paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Mach 404 / Zap Mach 404 / Zap Mach 404

Zap Mach 404 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Mach 404

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Mach 404
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in clear and black.
Product Availability 
The Zap Mach 404 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
norman Wednesday, November 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years20 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used revy's and have a little experience with rics
Marker Setup: Basically a stock Piranha STS currently (with a few upgrades) but I have a friend with a Spyder Shutter with a maco trigger that uses this thing as well.
Strengths: 1) Cheaper then a revy
2) Faster then a revy
3) Really good battery life - I change the battery roughly every 5-6 times out at roughly 1200-1500 balls/outing, and I'm usually pulling the battery out early (it's that premature thing) ;-)
4) Did I forget to mention feed rate?

I'll give you the run down on the feed rate. My friend that has the maco trigger will only out shoot the 404 if he puts it on full-auto any where over 13bps but I've shoot his gun as fast as I could (and I tell you I RIPPED his gun, I was basically twitching my figure on the trigger at an insane rate) and I couldn't out shoot the 404 on semi.
Weaknesses: 1) It vibrates - however you will notice the sound but you won't feel any difference on a blow back marker. (it sort of blends it's self into the kick of the gun)
2) Someone will eventually make a vibrator comment (however the only guy that said that to me borrowed my marker in a game and loved the hopper so much he now has one for himself and I think he is going to buy one for his son)
3) It does have a problem loading when there is less then 10 paintballs in the hopper but that's why you carry pods anyways. =)
Conclusion: If you are a rec or entry level tourney player get this hopper!!! This hopper is by far the best bang for the buck!!!! Awesome for any blowback or blowback hybrid.

However if you are looking for the best go for a Halo B or an eVolution2 (but only if you are a serious tourney player or have a big bank account). But then again those type of players probably already knew that. lol

It's frustrating to see a player playing with a blow back and watching as he either chops or is shaking his gun trying to get the balls to come out. I'm giving this a ten for being the best bang for the buck and a must for any rec player (or at least get a revy, any electronic hopper will help out TONS).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

Spitlebug Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
9v Revvy, 12v Revvy, HALO TSA LCD Backman, Quantum (Not really similar, but still motorized).
Marker Setup: Zap ZXS 1000::E (Black Dragun Clone), 12v Revvy, 12" J&J Ceramic Barrel, Black Dragun High Compact Grip Frame, 14 ounce C02 cylinder.
JT Excellerator 5.0 w/ new style bolt, 14 ounce CO2 cylinder.
Strengths: Cheap (pricewise)
Durable
Holds a lot of paintballs
Agitated
Uses a single 9 volt battery
Weaknesses: Sensitivity
Ping ponging balls
Review: The Zap Mach 404 is an agitated hopper that works on sound activation. I found the sound activation to be a great improvement over the electronic eye system of the Viewloader Revolution. On a blowback marker the Mach 404 would agitate with every shot, however I could see the hopper not agitating when used with an Autococker or similarily quiet marker.

As far as the agitating mechanism of the Mach 404 goes, it's not as nice as a paddle driven loader, but it works none-the-less. The driving force behind the loader is a vibrating pillar in the center of the hopper that hovers over the feedneck. This vibrating pillar jiggles the balls around so they don't get a chance to bunch up near the feed neck. This is a really big improvement over a standard gravity feed hopper such as a Viewloader 200.

Speed (this is what you really want to know right?) - This loader is fast. It delivers a constant stream ranging anywhere from 9 bps and bursting up to 12 bps. I found this hopper to be faster and more reliable than a 9v Revvy, but a little (and I mean just a little) slower than a 12v Revvy.

Ping Ponging - When the loader gets to about 10-15 balls left in the hopper, it has a tendancy to ping pong the balls. It just slows the feed rate a bit, but because the Mach 404 holds more balls than a Revvy, this isn't that big of an issue.

This loader has an amazing battery life. It also holds quite a few more balls than a Revvy, which is good if you play woodsball and you don't want to bother with a pod harness.

Zap makes the Mach 404, I have had some great experiences with Zap paintball customer service and I will definately deal with them again. They do make some cheap products, but the Mach 404 is definately not one of them.

