paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod / KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod / KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod / KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod / KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod

KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount KAPP

Buy KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod

Paintball Autococker Cocking Rods

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $16

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Ryan314 Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Red 2003 Vertical Feed Autococker
CP 2 Piece Pro Barrel
Red KAPP F.A.T. Ram
Chrome Palmer MicroRock Regulator
Chrome KAPP STO 3-way
Chrome KAPP F/X Beavertail
Chrome KAPP Twisted Cocking Rod
Chrome KAPP Ball Detent
Chrome KAPP SS Pump Arm
Red CP Flame Drop
WGP Gem Grips
68/3000 CrossFire tank
Empire Reloader
Strengths: Looks.
Weaknesses: Adjusting can be a pain.
PRICE!
Review: Well first of all, this thing really does looks nice, but it is pretty expensive. Good for cosmetic freaks (me :). Anyways, the set screw can be a pain sometimes because you gotta really tighten it down hard or when you go to unscrew your cocking rod, just the top of it will unscrew off then you'll have to re-adjust the length of it again. I've been thru this process about a dozen times already. Just be patient with it and once you've set the right cocking rod length, make sure that set screw is tightened down hard.
Conclusion: I reccomend if you've got extra money to spare, the stock cocking rod is completly fine. But if you go got extra money, get one, they are sweet looking. Other then this, the set screw issue can be a pain, just make sure it's tightened down hard.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Wednesday, January 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stocking Cocking rod - doesn't look as fancy
Marker Setup: 2k3 Vert Feed Cocker (Blue)
Palmer Stabilizer
KAPP FAT Ram
KAPP Reflex Trigger
Eggy II
*sigh* 16 oz co2.
Strengths: Looks good, adjustable for timing purposes
Weaknesses: Plastic, Adjustable peice easy to come off.
Review: This is a nice cocking rod. It looks nice and I like the feature of adjustability like the stock one. Although this one has a much larger range for length adjustment. Although setting this position is nice. Once this position is set, the back peice that actually has the twisted design can unscrew off the cocking rod part itself. This is why blue loctite was invented. I think tho however that it's kinda sad that Kapp wouldn't make this screw stay on better. The twisted look also feels like plastic. It doens't feel like metal, to me that's not very high quality because I'd except a metal one at the least.

Don't know what else to say about it. It's just a cocking rod.
Conclusion: It's cool looking and adjustable. However the plastic feel and the fact that it falls off the rod itself is kind of a so-so issue.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mugen76 Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocking rod, shocktech rod
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4, Halo B w/rip drive, Evil Pipe barrel system, Eblade, KAPP f.a.t ram, KAPP twisted cocking rod, ANS gen x2 regulator, ANS jackhammer2 LPR, ANS drop forward, shocktech ball detent, shocktech superfly bolt, shocktech back block, shocktech beaver tail.
Strengths: the looks are amazing
Weaknesses: need to loctite
Review: this is probably the coolest looking cocking rod out in the market. all cocking rods pretty much perform the same. that's why i went with this piece b/c it matches the KAPP fat ram. this rod looks great and provides a nice grip for you to twist or pull. only problem was that it the rear knob was loose when i got it. a small dab of loctite took care of that.
Conclusion: buy it!! this is fairly cheap and looks great. its perfect for those seeking function and form.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe body Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock cocking rod
Marker Setup: 02' cocker, all american 12" barrel, kapp f/x beaver and twisted cocking rod, ricochet 2k and a whole lot more upgrades
Strengths: Looks great expecially with the kapp f/x beaver tail, really wouldn't use different.
Weaknesses: Doesn't do any thing for to help you
Review: I personally think the only reason to get this product is for the looks but at only $16 it is worth every bit it really doesn't matter that it doesn't do anything for you the thing is if you have a nice cocker why have the stock cocking rod when you can have style at $16 really there is only one thing wrong with it and it doesn't improve performance at all, but it looks good.
Conclusion: If i were you i would get something that would improve you marker first, but if it all ready is tricked out spend the extra $16 for some extra style.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amzng_spyderman Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocking rod
Marker Setup: totally tricked cocker
Strengths: looks good. when timed right, your cocker can use this to re-cock. i haven't needed to use loctite as of yet.
Weaknesses: does not help with performance. the first one i got was scratched up, but i got it replaced.
Conclusion: does what it's supposed to do and looks good while it's doing it. kapp rocks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

