paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crosman Red Dot Site / Crosman Red Dot Site / Crosman Red Dot Site / Crosman Red Dot Site

Crosman Red Dot Site Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crosman

Buy Crosman Red Dot Site

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crosman Red Dot Site
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our enhanced red dot sight has easy to use finger knob adjustments and a large lens for increased field of vision.
Product Availability 
The Crosman Red Dot Site is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Ahotdog Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c iron sights
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Crosman Red Dot
SP Linear
Strengths: -Cheap
-Easy to find
-Red dot easy to see indoors
-Looks goos on my 98
Weaknesses: -Switch fell off (came unglued)
-Can turn on by accident
-Elevation not enough (see review)
Review: First off, I must say this is a good, cheap, red dot sight. I found it at Canadian Tire for $20 while getting my CO2 filled.

I first used it in the backyard shooting at the shed, getting the elevation and windage just right. From about 30' from the shed it was nearly dead on, but the elevation was maximized out, this may be okay for speedball, but most woodsball and scenario hits are from double that distance.That night I accidentally hit the switch turning it on and leaving it on. That unfortunately, led to a dead battery, which I replaced the next day.

Now on the field, about a week after I got the sight I went out with a couple of friends to the local field. The scoped performed great, getting me quite a few hits. The red dot was easy to see, thanks to the extremely dark field, even through goggles while being shot at. The red dot also served me well in an end of the night duel, everybody else had left so it was just the employees, my friend, me, and about 40 paintballs. We did a five pace, turn, and three shots. I scored three hits every time, but we were only 15' apart so it would have been hard to miss. On my way home was when i had some more switch problems; while packing away my gun the switch got caught on my gun causing it to be pulled off the sight. This is probably not hard to do, since the switch is simply glued to the sight, and is fixed the same way. It may not be a huge deal, but it's still 15 minutes I could have been doing something else.

Some people say the red dot is fragile since it's plastic. The truth is the mounting bracket is metal, and that is the most likely place for a sight to break; and I must say my gun has been dropped out of a tree and the sight didn't even have a scratch. I would be scared to do that with a more expensive, and fragile sight.
Conclusion: It's a great sight if you want something cheap, fairly durable, and easy to find. It's also good if you play at dark fields where it may be hard to see your iron sights. You cant beat it for the price, but if you are looking for a red dot to use as a primary sight, and want to be able to adjust elevation and windage perfectly, there is better out there.

I give it a 6 because it works, and nothing more.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Sunday, July 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy red dot(smaller window)
Brass eagle red dot(Sucked really bad broke b4 my friend even got to use it)
Crosman 4x scope(Good scope its just iron scopes are very hard to use in paintball)
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8
Strengths: Easy to use
Adjustable
Big window
mounts to 3/8
Cheap
Weaknesses: Hoppers cut of vision but this is an a-5 problem
Eats batteries
Review: Well I was at my local fishing hunting store and saw this thing for 20 bucks and decided hey why not and bought one. I got home and screwed it on my a-5. Its got 3/8 dovetail mounts so it fights right on tippmanns without you having to buy rails or anything. The only thing I didnt like is witht he a-5 the hopper gets in the way slightly but when you quick aiming you don't even notice. Looks really cool too.
Conclusion: It helps a bit with quick aiming and makes your first shot count a bit more. I'd say get it if you like woodsball. For 20 bucks every woodsballer should at leats try one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 2:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ravenwulfe Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crosman superscope = It's the only other sight I've used, but it's not the same class
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Basic, Black Finish
Smart Parts Tactical 20" barrel
Opsgear MP5 PDW stock
Brass Eagle 20oz Co2 tank
Opsgear UMP Shroud
Opsgear UMP Mag
Strengths: -Clear picture
-Minimal glare
-Dot's usually clear
-Stays on securely
-Light weight
-Low pricetag
Weaknesses: -Flimsy on/off switch
-Internals not protected well
-Cheap construction
-Not designed for paintball
Review: I would like to start off to say that this ISN'T a paintball product. It wasn't designed to take a beating, or deal with paint on the internals. It was designed for air rifles and pistols, as that is what Crosman primarly produces (yes, there was that .50 paintball revolver, but that's the only one that comes to mind). However, this isn't to say that it will be guarenteed break if it gets hit, it just won't hold up as well as products designed for paintball due to the nature of our sport.

