paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder AMG / Kingman Spyder AMG / Kingman Spyder AMG / Kingman Spyder AMG

Kingman Spyder AMG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder AMG

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder AMG
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Multi mode electronic LCD trigger frame with tournement lock, reactive trigger response, smooth inline expansion chamber, regulator with mini gauge, vertical feed, deluxe amg sight rail, aluminum 2-finger trigger with secondary saftey, amg deluxe drop foward, classic 2-in-1 trio barrel, smooth-action cocking system, quick disconnect pin, tournament velocity adjuster, stainless steel hard line hose and a new anti-double feed.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder AMG is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
spyderspinner Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder agressor/viewloader triton
Marker Setup: spyder amg/lcd-j&j ceramic 14in. barrell-12 volt rev./x board loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
j&j ceramic 14 in. barell, 12 volt rev. hopper with x board
Strengths: -no serious upgrades needed
-ready to go straight out of the box (needs to be charged of course)
-adjusted trigger pull to desired spot with ease
-unbeatable rate of fire
-lcd allows you to keep track of ball count and time your speed ball games
-VERY user friendly
-no doubt, the best gun at a great price...mine was only $219.00
Weaknesses: -upgrade the barell, the factory barrell is junk
-remove site rail and the cuplink on the front where the barrel screws in (useless decorations that only make the marker heavier)
Review: I have played with two other types of markers that are basicly spyder products, to which I swear on using, and this marker for the money is the best on the market. After a few test runs with it I upgraded the barell, removed two useless decorations and tightened the trigger pull. (The trigger adjustment is well designed and only took me seconds to set to my desired setting) If you are a new user shopping or a tourney user looking to improve this is without a doubt the BEST marker on the market. Some people may experience ball breakage if not using an elec. hopper, but few and far between. Low pressure with mine set at 250-300 psi with great results. Now that's what it's all about...saving air!!!
Conclusion: This marker is made by a more than respectable company that is great for any type of user and for the price, good luck finding anything better!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

C-Mag Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine- Nothing wrong with it I guess
JT 6.0- Pailed in comparison
Marker Setup: MY WANABE ANGEL-

Spyder AMG Classic
Smart Parts All American Barrel
Sweet Spot Trigger
Crossfire 68CI Stub
Polished Internals
Pre BRASS EAGLE 12volt Revy W/ X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sweetspot trigger- The new ones fit the AMG, it gives the gun an angel like feel
Barrel-Stock aint bad tho
Revy-should go without saying
HPA is a must!
Strengths: -Extreamly fast
-Rarely if ever chops
-Good stock regulator
-Unique feel to the X-Chamber/Forgrip
-Air efficiant
-Looks good
-Low profile yet intimidating
Weaknesses: -stock grips are fairly uncomfortable, and grip frame is incompatible with after market grips(However Raven is coming out with Stickys for it)

