paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
f2f4 Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years54 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The closest thing I can think of is a Spyder Victor...
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Recommended
Upgrades:
- A new barrel
- Aggitated hopper
Strengths: - Cheap (not expensive)
- Surprisingly durable
- Aesthetics
Weaknesses: - Freezes up during long strings of rapid fire...
- Stock barrel is loud
Review: Well, this was my first marker, purchased at Galyans. Although it was inexpensive and made of plastic, that thing was friggin' TOUGH. It never broke down on me (well, it did once, but it was kinda my fault...I'll elaborate later), and I still keep it as a backup, and as a loaner for my friends.

Accuracy with the stock barrel was not that bad (but not exceptional, either). Also, the barrel tended to emit a lod "POP!" when fired, which could be considered an advantage (for intimidation of the other team). Both of these slight drawbacks could easily be fixed by purchasing a decent barrel.

The trigger pull was light and crisp, which really surprised me for a marker of this price. I was able to achieve a rate of fire of about 6 BPS, which is more than decent. Also, I really like the fact that the gun INCLUDES a built in sight, which can be removed to mount a red-dot sight, if you insist, and the fact that it can be completely field-stripped just by flipping a lever (I really wish my Avant had that!). In addition, I thought the flush cocking system was a really cool feature.

This marker, like all markers, had a few drawbacks. One of the main issues is upgradability, but then again, this marker is MUCH more upgradable than others in it's price range (with the exception of some Spyders...hehehe). The only other major problem I had with this marker is that the stock bolt shattered in the gun one time. This was most likely due to the fact that I was dry firing it a LOT (to show off how loud it was...*sigh*...I was but a newbie at the time). I didn't think it was physically possible for a bolt to fit down the middle of the barrel, but somehow it did!

However, I called PMI and was shipped a replacement bolt FOR FREE! The new one hasn't broken yet, so I think that was just a one time thing...
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun for any player who is just starting out, as it is very easy to clean and the only upkeep it needs is occasional oiling. I would also reccomend this gun as a backup for any beginning player.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:42 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

eastwood2 Friday, August 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Black Maxx
Viewloader 200rd hopper w/elbow
stock barrel
20 oz Pure Energy CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is about 9". I've tried a 14" Ice Cold barrel and a 12" WalMart aftermarket barrel, and the stock barrel stands up very well in terms of accuracy. Don't blow your money on another barrel until you try the stock barrel at the target range or in a game. The stock barrel is definitely loud! It's not ported so there's no muffling whatsoever.
Strengths: --So far, I like this gun very much.
--It's completely non-glare black finished so that's good in the woods.
--It's extremely lightweight due to its polymer construction.
--It's very easy to strip the guts out--simply flip the lever at the rear and pull the bolt and hammer assembly out. Super easy. Takes seconds. I learned this when I replaced the bolt o-rings with bottle o-rings the first week I had it. Since then, no problems.
--Looks cool!
--It's only $50
--Fires rapidly with no ball breakage--tried both Diablo Dusk and Big Ball and no problems. Big Ball is a much harder ball than Dusk.
Weaknesses: --Early on the stock o-rings on the bolt stretched and shredded on me. Luckily, you can simply replace these with bottle o-rings.
--It's loud--although you may consider that a good thing for intimidation purposes
--puffs a fair cloud of CO2 vapor with each shot, may giveaway your position; unported barrel may cause this--just a theory
--PMI web site doesn't provide much info on Black Maxx; although Tech Support email service was very helpful and responded quickly when I had the o-ring problem--I was impressed.
--That's about it! -- These are minor criticisms

