paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP FLY II LCD Angel / WDP FLY II LCD Angel / WDP FLY II LCD Angel / WDP FLY II LCD Angel

WDP FLY II LCD Angel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP FLY II LCD Angel

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP FLY II LCD Angel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1650

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This Red Fly II packs a heavyweight punch for such a lightweight marker. It comes with the following.

Fly II body style.
Metal hydride battery.
Recessed on off switch.
Colour co ordinated polycarbonate screens and pull knob.
Low rise feed. Free shipping.
Product Availability 
The WDP FLY II LCD Angel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
hoky27 Tuesday, August 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long's Intimidator, is almost just as fast shooting, but is not reliable like the angel.
Marker Setup: 2001 Fly LCD, Armageddon 45/45 Tank, Shocktech Dropforward, New Designz Bolt, CP Complete Barrel System.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice tank, such as the Armageddon. A new bolt will give you much better accuracy, HALO hopper, Shocktech dropforward because it fits the armageddon tank.
Strengths: Very Very Fast! Incredible accuracy. Compared with the regular LCD angel this gun is much more lighter.
Whoever saids the angel isn't a back players gun probably has never used it playing back because it compares with any other autococker or intimidator.
Weaknesses: What can i say thats bad about this product probably nothing!! Don't try to take it apart though (i learned this the hard way), just put a couple drops of oil in the ram after every use.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for anyone who can afford it. I got new off of ebay, you can save a lot of money there. Whether your a backplayer or a front player i would recommend this gun. Don't be fooled by the rumor of its a front player's gun, because thats all it is a RUMOR!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Orracle7997 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Black Magic Autocockers, Automags
Marker Setup: Angel 2k2 Fly w/ boomstick and Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boomstick or Titanium barrel, CP bolt and, a Cobra Trigger, get a tech to hardwire A-4
eyes (NO CHOPS !!!!!)
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Stock Trigger is OK
Barrel is accurate
Weaknesses: could use a better Bolt
Needs eyes
Hard to find new grips
Review: If you have the money to get this gun i highly reccomend it. It has great ROF great accuracy and range (w/ the boomstick) and you get you moneys worth easy.

Personally you can get tech to hardwire A-4 eyes into it and i suggest you do so if your
serious. The eyes are great, never chops, can set the Max Rate of Fire to 20 without even worring about the possibility of a chop. I love this gun !!!
Conclusion: If you want a gun that rips then i would definatly through down the green.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

