paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse Vision / Smart Parts Impulse Vision / Smart Parts Impulse Vision / Smart Parts Impulse Vision

Smart Parts Impulse Vision Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse Vision

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse Vision
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 264
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Vision Eye is the latest breakthrough from the innovators at Smart Parts! The "eye" senses when there is a ball FULLY in the chamber. If the ball is in place, the eye allows the gun to fire. If any part of the ball is not in place, the gun will not fire until the ball falls. This, along with the low operating pressure of the Impulse, practically eliminates all chopped balls. Fire 20 balls a second with confidence with the new Vision Eye!
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse Vision is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
EricF4i Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months43 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
M3 BlackDragun basic
Marker Setup: Impulse w/vision and verticle regulator
-Custom Products low rise
-Freak barrel system
-blade trigger
-New Designz delrin bolt
-System X drop with on/off
-Nitro Duck 68/4500 tank
-12v revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel on mine was a Smart Parts progressive 12" It shot great for a stock barrel. The very first thing I would reccomend is a good drop, especially if you get the verticle reg. If not your tank is going to feel like it is 4 foot long. Next in line would be the trigger or bolt.
Strengths: -Accurate, dependable, NO CHOPPED PAINT!!
Weaknesses: The first shot drop syndrome. Not a biggy but aggrevating.
Review: You can not beat this marker for the price. In my opinion it competes with anything out there. No matter what anyone else says it comes down to the player as long as you have a good dependable marker. And this one is!

If you are an upgrade freak, there are lots and lots of upgrades available to customize just they way you want.

NO MORE CHOPPED PAINT!! What more can you say.

The gun is kind of tall. After putting on my low rise it made a huge difference.
Conclusion: This may be the last marker I ever purchase. Can't think of any reason why I would want anything else. If you want a good marker for half the price of some of the competition look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

pbN00B Saturday, June 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months35 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that are electro
Marker Setup: 2002 Imp with vision i installed, Tapeworm, 20oz Anti Siphon, Remote, ND Ram, Pin, Hammer. Evil Pipe barrel kit. Soon to be Air America N2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends what you are playing as well as how much your willing to spend. Want to upgrade a stock just hunt around for impulse aftermarket internals. I would also suggest an LPR of some type. Either the SP one or the Evil one. Will give you a good amount more shots per fill. Will also allow you to operate at a super low pressure, like 110-120 with improved distance/accuracy.


