paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS-600E / Zap ZXS-600E / Zap ZXS-600E / Zap ZXS-600E

Zap ZXS-600E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS-600E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS-600E
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Zap Paintball ZXS 600 paintball marker showcases 6 different firing modes including a fully automatic setting. It includes a 10-in barrel with an operating pressure of 100 PSI. With only 3 moving parts it is low-maintenance and durable.
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS-600E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, January 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I've used.
Marker Setup: Absolutely stock, 12v revvy, 16 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel that is made by J&J, they have both 1 and 2 piece
HPA
12v Revvy for any mode but semi
Strengths: Disregard my last review, I fixed the leak problem. If you get this horrible leak all you have to do is get an adjustable wrench and on the for grip unscrew the first bolt, it will take with it the large metal pice that is textured and open up a cavity with a spring in it. You remove the spring and then hold you hand over the opening and turn the gun right side up and a pin will fall into your hand. There is a white o-ring that you have to lube (I use vaseline and it has worked like a charm, don't know if you can use it with HPA though, the pressure might cause it to combust and that is really bad. After you lube the o-ring replace the parts and you are good to go, but you have to remember to COMPLETELY lube the ENTIRE o-ring or the seal won't be creted and it will leak.

Fire modes including FULL AUTO ROCK AND ROLL!!
VERY gas efficient, when you unscrew the tank the pin is let off before the seal is broken and after the seal is broken the pressure is released through a small hole.
Operating pressure of 100psi, if you polish off the sharp bolt you can hardly break balls
Mouse click trigger, literally uses the same button type to fire
If you put a piece of duct tape (or a few layers) on the body that rests on the trigger, you can get it down so far that the safety won't engage and you can cire as fast as you can click the button.
Weaknesses: The Trigger is BAD in the first run markers, but the company has fixed it.
you have to be carefull when screwing in the screws, they strip the plastic really easilly if you cross-thread
Stock barrel is kinda short, but that is good for speed ball.
The fire mode switch is acessed only by taking the left grip panel off, I just drilled a hole just big enough for one of my Allen wrenches to switch it so problem solved.
Kinda loud, just lube the bolt with vaseline, it is so much quieter and smoother with less kick
Double feeds and/or chops balls and sprays the paint into the hopper, just take the ball detent off and put a small square of duct tape inside (not ove the wire, under it) and this solved the problem.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun and any problem is easily fixable. I'll give it a 9 because of all the things I had to do to get it to my liking, but that's just me. Buy this if you want an electro without the pricetag of other high ends.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:10 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

xzapballax Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tribal BBT, 02 Shocker, B2K, Impulse, BKO, Nasty Impulse, Angel LCD.
Marker Setup: It changes every day. But for this gun (planned): stubby 16oz. CO2 w/ on/off and anti-siphon, something to cover the valve/foregrip, some custom milling I'll do myself, a halo b (yes, to counteract the chopping experienced by using a hopper that lets the blowback push balls up the feed tube, it's a problem) and a nicer ball detent to counteract the multi-feed problems that would occur with a force-fed hopper. And if i can manage it, a lever-switch microswitch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, all upgrades are super-hack... you can drill in a trigger adjustment scew, you can make a ball detent out of duct tape that doesen't suck, you can custom mill the body with an exacto knife (hell yea).
Strengths: 50 dollars on Ebay for a true electropneumatic marker.
Weaknesses: Let's be honest, it's not exactly high quality.
Review: Alright, as I assume most people don't actually know how this gun works, I'll tell you. the thing on the bottom is actually a low pressue reg, similar to those on the front of autocockers, which controls the ram/solenoid pressure. The air going to the valve, which is the thing that looks like the foregrip vertically on the front, completely bypasses the reg on the bottomline. The solenoid in the grip frame controls the bolt movement, just like on an impulse/bushmaster. When the bolt comes forward, it hits an angled wedge-like piece of metal which pushes the valve pin (which is straight up), sending the air through the bolt to shoot the ball...crazy huh. Not a bad design, but if the build quality were better, it would be a very very nice marker. Oh, I almost forgot to mention about 1/2 of this marker is made from plastic, including the mainbody and the gripframe. Also, the solenoid works perfectly fine on CO2.
Conclusion: Excellent buy, true electro for under 75 dollars... who'd a thunk it? I personally love the lack in quality materials... makes personalization really easy, heh. If my team takes off, we're applying for zap sponsorship in hopes of them rebuilding the gun design with some dignity.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

slipin_slide Thursday, May 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray, avenger
Marker Setup: zap with a custom products barrel and a 24 oz. co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel plus a reg and exp. chamber if you want. otherwise, nothing else is available.
Strengths: low recoil
selectable modes
good balance
light
unique design
light trigger
pretty acurate with a new barrel
Weaknesses: loud
very inefficient (only 500 shots out of a 24 oz. co2 tank)
doesn't hold shot settings if it is turned off
stock regs are crappy and can't be changed
can't accept any drop forwards
regular hoppers won't fit without sanding the feed neck
directs blowback air onto your hand (very cold)
trigger switch is very shabby (stopped making the click sound after 2 weeks, recently stopped working altogher)
no aftermarket bolts available
zap's customer service sucks
Conclusion: please don't waste the money, i'm serious!! the mods are limited and the ones I listed need to be messed with in order to work. I had to return the gun twice, the first time the reg broke, the second, the switch wore out and i can't replace it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