animal control Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocking rods(seemed to back out several times a day)
Evil cockng rod(just added to my nightkast, rubber bump is useless abd need a replacement)
Marker Setup: the marker i have this product in is:
WGP AUTOCOCKER(mechanical)
was stock, JUST added a WORR Hindge Traigger frame,
planet eclipse On/Off Purge & Mini Rail
J&J Ceramic 14 inch barrel,
KAPP Twisted Cocking rod,
Coopet-T Delrin Bolt(this guy is pretty unknown and has a GREAT product),
otherwise the rest is stock.
i usually use a dye trottle 91/45tank
Strengths: Doesn't back out
Looks tight
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This product works well and does exactly what is is suppose to do.
the milling is very nice looking and adds a tiny bit of flair to my stock black marker.
even though they tend to be a bit more pricey, all products from this company(KAPP) seem to be very high quality products.
Conclusion: Excellent product, i would recommend if you wanna drop a little extra cash on a sweet looking, well manufactured cocking rod that wontback out
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeepdude Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocking rod
Marker Setup: 2003 vert feed autococker
Palmers micro rock
WGP ram with built in TRV's
ANS 3 way
Worrblade bolt
Kapp crome twisted cocking rod
system x chrome drop
Warped Sportz 68/4500


2004 vision impy
smart parts lpr
function bolt
function trigger
lucky 15 barrel kit
12V revvy
nitro duck 68/3000
Strengths: Adjustable
Looks cool

Weaknesses: Takes some tinkering to work properly
You have to crank the setscrew on tight
Review: I had my autococker for a week and i was already sick of the stock cocking rod. Its ugly and.. i just didnt like it. So i bought one of these off ebay brand new for like 15 bucks.. not too bad. Its adjustable so u can dial in when ur gun recocks i guess but the only thing i used the adjustabilty for was just to get it working. Plus it looks o so much better than the stock one. It gives it a custom look because of the twists.

The only disadvantage was that it took a little tinkering around with to get my gun cycling properly. I didnt know that it needed to be adjusted, so when i got it i just bolted it straight to the gun and expected it to work fine.. i was wrong.. my gun fired once and wouldnt recock.. then i realized that u need to adjust it so it lines up just about with the stock one to work properly. Also, after its adjusted, make sure you tighten the set screw in the back really well because if you dont, the twisted part will just screw off and leave the cocking rod in the gun. After adjustin and tightening, i havnt had any problems with it whatsoever.
Conclusion: Its good for the money, but playing around with it and having the back come off sometimes is a little annoying. Once u tighten everything, it works flawlessly.. so i give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cocker_tov Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye cocking rod, WGP stock cocking rod
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralite Minicocker
Strengths: Big head - easy to grip
Weaknesses: Poor finish
Oversimplified structure
Threads don't fit
Review: I got my Twisted rod a few days ago. My stock Dye rod stucked and I could not adjust its length. First thing I realized as I took this part of the box, is poor finish - twisted pattern is made by the saw, and it cuts the fingers! After 2 minutes of cocking my marker, I felt that my fingers became thinner :)
It make the fitting even harder. This rod does not have the locking screw in the back of its head, it simply screws till the end of the threads. Since I ordered black rod, black color stucked into the threads, and I waisted 15 minutes to screw the head on rod more than it was! Finally, I have to use locktite to lock the threads, and that's what I don't want to do.
And the third thing is, that this rod does fit hardly the threads of my marker. I have a Dye cocker, but I think it has the standard threads for the cocker.

Conclusion: The bottom line is: I am looking for a new rod. This will be the backup.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Justin66 Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocking rod
Marker Setup: 2k3 VF Autococker
- shocktech ram + 3-way
- Eclipse Dart bolt
- Mac Dev Sonic Detents
- Kapp Twisted cocking rod
- Halo B
- Flame trigger
Strengths: Looks awesome
Nicer overall marker appearance
Thicker rod
Easy to time
Weaknesses: Price (kinda of expensive???)
Review: It looks great ...gives a nicer look to your gun and thats one less stock part on it...im surprised no one mensioned this yet but the rod itself is acually thicker than the stock one and alot of aftermarkets ones...less chance of bending...thats one less thing to worry about IMO...tho it doesnt commonly happen
Conclusion: If you have extra money and want a more custom better looking marker than get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 8:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Red_Reign Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
some titanium cocking rod that came with my titanium pump arm
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: none really
Review: not sure what some of you are talking about...

plastic pieces? hard to adjust? needs loctite? can be hard to grab?

im thinkin what needs to be loctited are those loose screws in your heads.

maybe you people bought a retarded version of this part (that would match your reviews) the kapp twisted cocking rod i bought was quite nice, looks awesome, has a lockdown screw to tighten in the opposite end to the cocking rod, and theres simply nothing to b**** about. the supposedly awesome titanium rod i have simply lacks the features of the kapp rod.

i have a hardcore 18bps e-cocker, and not once have i had to re-adjust this part of my gun. regardless of the thrashing it recieves from my ram being at its maximum psi. and about it being hard to grab? umm no. maybe its a lil sharp for some little girls, but its not hard to grab it, nor is it supposed to be easy anyway. dunno about you guys, but i just pull my once at the beginning of the day.
Conclusion: ignore any and all negative reviews in this section, and simply go buy one of these if you need a cocking rod. if they put this knob on a titanium rod, it would sell like mountain dew.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media