Strengths: Awesome out of the box gun great reg, great barrel, solid build.
Weaknesses: Weight heavy to newbies Barrel short for longer ranges but good for everything else.
Review: You want a review about what you get for your money here it is. Im not going to tell you how awesome my marker is because i put another 300 dollars after market parts into it. Im going to tell you my impressions on it out the box. First, its nice milling, low profile which i personally like. People complain about this gun being ugly, well to that i say, who cares? Just cause i didnt spend 800-1000 for a Timmy, Angel, or Cocker and didnt get that wicked awesome eye catching look doesnt mean this marker cant defeat all. Personally if i had one of those guns, high end cocker, Timmy, Angel, i would freak if it was hit with a paintball, especially around the LCD display. With this, you can shoot it all you want and i woudlnt even think about it. Honostly what do looks do for paintball guns any way except jack the price up and get you some comments before or after play when its during play the marker really needs to show its beauty. And that my friends is where impulses really shine. On to other things. Weight- It was not really heavy to me, before i had been using piranhas and a couple tippmans so, it was about that weight. Normal i guess. People complain about the barrel, and yes i did go out and buy a 150dollar barrel for mine, but that doesnt mean the stock is bad. Hey some people go out and spend $20-$40 for a progressive right, and SP gave it stock. Better than a true peice of junk like on $200 semi and electro guns. Regulator, while bulky, does an awesome job, I get amazing consistancy of +/- 1. Again, that alone is not a cheap peice of equipment and SP put it in there stock. Unlike Bushmasters where all the reviews say "must upgrade regulator", here you do not, and should not ever. Grips are prickily and do feel like hard plastic, but i assure you they are rubber and i dont mind, i wear gloves so what do i care. But if it matters, another 15-20 and you got some new grips. Gun is EXTREMELY SIMPLE TO OPPERATE i cannot stress that enough. It was my first electro and i was totally blown away at how many moving parts this actually had; like 5. I never had a problem with first shot drop off, as others may say, and the only reason i upgraded the interals was for a different weight balance and personal preference. If your really scared about the FSDO problem, research has found that on all impulses experiancing the problem, proper lubing of the hammer fixed the problem EVERY time. Permanently. Take out the hammer internals, clean, relube, replace, no more FSDO even after waiting an hour and firing. The last thing i want to go over is ROF. This marker, especially with a blade trigger, can shoot very fast (fast as you can pull the trigger average is like 7-9BPS), it is semi only and that is all you will need. People who own electro's with a ROF selection mode i think waste money if they put it any higher than the first burst setting. Timmy owners and the company, bob long, for example, brag about how their gun can fire 22BPS. I laugh at how stupid you are for this, you paid a thousand dollars for a marker that can empty a 200 round hopper in 9 seconds. Wow your cool. For starters most tournies and rec places dont let you use full auto. Second people who use full auto are jerks for trying to hit someone more than once and i would say its pretty equil to purpously shooting hot during play. And third this defeats the purpous of aiming when you fire that fast. Paintballs are not cheap as well so emptying a hopper that fast cant be appealing to anyone. To make it clear im not bashing Timmy owners or Bob Long, you guys have quality kick ass markers, but so do I and i spent half of what you did. If you really want to make your imp into a no talent machine gun you can get a new board with fire selection for your imp which takes about 3-5 minutes to install. Go to www.exarin.com for info on that. You would want a Genesis board, goes for $110, if you want full auto.
Conclusion: Anyway, your reading these reviews because your comparing this to another gun, most likly a Bushmaster, or Cocker, Automag, Matrix, Timmy, or even an Angel. Let me tell you, impulses are in a world of there own. Pro's use them every day. They dont break. Its got minimal moving parts. And its price, while steep for some, will give you alot. This is not an autococker or Bushmaster in anyway shape or form because you do NOT have to upgrade this gun with $100+ worth of parts to get it working as good as the hype. As far as the more expensive markers go, if you have a large budget go for em but i garentie you will be paying alot more for basically the same as what this gives you for $300-600 less. It really kicks a$$ stock. Other reviews for different electros put this marker down, but take a look at them closely. Using B2K2 as an example, like 2/4 reviews say that a b2k is better than an impulse but yet its about the same price stock, then according to their own reviews you need a new barrel and a new reg right off the bat. Thats another 150 for the same quality you get for an impulse. Not to mention quite a few of the ICD BK model reviews have people who no longer own their guns, or are trying to sell them. I dont see that in any of these reviews, or any of the aftermarket impulse reviews. And on a final note can all you posers who dont own, or only shot an imp once, stop writing inaccurate reviews. I noticed quite a few new ones that say the eye doesnt see darker paint, that is not true, it was fixed literally like 7-8months ago. You also dont need a egg or halo for this guns ROF which quite a few say, its a semi only gun, and most people who think they have a magic finger and can shoot 15bps are on drugs. Its physically impossible so dont even try to brag cause you sound stupid. Ricochet, or 12V Revvy will do you fine.

