paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Enigma EXR / Enigma EXR / Enigma EXR / Enigma EXR

Enigma EXR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Enigma

Buy Enigma EXR

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Enigma EXR
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $259

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Standard Features: Semi-auto Action, Power Feed, Venturi Bolt, Anti-Double Feed, Metal Two Finger Trigger, Regulation Trigger Guard, 12" Muzzle Brake Barrel, Air Scrubber Filter System, Composite .45 Grip Frame with Rubber Grip Covers, Vertical Adapter, Expansion Chamber with Bottom Line and Regulator Set Up, External Velocity Adjuster, Push Pin Field Strip System, Premium Anodizing.
Product Availability 
The Enigma EXR is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
draguneer Monday, July 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash, Esprit, M-3 Black Dragun, Dragon Bonz, (not comparable)Dark Angel Lcd
Angel IR3, Dragon Intimidator, Wgp vert feed 2k3 Autococker
Marker Setup: Dragon Bonz LCD
CP Flame Drop
Macro
14" Dye Boomstick
Halo B
68, 4500 ci pure energy
Angel Reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades? Only if the damn thing worked!
Strengths: Uhh....Strengthes (seriously) would have to be the metal body????
Weaknesses: Reliability, Bolt, Reg., 1 stage expanison chamber not a 6 a( P.O.S.)
Review: OK, WELL, i ordered this thing for my son, because i wanted him to start paintballing with a reliable semi-auto marker. I have read most of the reviews on this gun and this guy, Dave, assured me that this gun performes awesome. He seemed really nice. Ok. Well, i ordered it and i expected this gun to be here at my doorstep in less than a week. Boy was i wrong. Anyways, once i finally got this gun a month later (no joke) i was ready to go have a great time ballin it up at S.C Village in Corona. Ok, i put the Co2 in, and let my son have at it. First game, this thing performed up to expectation. Second game, things started to go wrong. Well, first, accuracy got bad when this thing started chopping like crazy. Yes, i put on a 12 v revvy. So i took the bolt out and put in the delrin bolt (however you spell that) in. Great i thought. Then as we started playing the second game, the stupid expansion Chamber (or should i say wannabe piece of shi**), blew up in my sons face. The bottom o-ring ripped apart in the chamber, which i thought was the stupidest design i have ever seen. This gun is not worth what you pay for. Personally, i think Dave wrote all these good reviews by getting the persons info off of their shipping orders. Dave, you can go to hell.
Conclusion: This gun is not worth the hassle. Right now it lay in pieces, because i dont want to spend any money on this piece of crap. I'll should have just bought my son a frekin Flash instead, what an idiot i was. You better not get this piece, you'll only get a piece of metal, with the enscribed words "enigma", and for $190, i'd just buy any spyder over this piece of crap. Dave is just trying to rip you off.

Your better off with a BE Samurai, as far as i am concerned.


--D
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004 at 12:12 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tavish Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98, Spyder SE
Marker Setup: Fade Green E-2 Enigma EXR stock with Dye stickys
Recommended
Upgrades:
The grips possibly a drop forward.
Strengths: If your interested in the Enigma and your doing your homework like I did, hopefully my review will help you. I have only taken my Enigma out twice so far and I have put about a case through it. I have yet to break a ball (including break-in time). I have been using Super Swirl and Diablo Dusk paint. (Rec and tree ball) I like the cheap paint because for me it's not breaking in the marker. :) The stock barrel is decent and does not need to be upgraded immediately like you would with a spider. The marker is lightweight compared to a Spyder SE and relatively quiet. I like the quick field strip and the tank o-rings as essential 0-rings.
When I first brought the marker out to the field, there were a bunch of old-timers with fancy markers. Their first question was "What is that?" and "Who makes Enigma?" They then proceeded to brush it off as a Spyder knockoff and said I would need a new barrel. To their surprise it didn't. After a couple of games, they asked how it was working. " Perfect no ball breaks." The marker is consistent and well built I am very happy with mine, which I bought for $164. I didn't get any free stuff though, I was looking forward to some free little novelties.
Weaknesses: Only a few little quirks. The reviews I read all said the grips suck, so I ordered some Dye sitckys when I ordered the marker which work great. I had a little trouble with the regulator at first, but it works fine now. Make sure to tighten all of your screws I almost lost the little one that locks the adjustment knob in place. The little sear spring pin likes to start to work it's way out after a game or two, I just knock it back in gently with my barrel plug and it's fine. The drop back bothers me, so I play with a remote and I'm fine. If I go nitro, I'll drop it forward.
Conclusion: My biggest concern with buying this marker was that no one had ever heard of it so I took a gamble. All my friends said I should get a Spyder and I rationalized it this way. Give me a Spyder Shutter with $100 off MSRP, a larger HVLPC, a new Venturi bolt ( which reviews say breaks in many Spyders) no pesky beaver tail, a new barrel comparable to the Doomstick, make it easily maintainable with the quick field strip and bottle o-rings for all essential o-rings, make it lighter and quieter. And I'd buy one. For those of you that play in the woods, I feel the Fade Green works fine. I made no difference to my visibility. I asked some other players If the marker made me any more visible, and they said "No, but it's how I knew who shot me" I'll give this marker a 10 because I want to bring up the overall score for people out there who are doing their homework on markers, and also to counter act those who gave all enigmas a 1 with no explanation. A great beginners marker that will last a lifetime.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chupacabra Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle "Eradicator" -BIG P.O.S
Marker Setup: Enigma E-2 (EXR) All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel is not needed, but would be a good idea.
maybe some better grips
Strengths: Cheap and reliable
pretty accurate
doesn't chop balls