Conclusion: So what does all this mean? It means that the Zap Mach 404 is a great hopper for a great price. Although it is a little slower than a 12v Revvy it is certainly a contender. I would recommend this hopper to anyone who has a mechanical marker or is just starting out. I wish I could give it a 7.5 out of 10, but I guess I will have to settle with an 8 because it probably deserves much more credit than it gets.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 27th, 2003 at 9:10 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bunkur911 Tuesday, January 28th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revolution
Marker Setup: Tippmann w/ 14 in. Teardrop, Psycho ballistics drop, Reactive trigger, 48 ci pure energy nitrogen system. Smart Parts gel grips
Strengths: The one I had didn't exactly work. It broke down after just a couple weeks. The one time I shot it it kept up with my tippmann response trigger for a litlte bit. then it chopped. I really don't like this hopper. Its big and doesn't stay on. It only spins one you start shooting. They say you won't experience any jammed feeds anymore but that was all I got. The 12 v revolution is much better. Spend the extra money on that or a rikochet.
Weaknesses: Doesn't feed right, loud, not much to say about this. Its just the cheapest electronic hopper you can buy and it shows.
Conclusion: I don't recommend this to anyone. Luckily they let me return it and pay the extra for the 12 v. I wouldn't be very happy buying this thing ever. I'd much the revolution or rikochet. Because this way you can shoot as fast as you want without worrying about outshooting yourself. 3 out of 10 is good for this. I personally hate it. if 5 is average anything over 5 would be crazy.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 V revolution
Marker Setup: model 98, dye barrel, 3000 psi duck tank, drop forward, Zap's Mach 404 hopper
Strengths: I have a hand-me-down 12 V Revolution that doesn't work anymore (motor does not turn off). I needed a replacement. The zap hopper is a little cheaper than a revolution. From my experience with the hand-me-down rev., it tends to trap balls between the blades and the case, thus the servo motor is blocked and essentially shorted out. Also the rev. tends to stay on at times during a game. The 2 9V batteries don't last long with the revolution (batteries will last 1 day or 1/2 case). I have yet to replace the 1 battery on this mach 404. It never jams. It feeds at 11 bps, which is the same speed for a stock model 98.
Weaknesses: Since the size of the shaker contraption is bigger that rev. blades, you may not get as full a hopper as a rev. Also (like the rev.), you should leave some space for movement (don't fill all the way).

Another important issue: it is only fitted for zap guns. I need to put about 2 layers of electrical tape on the neck in order to fit into my model 98's elbow. This is a pain when putting the gun together, but it stays fine for the rest of the day.
Conclusion: I don't think I will ever have to replace this item. Nor do I think I will get/find unexpected glitches, unlike the revolution that occationally has problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Lurker27 Thursday, February 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
gravity loader
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit, Mach 404 hopper, 20oz CO2
Strengths: I dunno about this versus revvies and all that nonsense, but this loader, in ideal conditions, will feed 13bps. performance drops off around 20 balls, and over 200 balls. Keep the hopper happy, and it will treat you pretty well. I got it in a color to match my gun, a plus, in my book...survived a hopper hit. Good carrying capacity.
Weaknesses: Esprit at 13bps can outshoot it if I don't conciously stay vertical, but that's gravity, not the hopper. Super stable guns won't give enough backshock to activate the hopper. it can be loud, but no enough to give away your position...if they can hear it, you should *already* be lighting them up.
Conclusion: I'll give it an 8...an sure upgrade over gravity, and from everyhing I've read and seen, comparable to a revvy. If you want to make sure that your gun feeds on full auto, you have to pony up for an Evolution2 or a halo.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lilmafia3613 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg (way betta) 12voltw/ xboard(still betta) Mach 404(piece!!)
Marker Setup: Tippy 98 custom wit psycho ballistics double trigga, empire 4 piece barrel kit, custom paint job. Also Smart Parts Impulse with blade trigger, evo2, tapeworm, etc.
Strengths: none. It shakes.....makes kind of cool noise?
Weaknesses: Everything. Shells weak, loud, shakes to much, breaks easy.
Review: This hopper sux. I used this hopper for about 2 games and got shot in the hopper and the shell cracked on me. Then About 2 games later right after that one the battery door (the thing that holds the battery door in) Just broke off cuz of its cheap plastic piece of material. Plus all this thing is is a distraction. It really doesnt feed any balls into the neck. All it does it shakes and makes your gun less accurate. Also its very loud giving away your postion easy if hiding. I think i did worse in paintball with this hopper then a regular one. i give this hopper a 1. Dont waste ur money buy a 12volt or save for egg.
Conclusion: It sux. I give it a one because of the waste of money. This hopper breaks easy and doesnt even feed balls. It actually knocks them out of the neck. Dont get this vibrator unless you are a homo.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

<Sch> Raven Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy (12v and 9v), Reloader
Marker Setup: Raven Primal
14" Teardrop
32 Degrees Flames Drop
68/3000 ACI Bulldog N2
luck
Strengths: Quite Fast
Bullet Proof shell
Electonics are indestructible
Insanely Long Battery life
Good Price
Weaknesses: Battery compartment isn't big enough for come batteries
Review: Just so you know I borrowed this from my friend so that's why it's taken a bit of abuse

Quite Fast: It feeds at 11 bps so it works fast enough for the average trigger finger (alittle slow for my liking but fine for most blowbacks)

Bullet Proof shell: I dropped this thing on the cement in the parking lot and I think I did more damage to the pavement then to the hopper!