Personally, I've never had an issue with the sight being hit directly, but my friend who has the same sight has, so I'll use his experiences as a template for it's durability. He's had to glue some pieces back in place, but it still works fine after about three solid hits. Just make sure that if you do decide to glue it that you do not muck up the internal wiring, as this may cause problems. There's a chance things will be knocked lose with a direct hit, but there's a good probability that your sight will still be functional afterwards, regardless of what got knocked loose. I would recommend having a strong, quick drying glue in your gear back incase you do need to do a quick repair in the field, or a tool kit to remove the sight so you can continue to play without causing further damage.

Onto the sight and dot itself, it's nothing super fancy. A bright, low powered red laser will be projected onto the glass which you look out of, and there is virtually no chance of getting the light in your eye that I can think of. Even looking through the glass, the light doesn't shine through and will not give your position away (there's a slim chance at pitch black night play, as any light source is easy to see with a clear line of sight, but chances are, you won't see anything with it anyways). For best accuracy, take a couple hundred paintballs (you won't need all of them to sight the sight, but you may want to target practice) and pick a target that's about 20-30 feet away and keep trying to hit that target, making small adjustments to the sighting knobs until you are square on. You may wish to rest your marker on something while shooting to make sure that your shoots are consistant if you are still a little bit shakey in your aim, which everyone is getting used to something. The sight is very accurate, even for paintball. After zeroing it in, you may not have to adjust it until playing conditions and weather change substantially, as the ranges in paintball are not far enough to make a huge difference, and because of the ease of access, you can make any neccessary adjustments on the fly, especially if you're firing at extreme range that requires you to aim your marker up more than a an inch or two. I found that without adjustments at close to medium range, the shots were spot on within a few inches, until nature takes it's course at ranges where your shots begin to spread out.

A concern of mine with the sight is how flimsy the on/off switch is. Even though it's not designed for paintball, it doesn't take well to being flicked on and off quickly during a game for too long. I am almost certain that the switch will fall out and be dangling from wires in a short time. This problem was fixed for me with small amounts of earlier mentioned fast drying, strong glue. I havn't had a problem since, though you do want to be careful that you don't get any on the switch itself, otherwise you may not be able to turn it on or off. Small amounts can be worked through, however, but do your best to be careful.

The two best features I found were how securely it mounted onto the sight rails of my marker, and it's low price tag. Even if you do damage it beyond repair, it's a $20 (Canadian) fix and by then, you'll probably be able to afford a more durable, customizable sight or buy another one, because you will probably get your investment's worth by the time it does die. I've had mine for about a year now, and it's still working excellently. Just keep in mind you should put it carefully into your gear bag (on the gun or off, it's not going anywhere), or you may accidently hit the switch. This happened to me by accident, and I'm careful with this sort of thing. When I got to the field, my battery was dead. It was probably on the entire night before. Not too bad considering I'd been using it constantly for the last several paintball games.

Another drawing factor to it is it's light weight, which is barely noticeable on your marker. Having a mostly plastic construction does pay of in this sense, and unlike most scopes, this something that you won't notice when you pick up your marker. I should also note that it is 3/8' dove tail rail for anyone who's unsure. It will not fit on weaver style rails.