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 28th, 2003 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

NCpaintballer Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months33 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-mag, Angel LCD, Bushmaster, Various Autocockers (electro & manual), Automag 68, Automag RT
Marker Setup: Emag with Level 10, Blade Trigger, Dye Boomstick
Vision Impulse w/ Powerlyte Scepter, Blade Trigger, Palmer Rock lpr, ND valve, Slick Shot Ram, SS Hammer, and Delrin Bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blade Trigger, Fast Hopper, New Internals (valve, hammer, ram, bolt), and LPR
Strengths: -Fast
-Accurate
-Price to Performance Ratio
-Easy on Paint
-Easy to Clean
-Good Customer Service
Weaknesses: -Reliability
-Stock Gas Efficiency (can be fixed)
-Kick (can be reduced)
Review: My team has been shooting Impulses exclusively for about a year now. Up until about 3-4 months ago I was the oddball shooting an E-mag. I purchased a Vision Impulse w/ Cricket board about 6 months ago. I had shot them in the past and was pretty impressed with them. After owning one for those 6 months I have not been very pleased with my purchase. The problems I have had with the gun haven't been very frustrating as have some of the other problems my teammates have had. The bright side is that I have had very good luck with Smart Parts when it comes to fixing my gun.

When I initially purchased my gun 6 months ago my Vision eye was not working. I called Smart Parts and after speaking with a very friendly tech for about 20 mins he told me to send it in. A week later I got my Impulse back with a whole new Vision system installed. After that I had fairly good luck with the gun however I have had some problems with velocity fluctuations due to a dirty Max-Flo. I had heard good things in the past about the reg and I will say I still think it is an awesome reg. It has been very consistent since keeping it clean.

Perhaps the biggest thing that turned me off to the gun was an incident I had during a tournament several weeks ago. While my team was up 3 - 1 I went to bunker a player on the opposite team. As I came around I shot twice. No balls came out and my solenoid blew. I was quickly shot out and my team went on to lose the game. As a tourney player having a gun break down on field is a very big issue to me. The gun is currently at Smart Parts and will be sold when I receive it back. This really upset me as the gun has been a very solid performer besides the problems that I've had.

Speed: The gun has been fast and accurate. I run a ND Blade on my gun and have set it up very light and fast. I can chirp the cricket board fairly easy in non vision mode. With a fast hopper I can get fast strings of shots with no broken paint thanks to the Vision Eye. I have had very good luck with the Vision. Just several few broken balls in the many cases I put through it.

Consistency: Consistency has been pleasing as well. After cleaning my reg I can get +/- 2-3 pretty frequently. Sometimes better depending on the paint/barrel match.

Price: The price to performance ratio is definitely in the Impulses favor. For the money you get a very accurate and fast gun for about half the price of many of the other high end guns on the market. The gun will work great stock but can accept many upgrades for the tinkerers out there. Many of the problems people have with Impulses can be fixed with a few upgrades. A Blade Trigger can get the ROF up there to compete with many of the other high end electros. Gas Efficiency can be improved with a LPR and new Valve. I am getting about 1300 shots out of a 68/45 after upgrading my gun.
Conclusion: I have seen many Impulses work great on the field but the problems I have had with mine have been disheartening. For the money the Impulse is a great buy but I do not think it can compete with the other high end guns on the market when it comes to reliability. If you're looking for a reliable high end electro others such as the Angel, Timmy, and E-mag seem to outperform this group.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

muggz19 Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months24 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
IR3
Angel Speed
Timmys
Cockers
Shocker 4x4
Matrix
Marker Setup: impulse vision
cricket board
full freak
eclipse blade trigger
dye sticky grip
68/45 Maxflo
ND internals
ND LPR
Low Rise
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tape Worm or LPR is a must.
New Barrel (stock barrel is very bad)
Delrin bolt (no lube required)
Blade Trigger = more BPS
Strengths: this gun is one of the fastest guns i have ever shot.
Weaknesses: gas hog without lpr and new bolt
vision wont work with black paint
Review: This gun is amazing, if you have the right set up it will never let you down. The stock gun is almost tourney ready right out of the box, throw a freak and tape worm on and your ready to go. i would recomend this marker to anyone, great for both front and back players.
Conclusion: I would choose this gun over the new angel speeds, the speeds dont compare to the impulse.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

smartguy41 Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, really.
Marker Setup: Primary Marker
*DYE DM4*
-Function push button On/Off
-Function Delrin Trigger
-Tadao M3 DM5 Chip
-Warped Sportz Lucky 15 Barrel
-Hybrid Panelz Contract Killer Grips
-Java 45/4500 N2 Tank