Conclusion: I recommend the Black Maxx, particularly for those just getting into the sport or considering whether it's worth renting vs. buying a low cost set up. Black Maxx is a great marker, especially for $50! It's light, shoots fast, looks great, flat black finish, and easy to field strip. Simple construction; efficient CO2 use. Other than the Maxx, I've only used a Spyder Shutter and the Maxx seems just as accurate and far less heavy. The velocity on the Shutter will go higher than the stock Maxx, but that can be "fixed" with a stiffer spring. This is not a "problem." Get a Maxx. It's fun, inexpensive and gets the job done with minimal fuss.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TorqueGTR04 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann 98 Custom ( i don't like the 98's forward grip..), alot of Brass Eagle pumps
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx , 9 oz C02, 32 Degrees 12" Piranha/Spyder Nyte Stikk, and a clear 200 round PMI Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL - the 9" stock is loud, inacurrate, and anything else a bad barrel can be... I suggest a Nyte Stikk, 12" - 16".
Strengths: Very light weight, great accuracy, low profile, and quiet
Weaknesses: leaves a cloud of C02 out of the barrel, low velocity, and hopper slips around
Review: I have had this gun for about 6 months now, and it's as good as any gun i have used and better. It is a GREAT beginner gun, and it is good for any experienced player who is looking for a low input, high output type of gun (can be backup or main gun).I have never had a problem with it other than low velocity, and when you run, the elbow slides and the hopper turns upside down allowing no feed into the gun... but that is fixable with some tape. I recommend a 12" or 14" barrel upgrade. It does not at all waste C02 as I could waste four 200 round hoppers full of paintballs without a refill. If you get this gun, turn up the velocity, because if I had the velocity up yesterday when I went to the paintball field, I would have picked off about 10 players in the tower i was in, but my shots were falling into the creek between our side and the other team's. I am looking into buying a new Kingman Spyder Rodeo but this is such a great gun that I will keep it around until it falls apart and no longer works. Even then I will still keep it since its what i learned to play paintball with.
Conclusion: This is a very good beginner gun, and is good for experienced players looking for a low input, high output gun. The only problem is velocity but you can just use your allen wrench and crank it up a bit. PMI has a sure hit right here, 10 for 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2004 at 10:28 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Justin The Pyro Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marauder
Marker Setup: Tippmann
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
Perfect for a newbie
Easily field strippable
Light
Quiet
Weaknesses: Weak
Review: Well this gun, by FAR is the best newbie gun someone can buy. You can get it for like $30 or $40 and it has a 6 month warranty on it. People are always saying Brass Eagle is better for newbies because you get what you pay for but look at this...You can buy this gun semi auto with a warranty for the price of a talon. Talons are pumps with no warranty. Which seems like a better deal? Anyway, this gun is somewhat weak...It needs some more power behind it. I would normally suggest getting some new springs but this gun is more of a temporary gun you'd buy to experiment with until you get something better. It is quiet, and light and easy to maintain. Doesn't chop either. For the money, this gun is well worth it.
Conclusion: Get this as a backup gun or if you've just started out and aren't sure if you want to pursue paintball or not.

EDIT: Just did a search. You can get this gun for $25 at actionvillage...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 2nd, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

surfinsk8r Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years10 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own a Tippmann 98 custom w/ RT, and compared to that this gun is like a small catapult.
I used to own a Diablo BoneDaddy, which compared to this is good, because BoneDaddy is heavy and completely chops every other shot.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Response Trigger
20 oz co2 with on/off valve
Stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't go past a 16 inch barrel
Don't spend a fortune, most upgrades are more exspensive than marker
Buy cheap paint
Strengths: Nice Comfortable Grip
Never had a problem
Durabillity for cost
Stock Double Trigger
Lightness!
Weaknesses: All Balls Dive at relatively short distance
Loud Barrel
Review: I own a Tippmann 98 custom w/ RT, and compared to that this gun is like a small catapult. The balls shoot and dive almost every shot, unless you speed up the pressure past 300, which you cant even see the paintballs, and it sure isn't safe. I continue to keep this gun to introduce neighbors and friends not experienced enough o purchase their own gun. This allows them to skip the whole 'this is my first gun so it is ok if it sucks', leading them to purchase a better gun. I recommend this gun solely to help introduce the 'sport' of paintball, to get them used to being shot and shooting, not the power of paintball.
Conclusion: Buy it and save it. Great as a begginer's gun or a gun to teach others with. Not reccomended for Field and definetely not tourney play.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 12:40 pm PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