- X-Chamber takes getting used to but you will learn to love it

- While you CAN use Co2, I would strongly recomend HPA*

(Once while using Co2 in a woods game, I had a position on top of a hill looking over the opposing teams base, I popped up and took a shot at the last defender of their flag. The gun malfuntioned and all I heard was a click, by that time I was shot. It turned out to be a blown O-ring in the bolt that jamed the gun, it was blown by Co2)
Conclusion: An excelant Marker for an entry level tornament player to a professional. Just look at Bad Company, they can easily compeat with anybody on the planet using this gun, and it is a good price too. I am very pickey about my marker and gear, and this still deserves a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Daniel M. Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter, Raptor Extreme
Marker Setup: Ricochet Ak, Spyder AMG LCD, CP Two piece 10" pro system, CO2, soon compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP two piece pro system, Nice hopper like a Ricochet Ak
Strengths: Shoots fast but i don't use it. It nice for intimidation though. Very accurate and gets good distance with the cp barrel. Love it but I got a X-Vengance autococker and it has become my backup gun.
Weaknesses: I have had a problem with the oil when i oil by bolt getting down into the electronic trigger creating some problems. But it is simple to fix by being a little more careful when lubing up the gun.
Conclusion: I love this gun I got it cheap off of ebay and if you can get it for a decent price it is definitly worth it. I have worked on a lot of guns just in the little time that I have been playing and I have never had any problems with this gun. I got the autococker because I could not figure out how it worked and wanted to find out and autocockers are very quiet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ONE_SHOT_KILL 1 Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2003 core shark, spyder victor, spyder electra
Marker Setup: AMG with LCD
16 inch dye boomstik
12volt revolution
Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nito big time (im waiting to get mine)
Barrel (dye boomstick, JT, Freak, or that empire kit)
you need revolution hooper ot better
Strengths: everything
Weaknesses: none that i can see
(but you need niro to make it accurate)
Review: this gun is probably the best gun in it class. it only cost something like 210 with LCD on the internet. the barrel it comes with is ok but if really want to kick a## get a boomstick or somthing similar. the only bad thing i saw waas that has to have nitogen to be accurate. but i guess its not that bad you can pick the uo for 80 bucks. this gun is a great gun for rec and toury use. heck Bad Company uses them and there pro (i dont know if the y still do but they did) go with this gun ove an elctra or something. the only reason this gun isnt 300 400 dollars is because it is like three years old. the only reason the elctra DX is 260 is because its new. the only way i wouldnt go with this gun is if i had 500 to blow on a autococker. this gun is awesome in ever way
Shoots fast (even on semi)
doesn't ever have any problems
pretty accurate if you put nito on it with a new barrel
durable
shoots really smooth
oh ya looks awesome (one of the best looking guns in paintball)
and if that doesnt sell you then maby that when you walk on to a feild everyone looks at the gun(probably because it looks so good)
this is a great gun for players of all levels thats why i give it a 10
Conclusion: buy this gun you wont be disappointed. great gun if you have the money put nito in it and a new barrel and you will kick a##
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfool407 Sunday, June 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
late 90s up to 09 Mechanical Spyders: Slower, less accurate, less consistant.
All other Electro Spyders: No other electro spyder surpasses an upped AMG.
Planet Eclipse Egos, Dye Matrix Series, Angels, Autocockers, Smart Parts, etc. - higher end guns but not far from the AMG
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG Classic
14" SP Teardrop
Polished Internals
Delrin Bolt
Upgraded Spring kit
Modified Stock Trigger
Clamping Feedneck
50g microswitch
47/3000 Nitrogen Tank
Egg2 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel and Feedneck immediately. New bolt soon after. The rest is up to you, and how long you are planning on keeping the gun.
Strengths: Mid-to-low pressure out of box, rare, looks, consistancy.
Weaknesses: Chrome = flashy. Heavy. Stock barrel and bolt are bad. Plastic feedneck.
Review: I purchased the Spyder AMG as my first electro about five years ago now. Sparkling blue out of the box, I bought it with the intention to shoot a spyder like a few of my buddies. I only shot about half a case through it with the stock bolt and barrel. Out of the box, they marveled at just how good my AMG stacked up against their modded Flashes and Electras.

What makes the AMG awesome is the fact that the magazine clip infront of the trigger doesn't hold bullets, it holds air. The giant X-chamber/foregrip brings down the gun's operating pressure and brings up consistancy. Adding an EvolutionII hopper (Egg2) and a nitrogen tank, and you have a very FAST, very CONSISTANT marker that shoots near 350psi out of the box. For a gun, that's pretty nice. For a now $150 spyder, that's amazing.

I kept shooting stock and bought a Dye DM6. Light, less kick, and lower PSI. As the years went by I continued to shoot the DM6, lightening my AMG here and there as I continued. Now, with polished internals, a new delrin bolt, a 14" SP Teardrop, new feedneck and new microswitch, my AMG RIPS. The teardrop has improved my accuracy, I am now operating close to 250psi and am shooting ropes. No more barell shroud or useless sightrail. I love the no-nonsense look of the AMG.

