paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve

AKA Tornado Valve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Tornado Valve

Paintball Spyder Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Tornado Valve
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $69

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tired of running out of air? The Tornado valve increases your efficiency (on order of 2200-2500 shoots per 20oz co2 tank.) It can be used on Co2, Nitrogen or compressed air (must use regulator.) Low pressure, 250-300 psi input (average of 280 psi at 300 FPS.) Manufactured of high-quality heat-treated stainless steel. Lifetime warranty.
Product Availability 
The AKA Tornado Valve is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Unregistered User Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I currently haven't used any other low pressure valve in my marker. I have knowledge that the TASO turbo and VENOM valves are similar but I have my doubts that they perform better than this fine tornado vavle.
Marker Setup: basically the aka black widow spyder set-up. I'm writing another review on this valve (original under BOBOFBOBSAUTO) because i've been able to improve the performance of this valve greatly. My setup is currently a spyder compact 2000 with a AA Vigilante, a JJ two piece 14 inch, aka valve and bolt, madman light valve and medium main springs with madman sear spring as well, drilled asa, aci high volume cell, 6 stage aci expansion chamber and a 3000 psi coiled remote with quick disconnect and slide check.
Strengths: This product is incredible. There are certainly other valves out there that offer high flow low pressure performance, but the aka (which is the only LP valve i've tried for my spyder compact) works incredibly and flawlessly. Its also very high quality. (stainless steel) The intent of this review is mainly to offer others the information needed to create a working LP system without problems. The key to success with low pressure is a good high flowing valve. If you want the best LP for your spyder I highly recommend this valve. Next, you'll want another bolt, primarily because your stock bolt might be pretty worn. Wear and tear of parts effects the smoothness of your marker and will cause many problems in LP guns. Also, if it is possible, use a smooth bolt that offers a great flow of air, such as the aka. Another key to LP application is to bring more air in at a lower pressure. Bringing more air in will help with velocity allowing a reduction of opperating pressure. The aka bolt is the best for LP application, and I would also recommend a bob long force 3. If using a compact, you need low pressure springs as the old spyders have the proper springs for LP application. THESE ARE NECESSARY FOR PROPER LP APPLICATION. I originally had recocking problems and velocity problems because my springs were too heavy and balanced for a high pressure gun. By getting a light valve spring and putting in a slightly heavier main spring you reduce the recocking point a bit and increase the dwell (the time the valve is open) that is necessary for LP application. (more air for low pressure systems, less air at a higher pressure for high pressure guns, hence the spring setups) Next, you'll need to drill out your asa adapter if you own a compact. This was my problem in my LP marker. I had an inconsistent velocity at points, and couldn't get my velocity up or able to recock at the best pressure let alone opperate at the best pressure. If you want your spyder to work with low pressure definately drill out your asa adapter. To accomplish this use a 3/16 drill bit and use the original holes in your asa adapter as guides. Next, you'll want the highest flowing regulator if possible. If you can obtain a messiah or vigilante your "solid" as they say. Stabilizers work well too, and are great for co2 users. I had trouble with my vigilante at one point when my piston broke. This resulted from co2 use. If you use a vigilante, obtain the proper o-rings. (air america sells these o-rings for co2 for just 1 dollar each) If using co2, you will also want a remote or anti-syphon. I use both a remote and expansion chamber. You make the decision as to what setup you'll chose. The reason for using an anti-syphon or remote is to help the setup with liquid co2 and allow your regulator to recover a bit faster. Liquid co2 can cause your regulator to freeze up on occasion, so if possible get a remote and/or an expansion chamber or an anti-syphon. Making a few modifications that aka recommends, I was able to get my marker shooting between 250-300 as the valve is advertised. In fact, I had just read that they achieved velocity in the 300 fps range with 280 psi and I'm shooting at 270 psi.
Weaknesses: Nothing is wrong with this valve. High quality ,works extremely well, and aka also tests their products and lists the results. The cost isn't really an issue for performance.
Conclusion: Very good product. The valve was not the cause for my original opperating pressure of 350-400 psi. Just remember to use the modifications I listed above and insure that all the parts are compatible with your setup. Also, its wise not to use petroleum jelly as I found out through experience in my LP gun (heavy grease reasults in too much friction)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Taso tornado valve
Marker Setup: Spyder 2000, Low pressure mods, palmer stab reg set at 335psi, 12" cp barrel, 12v revy xboard, lapco drop forward, 16oz anti-siphon co2, mako storm electro frame
Strengths: Drops operating pressure down to around 300psi, very consistant and reliable.