Warning for A-5 users: To fit this properly, you will either have to remove your rear sight and put it back as far as possible, get an offset hopper, or a tac cap to fit it properly, otherwise the stock hopper will get in the way of the lens.
Conclusion: For a red dot sight, it is inexpensive as you can get, it's very secure, light weight, and it's accurate and precise (accuracy is what you're aiming at, precision is how close your groupings are together). While it wasn't designed for the abuse most paintball equipment takes, it has held up well for myself and my friend with minor repairs. The lack of duribility and internal protection hurt the score, as does the problem with the switch staying attached after a while. There are much better products out there, but for the price, the features are very nice and I found it was a huge assisting tool for my shot placement. I recommend this product for anyone who doesn't have the money to buy a better quality sight and want a red dot, or someone who isn't sure if they'd like using a red dot or not and would like to try it out without putting too much of an investment into it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Urban-Coyote Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Iron Sights
Marker Setup: Pump-action PMI Trracer with 45rd Hopper, 9oz tank with butt plate, stock barrel with badly done custom ports and the crossman red dot sight
Strengths: - easy to mount
- easy to sight
- big enoth screen
- my marker looks good
Weaknesses: - red dot is a little weak
- weak structure
- battery placement
Review: This sight was perfect for my Trracer which has useless iron sights you can't see down with a mask on. With this cheap little sight, I can now actually aim. The sight itself is cheap and it shows in the construction so take it easy with your gear. The red dot to me seems a little weak for sunny, open speed ball field, while in the darker woods it is excellent.
Conclusion: If you just need something to bring the sights to your eyes this is a cheap fix. If your just looking for a cheap red dot sight this is good. You can spend more and get better quality but it just doesn't seem you should when this is all you need.
It is an average red dot sight deserving an average 5, but considering how people rate products on here, the 5 turns into an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steveboy Thursday, January 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle sight
Marker Setup: Blue Spyder Shutter with 32* Carbon Fiber Barrel, 20oz Pure Energy Co2 Tank, Crossman red dot sight.
Strengths: -The Dot is nice and big
-Has a larger lense so it is easier to aim
-easy to adjust the dot(I spent 15min adjusting it and shooting at a poll untill I could hit it consistantly)
-looks cool on my gun
-fits on any gun with a sight rail
Weaknesses: -Its only plastic and could break easily(just dont drop it)
-Sometimes hard to see the dot when it is really really bright out
-I keep forgeting and leave it on.
Conclusion: A good sight, I gave it a 9 because its not perfect and there are better sights out there, but its good enough for now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rossatoni Wednesday, November 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
fiber optic sights
Marker Setup: Pmi Trraccer with stronger spring
Strengths: It's cheap really cheap.
It's large lens area lets you see lots of the feild
Its accurate and the dot it real easy to find once your used to it.
Ive got soooo many head shots with it
Easy to adjust
Weaknesses: It's plastic and not as durable as others or as well protected from the elements.
I keep forgetting to turn off the laser
Conclusion: Buy it its a very good deal for the amount you pay. I would buy another one in a flash its way better looking than that brass eagle crap also cheaper. I am giving this product a 8 because there is always something to make better like the duribility
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Juno Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Friends copper head red dot (tube style). Prefer the larger square window.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus modified with Shocker parts, 20.OZ co2 Tank. Basic 200 round hopper from canadian tire(modified with custom soft neoprene inner liner) V-force Morph mask (I consider it best on the market)
Strengths: This sight is a great deal for the $ spent. Considering this sight is somewhat flimsy feeling and probably wouldnt survive a hit, I have personally broken out my Dremmel Tool and modified this scope with a protective plexiglass screen for the lens (great for quick splatter clean up) and have built a sleek surrounding sleeve along the body for better protection against the elements, hits, and better vision in sunlight. Schlap a decent sticker on there and it gives my setup a clean, intimidating, custom look. What more can you ask for 20$? Pick up this sight and have fun doing some mods. No real problem zeroing in this sight on my weapon.
Weaknesses: Rather flimsy and probably wouldnt survive a good hit without some modifications.
Conclusion: Pretty flimsy but cmon..its 20 $ The mods made a world of difference and turned this scope into a contender.....yessum. Great for beginners or those who like to get a little crafty with their gear. I would give this scope a '5' but with the mods I have made...'8'
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TechNiN Sunday, October 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
End-to-end sighting system on other guns
Similar sights with little round tunnels
Marker Setup: Green Raptor, CMI 16", Crosman Fatass Sight
Strengths: All red dot sights are great. but this one is excelent becasue the window is huge.

Window is a little smaller than 1.5" by 1".
Easy to find the dot when you get used to it
Easy to adjust
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Seems like it would break if it took a direct hit.... so if you get hit in the marker-elbow region alot, better opt for a more durrable one.

sometimes the red dot fades out, but thats just cuse the switch sux... flick it on and off half a dozen times. should work.
Conclusion: REALY improved my game! If you make snap shots that are all over the place, this will realy help, because you know where the red dot is, is exactly where your balls are going to be landing... if you dont see the dot, dont expect the balls to land there.

this thing is great for the price, for a few more bucks you could get better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A real gun scope (too expensive to use)
Marker Setup: Stock RAS Intruder, Scope, 20oz Co2, Crosman red dot.
Strengths: Its very cheep, so if you just want to add something to your gun to freak out people. Get it!

Its very simple to zero in.

It wont fall off the sight rail easily.

Its pretty accurate if you sight in your gun.
Weaknesses: When i first took it out i was like, Wahoa. This thing smells, but now it smells normal (plasticy)

Its plastic and might break if shot at (or atlest screw up your sight and make u zero in on it again)

You see a red dot, and a very small light red light around the dot. Its not a big deal.

Conclusion: Very good scope for a beginner. I sighted mine in from 75-100 feet away. It makes my gun look wicked!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 68 Automag calssic, Smart Parts Progressive barrel, PMI 4 stage expantion chamber
Strengths: I had this on my Pro/Carbine and it was dead on when I sighted it in. I've hit people from 50 yards away in a single shot. This is a sweet sight.
Weaknesses: It's not waterproof like some other ones so don't play in the rain.
Conclusion: it's good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media