paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator / CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator / CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator / CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator

CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The R-2000 Regulator body is made of aluminum with a black anodized finish. It has standard ASA male threads at the front end, and standard female threads in the rear end. Overall length of the regulator is 2-3/4 inches. Regulating the gas flow is done by turning a set screw that is located on the side of the regulator.
Product Availability 
The CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Requiem Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocker reg, AA vigilante
Marker Setup: For this I used a spyder imagine with 32* spring set, spudnuk'l bolt, turbo valve (using the stock cupseal--the turbo's one is garbage) all else stock, with the inline reg after the x-chamber.
Strengths: small, tourney lockable, and has a gauge. Also cheap.
Weaknesses: rotten flow, and the lower you take the pressure, the worse the recharge gets.
Review: I was planning on using this to run my spyder at low pressure--in the neighborhood of 300 psi--for efficiency's sake. When I got it down that far, It was fine at the chrono, but I discovered that during games, rapid firing at all resulted in huge drop-offs and cocking issues. Watching the gauge showed me that when it was running about 500 psi, the recharge rate PER SHOT was almost a second and a half. On compressed air. I would shoot, and the needle would drop about 150 and creep slowly back up to what it had been before. Three or four quick shots would drop the pressure going into the gun enough to burp it and require a recock. If that happens with paint, kiss the game goodbye because you'll have to strip and clean all the busted paint out.
This regulator apparently is more for people trying to avoid pressure spikes caused by warmed-up CO2 and not for regulating it down too far. It seems to have fairly restricted flow anyway, which would make it less desirable for that application anyway because if you know much about it, the lower the pressure gets the higher the flow needs to go.
Conclusion: Well, it may be cheap, but unless you don't shoot much at all or have almost no money, I would say stay away from this thing--you can do better. I picked up a stock cocker reg, used, for $20 shipped and not only does it have no flow issues that I've encountered, it looks pretty nice on a spyder. Granted, it has no gauge and isn't externally adjustable, but not all of us need those...there's always the cocker ergo reg.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AzNGuNSmoKE Monday, September 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure Energy
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, Vertical adaptor, Tippmann expansion chamber, 14" Dye Excel, CMI R-2000 Regulator, New revision VL revvy w/ x-board, Full Boar Shadow, Response Trigger, Homemade Drop Forward (about same specs as PB DF), Macroline Kit, 12oz Anti-siphoned Tank.
Strengths: No shoot down, Pretty fast recharge. Good consistancy. NEVER FREEZES. Totally awesome. I have even tilted my anti-siphon tank so that it is siphoning all the liquid and it still never froze.
Weaknesses: Guage is kind of large, but it doesn't get in the way of use. The O-ring shreding problem has nothin to do with the threads. Look at the pin on the ASA side of the reg that activates the valve on the CO2 tank. You will notice it is two or three times the length of the same pin on your gun. This makes your tank start releasing gas while you oring is still in contact with the threads. Guess what. Your o-ring expands and gets shreded by the threads while you turn it in further.

TO SOLVE THE SHREADING PROBLEM KEEP SCREWING IN THAT SCREW WITH THE ALLEN KEY PROVIDED UNTIL THE SCREW IS THE SAME LENGTH AS THE PIN ON THE ASA OF YOUR GUN. Then the CO2 will begin releasing gas when the o-ring is at the smooth part of the asa.
Conclusion: This reg will work awesome once the pin valve activator is the correct length. This reg is a steal for $60 CDN. It will work wonders for your CO2 and with an anti-siphon tank you will never get any liquid in your tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HampsterFist Thursday, July 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Regulators, PPS Stabilizer
Marker Setup: Dragun LCD Full Function - Stainless Steel Turbo Valve, Lapco Cup Seal, M3 Barrel Kit , CIP Dragun Full Force Delrin Bolt, CIP Dragun Sweet Spot Trigger, CIP High Volume Cell, CMI R2000 linked to an ACI Sub-Zero 4stg X-Chamber, Java Tuctite Drop Forward, PPS Female Stabilizer (as bottomline), 20oz Pure Energy Co2 Tank, Ricochet AK

