paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel / Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel / Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel

Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in 14" and 16" in either .684 or .688 bore size.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Aluminum Speedline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sonquizzon Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Dragun TES Barrel
Marker Setup: Dragun TES, CP Lightning drop forward, CP regulator (short), CP ASA, APM Tiger bolt, Halo TSA Frontman, Powerlyte Speedline 2 piece barrel, 68ci 3000psi Crossfire aluminum tank, Occasionally use the 32 Degree Remote with the tank in the Camelbak!
Recommended
Paintballs:
No preference, they fly straight with this barrel unless you have some ghetto paint!
Strengths: Accurate & light
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: 1st off I'd like to say that Powerlyte has an awesome customer service! I originally ordered the 1 piece speedline barrel off their website and what I got was the end of a 2 piece Scepter. So I called them up and they said they were very sorry and they did make a mistake. However, they sent me an upgrade to a 2 piece Speeline barrel an a prepaid postage to send back the end piece to the Scepter. I was shocked and very very pleased!

Ok, now to the barrel...
My stock TES came with a pretty decent barrel but that was when I was just messing around in the backyard. When I played at the field I had balls zipping left and right. I was bummed considering the marker is sweet. Anyway, I was dumb and upgraded just about everything but the barrel so I did some research and found Powerlyte when I was ready and had some $ for a new barrel. What can I say.. when I got the 2 piece Speedline today I just had to test it out. I did a long and short range comparison between the stock TES and the Powerlyte. I tested both barrels with a new bag of paint that I had left over from the field. I would say at 30 yards the TES blew chunks once again. Out of 10 shots firing one ball at a time slowly, only 1 hit the wooden stick (I had it sticking up from a mound of dirt.), and the others were about 1-5 feet away from the target. The Powerlyte, also firing slow, hit the stick 5 times and the balls were about 1 foot away at the most from the target. Now when I fired about 15 balls per second the TES barrel became more accurate with balls only straying 1-2 feet from the target, only a few hit the stick. The Powerlyte test had balls within 1 foot, the majority hitting the stick- very nice!

Conclusion: The short test had similar results so no explanation needed. I read others posts and they all said that it made their markers quieter.. I really didn't notice a difference, my gun is probably at fault. But I'm not too concerned with quietness, I just want a damn good accurate barrel and this Powerlyte Speedline did that for me!

I would suggest you go get the $89 barrel off their website, if you have more $ then by all means get the Scepter! I would imagine it would be better. When I even just held the end piece they sent me in error it was lighter than the Speedline end piece. I gave them a well awarded 10 because they didn't need to upgrade me but they went that extra step to make me happy and it did!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Huerndy Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak-slighltly better but way more expensive not worth the extra money although it has interchangeable inserts
Marker Setup: spyder tl+ (peice of junk)
Recommended
Paintballs:
diablo dusk, cheap too
small paintballs
Strengths: looks
quietness of shot
accuracy
Weaknesses: sctraches kinda easily
Review: Do NOT get the 16" it gets unwieldy and tends to slow the paintball down.
14" is the best deal, not too long and great for accuracy dosen't slow pb down either

Awesome price for such a good barrel 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$ 50$

The freak is slightly better with accurcy and consistancy of shot.

Is great at self cleaning and real easy to shoot through breaks except in the cold

great accuracy for price/although if you think about accuracy if controlled much more by the player than it is the barrel. Considering that most insides of barrels are perfectly straight unlike the flatline.....now that's a nasty barrel

high quality workshmanship
Conclusion: I got mine for 85$ at 888 but now you can get it at topchoice for 50$
A Barrel that u can use to compete with people who have 100+$ buck barrels.

