paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha PROe / PMI Piranha PROe / PMI Piranha PROe / PMI Piranha PROe

PMI Piranha PROe Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha PROe

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha PROe
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $399

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Electromagnetic Firing Control
9 Volt Power Source
PMI Custom Drop Forward
PMI Pure Energy Regulator
PMI Ram Air System with Gauge
Flush Cocking Bolt
PMI Razzor Multimetal Barrel
Milled Vertical Feed
No Tools Field Strip System
PMI Velocity Adjuster
15 Shots/Second Mac
Accepts CO2 or N2
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha PROe is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
SWW007 Tuesday, December 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none used like it
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Pro Ts G3 with Mako Storm e-lcd grip
Dye Boomstick 14" stainless and black
PMI Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi fiber wrapped
EVlution 2
runs on 180-280psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend a new barrel such as a Boomstick, a PMI Pure Energy N2 tank, and an EVlution 2 hopper.
Strengths: It is a fully tricked out Piranha straight from the factory. The best part is that PMI makes only top quality products so it doesn't need much.
It looks awesome, the chrome and black theme just looks cool.
It can fire as fast as 15bps on full auto.
It has 4 different modes of firing: semi, auto, turbo, and burst.
The trigger pull is less than a mouseclick.
It can run really low pressure if you set it up right.
It is really quiet for a blowback gun.
The price can't be beat for what it comes with.
Weaknesses: Nothing, at all, not a single thing!
Conclusion: This a great gun for the price and can compete with guns that cost 4 times as much as it. If you want high quality for a fair price you can't go wrong with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