Electonics are indestructible: go ahead, leave this thing in the sun! It won't mess up like other hoppers! honestly, I've tried it... for 3 days of almost constant sunlight and it still feeds nicely

Insanely Long Battery life: I only heard about this when I returned it to hime but I thought he put in new batteries when he lent it to me, appearantly the ones in there were the ones he put in there when he bought it! and he's had that thing for atleast a year now!

Good Price: 35$!!! Find a better deal then that and I'll buy you a beer! (Canada)

Weight Very lightweight, suprised it doesn't float away :P

Size: Well it's kind of big, adds alot of profile to your marker but unless you're a tippman camo player then you don't really care, you can still keep you're marker tight, just get a shorter feed neck (or a HALO for you sponsored people :P)
Conclusion: This is a very nice hopper, if you don't have an insane trigger finger like me then get it! If you do have one, then EVO 2 or HALO is the way to go, no doubt if you shoot fast you need a force feeding hopper, the gravity drop thing doesn't really work when you get up to 15 bps

I give it a 9 because I did cap my fire rate :P and it dosn't chop (could be my Primal's eyes though) If you are looking for an entry level agitating hopper, get the ZAP 404, you'll never regret it! Infact after this I'm going to get one!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 18th, 2004 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goose_u69 Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 volt and 12 volt revy
and a cheap quantum loader
Marker Setup: wgp right feed autococker (vertical feed block site options)
30 mm red dot simmons scope
various barrels depending on speedball front back or tape runner or woodlans snipping
drop forward with macro line
phat 32 tank 47/3500 hpa or CO2 but must switch regs if i use the co2
2 regs one is a standard wgp for nitro otherwise i use an aci with seperator inside if i use co2 as liquid co2 will ruin a cocker
Strengths: Smokes quatum and 9 volt revy
12 volt revy is pretty close (see review)
Weaknesses: Can't think of any unless you are running a gun that rips 20 bps
Review: 12 volt revys may be slightly faster if you have an upgraded board and the upgraded paddles. Have had many ball breaks and jams though.

404 will work on any gun even an auto cocker that has been freeflowed with a silencer ( sniper setup) it actually works off of any jar or shock not just sound

Have never been able to outrun it and i can crank some rounds out with my cocker
10 years of playing i think i have the trigger pull to a science.

Some claim if you get down to 10 balls it doesn't feed well, i have run it dry.
Have had may shots to the hopper and it just made it agitate it didn't hurt it at all
The small vibrations do not bother me and they really are not to loud.
I play both speedball and woodlands snipper situations.
Tend to like sneaking behind lines and picking them off and disappearing before they know what hit them. Gost in the mist so to speak

Have had absolutely NO problems whatsoever.
Conclusion: if you have 90 to 100 go but an evo 2 or something comparable
don't waist your money on a 12 volt revy that requires upgrades to compare
mach 404 uses less batteries (has lasted a month per 9V and i go through a case per weekend) . never jams a ball, never busted a ball and best of all most stors have them for $35 or less giving a 10 because this is cheap and will work for 80%of the players out there unless like i said you crank 20bps and few guns will truely do that
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TSB101 Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i used other electric hoppers that r about same price and they don't even match this one!
Marker Setup: i have T.E.S. with everything that came with it the 12 inch barrel but i bought the zap mach 404 auto feed loader
Strengths: Faster then most products of same price.
Is cheap!
Weaknesses: Vibrates very wierd but really dosent make a diffrence kinda goes with the blow back.
Review: This gun is way faster then the products of same price and is very cheap.
Vibrates but matches the blow back.
This is a great hopper for a newb the best hopper for its price.
I give this a 9 because it fits people who have a tight budget and want a good electric hopper.
But for those who dont want to pay 150 dollars for the best hopper.
Conclusion: Buy this product if u have a gravity hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IMagine67 Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt Revvy
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Mach 404 hopper
Stiffi 12' barrel
Palmer Regulator (Male)
Strengths: Feeds faster than a Revvy
Cheap $25
Only one battery required

doesn't break paint
Weaknesses: loud
people make fun of you
cant keep up with Imagine's 13 bps
Review: It is a really simply designed hopper for players wanting to consistantly fire around ten balls a second. there is no reason that it should be rated as low as it is. I like this hopper, but it simply cannot keep up with the fastest that you can pull the trigger. If you are a rec ball player looking to come into your own, but still cant afford to pay for an egg II then you might want to consider the Mach 404 as an idea.
Conclusion: I really like this hopper! It is a good product for the money. However if you want to fire faster you might want a different hopper. If you are on a budget it is a good choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media