paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Arrow Precision Sovereign II / Arrow Precision Sovereign II / Arrow Precision Sovereign II / Arrow Precision Sovereign II

Arrow Precision Sovereign II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Arrow Precision

Buy Arrow Precision Sovereign II

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Arrow Precision Sovereign II
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $545

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Arrow Precision Sovereign II is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
sovereign Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The old school cockers that required body building to lift and the Vector
Marker Setup: The 1996 Sterling Sovereign (original,) the first-model 18v Viewloader, expansion chamber (don't need no stinkin' regulator) and an 11 year old 7oz. CO2. Neoprin on the tank, the hopper and foam lining inside the hopper so you don't hear me coming from behind... Backup marker: 1993 F-2 Illustrator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Requires either an expansion chamber, regulator or N2 for reliable operation. Otherwise, great out of the box.
Strengths: More accurate then many new electo-guns. None of that flimsy wusy kick back.
Weaknesses: After 8 years the paint around the 3 way valve is begining to flake off.
Review: After leaving this gun (Sterling Sovereign 1) on the shelf for some 5+ years, without even oiling it, I gassed this baby up and in my first game in half-a-decade I took out the guy with the Tippman A-5, the guy with electro-gun and the hotshot who thought he could still stand a chance firing a stock gun in this millenium. This thing is ultra-accurate. The only semi-auto I remember with this kind of accuracy was the Vector. The electro toys that I have tried do not seem to compare. This gun does not have a top or power feed, so you can actually aim at what you are intending to hit... Not just rain on him/her...

This British marker is aptly synonymous to British cars like Jaguar. They are of the finest products made... While they work... Mine has been pretty reliable, but getting the FPS under 280 requires a whole lot of adjusting on this thing. In the good 'ol days when this was made, everyone shot 300. The springs really need to be replaced for the modern lower speeds.

I like the single finger trigger, not meant for accuracy by volume, but can fire as fast as a fully auto Spider if your finger is agile. The grip may not be suitable for smaller hands, it is rather manly...
Conclusion: Cross the finest pump-gun ever made with an autococker, but move the 3-way to a more logical location and you have an 8-ball-per-second semi-auto sniper rifle!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

srgross Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Custom Cocker(built from the base up), Sypder,AutoMag Classic, Impulse, Sov I, Inferno Heat and a couple I can not remember.
Marker Setup: stock, added spyder thread adapter
Jacko Infinity 12in barrel
Angel Vert Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hinge Trigger, Palmer Rock LPR, 3way, but will require custom milling.
Strengths: Accurate, silent, not everyone has one.
Weaknesses: Trigger and 3way
Review: I own 4 Sov I's, the second generation is a much greater improvement. The Ram-bolt is smoother and lighter then from the Sov I. The gun is very similar to the cocker in many ways. You have to be careful of short stroking the gun, which will cause a double feed.
I bought my Sov II from a player in England, when the gun arrived it was in perfect condition. I noticed first was the Spyder Thread Adapter. Which now gives you a greater selection of barrels. Next I noticed that the Bolt and cocking rod are now up and down instead of left to right like in the Sov I and Autocockers. which is an easy pull pin for taking out the bolt. The 3way also on the side seem to have been reworked a little and the response is a lot better. And as you can see on the picture the LPR to 3way is hard line in chrome metal tubing.
Ok now for the the firing. I used the Jack-o barrel, ( a must for any Sov Owner),I connected my Nitro to the benchmark drop with on and off, pulled the cocking rod back and opened the nitro tank, the bolt moved forward smoothly, no leakage from the 3way, this was a problem with the Sov I. I dry fired the gun a few time , and she cycled smoothly. Next I put on a my Vloader 9v and some field paint. I fired the gun once and the ball dropped into the feed chamber. Taking aim at the target some 26 yards away. I fired one quick shot, the ball struck close to the area I has aiming at, firing a few more shoots, I got a nice 5in spread. Next I decided to get some trigger fanning on it, I can fire on a stock autococker about 12 balls per second. Fanning the trigger, I double loaded twice, the balls did not break, I checked the grouping and got the same as doing single firing. I was very impressed.
When I took the gun to the local field she drew alot of attention, especially at the Chrono, I fired 290,291,290
PROS: right of the box goodness, the timing and accurancy are very good for any paintball marker. Very light, little to no kick back. Velocity Adjustment is a breeze, hold the trigger down and a small allen wrench will adjust the insert forward of backwards.
Cons: Upgrades and support. Price, not for Co2
Recommended upgrades: Barrels, as the paint changes so should your barrels
Would Like to see a hinge Trigger or Roller Trigger
LPR is sort of weak internally, I would go with a
Palmer Rocker other proven LPR
3way upgrade, the bomb would greatly improve balls per
second.
Super Upgrade: Powerball UK offers a Sov I or II conversion to a Sov III for 275.00USD not including shipping.
Conclusion: This is an excellent gun. BUT I must warn you, the upgrades are limited and support is also in the US. I would not recommand this gun for a beginner.
For the price I would get an nice vert feed cocker and upgrade it.
Reason I gave the gun a 9, one of a kind marker, no one makes anything like it, You get many of the features of the autococker that has made them an excellent gun but in a smaller and lighter package. This not a gun for the beginner.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 20th, 2004 at 6:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

