paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Merlin VLM / AKA Merlin VLM / AKA Merlin VLM / AKA Merlin VLM

AKA Merlin VLM Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Merlin VLM

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Merlin VLM
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Kit Includes:
Mini-length Merlin body.
AKALMP Front block with built in vertical ASA.
Large Heat treated stainless steel front block screw.
Tornado valve.
Feed tube, valve spring and ball detent cover plate.

FEATURES:
Valve completely removable from the front
150-180 psi operating range
Spyder style ball detent or f-4 wire nubbin
New front block with built-in vertical mount
Dual pump arm rod grooves
New Tornado Valve
Smaller size
Lighter weight
Accepts 95% of all aftermarket cocker parts
Product Availability 
The AKA Merlin VLM is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
little420devil Wednesday, May 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp autococker doesnt compare
Marker Setup: akalmp mini pblock cocker
with aka internals mini lightning bolt kapp front pnumatics freak maxflow
Strengths: operates on very low pressure it is very compact and lightweight it leaves room for custom work because it isnt aned or milled comes with tornado valve the best on the market
Weaknesses: the only thing bad is that it isnt anoed but other than that its amazing and another thing is that the vert feed tube isnt threaded but i think that they started to put threading on it now but im not sure
Conclusion: if you have the money it is well worth the money from my experince aka has a great costumer service and it is a great uprage espeically if you have a rh feed or you are looking to bulid your own custom gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 22nd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The vertical feed is a real plus, being ambidexterious. The length of the mini keeps me in tight playing front. I also like the wire nubbin better, as it doesn't harm my superfly bolt.
Weaknesses: I was a little bummed to see a stock valve when I tore the gun down, but I bought it used, so someone probably still has my valve. Fixed that problem with dremel. The shorter mini body makes for a higher operating pressure. That was also fixed with a chamber on the front block.
Conclusion: I think it is a great body. For the money you get vertical feed and one of the best valves on the market. With the two modifications it dropped my pressure from 400 to 200psi. I bought my whole gun for $650 totally tricked. $300 is still pretty good though, that is what my friend payed for his 2001 vert feed body, nothing else.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Death Haven Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
free flow cocker 99(rf) 2003 ccm cocker orracle SFL autococker
Marker Setup: mini P-Block Merlin revenge milling, custom annodized, dye boomy 10", ricochet 2k, sidewinder Reg, STO ram and 3 way, palmers micro rock, benchmark triggerframe w/ aka trigger plates (AWESOME), trigger job psyco ballistics drop foward, dyna flow, roller sear, evolution bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything that I have on mine except you might want an evil pipe barrel
Strengths: Weight
Price
Size
Accuracy
Consistancy
Weaknesses: autococker wich means high matenance cause of the moving parts
Review: ACCURACY- awesome unbeatable accuracy
WEIGHT- very light and small get it with a short barrel and its a tape runners dream
PRESSURE- i run this baby at 160 psi lowest running gun i've ever seen with the exception of the Nova (discontinued). I would definetly recommend getting it with the side winder reg soooooo 1337
CUSTOMIZABLE- since aka only sells the body you can do whatever you want with it mine is a monster whomps evry other gun on the feild
Conclusion: Get This gun! NOW!... WHY ARE YOU STILL SITTING THERE I SAID NOW! if you build this gun like mine it is the best gun ever. operating pressure is 160 and i can rip this thing like an electro. its also uber small and with the ricochet and the 10 inch boomy its very hard to hit me on the gun. the short barrel also makes it so when i chop (very rare) within 5 shots im shooting as accurate as ever. I find it so funny when you walk onto the sup air feild and half of the players clear out to the hyperball feild cause they dont wanted to get owned and look like squids.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellion360 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers- Lower tolerances, less efficient
Marker Setup: Aka Merlin Roundbody
CCI Phantom VSC
Strange Impulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
A palmer front end and a belsales slider or aka hinge.
A clamping feedneck and a sidewinder reg.
Strengths: Accurate
Well Made
Great company
Weaknesses: Susceptible to bad timing but this is human error.
higher cost (comparable to custom cockers)
Review: This aka marker is better than a wgp cocker in every way.
It has tighter tolerances
a better valve set up (no just in efficiency but in ease of removal)
a super efficient and light stock bolt
It is smaller
Doesn't come out of time, all parts that could wiggle out have set screws and the the hammer has nylon set screws.
The combination of a sidewinder and the aka internals gives super consistency yielding better shot to shot accuracy.

I give it a ten since it beats out all of it's competitors. The only downside is that it has a higher cost due to having to buy pneumatics and get it annodized.
Conclusion: I would buy this over an wgp gun anyday. I have owned two roundbody merlins and have been very pleased with both.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP cockers- just not as smooth. No other way to describe it.
Marker Setup: AKA'd Angel IR3
Merlin
AKA'd Classic Timmy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Welly welly, let's see...
-Sidewinder or 2L
-Clamper
-AKA or Eclipse hinge, or a Belsales slider
-Decent barrels.
-PPS pneumatics
-Anno and milling!
Strengths: -AKA quality
-Perfect tolerances
-TINY
Weaknesses: Still a mech cocker.
Some are hard to Eblade/Race, but it can be done.
Review: Well, I have in my posession what is in my opinion the mech cocker to end all mech cockers: a Merlin. The legendary AKA quality and attention to detail are evident in every little bit of machining and milling in this marker, as they are in every AKALMP gun.