Consfearacy Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6 (stock), Spyder Rodeo, Sonix, Pilot ACS, Imagine
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx - 12" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel. I suggest a J&J Ceramic Barrel a length of no longer than 14". If you have the extra money, use an N2 tank for better performance. Possibly new internals, but that really doesn't matter, because they're good already.
Strengths: Aesthetics, Extremely light, Read review.
Weaknesses: Recoil, Read review.
Review: Okay, I got this gun as a backup for my A5. I never expected 37 dollars for a gun to be so good. I bought a 12" J&J Ceramic barrel just because it's basically the best barrel under 50 dollars. I took it out of its case, hooked up my air to it and off I went to test it. I was satisfied. I was hitting the stop sign with ease from about 100 feet away with every shot. I first used the stock barrel with it, and it was loud and not as accurate as the J&J barrel. This gun is very, very light. Almost everything on it is plastic.

I am going to rate some things out of 10 about the PMI Black Maxx.

Accuracy ~ 9
The accuracy is great on this gun, but you must get an aftermarket barrel, because the stock one is trash. It gets a 9 because you got to remember that this is a 37 dollar gun. Of course it can't be an A-5.

Weight ~ 10
Definitely one of the lightest guns I have ever held. It's less than 2 lbs. When you have your CO2 tank on, the gun's weight seems to be imbalanced, but that's not much of a problem.

Noise ~ 8.5
With the stock, this gun can be pretty loud, but I have definitely heard worse. When you use a J&J Ceramic, the sound is greatly suppressed, but yet again, I've heard better.

Performance ~ 9
Oh yeah, this gun worked out great for a day of paintball. Out of 500 paintballs, I chopped about 2 and I have my gun set at 250 FPS. The Black Maxx was firing around 11 bps and was not curving at all, I am satisfied. There was only one thing that wasn't a big problem, it sounded different when I shot rapid-fire, almost like it was shooting liquid, but I found out that it wasn't, so that wasn't a problem.

Overall ~ 9
The only problems you will get from this gun are recoil that rattles your hopper when you shoot. Also, this gun feels fragile just a bit, but that isn't a problem, because the plastic frame of the gun is very durable and can take a beating from a hammer, so I've heard. If you've ever tested out a Piranha R6, it's basically the same thing as the Black Maxx.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this gun on 3 accounts:

It's the perfect gun for someone starting out on paintball.
It's easily the best gun under 100 dollars.
Excellent as a backup gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MarkSpot Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any other compact simple gun.
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Icon-E black
20oz c02
200 rnd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing.this is just fine.
Strengths: small,lightweight,looks cool,comfortable grip,fires fast,easy use,accurate,looks mettalic without weight.
Weaknesses: grip looks cheap,nothing special really.
Review: When I got my new Icon-e my lil bro went crazy.All he had was a brass eagle blade 02 pump gun(all you older ballers can relate to crossing over from pump to semi).He eventually saved his money and got this gun a week later.He bought a 14 oz skinny c02.the first thing I noticed about this gun is every thing about it says metal exept for the weight.everything was easy to use and nothing required a hard pull or twist even c02!when I let him try my gun he was getting all frustrated about how he couldn't cock it,use the switches,or even carry it!he was happy to see that there was a nice semiautomatic gun he could oporaye completely on his own!Its also really simple.The instructions are completely unneeded.Down to gameplay.this thing can actually compete with high end guns!believe me I know.My first game against him I agreed to give him a 5 min head start,and keep my gun on semi and he beat me,a little kid!it was so easy to use that he ,without hesitation or worry,fired again and again at me!him being small completely hid himself behind the tree me not being small was uncapable of that!it fired at a constant rate extremely accurate.even when I fired back he just completely went behind the tree.size does matter!he hit me in the elbow lol.he can run to with it!he can't hardly carry my big ol gun!I tried using it a bit too it was nice and light but was lacking in fire rate and power.It was better than alot of guns I've used.I like not using a gun thats made by spider spider says cheap even though they are not and certainly doesn't deserve that label.anyway this gun is great the gun looks high quality mettalic even though its some sort of ultra dense plastic.The grip is easily plastic if only it coulda been the same materiel.
Conclusion: if you want a gun buy this
if you want a reliable gun buy this
if you want a decent gun buy this
you caan't beat the price and this is a REAL SEMI its not a TOY PAINTBALL GUN as you may have been led to believe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bikerdude7200 Saturday, February 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
the pmi trracer(used then had to send in for the retro fit recall)
personally i think the black maxx looks better and performs better
Marker Setup: black maxx, clear 200rd toxic performance hopper, 12oz java co2,
Recommended
Upgrades:
i guess a new barrel and thats about it
Strengths: relatively quiet
i got about 3 balls a second
doesn't waste co2
light weight
easy cocking / semi-easy velocity adjusting
safety position is in a very good place
double trigger
out of box marker
nice for a stock barrel
Weaknesses: nothing
Conclusion: i love this gun i just started playing recretionally
great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