32* PT Xtreme - Spyder Spring Guide, Modified Spyder main spring
Strengths: For its price it will do its job and reduce velocity spikes, and grant a more consistant velocity. Its unique set up has both male and female ASA threads, so you can place this sucker anywhere you want. I have it set as an inline regulator attached between my marker, and my expansion chamber to regulate expanded co2. With this I have been able to custom tune my marker to where I want it to be, around the 450psi-500psi inline regulator output area. Can be used for low pressure if you want.
Weaknesses: Though his regulator is convenient and useful, it has its limits. Particularly with fast markers. If I wanted I could have my marker set below 400psi around the 380psi range and acheive around 280fps give or take a few (forgot exact fps at that particular operating pressure). However this regulator does not recharge as quickly as needed for my particular marker. I have my marker set anywhere between 12 to 14 bps for rate of fire. If I ever needed to fire rapidly in CQB situations the regulator would show signs of velocity drop at that low of an operating pressure. So to safely run it without any drop off I run it at around 550psi as an inline regulator. It will soon be replaced with a male inline PPS Stabilizer.
Conclusion: Over all it is a good regulator for its compact design. It does its job well, and allows you to adjust it between 50psi - 900psi. It has never given me any problems, nor has it ever gone out on me. It will help provide consistant fps once you fine tune it to match your markers particular needs. But for markers which may be used to fire in rapid sussession, it will suffer slightly from drop off depending on how low you run it. Over all it is a great regulator for its price though, and I recomend it to people who are in need of it's particular usefulness in being able to place it where you want it. For me though, it will be soon placed on my old marker along with the ACI 4stg Sub Zero that I attached to it, and replaced with an Inline Palmer Male Stabilizer, which is a faster recharging and extremely reputable regulator. I rate the R-2000 a 7.5, though it suffers slightly from a noticable recharge time, it also is accurate at regulating pressures, and extremely convenient. A good buy for people who need it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

motopsycho650 Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Expansion Chambers
Marker Setup: 1 - '02 98 Custom, CO2 powered, Polished internals, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, 16" Tippmann Werks Barrel, Super-Fly Front Bolt, Response Trigger, Double Trigger, Cyclone Feed w/ Vortex Kit, R/T Cyclone Adapter Kit, Remote Line, Adj. Car Stock.

2 - '99 Model 98, CO2 powered, Polished internals, Tippmann Expansion Chamber, Flatline Barrel, Metal Flateline Stroud, Remote Line, Adj. Car Stock.

3- '99 Pro/Carbine, Bone Stock except a 16" All American Stainless Steel Barrel and a Custom-made Tactical Sling.
Strengths: Cheap, Small, Has a Gauge, Conserves CO2 or HPA.
Weaknesses: Bad Recharge Rate, In-Consistent Velocity
Review: I bought this before reading a review on it. I didn't know much about regs at the time. I got it because it was cheap ($40), and it was a very small, in-line reg.

On each gun, I easily installed it between my gun and my remote line. I began by warming up a full tank a little, to raise it's pressure, (Don't over heat a full tank). I started around approx. 640 psi on the reg setting, and on my #1 gun (98C), it seemed fine at first. I was not near a chrono, but the gun re-cocked just fine until the 5th shot or so. That was when I noticed the pressure dropped to 550 psi or so. I waited, and slowly it raised back to 640 psi. (Each mark on the gauge between 400 psi and 800 psi represents 80 psi increments).

I raised the PSI slowly, and finally the re-charge rate improved at approx 720 psi. I was able to unload 20 or so shots with the R/T before I noticed a pressure difference, and it could have been the CO2 temp causing it. Also, this is on my 98C with an X-chamber between the reg & the valve. I'm told this is hard on regs, but keep reading.

