paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Shutter / Kingman Spyder Shutter / Kingman Spyder Shutter / Kingman Spyder Shutter

Kingman Spyder Shutter Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Shutter

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Shutter
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 660
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $289

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Standard features: VizionTM Custom Receiver with Airflow Vents, Premium Custom Color Anodizing, Removable Gas-through Fore Grip with Mini Expansion Chamber, Built-in Regulator with Gauge, Slim Double Trigger, ZebraTM Rear-cocking Bolt, Low Pressure Chamber, Quick Disconnect Pin, Dual Function System (DFS), Deluxe Sight Rail with Beaver Tail, Air Maximizer Valve, Semi-auto Action, Tournament Velocity Adjuster, Drop Forward, Power Feed, 45 Grip, Metallic-finished Trigger Frame, Super-light Trigger Pull, Anti-double Feed, Micro-polished, Aerospace Aluminum Barrel with Muzzle Brake, Bottom Line Set Up with Micro Line Hose, Shroud.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Shutter is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (66):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
shutter_user Friday, January 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested26 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Titan T2 By Mokal - Intense gun but lacks Syder Accuracy
Syder TL Plus- Good gun but lacks in consistancy, and upgrades that shutter offers
Marker Setup: Blue Syder Shutter-
-- 12" Smart Parts All American with Blue Freak Frt
-- A.K.A Lighting bolt
-- Blue VL elbow
-- Blue Revvy with x-board ( camo cover cause thats what woodland players look fo 1st I found out the hard way)
-- 32 degrees clear smoke grips
-- Polished insides
-- Steel braided micro-line hose
-- Dye cup seals, o-rings
-- Maddman velocity spring kit
-- 16 oz. chromoly co2 tank on/off (Very well balances this gun)
-- Coming soon electronic tigger frame, low pressure and maybe just maybe custom candy apple paint job!!!!!!!!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well 1st upgrade i did was a not really a better barrrel, but a more air efficent, plus a quieter, more lighter barrel, and I found that in the Smart Parts. It has more ports and is also great for my syder. Well i say i would get a better barrel
but the most important upgrade you will ever incounter will be your goggles, because no matter if you can shootthe lights out, or if you have the very best gun in the world that cost 3,000 dollars you cant hit anything without seeing it 1st right? I would suggest maybe JT N-Vader masks, b/c they come with the little fan that could! Great job guys at JT cause im fat and sweat alot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Next maybe good oil, then a bolt (Bob long, A.K.A., the best of the best)
Strengths: --PROS--
- great gun for the money
- Best syder yet can compete with any cocker,impulse,or any high dollar marker
- Good list of upgrades
- Good ratio of ball breakage to no ball breakage
- Powerfeed never hangs up
- Easy to clean and service
- Newbie friendly
Weaknesses: --CONS--
- Without the right paint no gun will act right!!!
- Beaver tail really sharp
- Power feed gets in the way of barrel sight
- Micro-line has to be upgraded
- nothing to really discuss just my own personal pet peeves
Conclusion: --All in all this gun, when you go to play will be there when you start and finish the game. You can get more bang for your buck. The best marker I've owned
to this day. Let's face it the kingman crews wins my vote any day, plus the ladies love the blue aluminum gun that guy shoots because it's pretty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. the onl reason i give my marker a 9 is because nothing is a perfect 10
except maybe Jessica Beil............oh wee she's hot as my shutter.........lol!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

lunderhill7 Wednesday, January 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BLack Dragun, Tippman, dumb spyders, A$$ beagle (Brass Eagle), BOSS, Rebel, Angel (shot once), Automag
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter:

Sprint Trigger Frame!!!!!!
Custom Flat trigger
6 stage ACI expansion Chamber
16 in Thunder pig/ 12 in Cp
Flame Drop FOrward from CP
Spike volumizer
X board 12 v Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sprint Trigger
ANY new barrel
Need 12 v hopper w/ trigger
Thats bare minimum to make this thing competitive.
Strengths: Wow, the good, there's so many:
-Reliable
-Fast even w/out new trigger
-Ball breaking is minimal if you find paint ur gun "likes". Mine is Big Ball and Chronic
-Easy field strip (as oppopsed to Tippman)
-Great stock bolt, it doesn't need to be replaced unless u want a slider. (a bolt that doesn't blow back into ur face. no need for beavertail)
-Looks really good
-Works really well with CO2. (better wit air though)
Weaknesses: NOT MUCH
-Some don't like beavertail. (I love it! looks way cool)
-The biggest problem is the slits in the body so u can see the bolt moving; dirt and sand gets in there. kinda sucks but you can live
-Stock barrel sucks. (which ones dont)

