paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt / ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt / ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt

ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt

Paintball General Marker Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt with recock adjusting screw from ACI.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator Venturi Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
nickmon13 Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've only used this and the stock bolt.
Marker Setup: F4 Illustrator with a few upgrades like new bolt and barrel.
Strengths: Powerful, Good if you use right balls.
Weaknesses: If you dont use good balls, It will break them.
Review: I love my gun, it works great now that i know what kind of paintballs to get. i'm still a beginner but i know alot about paintball guns. This bolt has its ups and downs but its still great. I can't wait to get out and use it again. If you have any questions please ask me about anything.
Conclusion: all in all this is a perfect bolt for my gun works fine i recomend if you have a F4 you should get this bolt.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soul Hunter Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: F4 XP
20oz PMI
Venturi Bolt
Zero Gravity 13.5" Barrel
Remote Coil to belt for Tank
Strengths: Elimated my Chops
A little more accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda big for chamber causing some scratches on the sides
Review: This bolt really helped the get rid of my chops with the porting. It also made it slightly more accurate even though it wasn't all that noticeable. I'd say its a great upgrade for the F4 if you're looking to lube up an F4 and is certainly better than the stock.
Conclusion: Overall it was an improvement and I would recommend it for an F4 user.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Varios spyders
Marker Setup: 98 F-4, Sub zero 6 stage exp chamber, HVC, 12.5" aci barrel, CMI 45 degree grip, aci venturi bolt
Strengths: It's a venturi bolt! It's great! A must for a F-4. The designed with a adjustment inside the bolt to ADJUST VELOCITY. Many have no idea that is what is for, sure you have too field strip the gun, big deal. F-4s are easy if not simple to strip. It will fine tune your velocity with your normal rear adjuster.
Also, in the THREE YEARS i have used it I have never had a ball go up in the chamber. That air flow is so smooth it can't be beat. My stock bolt broke a few until I got this bolt. Also I have only had ONE break in my barrel that was from dirt, nothing else.
Weaknesses: The metal is not the strongest. It is scratched from my gun not the other way around. Still no afect on perfomance. If it was billit alumanium it would be way to expensive to get.
Conclusion: The other reveiws have strange problems, things I have never heard of. If the bolt was to big it would not cycle. If it was to small you would leak air. So sometimes they will have a tight fit. And my ball denet has done more scrathing than my bolt could ever do. Maybe there gun had burrs or something of that nature. It is a good bolt, if it was not then it would not sell so well. It is a must for F-4s. Hey they make this bolt for Cockers to, check it out. I give it a 9 because of the metal.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xflyer Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My brother has an OLD original Spyder that I've used
Marker Setup: 98/99 ACI F4 Illustrator (first of the new versions). X chamber(s) I have an old Bob Long & I'm going to try an ACI 6. ACI LVC; ACI 12" Graffiti; Viewloader 6v; ADDCO red dot scope; Laser pointer mounted on the rail just for fun.
Strengths: I think the recock adjustment is a neat 'idea.'
Weaknesses: Bolt is too complex; too heavy. Try to refrain from using it.
Review: The bolt is complex. It is made from many parts and at least 3-4 different materials. It is also heavier than the stock bolt. In short, a fast moving bolt should not be so complex and should be made of the same material. The bolt is made of aluminum, brass, steel (adjsutment skrew) and poly pins. These materials all have different rates of expansion and contractions as a function of temperature. In the long run, this is not a solid sound design. The largest problem comes from the bolt being heavy. It is much heavier than the stock all aluminum bolt. This bolt cycle at a high rate (rapid fire situations); the added mass is more stress on the markers internals. Also, you can physically feel the difference when the thing is cycling. I've ACIs venturi bolt & did not notice any considerable advantage in accuracy. If it not more accurate; makes the marker cycle harder; increase wear and tear on the marker internals, I would not consider this a good long term item to use. This discussion only weighs the pros and cons of using the bolt in the marker. The 'cons' of designing a bolt with so many different parts & different materials could take up an entire page for you to read. In short, keep things SIMPLE, reliable (and light).
Conclusion: I've read every ones laments about this bolt tearing up both the bolt and the guns; entertained comments about the bolts being large (diameter), and being made of inferior material(s). I'm not sure about the grade of alum they are made out of. I know they are anodized; that process hardens the exterior. I would say the major factor that tears up the inside of the gun is, the added weight of this bolt. The heavy bolt cycling back & forth makes the gun shoot (cycle/recoil) harder & tears up the gun. That fact, when compared with a negligable if any gains in accuracy, for myself, has led to my desicion to not use this product any longer. I tried it & the cons out weigh an pros - if there are any. The F4 had better overall design & better quality control than most comparable markers. They do not need that many upgrades. Just because a venturi bolt helped your buddies Spyder does not mean one will increase the accuracy of your F4. Lastly, One thing I have found benifits in 2 ways!!! Decresing the weight of your bolt will make your marker shoot easier (less harsh cycling). This will help you shoot tighter shot groups at a given target and reduce stress on your markers internals.

