paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Coiled Remote / PMI Coiled Remote / PMI Coiled Remote / PMI Coiled Remote

PMI Coiled Remote Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Coiled Remote

Paintball Remotes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Coiled Remote
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features quick disconnect for easy installation and removal.
Product Availability 
The PMI Coiled Remote is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
kangaroodent Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Uh... A normal ASA with all of 6 inches of line? I dunno.
Marker Setup: Viewloader Prodigy E-Grip
PMI Remote Coil /w Quick Disconnect
16oz tank
Dye Excel Barrel
Strengths: -Cheap (compared to others)
-Has good features
-Worth it!
-Works with HPA
Weaknesses: -Takes getting used to.
-Difficult to operate
Review: The first and foremost problem I had with this was learning how to use it. So for the people with problems, here's what to do:
Remote Coils for Dummies:
Putting it on:
+First you're gonna need something to hold it in. I suggest a cheap 4+1 pack which you can find for about $15 used off the forums.
+So, now you gotta just loosen that blue cap on the place where you put your tank in (we'll call it the ASA because that's what it is.)
+Now, undo the quick disconnect and put the end that looks like the tanks' valve into that cool thingy called your markers ASA (air source adaptor).
+Now you can reattach the quick disconnect.
+Here's where you pressurize the coil. Just screw the tank into the opposite of the end of the coil attached to the marker (the part that you loosened the blue cap of) and make it all the way in, hurrah. Make sure the quick disconnect is connected well, and that the tank is all the way in and now screw the blue cap in until the hose stiffens and you hear it pressurize. Now go 1/2 turn more, and that should do it.

Taking it off:
+Unscrew the blue cap until all the air leaks out, and that'll depressurize the line. You can now disconnect the quick disconnect without blowing o-rings because there's no pressure, hurrah.

Thank you for reading Remote Coils for Dummies.
Conclusion: Pretty good product. I just don't use remotes anymore now that I'm a tourney-nator.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 28th, 2004 at 6:37 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Straight remote line.
Marker Setup: WGP Sniper II, 32 Degrees Nyte Stikk, Gas-thru adjustable stock, Pure Energy 68ci fiber tank
Strengths: Worked perfectly right out of the box, have never had a single problem with it.

The coiled line means less snags on the terrain.
Weaknesses: None from my point of view.
Conclusion: I've heard people say how stiff the slide check valve can be, or how it chews o-rings, but I found if you just spray some silicone lube all over the slide and a bit down the line, it moves as smooth as butter and relieves a lot of motion stress on the o-rings.

Also, unlike conventional remotes, the coiled remote means you don't get the line snagged on underbruch and sticks in the bush, a real plus if you play in the woods like me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lolumz34 Sunday, September 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98, 14" Xcel barrel, PMI coiled remote, 3a-paintball 68cu 3000psi HPA or Pure Energy 12oz Co2
Strengths: Flexibility and stretch. Slide valve to discharge the marker for quick disconnect.
Weaknesses: Leaks, leaks, and more leaks.
Review: Right out of the box I had an issue getting the quick disconnect to seal. Ended up having to replace the ring inside the end even before it was used once. Then, on game day, the slide valve started to leak after the first game. Then needed to be torn apart and replace one of the rings inside the slide. Apparently it is common I'm told for the rings inside the slider to get small cuts in them. Then today, after trying to play with it again, the bottle end started to leak. As soon as the line was charged, it stated to leak from the knob. This happen on both the HPA and the Co2. When it works, it good. But it is very moody.
Conclusion: Others have had this issue and settled, I on the other hand do not think that I should have to. I will try a couple more times, replacing what needs it...is this continue, it goes in the tool box.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Aci coiled remote deluxe
Marker Setup: fokus
tear drop 14 inch
200 round hopper
Smart Parts Freak grips
PMI Pure Energy colied remote deluxe w/ quick disconnect and slide valvue
PMI Pure Energy 88 CU 4500 PSI
Strengths: This has to be the best remote there is on the market right now... I am reviewing the PMI with quick disconnect and silde vavlue ... not the base one..
Everything is a huge PLUS on the remote the hose is rated @ 3000 PSI and they are soo much smaller the the ACI ones which are really bulky...

This remote also has a slide valuve . great for keeping you tank on while you tank you hose off the gun....

Also great for depressuring the hose when you turn the tank off to remove the excess air in the hose.

Weaknesses: NOTHING . THIS IS A++++++++ product
Conclusion: If your getting a remote get this one..... its simply the best on the market .. not to mention it looks real good !!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daddy dann123 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann A5, e-grip, red hot power tube, 18"intercepter ops gear barrel, raider handgaurd, raider raised rail, red dot sight, mag kit, 330 rond hopper, raider remote line, tactical car stock with raised cheek pad and padded butplate, front flipdomn weaver handle, 1.5L 5000psi air/nitro tank and 20oz co2.
Strengths: Takes so much weight of your gun.
Gives alot of moveability.
Very tuff.