luv2eat01 Monday, September 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S.
Halo b with rip drive
pure energy 20 oz co2 tank (soon to be nitro)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel
Hopper that sits lower
Strengths: Price
doesn't chop much
light weight
Weaknesses: Range
Accuracy
overall performance
----if stock
Review: At first i bought this gun and I thought it was terrible. I thought I wasted my money, and i couldn't find anybody to buy it off of me. The first game I used it in it did alright. I was going against two Piranha's (not electronic ones). It held its own. Then I went against a Tippmann 98 Custom with it and thought it was way better than mine, so I went out and bought one 2 days later. The 98 Custom worked well for me and it performed better than the Black Maxx. I tried selling it, but nobody would buy it. I was using the 98 Custom in the woods and let the Black Maxx collect dust. Then I decided to mock my friend by putting my stock T.E.S. barrel on it and went into the woods against him and his new Spyder Imagine. WOW! The accuracy was great. It suddenly earned a new respect from my friends and myself. It is now the ultimate sniper gun. It is accurate, lightweight, and relatively quiet. The only other thing I had to do to it was add a new hopper. Not an electronic hopper, it doesn't have a high enough rate of fire for that. The stock hopper sits too high on the gun. If you want to be a sniper you can't have your hopper stick up that far. A tall hopper gets seen, and it gets shot. I bought a $4 gravity loader that sat really low on it. Now I have a quiet gun that is lightweight and accurate. A little camouflage on me and the gun and I can crawl around all day and make one or two shot kills with ease. Perfect sniper gun with a few cheap upgrades. Great money saver. It isn't expensive at all to buy, and a new barrel will be the most expensive thing you have to put on it. On top of that you don't need to buy expensive paint (I use the cheapest stuff I can find), and it's still accurate. Because I use it as a sniper gun, I do not go through paint fast at all. When you eliminate people with one or two shots it saves on paint. Another plus is it's size. I use a 12" barrel and it doesn't ever get in my way because of how small the gun itself is.
Conclusion: It sucks without any upgrades on it, I ain't gonna hide that. A new barrel makes it very accurate. If you are looking for a cheap sniper gun this is it. If you want to play speedball, than avoid bringing this gun at all costs. Find a good barrel and your all set. It would be a 10 if it didn't suck out of the box. Stock, I wouldn't give this gun any higher than a 2. Buy it if you are looking for a cheap yet great sniper gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 18th, 2004 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

weltedone Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion
VL Triad
Multiple Brass Eagle Junk
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx Stock
ACI Maverick / Trracer Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Barrel (Uses Spider Threads)
Stiffer Hammer Spring (Spyder/Piranaha Spring Kit)
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
Fairly Accurate
Easy Breakdown
Weaknesses: Weak
Review: Well, today I played for 4 hours with this gun in 90+ degree weather. The only problems that I had with the gun was the velocity, even at maximum tension it still isnt very powerful. I also had a little trouble adjusting to the M16/AR15 style sights. This gun was also very good on gas, shot 400+ with a 9oz tank. I eventually shot around 700 emptying the tank. I love the cocking system. Unlike most people who have shot this gun, I am impressed with what a whole 50 dollars will buy. Also it is amazingly light. The elbow adapter unfortunately is pmi specific so the cheap veiwloader ones wont work. Stock barrel is okay, but 1 out of 5 balls will probably curve hard if you go trigger happy. Very innovative, too bad they had to cut out some of the performance.
Conclusion: Best bang for the buck. And no, it is not mostly plastic.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media