No other barrel is as good as this one for the price of 50$

If it was still 85$ this review would be a nine
great customer service
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 24th, 2003 at 1:04 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

666Predator Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
10" Dye ultralite-sucked, maybe it was jsut cause it was 10"
Tippy stock-well what can u expect?
Marker Setup: Tipman 98 custom with double trigger, rear cocking system, 18 volt viewloader hopper, Powerlyte speedline barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers
Strengths: ACCURATE!
looks sweet
easy to clean
Weaknesses: doesn't come with an o-ring just take one off of the stock barrel
Review: this barrel is sweet and it shoots a lot better then the ultralite, havn't broken a ball yet but ive sure tagged more people then ever last time i went. i really recommend this, cheap, sturdy, cool looking, and accurate as heck. it is an amazing barrel great for hte price i seriously recommend even to the pros, top choice paintball offered great help to me too, get it
Conclusion: AWESOME barrel for the price, better then the boomy and ultralite... and cheaper too
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 3:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
boomy
AA
flatline
ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
AA 2002 barrel
Dye stickies
trigger job
Strengths: -very light
-accurate
-looks very good.
-super quiet
-not very common so you can be different
-good bore size
Weaknesses: -costs alot but the price will go down soon
Conclusion: this is a really good barrel and out performs a boomy. Me and my friend did an accuracy test and though this isnt as accurate as the ss(very close) it is lighter so if you are looking to make your gun light as possible then i reccomend this over the ss. This is also a very quiet barrel so i think it out performs a boomy in every way. I think the only place to buy this is off powerlytes website but that is ok.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twisted origin Saturday, October 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz pepperstickz
Dye Titanium boomstick
CP barrel kit
Freak kit
Phat barrel
Lucky Un1tech
proto 1 piece
Marker Setup: First Endeavor Quest
Powerlyte speedline .688, .684
APE Raider board
CP reg
Cp rail, on/off
Nitroduck 68/45

Smart Parts Nerve
Tadao M6 Dynasty board
NDZ bolt
NDZ SST manifold
NDZ vented backplate
Unimount
lpr upgrade
Redz Pepperstickz kit
crossfire 68/3k tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs, visible impact, WPN elixir
Strengths: Powerlyte quality
Great anno
accurate
shoots through breaks
looks
PRICE
Weaknesses: Hard to find
Review: Last year, I did a review on the pepperstickz, praising their quality. Now that I have the Speedline barrels, the pepperstickz do not seem to look as good as before. The speedline has uncanny accuracy (of course, this depends on the paint, I was using the three paint listed), looks awesome on my Quest, and only costed me $19 for two (*cough* firstcallpaintball *cough*). I did the break test and broke a ball on purpose in the barrel. Three shots later, shooting like a charm. Is there anything more a could ask for?
Conclusion: If you can find this barrel with the correct threads that you need, I would buy it right away.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 13th, 2007 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doughboy99 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Currently either Spyder Electra ACS with stainless Powerlyte Speedline 2 piece, empire B reloader, dye stickies, magnetic detents -or-

CCM phantom w/carbon fiber barrel, clear parts w/10round feed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything on the mid, to larger side, Marbs work greath though.
Strengths: Incredible shine on the inside, very highly polished
Front lines up with the back perfectly
Weaknesses: I have the stainless steel which is slightly heavy
Review: When I had just gotten my first job senior year i wanted to buy a new barrel for my spider (who doesn't). at the shop i asked the owner which were the better quality barrels. he initially told me dye boomsticks which my friend confirmed, but then brought out the speedline 2 piece and explained to me that they were a newer company but produced excellent barrels that were on par with the best of the boomsticks (earlier models before they got so busy and rushed them).

This barrel is as accurate is i've seen. i have used it on two spiders and let another friend of mine use it on his and every time the shots are beatiful. the paint flies straight and has a nice consisten drop to it so you can anticipate your shot better.
Conclusion: Great barrel, I don't think you can find the stainless anymore, but if you can buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TalenteD Friday, November 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 05 Vision Shocker
12in Speedline
Maxflow
Evo 2 hopper
everythings stock cause i just bought it, but so far it doesnt seem to need any upgrades since i can get all day air and it shoots 20+ bps
Recommended
Paintballs:
id say anything mid grade and up
Strengths: The inside is polished like crazy to reduce the ball spin. very accurate, looks sexy.
Weaknesses: I got the stainless back so its heavy.
Review: ive used the speedline barrels from powerlyte for both rec and tourneys. they work great. I can shoot a ball into a wooden birds nest from a hundred feet away. Keep in mind that i am very sexy and can shoot with extreme precision (jk), but nothing more needs to be said, i am just typing to take up the 50 word minimum. My gun came with a freak but i wouldnt shoot with anything but a speedline. Awesome barrels.
Conclusion: These are great barrels for the price. Ive never seen any other barrel so polished on the inside. Very accurate.