Weaknesses: There are no weakness, this is a great product and makes alot of diffrence.
Review: i have been using this for about 4 weeks now and have had no problems. It takes so much weight off the gun and it gets rid of the big clumsy bottle on the end of your marker.
it is so tuff and heavy duty that it just ripps through bushes branches and bracken.
and if you don't want to you don't have to un screw anything. A bit stays on the marker and theres just a pull thing and it just slides on. The on and off valve works like a treat instead of turning the bottle just enough to fire the excess gas and then unscrew it, it takes of all that hassle.
Conclusion: i would recomend this product to anyone who wants a great weight to be liffted. Any serious scenario paintballer needs this. And to add to the above it makes it feel more like a real gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Coiled Remote - Close, no slide check
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
48c.i. Pure Energy Nitro

Marker 3:
Black Smartparts Ion
Pure Energy 48 C.I. Tank
12 Volt Revy
Strengths: Slide Check
Balances Marker
Acts as an expansion chamber
Weaknesses: Shrinks when gassed up
Valve pin can fall out

Review: I love this remote. It really makes a difference in your marker's performance as it improves balance, and gives you an X-Chamber. However it does have its problems.

STRENGTHS:

+Slide Check
The slide check on this remote is really convenient. With it you can vent the gas in your marker and line and disconnect the hose from the marker. Then just loosen up the valve cap and disconnect your tank. I've never had it break or have any problems. It's a very convenient feature.

+Balances Marker
Without the added weight of a tank on the back of your marker its lighter so it's easier to run with, presents a lower profile and helps increase accuracy, due to the lighter weight.

+Acts as an expansion chamber
The remote line gives time for CO2 to expand on your marker. Coupled with an expansion chamber, you'll never have CO2 problems again.

WEAKNESSES:

-Shrinks when gassed up
Once you run CO2 through this, it shrinks and curls up. It'll stretch out some and still maintain flexibility. However it still is a lot shorter with gas in it than without gas.

-Valve pin can fall out
Once when I loosened the valve the pin just fell out into the dirt. Also the valve cap can seize up if used W/CO2 in really cold weather.
Conclusion: I'd reccommend this product, but it does have its faults.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Private_Eye Wednesday, June 19th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: M98 Custom, Flatline Barrel, Car Stock, Sure Shot Sight, 12oz. and 20oz. CO2
Strengths: Well lets see. It's a remote so that means it gets off of your gun and saves you a lousy 1 to 2 lbs.
Weaknesses: The on/off screw doesn't work at all. Whenever I unscrew it leaks like crazy and won't stop until I screw it back in. It always leaks but it IS really stiff. Its hard to get it untangled whenever there's gas running through it. I can hardly get it in my pocket it tangles itself up so much. Plus whenever i remove the tank I almost freeze my fingers off because of the leaking CO2
Conclusion: If you buy it I would strongly advise you to send it back. If you do use it though then try and find a nice friend that you can pawn it off to. If you don't have a friend then just destroy it. I know im just going to invest in a drop forward kit next time the tank starts getting in my way.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

phantomoak Thursday, November 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05, PMI remote, HPA, Ricochet 2KX hopper (~12BPS to gun)
Strengths: Works
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I bought this remote as a way to avoid buying an HPAtank and having it filled. My Pilot shoots to fast to use CO2 direct (freezes the SH*Tout of my lead hand). This Remote works perfect. Never had a leak.

The on off and disconect work well.

When you first use it,it will seem stiff as all get out, but after a few games it will be a lot more easy to manage. The only problem I ever had would it would tangle when I first charged it to start a game. DUH, it is coiled, ANYTHING that has pressure added to a coil with twist...My solution was to flip my marker around 3 or 4 times...

Now that I use HPA, I dont need a coil for CO2, but it keeps my gun VERY light still.
Conclusion: I would buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 19th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
First time use.
Marker Setup: Custom 98', Flatline barrel, RT, Exp. chamber and Drop foward
Strengths: There is nothing good about this coil.
Weaknesses: It broke on me the first time I played with it. Poor quality.
Conclusion: I had it sent back to PMI to get repaired. This was 3 months ago and I still haven't gotten it back yet. Their customer service is very rude too.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

splatface Friday, June 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical, 3000 psi HPA Tank, 16" Progressive barrel, Wicked Bolt, PMI Remote line with BT remote cover, 200 round hopper
Strengths: Heavy Duty
Price
It works
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Being that I use a stock, I need this thing. Makes the gun so much lighter, and if you have a mil-simmy gun, makes it feel more realistic ( since you don't have a tank, though you still have a hopper).

I use HPA. Almost everytime I screw a tank in, and tighten the knob, is sometimes leaks (did it with CO2 too). I've figured out a way to stop this, though. After I tighten the knob, it leaks, then I unscrew the knob, screw it back down, then it stops. I have no idea what's wrong, but I got it to work.
Conclusion: Overall a good product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media