Weaknesses: PRICE, PRICE, PRICE; I tested it against a taso turbo valve which cost 1/3rd as much. The AKA valve shot 290fps at 300psi, the taso turbo valve shot 290fps at 310psi. The taso valve had a slight edge in recocking, it recocked down to 200psi, the aka valve would start sputtering at 225psi. The aka valve has it's own special cupseal which I wouldn't want to think about having to replace at a field. Both valves had identical efficency, which was good 40 shots per 12gram co2.
Conclusion: Quality product but not worth the money, if you have a "slim striker" spyder you're much better off with a taso turbo valve since there's no gaurantee that the aka valve will work at all on slim striker spyders. If you have a fat striker spyder you the aka valve might get you about 20psi lower than a taso turbo valve but it cost three times as much... you make the call.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees valve, and stock spyder valve.
Marker Setup: An old spyder elite w/ a aka valve,aka bolt, boo-yaah trigger frame, dye stainless barrel w/ some ports covered, lighter springs, bob long expansion chamber, black ice regulator, shocktect dropforward w/ conversion, and a crossfire 48ci 3000psi tank.
Strengths: Noticeable different in efficiency, (more shots per fill) increased air flow and distance on the ball. Works great w/ compressed air! Also came w/ rod, spring and valve. (Others don't anymore.)
Weaknesses: A little pricey, and some minor problems with the valve spring, but nothing to worry about.
Conclusion: Overall great product! Best on the market, extremely better than stock!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, August 9th, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is a very good product to put in your stacked-tube marker. It lets u run lower pressure which means less ball breaks and more shots. It takes about 5-10 minutes to install and its very simple.
Weaknesses: I really havent found anything wrong with it at all. Well the price is kinda high but its really worth it.
Conclusion: Well i must say i love this valve, i use it on my millennium with palmers stabilizer(also a dye gauge), hyper frame, and all american barrel and it works great. Also i might note that it u need to set up your input pressure so that it works best with your gun, dont just set it as low as possible. As for the people below the reason y the gun only cocks back when u have a paintball in loaded is because your pressure is too low. Increas the pressure and u should have no problems. And the last guy below with the shutter AKA makes a different valve that fits the shutter because if im correct the lower chamber on the newer spyders is a little bit smaller. I would highly recomend this product.
I am giving this a 10 for performance and because there is no other valve out there to run your stacked-tube marker low pressure.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve(later in this review it will be evident that the stock valve or any valve for that matter is not similar in performance.)
Marker Setup: Basically the black widow AKA spyder: Spyder compact 2000, ACI 6 stage expansion chamber, remote, AA vigilante regulator, ACI high volume cell, tornado valve, lightening bolt, and armson 16in stealth.
Strengths: Some might define this valve as being "sweet." When I got it to work on my spyder(I had a few difficulties involving an o-ring on my tank) it allowed me to shoot at about 350-400 psi.(which is normal for a compact) I no longer see ice or thick fog come out of my barrel and it adds great accuracy. The installation could be administered by a cat, or other small water dwelling animal(you heard me) I can't complain about this valve at all. The whole set-up with the AKA lightening has allowed a great reduction in opperating pressure.( i did have to tape of most of the ports on my armson to keep the velocity up.) The valve I got came with the valve, of course, and the whole valve stem.(valve pin,cup seal,and cup seal guide, which is one piece.) You can simply use the stiff factory spring which comes with the gun, which is very convenient. I recommend the same set-up if you have a compact, and its very important to prevent the liquid from entering that vigilante.(the piston o-ring breaks pretty easily.) If you get the vigilante, don't forget to pick up the LP spring so you can opperate below 450 psi. A good bolt for the LP application with a spyder is the lightening, which definately gets my seal of approval. With that bolt you get greatly reduce your cocking pressure.
Weaknesses: Nothing, I can't point out anything bad at all. There is no evident flaws in this valve that i've seen. I also can not compare it to any other valve on the market: nothing increases air flow quite like it. It is a little pricy, but the quality and performance is one of a kind. It doesn't perform as well as the old spyders(the old hammers allow easier cocking)which is a bit of a dissapointment, but i was still impressed with the performance
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this bolt over any aftermarket valve. It may carry a bit of a price tag, but the quality and performance is well worth it. This valve has outperformed my stock valve, and exceeded my expectations. I'm greatly satisfied with this product, and im sure you will if proper installation is administered and the right products are used to accompany the valve.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agentdowell Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock valve
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine
- Viewloader eVolution II
- Phat aluminum feed neck
- 14" black Evil Pipe kit
- Gen-X2 reg
- Shocktech chrome trigger
- Shocktech chrome volumizer
- AKA Turbo valve
- AKA Lightning bolt
- chrome bottomline and PMI remote coil w/slide check
- Pure Energy 48/3000
- 32 Degrees spring kit (lp spring setup)
- polished internals
Strengths: high flow
um... looks sweet?
Weaknesses: hard to find a dealer, like all AKA products...
Review: AKA: The Low Pressure Specialists