batsoutofacave Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Stock, 20 oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Looks, Electric, Pressure Gauge.
Weaknesses: ROF button is under trigger frame. Barrel.
Review: Well, it is a very sleek gun and having the 5 firing modes is great. But you gotta drill a hole through the grip so you don't have to remove the grip every time you want to change you ROF. Weird how the gun works though! When I got the gun me and my friend put my CO2 tank on and tried to shoot but all the air leaked through the barrel. So I tweaked with it and now its ok. HAVE FUN!
Conclusion: Overall it's a nice gun and got it a a great deal only 50 bucks off ebay.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares
Marker Setup: I have a completely stock ZAP. 12v Revvy and a16oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a revvy, nitro if you can, and a J&J Barrel (They have all for the ZAP)
Strengths: Shoots VERY fast with a revvy, easy to maintain, stock barrel is pretty good, many different modes of fire including turbo. Has a really good regulator.
Weaknesses: The trigger BITES!! LOTS of slack, very long.
No way to mount a D/F
body is pretty soft
my bolt is sticking to the gas blade and is now leaking
No way to mount expansion chambers, regulators etc.
Breaks balls like a blender if you don't fix the ball detent.
Need to use a Revvy, if you don't it will chop like a blender.
Conclusion: Very good beginner electric, good on a budget. Mine didn't last long after I got my cocker, a total working period of 3 months, now inoperable. Mine was one of the first run, most of my previously mentioned problems have been fixed, the trigger and the detent.

Buy it if you are starting out or if you are on a budget, otherwise get something else.

I am giving it an 8 because it has served me faithfully for 3 months until my cocker got to me, I still love it but I wish it would have lasted longer.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E-Piranha
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel, if you can find one. Drill a hole in the grip to make it easier to change the firing speed. Nitro. Electronic feeder.
Strengths: Good gun. Straight out of the box, shoots fairly straight. Very easy to field strip. never got 11bps like it said until I put on the electronic hopper. Don't use cheap paint or you'll be chopping them up. Overall very satisfied with the speed. Hair trigger, so be careful.
Weaknesses: Better barrel is hard to find.
Need to do something with the air flux
Conclusion: Overall this marker, I was very satisfied with. If you want to go full auto then fork out the bucks for a better hopper. My friends that have used it like it very much and for what I paid for it, it was well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FerretSD Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash Purple/Blue - Far superior than Zap in quality, feel and function.
Angel IR3 - Ditto
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash w/Smart Parts Teardrop and CO2.
Angel IR3 with SmartParts MaxFlo and Total Freak.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Keep it stock and save your money for a higher-end marker. Don't put any money into the Zap.
Strengths: Excellent accuracy, right out of the box. Very good rate-of-fire. Simple design is easy to break down and reassemble on a bench. It has, basically, a two-stage safety: a legacy safety button and an "On/Off" button. The reason I point this out is because the Spyder Flash uses the ON/Off switch as the safety.
Weaknesses: The main reason I feel that this is a poor marker is reliability. This marker shot great when it was initially taken from the box and set up. However, during our first day on the field with it, it suffered leaks, inconsistency, sputtered shooting, double-feeds and chopped balls. I had to break it down and rebuild it to get it working again. It worked fine again, but after about 600 rounds it began to suffer the same failures. I don't think its defective, I think its a poor design. Just my opinion.
Also, the gun feels "cheap" when held. The trigger has an enormous amount of sideways and rearward play. They advertize/emphasize its looks, but I think it looks unrefined.
Conclusion: My opinion is simply that the Spyder Flash is in the same price range and is a much better marker in design, feel, components, quality and reliability. For the same money, I'd recommend the Flash.
Even better, save your upgrade money, skip this price range and buy a Smart Parts Impulse. You get a great marker fitted with a Progressive barrel.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tigerz61 Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Viewloader Revolution, 12 inch JJ barrel, 20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,faster hopper,and some ductape to adjust trigger,polish the bolt and lubricate it
Strengths: Has a lot of modes, cheap fixes, low maintenance,
Weaknesses: It chops alot unless bolt is jellied up and stock barrel suks and trigger suks
Review: Good gun to start off. But if you are gonna upgrade I say just save up your money and get a better gun. Not a bad gun but it would be better if there were more upgrades for it . upgrades very cheap and it is low maintenance so if you are new you dont have to worry about fixing it since it only has 3 removable parts.
Conclusion: Good cheap gun for starters
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 4:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

niko911 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, nuthing quite like this,
Marker Setup: Stock, no upgrades for it so only can use stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun isnt upgradeable.No upgrades
Strengths: Umm.......Strengths....It was only 50bucks
Weaknesses: Well trigger, no upgrades, everyting
Review: Well when i first got it i was like woohooo its pretty coo for 50bucks. Then i fired ike 20 balls out it, used it paintballing chopped once outa every 100 rounds. USed it 2 rounds at the local SCP paintball field the gun just stopped shooting, a ball broke got stuck on the bolt now my gun has a terrible leak
Conclusion: Well, if i where you i woudlnt get this gun, even if oyu just go in your back yard and shoot for fun get someting else. Very very cheaply made the whole gun is bascilly plastic, very slow 10bps if youcan pull this trigger that fast, the trigger is pretty horrible.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

urdeadfool Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder,tippy
Marker Setup: gun,20 ounce co2,gravity feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Great accuracy and doesnt chop balls
Weaknesses: The barrel on it kindof bad
Review: This overall done great and the accuracy is wonderfull.i used it at a turnament and it did very well i think.and i may buy more than 1 and i love the turbo on it.so if i was you id get more than 1 due to the fact it great.
Conclusion: Id get it due to being cheap price and because i have no money lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media