codeman24 Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Type x auto cockers Wgp 2k3 vert cockers and older cockers.
Marker Setup: Type x Auto cocker (dark green) orr*acle bolt
2k3 Green wgp vert feed cocker genx2 reg and pmi drop and orr*acle bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
i liked it stock but this one had been decked out.
Strengths: Quiet Accurate very nice and easy on air consumption VERY LIGHT
Weaknesses: the single finger trigger but its still super smooth.
Review: I shot this gun on two different occasions and i was so surprised on how well it performed. THe stock barrel is ok but i got to shoot a freak on it and a 12in cp and it was hitting on people from like 150 feet in the goggles with no effort what so ever. And my friend who bought this gun shoots it over his decked out impulse with i frame and all this other stuff. another + is its not electronic which i cant stand in my paintball markers. but this gun ran on like 150-275 psi at about 275 fps its around 235 psi. If i had the money i would have gotten it but i got my type x instead but if i could only go back in time
Conclusion: I say buy this gun. Spare parts are a little hard to find but its a dependable gun. I totally disagree with what the other people said with this gun it was so awsome i enjoyed it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Arrow precision Inferno, Airguns designs Automag classic, Eclipse impulse (tested), Airguns designs Automag RT (tested)
Marker Setup: Inferno+forward grip, EVC, CO2 and 14"progressive barrel.
Automag+forward expansion bottle, CO2, custom double trigger and All American 12" barrel.
Both with VL revolution 12v hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Air, new barrel, and Forward player status!
Strengths: Sweet action, This gun has no kick AT ALL! The trigger pull is very smooth and has needs little effort. The gun is very queit even on CO2 and can pelt out balls at a fast rate (7-8 bps) and will ask you "Is that it?"
I'm not kidding, this gun never strains, it just fires and laughs at you!
It is also very accurate and reliable. It seems like an autococker rip off but,
"IT ISN'T!"
The mechanism is very simple and does not need to be tuned by an airsmith.
It is basically the accuracy and feel of an autococker with the reliability and indestructability of an Inferno (Or any other reliable blowback)
The gun is also TINY! the bue bit on the photo above is only just under five inches long! the bolt only moves just under an inch on firing as well. This means it is also very light, it is definately a forward players marker.
Weaknesses: Expensive, not very upgradable, and the curent grip frame is plastic (Soon will have aluminium 45 grip accaording to arrow precision). Stock barrel isn't great but will take spyder barrels.
Conclusion: A very good understated gun, people put it down due to petit things,
Lack of upgradability, the mecahnism is perfect, why upgrade???
Lack of custom parts, Does you gun have to be a penis extension???
Price, It out shoots some of the more pricey stock autocockers!
Very good for the forward player who just wants a good, reliable mechanical gun that is not too expensive.
If you want a gun with go faster stripes, that has more add on's than the paintballs it carries in the hopper, you're barking up the wrong tree.
If you want a basic, easy to maintain gun that will not let you down,
The sovereign is the one for you.
Buy one and be unique.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LordChaos Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Serries I Sovereign, multiple Autocockers, Palmer Blazer.
Marker Setup: Serries I Sovereign
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Regulator, nitro system.
Strengths: Accurate
Silent
Easy to use
Reliability

Weaknesses: Grip takes getting used to.
Pricey for a stock marker.
Replacement/repair arts are uncomon/hard to find.
Conclusion: Too many people will see it an think "Cocker wannabe". It's not. It's a completely seporate type of marker. Extreamly reliable unless abused. Very accurate, easy to use (once you get used to the grip). Needs more support, lower price. 8/10 overall, as even stock it outshoots many cockers I've seen above it's price range.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicad Wednesday, January 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
many many cockers..
Marker Setup: Sov 2, freak spyder 12" barrel, Black Ice reg, dropforward, LP valve/chamber, rock reg, AC grip w/internal 4-way, 47/3k tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, reg
Strengths: tiny, light, almost 0 kick (unlike many other light guns!). seems to 'punt' the ball out there with litte or no effort. VERY quite (will vary based on setup). very clean design/layout. vert hopper feed, external velocity adj.
Weaknesses: very expensive, stock parts suk (plastic grip, POS barrel, LP reg). no main reg. runs at +/- 550PSI. cheaply made (not efficent) vavle. heavy bolt parts. hopper feed not removable. rely on threadlock for some key sealing areas. cant remove bolt w/o de-gassing.
Conclusion: You will end up with a $500 body. no barrel. no reg. plastic trigger frame with a wacky finger notch, plastic hopper adaptor. The little that I have been able to test this thing out it seems to shoot very nicely. First game It got 3 eleminations.
seems to shoot like a cocker, but lighter and smaller.
needs work (mods) from the start, but in the end I think it is a fun, well-shooting marker.

I give it 7 cause it really did impress me on the field. no higher because of price for what you get.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s67cobra Sunday, August 5th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Near cocker performance.
Nice look
Great on paper...ends there though
Weaknesses: Not a cocker
Actually more complicated than a cocker.....which I didnt think was possible
Good luck selling this bad boy
Conclusion: POS
There is a store near me that has a used one. I offered them $50 for it and they are actually seriously considering it. No bs
This gun was a good concept. You cant blame them for trying. They were attempting to feed off of cockers like...I dont know, maybe a Titan or Raptor did off a Spyder. No cigar though
A poor gun at a poor price
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media