finnjav21 Sunday, November 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 12v revvy, nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
revvy, NEW BARREL(the stock one is loud and not accurate)
Strengths: Good price. Nice to have 15 bps gun. Nice trigger pull. Easy to take apart at field. Different modes of fire are great, but I only use semi. PMI customer service was great(didnt have to hold at all). Nice to look at.
Weaknesses: Sight rail is useless. Barrel is horrible. Stock reg.
Conclusion: This is prob the best gun you can get for the money. Spend the extra cash and get a nice barrel, you will thank yourself when you are owning everyone on the field). Dependable, affordable, good looking gun. This gun is great for new players and experienced players alike.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmans, spyders
Marker Setup: Pro TS with Storm, Ricochet 2k2, Shocktech springs, PMI Perfect Drop Forward, THOR regulator, turbo valve, 14" 2002 SmartParts AA, 12" Lapco Bigshot, PMI N2, custom rubber grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, barrel, barrel, electric hopper, order a home charger if posible
Strengths: Extremely easy to shoot. It has a lot of upgrades already built in so you don't need to do more. I really like how easy it is to field strip the marker. My buddy has a Custom 98 Tippman and almost cried when he saw how quickly I was able to clean the gun in between games. The grip itself is easy to read and for the most part easy to program. The buttons are small so it can be a bit difficult to press the right one. But the ability to shoot quickly and often is a real advantage. The only limitation is how fast you can pull the trigger. Its no angel, but you can certainly deal out pain and punishment with this baby. Best of all, it can take N2 from the get go.
Weaknesses: The car charger that comes with it is kinda lame. I got a home charger, problem solved. Also, I didn't get any shims with mine but I called Mako and they sent me a couple right away. In a word, the barrel sucks. Looks good but the darn thing isn't straight so the paintballs go all over the place. Then there's the prob of getting the pressure at the right place to get you to 280 fps.
First time out, I was shooting at 230 fps. Couldn't figure it out. It took some 2+ hours to get the pressure right where I wanted it. But that's probably due to the fact that I wasn't that familiar with the marker. I ended up switching to the red spring from the blue one installed and I saw the difference right away. This might be minor to some but a real concern for me. The handles on the grip are not tight against it; meaning there is a very small space in-between the handle and the grip. I got hit next to the grip. Later, when I removed the handles to take a look, there was small bits of paint on or near boards inside the grip itself. I can't imagine what would happen if paint really splattered everywhere inside the grip. I found a place that sold rubber grips for the Storm that fit correctly and I was able to solve that problem.
Conclusion: It takes a little experimenting to find the right rate of fire for you. Since a lot of fields prohibit how you can use the electro, you might end up having to put it in tournament mode. No prob really as you can increase the balls per second shot. You definitely need a good hopper to take advantage of the marker.
Also, you'll need a good barrel. The stock one sucks. When you get the pressure right where you want it, a good barrel, and an electric hopper, this marker really makes others take notice ( and run for their lives). Overall, I am extremely happy with this marker and glad I got it. But I can't give it a 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lyrical_gat Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha Pro TS G3 w/ Storm Electro Trigger Frame by Mako
Marker Setup: a 68ci Pure Energy Nitro and Halo loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, nitro is a must have when you wanna go auto
Strengths: the electronic trigger frame is able to shoot 15 shots per second, the trigger pull is something like 1/50,000 of an inch, the interface is awesome, also the gun is very well built, the low pressure chamber is easy to adjust and quick disassembly is very easy
Weaknesses: The stock multi metal barrel is crap, it shoots fine for a stock barrel but i screwed it in to my gun at my fifth game and the glue holding the barrel into the barrel frame came undone. Also, the gun only comes with a car charger which is hard since the gun has to charge for 12 hours
Conclusion: great marker, go buy it, I got mine for $299
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReconBatt Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Since 1991I have used the PMI Illustrator.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Proe, 14"Teardrop Barrel, Pure Energy, E'volution, Reverse Sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Hopper, Grips...
Strengths: Quick and Agile, the gun is well balanced and seems to defend itself against scratches. I was hesitant about moving up to a Electro but I have been so pleased that I did. With a few upgrades I have been dawned the Autococker Killer.
Weaknesses: A bit to shinny. I suggest that PMI make the next series with a slightly duller combination of materials.
Conclusion: Absolutely the best gun I have laid my hands on. I have used the angels(accuracy needs help), Bushmasters, Auto-cockers, etc. and this marker has proven itself to be once again the best I have ever used. For the price I paid for the marker I never expected the performance and ability that came with the price tag. A definite great buy in the E-marker field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Black MAXX--a PMI product..same easy to strip & use...almost the same stock barrel problems. The 45 grip of the MAXX feels better.
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro Ts G3 with STORM, WARP FEED fed by a VIEWLOADER, PURE ENERGY Carbon Fiber 88cu 3000psi NITRO tank, 16" DYE BOOMSTICK, and DYE RED DOT SITE.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a BARREL, the stock is OK for CLOSE ENCOUNTERS. GRIPS, the stock grips make gloves a must! (NOTE: I can't find ANY aftermarket grips for the STORM.) Yes it can take CO2, but I say go to a NITRO TANK. Get a spring kit and put the RED (HEAVY) spring in it. HALO or WARP FEED will be necessary to take advantage of the 15 SHOTS PER SECOND capability. It comes from the factory set at 9 SPS. This rate is fine with a 12v Viewloader. I like to have a sight and the DYE RED DOT SITE works well with the marker.
Strengths: PRICE!..The G3 with STORM is a GREAT DEAL! IT WORKS! I get BIG GUN performance, with money left over for some cool options like WARP FEED so you can make good use of FULL AUTO at 15 SPS. It is easy to clean and get right back in the game. It is very consistent on the chrono when it is dialed in. Well balanced for quick moves like snap shooting & has no problem functioning in a SNIPER capacity. The controls are easy to operate and understand, with a timer and shot counter built in you can have a good idea where you are in a game, and what your use of amo is if you're new to FULL AUTO, BURST, TURBO, and SEMI mode. I look at the counter to judge how much of my fire worth. I found that the wiser I get in the sport the less paint I use shooting at nothing! On full auto with the Piranha I used less paint than I did in my first games with rental equipment. PMI customer service is the BEST and will answer questions and give tech advice should you simply call them!
Weaknesses: DYE dosn't make LCD STICKY GRIPS for the STORM frame! The stock grips will allow paint to get in the works if you take a hit on the gun. I took a hit just above the trigger had paint almost get into the works. The heavy spring is a must if you want to shoot consistently at 280fps to 300fps. THESE ARE SMALL PROBLEMS compared to how well this marker performs....but PLEASE SOMEBODY.....MAKE SOME AFTERMARKET UPGRADE TYPE GRIPS FOR THIS THING!!!
Conclusion: I totally dig the PIRANHA PRO TS G3 with STORM, it rocks the house and loves to be fed by my WARP FEED! I can hold off a small army with a solid rate of 15SHOTS PER SECOND! I cleaned out a whole bunker full of NEWBIES with a 47 round burst! That almost made me feel guilty...ALMOST. I played with some tourney guys in SEMI mode and found the feel of the trigger to be VERY LIGHT, almost too hair trigger like. The cigarette lighter type charger is the only type provided, just go to RADIO SHACK and get the wall adapter for about $13 and the problem is solved! I like being able to charge the STORM frame in the car on the way to the field. Treat the rechargeable 9volt battery like any nicad camcorder battery, let it run down before you charge it up. The shooting pattern is pretty tight with a DYE BOOMSTICK, any clear target 80 to a hundred feet away is within your kill zone. The stock barrel is shot gun like at any distance, it works great if your a front player. This is the PERFECT all around gun for woods or open field. I just leave it on FULL AUTO, get good paint(.688 works best with the BOOMSTICK), and control my burst. I can tap the trigger and let off one round, or hold it and let it RAIN! This gun is TOO MUCH FUN, I'm going to have to make time to spend on what's her name and the kids one of these weekends!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS, Sheridan XTS
Marker Setup: Electric Hopper thats about it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a electronic hopper to keep up with the full-auto
Strengths: The gun is really accurate with the stock barrel, the LCD screen is awsome,
you can switch the modes with a push of a button, you can use full-auto, burst mode, turbo mode, and semi- automatic. I recomend you buy this gun.
Weaknesses: Nothing is bad about the ProE
Conclusion: I recomend you buy this gun because it is really accurate, never chops balls, and the LCD sceen is really cool. You can pick from four diffrent modes, there a shot counter that tells how much shots you shot, you can tun on a timer too.
I REALLY RECOMEND YOU BY THIS GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing comparable seeing as how it is the only gun with an electro frame that I've ever shot. But I have shot a few mags and a tippman 98 or two.
Marker Setup: Pro Ts w/ Storm frame
14" Freak
68ci 4500psi carbon fiber
12v revy w/ xboard
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak barrel
Strengths: The rate of fire is good, with my setup I can shoot about 10 bps conservatively and 12 bps with a small risk of chopping.
Putting the freak on the gun made a huge difference in the accuracy.
I like its design.
Flush cocking
Its very easy to change firing modes with the lcd screen.
Weaknesses: It's somewhat of a gas hog. The recommended operating pressure is 500-600 psi.
The stock barrel is alot less accurate than the freak obviously. Although if you didnt want to shell out the 200 bills for the freak, the stock is accurate enough.
While it's nice to have a gun that can shoot 12 bps, it almost forces you to go through paint alot faster. Which, depending on who you ask, isn't such a bad thing.
Conclusion: At $400, it's definitely one of the better buys out there. I'd without a doubt take one over the comparably priced automag. What appealed to me was the fact that the gun came with vertical feed, a drop forward, and a decent regulator right out of the box. And that's not to mention the storm frame which I considered more of a bonus than anything. The gun has been reliable so far and Pmi's customer service is well renowned so even if I do have a problem I'm sure it'll get resolved.