its hard to come up wit anything else...
Conclusion: I'll try not to be Biased.....Best semi gun for the price. I might recomend a Black Dragun instead but, it jams alot!! My friend got one, and it is an Electronic gun, and though it's fast, it jams like mad at high the high firing speed. (10 bps) If u get this guns e trigger u can set it to 13 (not reccommended but....i do it). My gun is better than all in it's class and it looks the coolest too. Rebel has a good lookin gun but it is not as reliable as a Shutter. Tippmans are cool, and look good but they are complicated. They dont jam either but it cost more to make them as good as mine. Anyway, go buy one or at least check it out!! It is AWESOME and way worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

pimpdragon75 Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c(Doesnt hold a candle to a spyder)
2k2 intimidator(price vs quality is the same for both)
Marker Setup: Bob Long 2k2 Intimidator
Halo B hopper
Freak barrel kit
48/3000 hp tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
One kit
Revvvy(if you get the one)
N2
New barrel
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: The Good
-Good Detent
-Upgradeable
-Stock valves can achieve a fast ROF
-Powerfeed can feed pretty fast by itself
-Runs on CO2
-Comes stock with a regulator and an expansion chamber
-Nice Milling
-Comes in many colors
-Nice size for most players
-Easy to disassemble

The Bad
-Gauge is on upside down
-Gauge isnt high quality
if you dont have a beaver tail the bolt has a tendency yo fly back and hit you if you are in the right spot
-Volumizer is purely cosmetic(which isnt good or bad but it doesnt function so its in bad)
-All the noobs at the field go "is that an angel, is that an anger, thats an angel, I know an angel when I see one"
-Blowback spring can cause bolt to fly out when disassembled
Conclusion: Its an extremely nice marker for the price. I used it when i was saving up for my timmy and it never gave me any grief, except for that time i put a screw in too far and it stopped the bolt, but that was my fault.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ebonclaw Monday, August 13th, 2001
 
8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I am not a professional paintball player. I have not even been playing for very long. But I can speak from personal experiance that the Shutter is a very nice gun. The first thing I noticed was that it is quite possibly the sexiest stock gun next to the angel. The anodozing is great and the colors are simple, yet eye-catching and flashy. The Shutter is definatly a great buy for the money, as you get a semi that has an expansion chamber, LP chamber, gauge and regulator, and drop forward bottomline all in one nice package. I've heard complaints about the regulator and gauge breaking but mine have held up pretty well so far, and they do exactly what they're supposed to. I've also heard the expansion chamber is kinda lousy, but it hasn't given me any problems so far and has done a good job of keeping liquid CO2 out of the gun. I'm not sure if the LP chamber helps any, but I've shot over nearly a thousand rounds through my Shutter and not had one ball break. 200 of these were Visible Impact from Sheridan and the rest were Quake balls. Taking apart the gun, this thing is amazingly simple which is definatly good because that means there's less that can go wrong. It is easy to oil and clean and maintain. Finally, there are the mixed reviews about the stock barrel. I found mine to be pretty decent actually. No, it was no nail driver, but when matched with the appropriate paint it performed pretty well. I've also heard complaints about it being very small bore. I had no trouble with balls fitting whatsoever and in fact one brand (Midnight) was too small. As for RoF, it fires as fast as I can pull the trigger and I have not had one bad feed using a 9v revvy. You don't need a 12v for this gun, no one can pull the trigger that fast.
Weaknesses: There are really only two things about the Shutter I would change. First, if you have a Shutter, you will notice the hex screws holding the grip frame on tend to come loose. Replace these with 5mm screws with big heads from your local hardware store and get some steel lock washers. Easy to fix. The other thing is the bolt is a slightly tight fit inside the gun and the acion has caused some of the anodizing to rub off, but this doesn't affect performance any. As for the stock barrel, it works fine. I personally upgraded to a J&J ceramic, but the stock barrel is decent as far as stock barrels go. It's ready to go right out of the box, if only you need a little bit of adjusting on the reg.
Conclusion: This is an excellent gun and not only is worthy as a backup gun, but can actually be a pretty good tourney gun, and the Boo-yaah grip frame is available for those that want a faster rate of fire. No I don't have one, I'm just saying it's available. I'd rather have one of these than a cocker, primarily because it's very simple and performs great for a good price. Like I said, it's ready to go pretty much out of the box and the only upgrade you really need are those new screws and maybe a new barrel (which can be said for about any gun). As far as bang for your buck is concerned, it's great. Expansion chamber, LP chamber, reg, gauge, drop forward, bottomline, venturi bolt....the only thing this thing doesn't do is make pasta. And you get to brag about how shiny it is. All for about $210. Don't buy one for $250, you can get them as cheap as $200 new if you look hard. I got mine new off of Ebay for $207.96. I have never personally shot a Piranha or similar gun, but I can tell you the Shutter is going to be tough to beat. This is a HIGHLY reccomended product, for everyone from the beginner to the tourney play. I can't wait to put a Boo-Yaah grip frame on it. I don't think there's a better gun out there for your money, but like I said, I haven't shot any of the Pirahnas. I'd pick this over a 98 any day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