This is THE valve to get if you are going lp. Maximizing flow and bringing your operating pressure to new lows. He he, ya see what I did there? But seriously, the holes in the valve are much bigger than stock so naturally there is more room for the gas to flow through.

BUT, you need to find an authorized AKA dealer to buy one. Not very difficult, but still not easy.
Conclusion: This is THE valve for low pressure Spyders. If you have a low pressure Spyder, you are required, BY LAW, to purchase this valve and tell everyone how cool it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agitator Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valves, rocket valve (pain to adjust?)
I prefer THIS valve
Marker Setup: 2k2 timmy, was 2.9, st ram+cap, evil detonator hpr, freak kit, 88/45 crossy, vlocity, empire on/off with empire rail, hybrid grips.

2k3 dragun 275 psi blowback, ricochet apache, tornado valve, t1 va, uncapped lcd board, "bouncy" eyes, psychoballistics z-drop, palmer stabilizer, cip bolt, polished internals (lol).
Strengths: AKA (seriously-that's a strength)
HI flow
Installation
Can use spring kit/stock spring
Weaknesses: Price
Spring may restrict flow
Review: I bought this used for $30. It's awesome. Never leaks and you don't need the star thing that goes with the normal spyder valve/spring assembly.

As with any valve, be sure to lube the pin to avoid wear. Don't over-pressurize this valve. You're not supposed to exceed 400psi, according to AKA.

I run my gun at 275 psi/280 fps. I get 2,000+ shots off my 20 oz co2 tank. This part is great for someone trying to go lp, but beware that you will need additional parts. This valve is merely one part among many needed to go lp. I recommend ottersccustoms' website for lp info. You need a high flow va, a good reg, spring kit, and a few other things. I found-out the hard way that the modded stock valve wasn't good enough, the same goes for the modded va. I modded it per otter's instructions and it didn't yield good enough results. I ended-up with teh tornado valve, t1 va, and a few other things as you can see from my setup info^

I'd recommend this valve to anyone goin' lp. Try to find it used- It'll be cheaper
Conclusion: Buy it if you wanna' go lp, and don't look back!