Backup Marker
*2k4 Impulse Vision*
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New Trigger
-New Feedneck
-LPR/Tapeworm Combo
-New Barrel
-Delrin Bolt
-New ASA
-Blackheart Board or any aftermarket ramping board.
Strengths: *Read Review*
Weaknesses: *Read Review*
Review: I'm going to be critical of this gun, but I am in no way saying it sucks. The first thing anyone will notice about this gun is that it's tall. Mine was 17 and a half inches tall with a Halo. For me, this is a little too tall. The best way this problem could be fixed would be to get a new feedneck, preferably a low-rise. Another way to fix this problem would be to get a new frame, such as the I-Frame. These two upgrades would definately shave a few inches off of the height. The stock trigger sucks, period. There's nothing good to say about the stock trigger. Just get a new one and that problem will be solved. The stock Progressive barrel isn't the best, it's not bad, but not the best. It's a gas hog, but an LPR should fix that. As far as accuracy goes, just make sure the velocity is set right, or the paint will corkscrew horribly. Even with the eye, this gun will chop every now and then. I'd have to say that over the year I used it, I chopped at least 500 balls. Most of the chops were on damp days, however, so I'm not fully placing blame on the gun. A good thing about this gun is that I never replaced the battery over the year I used it. When I sold it, it had the same battery in it that was in there when I bought it, and is still in there going strong. The Max-Flo is a very good, consistent reg. that hasn't given me too many problems. I did manage to cross-thread it somehow and had to get it fixed, but that was my fault. The software seems to be very good, but I would like to see the eyes improve. They have a problem sensing darker colored paint, which isn't a big problem, just get bright shelled paint. I would, however, replace the stock board with a Blackheart or WAS board, just for the different firing modes and better eyes. When I spoke of the I-Frame earlier, I meant it. I cannot tell you the difference in size this thing makes. Unfortunately, they aren't made anymore. So if you can find one on Ebay or from someone else, get it. The trigger in the I-Frame is amazing; it's so much better than the stock one.
Conclusion: When this gun is upgraded it can keep up, but upgrades are needed to display this gun's full potential. I wouldn't rate this marker as a high-end, but I wouldn't call it a low-end, either. It's more of a mid-end, if that makes any sense. I just can't see spending another $500 on upgrades when I could buy another gun. In my OWN personal opinion, this gun isn't worth the $585 that I paid for it, but for others, it may be. I'd save the money and buy a used PM5 or DM4, or get a Shocker, they're only $100 more now..
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 19th, 2006 at 4:27 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

flash7613 Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e-99 not nearly as good
bunch of others that can't compare
Marker Setup: Black Vision Impulse, Full freak kit 10 in with 14 in all american front, stock progressive, 88 ci 4500 psi crossfire tank, 12 volt revvy with xboard, (soon to come tapeworm)

Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe just a tapeworm but this gun is tourney ready out of the box
Strengths: very quiet and accurate, won't chop balls
Weaknesses: that i can't use it all day long
Review: The vision is a worthwhile investment, it makes it impossible to chop paint. This marker is very consistent and accurate. Its easy to shoot and it feels good too. It can use cheap paint that most high pressure guns can't use. Its very upgradeable and is the best marker I have ever used.
Conclusion: I strongly reccomend this product. The stock barrel is better than a lot of other barrels. It looks cool and works great. I give it a 10 b/c it is a perfect marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