umbro726 Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested a Custom 98 (its ok i guess)
black maxx (it suckes)
tippmann pro/lite (older model of the pro/carbine)
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter
20oz. 12oz. CO2
12v. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel thats all i can think of
Strengths: lite
accurate
has mine x chamber and reg
NOT PLASTIC!
Weaknesses: a little heavy with out a remote line
thats all
Review: i love this gun it is the best gun ever i wish i would have gotten it earlier
great gun all in all absolutly nothing wrong with it
great for starting
intermedieate and expurt
and for just playing in the back yard it is not a cheap gun it will last longer and has more upgrades than ever now

GET IT!!!!!!!
Conclusion: get this not a tippmann please i beg you get it you will not be let down ever it is the best ever made
It is not plastic it is metal!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 30th, 2003 at 6:07 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Impulsed Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98
-99 cocker
-pmi black maxx
-random other blow backs
Marker Setup: -99 cocker
-12v revvy
-68/4500 geddon
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrle, reg, trigger frame (dont waste money on anything else)
Strengths: Light, smooth pull, good on gas, and that is it
Weaknesses: Innaccurate, longggg pull, jumps velocity, and is ackward shaped
Review: A good starter gun, not one to put a whole lot a money into, looks great. and i liked it and so should u. kingman makes some great products and this is one of them. there is a great selection of colors and some good milling on the sides also.
Conclusion: all around good gun for a beginer. i liked it but i suggest that u do get this gun for a first because it will hold up and perfom good if u treat it good.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TLPlusUser Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TL Plus-- see below
Tippman 98 Custom--I like the Spyders better, but obviously the 98's are good markers. I guess it's a Ford/Chevy thing
Marker Setup: Black Shutter Java Edition, 14" Whisper barrel, 14 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell
electric trigger, if you want it
steel braided hose
Strengths: Reliable
Accurate
Consistent
Cheap
Weaknesses: Microline instead of steel braided hose, but mine works normally so far.
Review: I have used a TL Plus my entire paintballing career. I recently decided to buy a Shutter and found a great deal on ebay. I got a Shutter, 16" Armson Stealth barrel, 20oz tank, JT mask, hopper, cleaning kit, accessories and 2 pods for around $100 (which included shipping!)

I have always loved my TL Plus, but felt the consistency of the fps just wasn't good enough. I picked the Shutter because it was so close to the TL Plus, but included a regulator. This way I have a second/backup and I have lots of interchangeable parts. Now I can take friends out and know they are going to have a decent marker, instead of taking chances with a rental gun.

The regulator really impressed me. My TL Plus had a fair problem with balls not being consistent when it came to distance. On the longer shots, sometimes it would hit high, sometimes it would hit 2 feet low. The Shutter is much, much better about this. The Shutter and the TLPlus are relatively accurate when talking the ball curving left or right.

As far as shots per second, if you've read my review on the TL Plus, then you know I don't care about this. I think getting a person out in only 3 shots is much more impressive than taking 85 shots. Anybody can "spray and pray", but it takes some talent to get into a spot and only need a few shots to get someone out. I couldn't care less about shots per second. I figure 4 a second is more than enough. Having said that, I am a woodsball type of player. I don't really waist my time playing speedball.

So really, if you like the TL Plus, then you will definitely love this gun!
Conclusion: This gun was everything I wanted it to be.. a more accurate TL Plus. Really, I wasn't expecting it to be much of an upgrade (more just another market to have), but I was pleasently surprised. The feel is great, the trigger smooth. Like my TL Plus, this guns just works, and it works well.