angelfly Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, because there is nothing ive ever had that compares to this marker.
Marker Setup: 2001 Angel LCD Fly, Freak and Ultralite Barrels, twin dye volumizers, center flag high rise feed, a4 soft faced bolt, shocktech drop and asa, Kapp breach knob, CIP dragon snatch grip, crossfire 68/45k, Jt tank cover, evo 2, and an andrenaline double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
you really dont need much, a barrel, a nitro tank and a hopper..i highly recommend the a4 bolt!!!
Strengths: very light, very fast, and very reliable
Weaknesses: no eyes, but not a big deal at all, i still dont chop
Review: i absolutely love this gun, its soo amazing i dont know where to start. Its quite an eye catcher at my local field, i recieve trade offers all the time for it. Its just super fast and its an ideal gun for me as a front player. it has all the features i want in a marker...its small and light and easy to maneuver. They are also availabke on ebay starting at 500 bucks or so..u cant go wrong for that price. it competes with any gun out there and there is always the option of the retro kit...im waiting for Master Tech to come out with theres, than this gun will be even better.
Conclusion: Anyone looking to get into tourney ball or just an intense rec player, this is the gun for you, they are relatively cheap and they are just an amazing marker to own
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MIKE p Saturday, January 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing comes close
Marker Setup: WDP FLY II LCD Angel: 2 Kapp volumizers: Kapp drop foward: 14' Dye titanium Boom Stick: 88ci 4500 psi system X compressed air tank: 12 volt Revy with 6 prong impeller: Sub-mouse click trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock infinity barred is petty good but it has a very small bore so i would up grade to a Dye barrel. Marballizers work great in the Dye barrels
Strengths: Absoultly everything:
1. Quiet as a wisper
2. So accurate
3. Great ROF
4. Good range with a Dye barrel
5. Superb milling
6. Easy to use LCD display
7. Short trigger right out of the box
Weaknesses: Well the price is up in the thousands but if you have the green to fork out then you're set
Conclusion: If you decide to buy it the gun is worth every penny. If you have the green then buy it!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 11th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I recieved this gun a moth or so ago and wow!! was I happy! This was my first electro gun...Sold my Dark cocker....But wow! This angel Is light! Comes with a 12 inch infinity....Nice for rec,.....and a low rise, Great for us front players!.....and comes with the on/off.....no stupid tab!....The trgger needs some adjusting but its really easy to do so no big deal cuz all stock angels do!....NIhm battery is kick azz.....NOTIHNG BAD ABOUT THIS ANGEL...WORTH EVERY PENNY
ALL THE PICS ONLINE OF THIS GUN A CRAPY....IM or E-mail me for a pic of mine AIM: rangellcd.. E-mail: rangellcd@hotmail.com
Weaknesses: Man as long as u got the cash! Nothing is bad......
Conclusion: Looking for an angel? U like the Idea of somtihing light and compact? Dont wanna spend extra cash on the "rock" or "element"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aovboy Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
First Angel I ever tried, I've tried a few other electro-pnuematics, though.
Marker Setup: AGD RT ULE Automag
14" ULE Threaded Barrel, bore is about .689
ULT Kit
ULE Mainbody
Blade Intelliframe
Kapp Cradle
AA Raptor 68/3000 HPA System
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger with stop
Unsure on the stock barrel, I used a .688 Boomstick all day
Your choice of HPA mounting system
Strengths: Smooth operation
WDP Support
Can be fast
Easy to clean chamber
Weaknesses: Heavy (Compared to newer models)
Didn't like stock trigger
No eyes
Fixed Vert Feed
Review: Let me start by saying I used this product for a full day today during a Big Game. It was fully stock, with the exception of the barrel, which was replaced with a .688 Boomstick. I was using a Flame Drop, 88/4500 PMI Bottle, and Halo B.

A friend offered to let me borrow a spare Angel he had, so I took him up on this. He had a nice green CnC 2001 Fly, so I figure, why not give it a shot? I took it to the field, gassed her up, tossed in some paint, and took her to the chrono. I think it could have needed some lubing, I was bouncing from 275-285, which I found to be a bit unusual. The guy I borrowed it from informed me it hadn't seen much use lately. A note, with the 88ci tank and full Halo, this puppy weighs a decent few pounds. I was hoping for a bit lighter, but I sucked it up and played on. Was happy to be able to get my hand around the back, was pretty comfortable without a snatch grip.

When I first got onto the field, I loved it. I was using RPS All-Star at the beginning of the day. I wasn't able to really outshoot it, due to a trigger I was not used to. If it had a stop on it, I might have been able to get on it better, but I had to do with what I had. I had to resort to fanning for most of the day to get to a suitable ROF. Because of the slow speed I was shooting, there was no need for eyes. The Halo seemed to fix the problem, and I only had one chop in the marker all day, and that's when I was really wailing on it. For the perfectionist, you might want a new board and some milling for eyes, but it kept up pretty well. Cleaning the break was easy, just popping out the bolt, rubbing everything off, and adding some lube in there.

I'm not the kind of guy that says "Gun A shoots farther or more accurate than Gun B,", but it seemed that the Angel really lacked the ability to longball very well. I was having to spray a lot of the time to get paint to hit, it wasn't shooting as straight as I hoped. The bore was a very nice match, as well. Paint was fine. Maybe I'm just not used to how they shoot, maybe I had my expectations too high. I wanted to throw darts, but I ended up having to toss pointy sticks. About half way through the day, I ran out of RPS, and switched over to Draxxus Heat. This stuff would NOT go through the marker without some very bad barrel breakage. It got to the point where I got tired of having to swab it, and I was forced to move from the back positions that I hoped to play, and get down into the dirt in some small spaces. With enough paint, I could hit players, but I wasn't doing very well at this point.