evo2man Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian creek design b2k
Indian creek design bko
Marker Setup: Impulse vision, Blade magnetic trigger, dye ultralite barrel, voodoo delrin bolt, low profile twist feed neck, dye sticky 3, bob long lpr, dye drop forward, nitro duck 68/4500 tank, viewloader EvLution II
Recommended
Upgrades:
voodoo bolt, new lpr or solenoid stabilizer(tapeworm), blade magnetic trigger, low profile feed neck
Strengths: Reliable
NO CHOPPED BALLS!!
Fast and Accurate
Weaknesses: Vision doesn't work with dark shelled paint
Gas hog without LPR or tapeworm
Review: Overall the Vision Impulse is a Reliable, Fast, and Accurate. Without a Low Pressure Regulator, I recommend a bob long regulator. Or a Solenoid Stabilizer(tapeworm). The gun waste compressed air or nitrogen. I highly don't recommend using Dark Shelled Paintballs because the vision eye doesn't read that there is a ball in the chamber because the shell. Also getting a low profile feed neck is good because the gun is a little high. A Blade Magnetic Trigger makes walking faster. And the Voodoo Bolt is shorter and is an advantage.
Conclusion: If you want a gun under 1,300 dollars and that performs great. I Highly recommend YOU get this GUN!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 16th, 2005 at 3:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

P-money Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Matrix, Angel u name it ive shot/owned it
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse
-New Dezignz Derlin Bolt
-Tapeworm
-Low Rise
-Total Freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt increases Air efficiency
Tapeworm just need the damn thing lol
Freak for ANY gun
Strengths: Low Pressure High ROF. This thing kicks ass I love it. Compared to an Angel iR3
just as fast, 800 dollars cheaper,but Angel does have the most comforatble trigger frame though.
Weaknesses: GAS HOG holy s&^% but the bolt does help air efficency. tall without the low rise but all can be improved
Review: The gun has never failed me yet. WIth vision I have never broke a ball. The ROF is insane and it intimidates Newbs. I like my cocker but nothin compares to this gun. Its not 1000+ dollars but it performs like it is. Love my Angel and my cocker but i usually use this in tournaments.....Next gun Masty Impulse :) best lookin gun out there
Conclusion: Buy it worth every penny and more i think Smart PArts could price it higher (hope they dont read this lol) but one of my favorite guns
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

volcomp8ntballr Friday, April 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
ICD Promaster, Bushmaster
DM6 (out shoots big time)
Nexus ego (out shoots)
07 Cyborg (best gun ever
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse Vision
Blackheart Board
Tapeworm
NDZ Delrin Bolt
Eclipse Magnetic Blade Trigger
Maxflow Reg
No name Drop-forward
Vision Eye System
Progessive Barrel
Q-Lock Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board
New Trigger
New feedneck
new asa
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Decent consistancy (1300 shots per 68/45)
Weaknesses: Blocky, Big, heavy
Review: This gun honestly is better than most of the new smart parts line other than shockers. This gun out shoots an Ion, Epiphany and Eos. The only problem is THIS GUN IS HUGE! it is not very easy to use as a mid/front player and can really get in the way.
Conclusion: Consistant, Fast and upgradable, this is a great buy if you are a back player and need a quick, cheap, amazing gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pimpedoutimpuls Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: FOR SALE!!!!!!!

Smart parts vision impulse.
All ndz internals-hammer, bolt, trigger, etc
Evolution 2 hopper with z board
Vision eye
12 inch all american barrel with a freak front.
dye sticky grips
pure energy 45 4500 nitro tank
aci bull dog 3 45 4500 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
all upgrades avaiable for it.....they still real good guns with out upgrades
Strengths: Light,fast,quite,small,reliable,goodprice tons of upgrades for this gun.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is insane. It will keep up with just about any gun if u puut a little bit of work into it about (200-300$), the gun is not that exspensive. i am so glad i bought this gun if i had the coice of any gun i would chooese this one. it is a very easy gun to maintain. it is also very easy to clean. i can clean this gun within 10 minuts. if u have any questions about cleaning the gun feel free to wright me a comment and i will make sure to get back at u. for a hopper i recomend the egg with z board or the halo b any other hopper wont keep up with it but thats where the vision eye takes place remember if u have any questions feel free to wright me a comment.
Conclusion: Overal i woulld say this gun is insane i recomend every body gets it lol
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 12th, 2005 at 5:57 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media