On a side note alot of people want to know the difference between the Pro-e and the Pro ts w/storm frame, the only differences that I'm aware of is that on the pro-e there is alot more chrome, the reg is chrome, the ram air is chrome, and the drop forward is chrome. Also the pro-e has appears to have a more comfortable grip frame. Although the TS's frame is comfortable enough, the pro-e has a rubber grip.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter & Max Endor (Tricked out Tippmann)
Marker Setup: Both above guns with a 10" Dye Ultralite on the Spyder and a 14" Quiet Riot on the Endor.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Right out of the box you'll need a new barrel and a rev viewloader. . A normal viewloader can not keep this baby fed quick enough.
Strengths: Shoots straight and accurate, particularly with a 12" Dye Ultra-lite. Easy cocking, very easy to field strip, and a great looking gun! Extremely lite trigger pull. 5 different firing modes(Full auto, semi-auto, burst, turbo, and safe). Burst allows you to set the amout of balls/second (2-8) and turbo kicks you into Burst when the gun realizes you are shooting to fast for the semi-auto mode.
Weaknesses: The barrel! The buttons on the back of the handle are a little small. I guess you don't want them to bulky but they do seem a little small. The charger that comes with the gun is ok if you like to charge your gun while driving. If not invest in a home charger.
Conclusion: º¿º It must be a conspiracy that no manufacture will provide you with a quality barrel during the purchase of your marker. Other than that PMI has done themselves justice with this fine marker. You get 15 balls/second in full auto mode and you didn't spend over $400. Tough to beat that!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers,Custom 98,Timmy,Angels,
Marker Setup: Pirhana vf bl,Gas thru for grip,14" pmi barrel,venturi bolt,And other little trinkets
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and a better drop forward for a tight hold.Electronic hopper.
Strengths: It is a pirhana which is great and it is electro.It can shoot fast and keep up with the big boys.Who siad you need a $2000 marker to shoot fast.
Weaknesses: It isnt a Timmy,Angel,Cocker
I like cockers but dont get me wrong i would love to own this gun but i own a pirhana and i think you have to use your mind more then your fingers.
Conclusion: IT is moneys worth go buy it quick before i do.Anything that has a trigger pull so short that when you fart it goes off is worth it.I mean the trigger pull is short.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media