I don't know of the stock boards limitations, unfortunetly. I think it kept up all day, I really wasn't able to tell.

During one part of the day, I ran out of paint, so I resorted to the "dry fire, keep heads down, bunker them" trick. This thing was incredibly loud when shooting dry. Compared to the very dull noise it made with paint, I was shocked. I don't think I was the only one, it sounded like an old Stingray that's been fed way too much liquid.

The marker requires an vertical elbow to mount a hopper. I was using a Halo, and wasn't too keen on shoving it into that flimsy thing. It held all day, though, but it did sit a bit high for my liking. I would personally get it sent in for threading on the feedneck, so I could pop a nice no-rise on there. I suppose if you're shooting a slower feeder, the ball stack is good, but for my purposes, it left a bit to be desired.

Milling on the CnC version was very good, so was the anno. No noticeable wearing of the anno, even with it's age, and no mill marks. Decently aggresive milling, not as graceful as the newer models, but pleased the eye. Didn't look too bad in Green, either. LCD was very easy to read in the dark of the woods, or the open areas with the sun. The Safe/Live button was easy to use. I didn't have to adjust anything, so I can't tell you how easy this is. I don't know if this has Palm or PC interface, it all might be on the grip. It worked for me as is, so I wasn't going to mess with it without an instruction manual.

I don't know if the vertical ASA uses standard threading or not, I've heard older Angels use an exclusive vert ASA threading for their mini-regs, which are supposed to work well anyways. It wasn't as consistent as I would have liked, but it probably just needed some lube in there.

If anyone can share their experiance with long range shooting and Angels, I'd appreciate it. I've heard rumors, but I've been dispelling them. I dunno, though, after today, I might open my ears some more.
Conclusion: I'm not sure if I was overall pleased or not. Due to the bad paint for the most of the day, I had a hard time testing it out from a reasonable distance (much easier to do behind a stand-up than some little board), so I really don't know. I hope to test a newer model soon. It was very curious using one finally, but I'm going to have to try another one or two before I make a final opinion. I may end up investing in one before the next season is over, it depends on whether I try some more. I'm not sure how much this marker goes for nowadays, but I'm willing to say not too much. You can probably nail one at your local field or store, or maybe Ebay for a decent price. I don't think it requires too many things, I was pleased with it in the form I was using. Just get all the electronics and the trigger tweaked to your liking, and see if you can't go out there and have some fun. Just note I only got to test this for one day, and my score will reflect that.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hollister Angel Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
uh led angel and b2k3
Marker Setup: 2002 eclipse angel lcd fly w/ dye hyper in line 2 dye boomy twisted volumizer 1500psi gauge new dezins bolt dye site rail and empire drop but best of all is the eclipse frame w/ magno trig
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and drop/unimount
Strengths: Fast
Light
Fairly accurate
Fairly durable
Weaknesses: Um, probely the barrel the infinity is good though
Review: I bought this marker from my friend the other day and i am amazed at how it looks compared to my old led. it has 26 modes of fire and 5 are programmable. i love the trigger and the dyr reg makes it even batter.
I do rec a new barrel/kit tho the infinity is ok but u should get a better one.
it is lighter than alot of angels except the a4 fly(nice).
overall i give it a 10 becausde of options like the intelifeed and data link.
Conclusion: This is a good marker if you have the money or get 1 used they work great for front mid or back!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyePballer69 Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really my next best gun was a Spyder Flash with about all upgrades, but that doesn't even come near how great this gun is.
Marker Setup: Silver 2002 Angel LCD Fly with 2 volumizers, Dye Boomstick barrel, Freak system, drop forward, r 11 bolt, 68ci/4500psi n2 tank, Evolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely a better barrel because the stock one is worthless. also a good and fast hopper to keep up with the incredible speed
Strengths: Accurate
Very fast
Reliable
Weaknesses: Price, WDP located in England so pain to get fixed if you have problems
Review: This is great gun for serious players. It shoots great, ralrely aver has problems, it is very fast with a maximum of 20bps, and is in my opinion one ot the best Angels ever made. I have only had this gun for just under 3 months and I love it. I only had one problem which was a leak through the 14 way which was no big deal to get fixed. I would definitely recommend this gun to any experianced and responsible paintballer.
Conclusion: Get one if u can find it (pretty rare) and if u can afford it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MINDofSIN Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers, Timmys, Blowbacks, Imps, IR3s, Bushies/Defiants
Marker Setup: Blue FLYII LCD, 12" Dye Ultralight, Dye bolt/medium drop/airport/breech knob, System-X volumizers, System-X ball detent, Ricochet 2k, 68/3k Crossfire, Dye tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good, adjustable, 4500psi airtank. AIR, Conquests, etc are perfect.
Fast loader such as Evo2 or Halo B
Anti Chop Eye(ACE) from Warped Sportz
Strengths: Reliable and low maintenance
Fast
Accurate
Very comfortable/small/light and good for front
Weaknesses: Pricey
Higher pressure than some other highends
No anti-chop system
Thin anno
Review: The main things I was looking for in a gun were:
Reliable
Electronic
Somewhat easy to take care of
Efficient
Comfortable