Try a Derlin bolt from Alamo City Paintball. Your marker will cycle smoother. The lighter bolt will increase the life of your marker. And finally, the Derlin WILL NOT tear up the inside of your marker!!!. Also, it is 'self lubricating.' the only thing you need 'lube' for is for air sealing (I use the O ring model).

Note, this is not a 'venturi' bolt. it is very simalar to your stock bolt. It is: light weight, one piece, and self lubricating. It also has an enlaged air hold from the valve - and it's angled. Nice bolt. You'll need to undersize-drill and install your poly pin for retention. The stock F4 came with replacment poly retention pins.

I am really a fan if the old ACI and thier F4. The Venturi bolt however only pulls 2/10. Thanks.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wenninjj Tuesday, December 4th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator TP, 9oz CO2 tank, ACI Venturi Bolt, 16" Smart Parts All American Barrel
Strengths: It's cheap and looks kinda cool.
Weaknesses: It's kind hard to adjust the velocity or the gun since the adjustment screw is actually inside the bolt and you have to take the bolt out of the gun to adjust it.
If the temp chages by more than 15 degrees you'll have to field strip it because the adjuster screw on the F4 is not very long. If you turn it to far and fire the gun you may blow the striker out the back of the chamber.
Conclusion: I didn't notice much of an improvement over the stock but it was cheap.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: F4 illustrator, ACI Venturi bolt, venturi 14" barrel, ACI 6 stage exp chamber, ACI HVC
Strengths: It helps stop ball breakage. Better than the stock bolt. Get it.
Weaknesses: It's too big for the chamber. You have to push it to get it in the right spot. It will scratch the inside of your gun and tear itself up in the process.
Conclusion: I hate that it is frictional in your gun. It's too damn big. You have to always lube it and check the o-rings. After time it will tear but I recommend that you buy it. If you have an F4 then you need to but this. Remember ONE thing , the two holes go on the bottom. GET IT .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 16th, 2000
Strengths: Great upgrade for the F4. Provides more consistant shot velocities than the stock bolt. You'll waste less paint with under pressurized shots. Adjustment screw works well with practice.
Weaknesses: adjustment screw hard to figure out at first, needs practice for best results
Conclusion: Absolutely get this upgrade for your F4. do the practice with the adjustment screw, it's worth it once you get it dialed in. LET THERE BE PAINT!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thehalls Thursday, August 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
F4 stock bolt
Marker Setup: F4 with....
Venturi bolt (duh)
11.5" zero gravity barrel
WGP ergo regulator
I also have a 2nd F4 with everything *but* the venturi bolt
Strengths: Has a back-pressure adjustment screw that in theory allows one to tinker with how much gas is dedicated to re-cocking the gun. But alas, I've never had a problem with my gun re-cocking too hard that I can tell so I've not actually used this feature.
Weaknesses: I have 2 F4s that are identical in every way shape and form *except* one of them has the venturi bolt. And yet, I can tell no difference in how they shoot.
Conclusion: Unless you've got re-cock problems, this one's a complete waste of your money. Maybe it'll impress the guys at the field, but it won't help you get any more kills. The only saving grace is the fact that it didn't cost much to begin with.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
6 or 7 f4 illustrators.
Marker Setup: f4, all tricked out. Oh My Goodness
Strengths: F4 does not perform to half of its ability without the Venturi bolt. Too bad that ACI does not just get rid of the stock bolt and just use these. I have had f4's for 2-3yrs now, and the one thing that I have found, more than anything, is that this bolt makes a big difference in the performance. The Stock bolt is not even worth shooting thru...
Weaknesses: Chicks dig it ..... It is a bolt, better than the stock. I suppose that it could be lighter, or perhaps they could make a bolt that needs to o-rings.
Conclusion: If you have an f4, this is a 10. If you don't have an f4 ... too bad for you. you should get one. they are a great back-up for any person. Extremely reliable. some people say they are neato.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 25th, 2001
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: it helps prevent ball breackage
Weaknesses: it scrathed the hell out of my gun, "i know it wasent the orings are lubercation , im not a stupid. the bolts just to big , if you have a stock bolt for your f4 you will notice when disasebaling it the "stock bold" will slide out. my venturi bolt wont and i have to push it out with a broken coat hanger
Conclusion: if you have this same problem e-mail me
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media