Weaknesses: Screws/bolts not tight
not accurate at further distances
Review: Ok, well, for a beginner gun, this one is great.
*If you don't use crappy balls, they will not get chopped. I played a 24hr scenario game and even using crappy "ZAP" field paint, I only broke like half a dozen out of 4-500 balls. I've never chopped the Blue-Streak you get at Wal-Mart
*Large Expansion chamber and low-pressure chamber ensure that broken balls will not be caused by frozen CO2 crystals in your gun.
*Maintenance is easy and convenient with essential o-rings being bottle o-rings.
*The Regulator leaked as soon as I hooked up my CO2. Dave at bargainpaintball sent another to me that worked perfectly, though. (kind of slow about getting it to me though - btw, I'm not in any way affiliated with Dave or BPB dot com)
Conclusion: For a beginner gun, you cant go wrong for the price. All the extra features and performance kick butt at $150. *Looks cool too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xavier678 Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder sonix, TL+, shutter, Tippmann 98 custom with flatline, core sharc. I have not owned all of these guns but have shot them all many times
Marker Setup: well, Enigma EXR, stock most stuff, 3x 9oz CO2 (good way to go)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel is good stock but it is stock, J&J performance ceramic would be nice. The exp chamber works but I think that I am going to put a core CO2 performance regulator. This is not necessary right away, just have fun with your marker.
Strengths: This marker is great
The barrel is very accurate and fairly quiet
large LPC is nice
Rear cocking is better than side or top
Exp chamber is actually an exp chamber, not one of those stupid one stage chambers that come stock with a TL+ or shutter
The reg is very nice
Doesn't leak air
Grips are not that bad.
Very light with the aricraft grade aluminum
Weaknesses: These may seem like a lot of things but none of them are anything major.
that dovetail thing is very annoying and the screws keep comeing off.
Sight rail is pointless
it looks kind of stupid with the huge gap betweed the top and bottom areas
the screws are all a little loose
weak owners manual, just a few papers stabled together
the screws that hold in the reg came loose and my CO2 wobbled around
The stock barrel is a bit large bore and tournament paint will not have the greatest match with it.
None of those things are anything to worry about
Conclusion: This marker is great. Buy it right now, DaVe is great and he gave me some free pods (thanks). the good far outweighs the bad. I think i would rate this a 9.7 but there is no such rating so a 10 it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
gt 2000, stingray II, tippman 98
Marker Setup: Enigma EXR, dye boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed, expect for a small tigger job
Strengths: cheap
spyder compatible
reliable
no upgrades need excpet for a barrel
quiet, fast
very simple to maintain
comes with regulator
Weaknesses: none
only one company sells these guns.
trigger throw is real long
gt 2000 still ownes me
Conclusion: this is a good product. anyone with a proble with this gun needs to get their GED. great product. with new barrel, gun soots better than any gun under $300. it is now whisper quiet. then only gun i fear is my brother GT 2000, that this kicks it!!!!!