Some type of Angel seemed like an obvious choice.

I bought my gun used from one of the guys at the local store. It's very well taken care of. Ever since I've got it, people have been coming up to me and asking if I bought it from the guy at the store, and then saying how wonderfully it has performed in the past.

"Yeah, it performs great"
"You got a great deal. I would have payed a lot more for it"
"I played a tourney with it one time and it flat out rips"

I waited a bit to do my review so I could give honest opinions. It's been through 3 days of rec play including one in the rain, and a tournament.

During the rec days, it chopped about 2-3 times each day and broke a few more. Also, the shot-to-shot consistency wasn't the greatest, probably due to the reg and my preset tank.

Suprisingly, it worked the best at the tourney. The velocity stayed at a constant 285-290 all day long and due to a new ball detent and fresh batteries, my chopping problems dissappeared.

I only chopped once all day, and that was sweetspotting and walking the trigger. That isn't the markers fault, as Ricochets can't keep up with long fast strings. I didn't break or chop any other times.

I was putting paint where I wanted it easily and being able to lay fire on a small target from across the field. One time, I was shooting at about 3" of exposed barrel from 40-50ft away and nailed it in a few shots. As long as you don't fan the trigger, it's very accurate.






Conclusion: There are a ton of great guns on the market right now. The Angel was right for me. I need a loader that can feed it and I'm set.

Great marker. If you like it, it's definately worth the price.

Rock on.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmpsk8er3 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All angels and a few autocockers.
Marker Setup: Fly 2k2 angel lcd(dust blue), Cobra flat trigger,egg2 hopper, Cobra buttons, r-11 bolt, kapp breach knob, intelifeed sight rail, 14" titanium boomstick, 68-4500 maxflow (blue) lpr guage.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think you should get a new bolt...barrel..and hopper to keep up with this baby
Strengths: SPEED...this thing shoots soo fast..It's pretty accurate too!
Weaknesses: None really that I have found.
Review: When i first saw this i knew it was a winner. This thing is almost perfect out of the box. Just needs a few cosmetic things and its set. The accuracy is awsome and it's one of the fastest things ive ever shot. IMO this gun is 10x better than a speed because all speeds have is speed and this gun has the whole 9 yards.
Conclusion: This gun is a definate buy. It keeps up with you no matter what. Spend the extra money and get this. You all know the saying; "you get what you pay for", This is one of those things.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media