*edit, they are not $110, i went directly to the machine shop in nc where they make them, so i only paid $45
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 25th, 2005 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NC Rebler89 Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels of my Dragun TES
Marker Setup: Dragun TES (Tactical Electronic Sniper)
16" 2 piece Aluminum Powerlyte Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Draxxus paint is good because they all range from .687-.689 and will last about 3 months or more before it goes bad; I have never seriously relied on any other paint
Strengths: Moderately Silent
Very Accurate when matched with right paint
2 piece
Stylish
Light wieght
Weaknesses: Scratches occasionally
No adjustable bore sizes
Review: I bought 2 of these barrels when I first got into paintball because I had two Spyder Sonixs. I thought that by buying an exspensive barrel, I could become more accurate. But little did I realize that without the proper sized paint and a decent gun and bolt, I would be shooting just slightly more accurate than before. This was when I was in like 6th grade, so give me a break.


I recently started to use higher priced paint (Draxxus Midnight) in my new Dragun TES, so it has made all the difference. This barrel kills at a distance of at least 100 feet. But you need the right paint, so check your paint before you buy it, because if it doesn't match the bore size, then you might as well just put the stock barrel back on.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel for those players who usually want more accuracy but don't feel like spending a ton of money. It still looks good after 4 years, just minor scratches from sand and the woods.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingsofKrunk Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 2piece Cp one piece Boomstick, Infinity Barrel, All american
Marker Setup: Angel Eclipse LED with Crossfire Nitro 68/4500, Powerlyte Speedline 16 (doesnt slow ball down) Halo B with Victory Board, and the Select Fire Board uncapped outshoots my Halo B!
Recommended
Paintballs:
.688 Bore so I use Blaze, Heat, Atmosphere, inexpensive paint because I shoot alot, and dont want to spend alot of money, and it is very accurate!
Strengths: Light Better than my Boomstick BY FAR!!! 40 on ebay! SO accurate!
Weaknesses: None, it is also the quietest barrel I have used yet!
Review: Very quiet barrel very accurate! Rather expensive, but I only paid 40 on ebay. Better than my Boomstick! Cleans very easily only 3-6 balls. I coated my barrel with rainx which according to Ottersccusoms.com makes the bore like teflon, and after using it, I really notice the difference. Balls are faster, straighter, and clean out very easily, even though my angel never breaks a ball.
Conclusion: The best barrel I ever used, and is about the same cost as the boomstick, but the boomstick is no where near as accurate. Get 14-16inch I personally like the 16 inch sizes, but any size will double your accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 20th, 2004 at 10:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lou28 Monday, September 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomy
SP All American
Marker Setup: ReTro Mag
Air America Viglante reg
Shock tec drop
Power Lyte 2 finger trigger
12v rev/x-board and a vortex impeller
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premium
diablo blaze
nelsons anarchy
Strengths: this barrel is very accurate with the right size paint. comparing it to a boomy the difference is amazing the speedline out performs the boomy in all aspects. i have good distance and excellent accuracy at any range.
Weaknesses: the only bad things is one the price (but i think that any barrel over $50 is to much) but i still spend the money. and two is like any good barrel it is hard to clean in the middle of a game unless you have a battle swab. and three is that it is not stainless steel.
Conclusion: i would recommend this barrel to anyone looking for an excellent light weight barrel. but personally i would spend the extra cash and get the stainless if i were you
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media