Enigma will out perform m98s with the expensive upgrades. just dont get the frilly looking fade green color. bargain paint ball is great.

anybody that has a problem with the gun needs to read a little about simple maintenance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, pirahnas, basically any blow back semi.
Marker Setup: .68 Enigma w/ a 12 volt revvy, electronic point sight and thats about it so far. Im looking into a warped sportz drop and a 68ci nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A 12 volt revvy or any other electronic hopper. A nitro system and if you want a better barrel. But the stock one shoots very nice.
Strengths: It shoots very fast and accurate. I have shot a few cases of paint through this gun and i still havent broken a single ball in my gun! Im not kidding!
Weaknesses: The back of the gun is open so the bbolt and part of the hammer are exposed. This looks really cool but might cause a problem in rain. I havent played in rain with this yet so i dont know. Other than that nothing.
Conclusion: This is in my opinion the best blow back semi marker on the market. Get this instead of a spider. It takes spyder barrels and trigger upgrades. Actually it takes almost all spyder upgrades. SWEET GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray a.k.a. Crap, Tippman M98, Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Enigma EXR w/ Dye grip, All else is Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel would increase it's performance a tad bit. Drop forward would give the gun a better feel. A grip other than the stock grip.
Strengths: Good air efficiency. Good distance. Double trigger conserves paint while allowing you to keep up with fire. Nice design. A tad bit more quiet than most guns it's price. Great price and great quality.
Weaknesses: Tighten your screws and all should be fine. The sight-rail is pointless, but it makes the gun look cooler!
Conclusion: A good gun at a great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elite Sniper Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter's
Marker Setup: Enigma EXR E-2
16" Dye Doomstick
Delron Bolt
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, in the 20 inches. (More Accurate)
Nitro (Just works better with it)

Strengths: Pretty Accurate, Shoots as fast as you pull the trigger
Weaknesses: Oil it and tighten the screws around the CO2, where it screws in.
Review: A very good marker. Beats a spyder any time, and for what its worth, I reccommend it. Just Make sure its well Oiled, and Tighten the screws
Conclusion: Get it, not that Spyder. Rember, in a game with one shot eliminations, you dont need a 20 BPS, just a pretty accurate gun and thats why I reccommend this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Heat Seeker Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact Deluxe JAVA edition (Alright but not near as good not as many upgrades either.)
Marker Setup: Enigma E-2 with Teardrop (14in Black).

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if possible(Makes huge difference)
Delron bolt [You can get at Bargainpb (This also helps)]
Maybe drop foward if possible
and Nitro or Compressed Air we know that guns run better on that anyways
Strengths: Quiete
Accurate(with new barrel)
Hardly chopz ballz
All its upgradez
Weaknesses: It would have to be the drop back and trigger pull.
Review: This is an awsome gun runs great looks nice and is way different than any other gun on the feild. Once you get the right upgrades and your a good shot your sure to hit someone. I mean you'll get people with it just normal but its more consistant with more upgrades.
Conclusion: I would get it trigger pull doesnt mind me much because of its accuracy. Your pretty sure to hit within three open shots. I mean this would have to be the best entry level gun I would say. But there are alot of better guns but there also more exspensive but this gun can handle up with em just as well. I would get this gun if you have the money but if you have the money to get an autococker and maintain it that would be the best deal im not going to lie.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tryagainnumbnut Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Black Maxx (more reliable), Spyder Xtra, Spyder TL+, (just edited this review)2K3 Shocker (my next gun : ) Matrix (not sure which brand), Some autococker... i dunno....
Marker Setup: steel blue spyder xtra with 12" J&J ceramic, Male Palmer's, shocktech supa fly bolt, psycho ballistics bullet drop froward with asa, crossfire 68/4500 preset 800psi, and some old stock grips from a sypder tl+
Recommended
Upgrades:
better fitting screws, regulator, barrel, drop forward instead of drop back (dont understand y they did that)
Strengths: it is a decent gun, and is adequately accurate.
Weaknesses: everything on below
Review: the gun is good under warm conditions, decent under fair, and you better watch your fingers from frostbite during cold conditions. i used it in 30 degree weather ( i know not the smartest thing to do) and it actually hurt to touch the gun, except for the grips.

i dont know if it was just my gun but it malfunctions entirely to easily and early, i expected to use it more than 1 on the field before having to replace anything, it is sorta heavy, sorta loud. i shot it a bit when i first got it, and i really liked it. then i took it out on the field. it worked for a while, then my cup seal chipped, and it was no good for me. i got it fixed with replacement spyder parts and it was ok. then i used it outside during winter and it worked sorta poor. shot frost alot.
Conclusion: great gun that can stand up to competition if it stays together, poor substitute for spyders or tippmanns....
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 26th, 2004 at 1:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media