Buy this gun and upgrade it if you want to walk on the field and have everyone start talking trash about your "spyder", then walk away still talking trash when they're wearing your paint.
Conclusion: Everyone's looking for AMGs nowadays. Especially the AMG classic. Considered one of the coolest products ever released by Kingman, notoriously popularized by Bad Company and ECX. I love my classic AMG foregrip and steel hose. This gun WORKS PERFECTLY after FIVE+ years!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freebird Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Spyders, stock cockers, angels, 2k2 Timmys
Marker Setup: AMG lcd with 68/45 Center Flag nitro tank, 12 volt X-board revvy, J&J Two Piece
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a better barrel (of course) because the stock sucks--get the Freak or the Evil Pipe
get a new bolt because the stock scratches the hell out of the internals
There's not much you can upgrade because Kingman made everything permamnant, like the X-chamber.
Strengths: Fast gun, somewhat reliable, looks
Weaknesses: chops paint, not efficient, not consistent, can't be upgraded
Review: I was disappointed after buying the AMG. Although it is fast, the accuracy isn't the greatest due to the horrible consistency. I have jumped from 190 to 285. The efficiency isn't the greatest also=I only get about 600-700 shots out of a 68/45 tank, while I can get about 1200 shots with a cocker. The stock bolt also sucks because of the scratching of the internals and it chops alot. The reliability is good, mine has never broken on me. You also don't get too many shots per charge. For some reason, Kingman decided to make the X-chamber permanent, so that if you want to change it, you have to lose the Regulator (which does nothing) and you also can't use another drop for the same reasons.
Conclusion: After owning this gun for a year, I have decided that I am completely done dealing with Spyders. If you are looking to get a Spyder, I recommend the E-99 or the Flash. They are cheaper and you can upgrade them. I am currently saving up for an IR3, which should definitely be a big improvement.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 4th, 2003 at 12:32 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

AMG-PRO-#7 Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
- E-99 - better all around gun
- Tippmann 98 - lower quality, slower firing, but at least it doesn't chop nearly
as much paint
- Shutter - best spyder there is once you get electro trigger!
Marker Setup: AMG LCD, 14'' PROgressive barrel, delrin bolt, 68ci/3000psi max flo, KAPP drop zone II, Evolution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
better bolt, better cradle/drop forward, better barrel, Evolution 2, nitro, probably better regulator, might as well get a better gun while ur at it
Strengths: - electronic trigger, and its adjustable
- has a gauge and inline expansion chamber
- low pressure
Weaknesses: - the bolt is terrible, it scratches ur tube interior and it chops so many balls,
worse than a JT 5.0
- my LCD on my trigger stopped working after 2 days of play
- is this supposed to be low pressure!? it chops so many paintballs
- stock barrel is so terrible, why not just include a 6inch, its just as good. you
must get a better barrel, PROgressive helps greatly w/ the accuracy if u
haven't chopped paint in it already (which u will)
- u have to get a different spacer/feed tube, the hose sucks
- this is the least upgradable gun i've seen (due to new body design)
- is this gauge just for looks or does it serve a purpose?? i experienced jumps of up to 30 fps with nitro!!
- my gun had 2 separate leaks in it when i first went out to play, but some
lock-tite fixed that no problem....still disappointing
Conclusion: i suggest you get the E-99, it was made with so much better quality in my opinion. the Shutter with a nice electronic trigger is also a better choice than the AMG. also, for almost the same price u can get a 2003 WGP Autococker. while i've only tested this gun, it seems to work very well. I was so disappointed with all the flaws of the AMG, from leaks, velocity jumps, inaccuracy, and paint chops, to name a few.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

GT2K Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, other Spyders, Spyder clones, Cockers, etc...
Marker Setup: I use a stock AMG GUN, I use MARKERS to color with, includes a Crossfire 47 HPA tank and 14" SP All-American barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips
Delrin/Nylatron bolt
Strengths: Fast with an adjustable trigger
Low pressure
Easy to maintain
Hard steel airline
Adjustable ROF
Weaknesses: Need manual for ROF adjustments
Sight rail on vertical feed? Why??
Cheap vertical feed adapter

Review: I've used this gun for about 2 years now and I have been very pleased with it. The regulator is easily adjustable and although it isn't top of the line it works for my needs. I love the steel air line, I doubt that it will be blowing out anytime soon (unlike that micro line stuff). One thing I will say though is that if you get down to the last 2 or 3 balls in your hopper there is a 90% chance you are going to jam. The easy way around this is to try and keep your gun from running empty when possible. I have been running at about 350-400 PSI w/o any problems. The stock barrel is decent, but I would suggest that AFTER you run a case or two through it that you consider getting a new barrel. And as many others have stated an agitating hopper is required for this gun.