As much as I used to recommend my TL Plus, I absolutely give the Shutter a bigger thumbs up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dominic Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder shutter with:
a smart parts teardrop barrel,
AK ricochet hopper,
shocktech empire twist bolt,
esp electro grip frame.
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately a new barrel (smart parts barrels or a boomstick)
a new hose for the expansion chamber
an electro grip frame
electro hopper
maybe a new bolt after about 1/2 of a years use
Strengths: it is nice looking, it is fast , it is sort of reliable, made by Kingman.
Weaknesses: inacurate, loud, feeding problems,dirt messes it up, hose leaks
Review: If you break a ball, then everything goes haywire and balls keep on breaking and they fly everywhere. It is kinda fast. I would replace the hose. (steel braded) I think that kingman made a mistake with this marker because it has a lot of technical diffuculties. GET A ELECTRONIC HOPPER!!!!! If you don't then you will chop balls and everything screws up. (don't get a eVlution II because it breaks real easily.) It is an OK MARKER TO START WITH! (a marker for Newbies and some Intemidiate players) I have played with this gun expecting it to be great but I was very mistaken.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an ok/bad marker. It has a lot of technical problems though. I would recommend an Xtra instead because it is a better marker and it is cheaper. Kingman made a few mistakes making this marker...
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

somedude743 Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This was my first gun ever
Marker Setup: -Java Edition Spyder Shutter
-230 round hopper
-16in Armson Stealth barrel
-20 oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definatley get a after market barrel. I'd go with a CP, Armson, something along those lines because there affordable.
Also I would recomend a new bolt, some shutters have been known to have a loud ping noise ever time they shoot.
Strengths: Java edition looks sweet (cool color lay out)
regulator
fairly accurate with the stock barrel
Weaknesses: A little on the loud side
get anew bolt or ull scratch up the inside
Review: over all, i would recomend this gun to any one who has been playing for under a year, I learned everything i know about the game of paintball from this gun.
If you are a little more expirenced you beggin to nit pick at the problems with this gun, mostley the trigger pull, for a bigginer its fine because they shouldn't be wasting ther paint and shooting really fast and missing. For a more expirenced player ( especially in speed ball) the trigger pull becomes anoying, and you find your self not being able to keep up.
If u and ur friends just got into paintball a black and silver Java editon shutter will have them in awe. It has a sweet look that really indimidates newbees.
Conclusion: If ur just getting into paintball i would recomend this gun, or the E-99, the E-99 is a little more expensive but it has an electronic trigger.
PS Dont pay more than $120 for this gun, if u did pay more than u got ripped off.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Aceking24 Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sport, Tl+, X-tra, E-99, Brass Eagle Blade and Stingray
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter with an ACI 4-Stage expansion chamber, a steel braided line, a laser sight, dye sticky grips, a KAPP autococker quick-strip push pin, a 12v ViewLoader Revolution hopper, a rubber trigger stopper to shorten the put with out spending $30, and an aka tornado valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
Steel-braided line, New expansion chamber, quick-strip pin, and a 12v hopper
Strengths: Its great for low pressure, and can be up-graded easily to the tournament level and its a great gun right out of the box
Weaknesses: You have to oil it a lot, the expansion chamber that comes with it is garbage, the micro-line leaks, the beaver tail is sharp, some of them come with crappy gages the size of half dollar (mine didn't) :) um some of them come missing o-rings, don't listen to the manual and adjust it to 700-800 psi it will kill the bolt and make the gun fire none stop for like a minute, drop it down to 400-600 psi and change the cup seal i found out the hard way!, the sight rail is pointless do to the power feed unless you mount a laser on it, other than that its a great gun i own one and i love it!, Also mine leaked out the barrel and my micro-line blew up but the cup seal in the spare parts kit fixes that leak and the micro-line is garbage just buy a steel-braided line oh, and i've also heard of barrels that chop all paint its not true and there is no point to taking out the venturi from the bolt it just makes it move slower which is bad!!!!!
Conclusion: Despite all of the bad i give this gun a 10 out of 10

Buy this gun, but buy it in person and be sure your getting a good one and not a reject!!! I suggest this gun to everyone!

P.S. Mine rules and I don't care if you make the same modifications to your gun as i did to mine because it will never be the same because I had mine custom milled :P
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (66):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media