If using air for your gun, I'd STRONGLY recommend aka regulators. AKA makes high end products that are among the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blazer_NS Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Kingman valves for my rodeos.
Marker Setup: I have 2 Rodeos 1 for me and 1 for my wife. Both of them have...
-AKA Tornado valves
-Shocktech Superfly bolts
-Maddman valve springs
-Maddman Main spring(hard)
-14" J&J S2 barrels
mine aslo has a Aka low rise feed neck and a Halo tsa lcd frontman
Strengths: High Quality,
Quiet,
Easy to install,
No plastic Cup Seal,
Co2 or HPA
Weaknesses: No diagram on manual...
Review: The AKALMP Tornado valve is a excellent buy for your marker. It operates at 250psi to 350psi, which is low for a spyder. I had no problems installing it into our guns. My spyders have Factory Low Pressure chambers on them So I had to re-drill the Holes in asa adapters to .203 to get the correct flow to re-cock the markers. After I did that I was able to re-cock in the 275psi-300psi range with decent velocity. With the stock springs on the guns I had problems re-cocking below the recommended psi of the valve. So I bought the Maddman spring kits Which has a lighter valve spring needed for the tornado valve to operate within the Recommended PSI. The stock bolts weren't intended to operate at low pressures so I got the Shocktech Super Fly Delrin bolts that work flawlessly. If you buy this valve for you rodeo you'll want to buy a high flow bolt, and a Spring kit. You will also need to re-drill the hole going from the Low Pressure chamber to the valve out to .203.....Just got back into the game good to be back......been gone for a few years
Conclusion: Go buy this valve If you want a Quiet, Efficient, Low pressure spyder.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 26th, 2006 at 4:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Thursday, February 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve - clearly not as high flowing.
Marker Setup: Ion
SP swivel qev
AKA Sidewinder
Kila '06 detents
VP Scythe trigger
CP 2-piece
CP Micro drop
CP 2k5 on/off
CCM No Pro
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
ProTouch grips
Strengths: High flowing.
Includes valve pin.
Weaknesses: Expensive (probably*).
Valve plug/set screw sticks out.**
Review: I installed this in my E99 after i screwed up the stock valve trying to mod it & *my cousin gave me a bunch of old Spyder upgrades.

The air inlet hole (side the cup seal & pin are on) is wider than stock and the area inside the valve seems to be a little bigger as well. The hole on the striker side of the valve isn't any different but there are 4 tiny holes around it; probably allows more air to push the striker back without causing the pin to mis-align when it seals the valve.

Most of the pin has been milled down to allow better air flow around it and its cupseal is a star shape (again, to allow better air flow around it without affecting its ability to seal the valve).

** The stock valve has holes in the top & bottom - the top lets air pass to the bolt while the bottom just gets plugged with a small brass set screw (also holds it in place). The Tornado valve doesn't have a hole in the bottom, just an indentation that doesn't allow the screw to go in completely. Wouldn't matter except THAT causes the trigger frame from becoming flush with the body.

Since i didn't want to mod the valve or screw, i drilled a hole in the frame, directly under the set screw. Doesn't need to go all the way through, the set screw just needs its own little "well." The Tornado valve might've come with its own set screw but since this was given to me, i don't know what else it may actually come with.
Conclusion: All its features allow for a very high flow, perfect for those who crave efficiency. Not sure if AKA still makes them, though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lowfunds69 Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock valve
Marker Setup: Spyder Avant E-99
Sweet Spot Trigg
Bandit Bolt
AKA Tornado Valve
32 Spring kit
Compressed Air
Check-it On/off Drop & Assult Block
Micro Line
WGP Regulator
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
Bob Long Mini Gauge
Dye Sticky Grip
Evo II hopper
Strengths: No Leaks
Stable Preasure
Consistant Pressure
Easy to install
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: This product is great it increased my tank shots. I had no ball breaks. I could not be happier. very easy to install. I saw a imediate drop in the pressure leval I was able to achieve. Went through at leaste 3000 balls and no problems with leaks. Previous to this I installen the 32 valve and Had an imediate leak.
Conclusion: For anyone looking to go low pressure this is a must have part!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media