Lots of people look to upgrade their guns for one reason or another, the AMG needs no modifications in my opinion. Sure you could put a new reg on it but you are going to have to remove the funky expansion chamber and find a way to hook it up. The stock drop forward is a good one, you can upgrade it, but again you run into the problem with the steel air line. The best upgrades that I can suggest to you with a minimul amount of $$ would be 1) delrin bolt and 2) rubber grips. The ESP frame on the AMG isn't the most comfortable but I can live with it. The trigger is very fast and light and will definitely increase your paint usage over time.
Conclusion: Kingman makes some good quality guns and the AMG is no exception. Although the "Classic" model has been discontinued you can still get one on Ebay or order the LCD version instead. Expect to pay around 175-200 for one. I have no problems recommending this gun to anyone looking for a nice gun that doesn't need alot of upgrades or tinkering to make it work.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EleventhDust Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash, Spyder AMG Classic, Spyder AMG LCD, E-99, EM1, B2K2, Angel LCD Stock, Angel C&C 2001, Dark Angel 2000 & 2001. Cockers Galore.
Marker Setup: ANS GX3 Chaos Cocker Powder Grey, 1996 Custom Autococker, EM1, AMG, Dark Angel 2001 Pewter. Air America Y2k 68/4500 x 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel & Bolt
Strengths: Its a electro. High ROF. Reliable. Mine isent broken yet. But all markers do eventually. Nice Color. Multi Modes. Just like any other electro. Its purpose. To acheive a High rate of fire. And Bonus muti firing modes. Spyder has grown up since the early 90's. Back then when I bought my first spyder it broke in 6 months. They make good stuff now. Works OK on co2. Better on n2. But what marker dosent? LCD LCD LCD. Look theres actually a read out.
Weaknesses: The X Chamber is a little big. Kinda like the EM1. I couldent tell the difference. Get a new Barrel, Get a New Bolt. Something along the lines of delrin bolt. Remember I said it works ok on co2. But better on N2.
Conclusion: Its not a bad marker. I shot angel, cocker, and yes I have a AMG LCD. It works fine. Not as fast as my angel but its damn close. If you want to step up into the electro world and dont have alot of cash. Any of the E-spyder line is good way to start. I've been playing for over 10 yrs. And I like it. Old Spyders = Bad meanning early 90's spyders. The newer ones are fine. I play with a group of guys that use nothing but EM1's and they have had no problems in the past 3 yrs. Nothing more than common maintinace problems. So to the guy below that wanted someone to wright a review from someone that shoots cockers and angels and other 500+ markers you just got it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saboteur Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus, Spyder Flash, Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Black and Chrome Spyder AMG LCD, 14 inch Boomstick, 12v Revvy, 68 Crossfire tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Agitated Hopper, N2 tank.
Strengths: Fast as hell, my hopper can't keep up with the ROF, extremely accurate with the Boomy,
not a gas hog and I have not had a single break in about three cases of Midnight. Also, not one malfunction in nearly 20,000 rounds.
Weaknesses: Might be a bit heavy or bulky for some front players, there seems to be a shortage of aftermarket parts.
Review: The price is great for the quality, I take out people with Black Magics (Field Standard where I play) all the time. Fast as hell and with the Boomstick is accurate like you wouldn't believe. When I first got it a lot of my friends were bashing it 'cause it was "only a Spyder", after being hit square on the goggles at 80+ feet, they quit laughing. In my opinion, the best Spyder out there, originally I planned on using it for about a month till I got my Cocker but after seeing how this baby performs, I plan on keeping it for a long while.
Conclusion: Buy it, might not have the reputation or bells and whistles of high-end markers but on the field it can hang with the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media