At the field, with the 98C & 720 PSI reg setting, I was easily able to set the velocity to 285. I was getting +/- 10 fps differences though, which is not the best for a regulated gun. After I unloaded another 20 or so with the R/T, I experienced a 20 fps drop, but again, could be CO2 temp.

At this point, I didn't think it was too bad for 40 bucks. If the outside temp is too low for the CO2 to obtain 720 PSI, the reg doesn't do anything, but on hot days, it will conserve CO2 and prevent pressure spikes.

Ok, I tried it on my M98, and had pretty much the same results. When I put it on the stock Pro/Carbine, I had a few more issues. I do not have an X-Chamber on the P/C, so there is not much air volume between the reg & the valve. I'm told this is good for the reg, and when installing a reg, most people remove their X-chamber. The problem was the recharge rate of the reg again. With so little air volume, the velocity was dropping much more noticeably with rapid fire.

It may be bad for the reg, but I recommend as much air volume as you can between this reg and the valve of the gun. Otherwise, this reg cannot keep up unless you adjust the pressure high enough that you might as-well remove the reg completely.

As far as CO2 savings, let's assume your CO2 tank is at 850 psi, unregulated (approx 70-80 degrees F). If you get 1000 shots from a 20 oz. tank, at a regulated 720 psi, you should, in theory, get 1180 shots out of the same tank. The warmer the day, the better the savings.
Conclusion: It's a cheap was to save a little CO2. Other than that, it's marginally effective as a regulator. I plan to use it on my loaner guns, but for my 98C, I'm going to bite the bullet & buy a Palmer's Pursuit Stabilizer.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 19th, 2008 at 5:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjlovi Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Stabalizers/Palmer Fatty
Marker Setup: Bushmaster B2K-04 Black to Red Fade, Palmer Fatty Regulator/Tippman A-5 E-Grip, Low Pressure Kit, Flatline Barrel, Palmer Stabalizer/Both High Pressure Air
Strengths: Awsome inline additions to the Palmer Regulator and Stabalizer.
Weaknesses: None noticed yet
Review: Prior to running my Bushy and A-5 with the R-2000 my FPS consistancy was all over. I didn't believe you could actually achieve +- 2/3FPS. When I tried the markers with the R-2000 along with the palmers as my main reg I consistently shot +- 2/3 FPS. I even changed the batteries in my chrono to make sure it was functioning properly. The I took it to the field that we play at, Oxford Paintball Club Oxford, Ct, and used their chrono. Same consistancy. This reg in addition to the palmers is awsome.
Conclusion: Awsome addition to any marker setup already running a reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 18th, 2005 at 2:46 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Screwball Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regulators that are on tanks or need air lines.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 (with Flatline, Stock, Bipod, Remote, Regulator, Expansion Chamber, Nitro Duck tank, 12volt Revolution)
Strengths: Can be used with and setup with standard ASA.
Weaknesses: None seen.
Review: Very good regulator. I run a remote from my Nitro Duck tank to the regulator. Then it goes up to the expansion chamber (from before I had nitrogen). Very constant. I have the output set at 450psi. With this and the regulator on my tank, I get very good consistency. I tested it out, and out of 15 shots, it ranged from 3fps above/below 280fps. Nice being that it can be mounted on almost any gun.
Conclusion: Good when you want a regulator without having to mess with the entire air setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 20th, 2005 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nayrLS6 Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none really- tested some regs on spyders
Marker Setup: Tipmmann 98 custom -black
32* starr Fire bolt
J&J ceramic 14 inch
Tippmann double trigger kit
Core adjustable regulator
Strengths: installs right on asa adaptor
does what its supposed to
will NOT freeze up
Weaknesses: see below
Review: I bought this regulator from paintball online for $45. I got it because i could put it right on my asa and wouldn't have to ditch my expansion chamber ( i had a spyder at the time)

I got it home and got all excited. When i put my tank on it just massacred the o-ring . It was a pain in the butt to get off because when i tried to get the tank off it uncrewed the whole reg unit off and all the co2 came out.