Mine is milled in a JMJ roundbody pattern, and it helps decrease weight significantly. However, these are already very light as it is, especially with the super-tiny front block setup. The fact that most of these are p-blocked is a cool little plus.

Of course, AKA internals are a must; their use will allow ridiculously low operating pressures. I believe mine is in the low 150s.

Not much else to say...it is the cream of the crop when it comes to cockers, and I highly recommend picking one up.
Conclusion: Your best bet when your cash isn't very limited.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie060887 Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
oracle cocker
Marker Setup: custom order merlin w/ a 16 inch boomstick, 45/3000 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
eblade
Strengths: Low operating pressure.
Weaknesses: Like all cockers...more moving parts means more to go wrong
Review: I just got a merlin from a friend and i love it. i want to eblade it soon. It is very fast and quiet. i have never chopped either. also very quiet. it has a very low operating pressure of 140-180 psi. i recommend trying one of these out.
Conclusion: Very great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ironduck Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
system x base cocker with e blade ( still in use). merlin deffinately has a better body and more reliable.
Marker Setup: mini P-Block Merlin revenge milling, custom annodized, dye boomy 14", halo b, sidewinder Reg, aka ram and 3 way, palmers micro rock, akalmp trigger frame, revenge drop forward, lightning bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are not really any recommended upgrades
Strengths: the price, speed, weight, and accuracy and distance is great.
Weaknesses: there are no weaknesses.
Review: this gun is very light i can shoot it all day with no problem. it may not be as fast as a lot of guns out there but the accuracy and distance and more beats that out. this gun is very fast nevertheless for a mech cocker unless you upgrade to a e blade which isnt necessary if you dont mind. these guns not only work good on the field no matter what pos. you play it looks great also. if you buy this gun you will deffinately enjoy it and know for such a cheap price of this great of gun you got a deffinate gun out of it. deffinately worth it.
Conclusion: a great buy for back players because it has one of the best distance and accuracy you will see out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frogstomp8181 Thursday, August 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
virtually every cocker out there
Marker Setup: AKA mini-merlin body w/ custom acid wash anno, matching 12" freak, planet eclipse e-blade, F4 wire nubbin ball detent, free-flo bolt, palmer micro rock LP reg, STO ram, black magic vertical reg, rat 3:16 valve, kapp hammer/velocity adjuster, kapp twisted cocking rod, kapp beavertail,cp flame drop, kapp k2 on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
anno, f4 ball detent
Strengths: This is a must for anyone who wants to go low pressure with a cocker.
Weaknesses: I honestly can't think of any weaknesses with this body.
Review: Like I said earlier I honestly can't find anything wrong with this body, it is a great alternative to other low pressure bodies such as the orracle's, at a comparale price. What really won me over about this body was the simple fact that the body, is a mini-cocker body. It is a great upgrade for a front player, it's extremely light and compact. This matched with the e-blade makes and unbelievable marker.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking to go LP. Very light and compact, great for a front player. At $300, it's a must.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

irshpnkrckr Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Every cocker imaginable.
Marker Setup: -Blue AKALMP mini slotted Merlin
-Blue Zcoded ripped Halo B used once, less than 3weeks old
-Blue AKALMP mini front block
-Blue AKALMP cocking rod
-AKALMP delron lightning bolt
-AKALMP tornado valve
-AKALMP stationary hammer
-Black palmers micro rock
-Black AKALMP short sidewinder
-Black Planet Eclipse Eblade frame
-Black PBUK twist-lock feed
-Black 16" All American one piece barrel
-Black Kapp DZII w/kapp on/off
-Chrome solonoid manifold
-Chrome Palmers ram
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eblade, duh.
Strengths: Small-you can tuck in any xball prop
Light-always good
Accurate-its a cocker
Weaknesses: S L O W
Hard to get parts for
Review: If you have the money to drop, do it. I dont know if its worth the price on their website, but if you can get one in a trade, do it. Super consistent, light, small, durable, low pressure, and straight as a shotgun (jk, more like a fricken laser). Best cocker ever IMO. Then all you have to do is to slap an Eblade on it and you're ready to roll heads. Look for mine for trade in the forums.

EDIT: Just because you dont play front, doesnt mean you dont have to play tight when its a 3v1 in the last 2 minutes. I play back and am not the smallest person you'll ever meet, and having a small gun helps, trust me.
Conclusion: Buy it now because AKALMP is a super awesome company and if you dont you'll end up getting shot by one and wish you had.

PS I never give 10's because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 at 4:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media