um tippy: pro carbine n model 98.....ive playd around with angels and autocockers.......thats bout it
Marker Setup: Piranha G3 VF BL w/:
-PMI custom spring kit put in
-BL taken off and added ACI SUb-Zero 6 stage expansion chamber
-PMI Venturi Bolt
-14" Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
-upgraded PMI Piranha Aluminum Trigger frame
-20 oz co2 system
Recommended
Upgrades:
um watever u want...but def. a new barrel
Strengths: pretty accurate, durable, fast shooting, lightweight, not too loud, the field strip pin
Weaknesses: um the stock barrel could be better....other than that this is an amazing gun
Review: I haven;t had ne problems with this gun... It does exactly wat it is sed to do...n then sum.... it is a great gun for all skills of paintballers n isnt very expensive....if you want a great gun that you can upgrade and wont put a dent in ur wallet then get it.... with the upgrades ive done to it...it is easily tourney grade material....its very ez to clean/strip and isnt complicated at all....you should be very impressed with this gun
Conclusion: great gun...cant say nething else....simply its a great gun...go buy it now....there are better guns out there...but for the class of markers i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper101 Tuesday, July 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none

Marker Setup: Piranha BL VF G3, 32 degrees bob long expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, new barrel with porting
Strengths: This is a very light gun which is nice when you need a quick reaction when seeing a enemy. Also this gun is very easy to upgrade. This gun is VERY accurate. This gun is very good for the money. VERY easy to take out and put back in the internals.
Weaknesses: The front of the hammer bent back a little. Not a problem though its easy to fix.
Conclusion: If you want a good gun but dont want to pay a bundle for it buy this gun. This gun is good for back yard games. Also buy this gun if you dont want to get too involved in paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stealthballer Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine(tested)
Marker Setup: 9 inch stock barrel(i suggest u buy an upgrade but its a so-so barrel) 9 ounce c02 i also have a 14 inch pmi razzor barrel which does cut down the distance slightly but its great for woodsball
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,
Strengths: Quiet,Doesnt use alot of co2,Light,Never chops
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel
Review: This is my first marker,its great for a cross between begginer and intermedient players.i own a black marker and barrels and its is good camo for woodsball and town.i suggest u get the black rather than a bright "shoot me now" red,yellow ect. it can shoot 7 balls a second max! thats pretty good for a semi gun. if your a hardcore woodsball player this is your gun! some people may get frusterated at the grips but it doesnt bug me.since i play woodsball alot,,i dive like im in a pool.the grip offers freat protection from you diving on the hard ground and demolishing your gun. by the way it is very durable also.
Conclusion: Buy this gun,its great
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Triton, Avenger, Rapter< tippmann custom pro.
Marker Setup: All stock co2 powered Expansion Chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
barrel
Strengths: Silence,
Durablility.
easy to strip and clean.
no elbow required.
great feel to it
Weaknesses: None
Review: I purchased this marker about 3-4 Years ago now and I never regretted it. It never breaks and always preferms great. it is very silent which I love and feels great holding it. very smooth and easy to clean and looks great.. with teh Xchamber it is also very gas efficent.
Conclusion: Great for begginers or pros. i used it and learned how markers work and after taking it apart so often i can strip and clean prety much anything. preforms just about as good as My new custom pro and has never let me down in 3 years.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media