I was very frustrated at this. The same thing actually happened twice more. Then i found the fix. In the regulator there is a srew with an allen head that presses on the pin valve on your tank. This screw was out too far and let the gas out before the o-ring ever got a chance to seat in right. When i discovered this i just screwed the screw in further so it was the same legnth as other pins. I also heard that the threads are sharp(which they are) so i filed them down just to be safe.

I felt good about my repair and when i screwd the tank in it worked like a charm. I have absolutely no problems with recharge times after i shoot like some people do. It works great and i love it!
Conclusion: I would recomend this if you have an expansion chamber and still want to keep it or just flat out dont have a lot of money.
LOOK OVER THIS REGULATOR AND FOLLOW MY INSTRUCTIONS TO FIX IT IF YOURS IS LIKE MINE WAS!!
this is a decent regulator and its very sheap campared to others $45!! buy it!
i give it an eight just because i had to fix it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DirtyErnie Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha (numerous upgrades)
Strengths: accurate, reliable, consistant
Weaknesses: ROUGH finishing, ASA threads were bad out of the box.
Review: First got this thing with the matching TEEC expansion chamber, both were hellaciously rough on the tank threads. (stuck to my 20-0z) I wasn't too impressed, but for the money, i expected it. Anyways, after about an hour and a WHOLE bunch of mother's Mag and Aluminum polish, everything was [permanently] put together and it's worked perfectly ever since.
Conclusion: Cheap, very effective. If you don't mind a little 'tinkering' should be alright. All you cats whining about it not working for you: OIL IT A BIT!!! Moving parts need lube.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

djfinch Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several other regs
Marker Setup: Spyder Agressor XT- Low (as is usefull) pressure, Sprint frame.
Tippmann 98- Home low pressure (100 bucks for springs is a joke) 320psi. RT
Strengths: small, cheap. Thats it.
Weaknesses: Slow recharge, not durable. Very small air passages.
Review: Well, mine only worked for two days of play first off. I was regging my 98 down to around 500+- psi. Worked great at slow rates of fire, but after the third shot, there was horrible drop off. SO I cranked it up to 700 psi (luckily it was a hot day) and re chroned. Had the same drop off. Just for fun I started trying to fire long strings. After 6-7 shots, the gun simply decocked as if there were no gas in it. That is about the worst flow rate I have ever seen. So I put the reg on a pump.

Took it out on the third day of paintball after purchase. playing along, when I notice my pump starts shooting VERY hot. I call myself out and go chron. I'm shooting 350 FPS. I reg down, 350+- fps. I turn the reg all the way donw to the point it should have cut off the flow, 350+-fps. And no longer regulates at all. When I tried to make a warranty claim, I was denied because I had removed the guage and plugged the port. Evil me.

Conclusion: All in all I am VERY dissatisfied about my r-2000 and hope no one else gets burned like I did.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akaAssasyn Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
1st reg. used
Marker Setup: action marker sentinel;
speedline 2 piece barrel steel / alumin
aci sub zero 6 stage
20 oz CO2
12 volt revy w/ x board
Strengths: none
Weaknesses: it doesn't work well, cheaply made
Review: first when putting on the reg it cuts up o-rings. then after wearing down the sharp threads by screwing on and off several times w/o the o-ring. i got my setup on correctly. and to test it i dry fire several shots. i noticed the reg would decrease the pressure seting. with every shot the pressure would drop to a point where it can't re-cock. there is a reason why this thing is so cheap
Conclusion: spend a little more and you'll find that you'll save more money, because you'll find you'll have to buy something else. my experience with this reg was a waste of money, even more so then a sight on a vert. feed. at least you can have it on your marker and the marker will still work.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 7th, 2003 at 5:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media