paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber / Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber / Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber / Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber

Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber

Paintball Expansion Chambers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $16

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This expansion chamber is setting new standards. It has a large liquid cell at the bottom and then 8 micro cells on the top. We ask you to compare it to any other chamber on the market. This grip is the first grip that was designed with both CO2 and N2 users in mind. The X-Core will give more than enough expansion cell area to break up liquid CO2 while still keeping a straight through, low resistance air flow for Nitrogen. An additional feature that I love is that the port hole is on the bottom. Most x-chambers have it on the side and you have to get the hole lined up. With the hole in the bottom, you just get a 90 degree connect elbow (same as with a gas-thru foregrip). The best thing about the x-core is its price. It will do a better job than any other chamber on the market but the price is much lower.
Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 Stage Expansion Chamber is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
TremorPB Tuesday, January 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Expansion chamber
Marker Setup: •Tippmann 98 Custom
•Lapco Bigshot Alluminum 12 inch
•Pyscho Ballistics Drop Forward
•Pyscho Ballistics 8 Stage X - Core
•Double Trigger
•12 vt. Revvy w/ Xboard
Strengths: It does its job of keeping CO2 out of the bolt.
Cheap - 19 bucks
Slightly improves air efficiency
Looks cool
The hole is positioned on the bottom which makes connections easy
Durrable (i tighted mine as tight as I could in my vise and it didn't break)
Weaknesses: Nothing is bad about this product
It does its job. I can hardly imagine this expansion chamber breaking anyway.
Conclusion: This is a great expansion chamber. It does its job well, I guess thats all that counts. I have yet to run into any problems. In fact, I have yet to run into any problems with Pyshco Ballistics (now called Dead On).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cannondale Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ok, I'm listing in order with best to worst I have a Mag and they are the most sensitive to co2 freeze up so This is a FACT 1. Aci Sub Zero 4 stage 2- Benchmark 4 stage 3- 32 degrees 4 stage 5-Psycho Ballistics 8 stage micro.
Marker Setup: I have a 2000 Shocker vertical reg power feed ect. Back up is Micromag Aci sub zero 4 stage x chamber, level 10 bolt ect.
Strengths: I have used all the above good price but, really Lacks performace.
Weaknesses: well, I read the reviews and thought it would be a great x-chamber. most of the reviewers used spyders and clones they have valves to handle co2 so their reviews will be lots better than mine. Paintball players know how sensitive Mags are to C02 mine would freeze up after about a string of 10-15 shots I could not believe it so I took the Psycho x chamber apart to see if it was malfunctioning I took the c-clip off and pulled the inner body out and Laughted!! this x-chamber is nothing more than 2/3 gas thru grip with about a third of it bored out to accept a ceramic piece about 1" long NO o-rings with 8 cuts horizontally for expansion 1/8 " deep 1/8" wide. Vertical cuts (so the gas can get from one chamber to the other 1/16" deep. I hope this makes sense? It was really sad. Micro expansion chambers? Give me a break!! you can run HPA thru this too so you know the air flow is not restricted. Well it's the worst x-chamber I have ever used. I would not sell it to ay of my friends as a x-chamber but, as a gas thru grip that is slightly obstructed. It froze up on me in 80 + degree weather.
Conclusion: I would not Purchase this if you are serious about paintball and play in cold weather. Laugh if you want because all the other reviews say it's great but my mag knows a good expansion chamber and Aci is the best i've used so far. no freeze ups at all. under heavy fire your gun will freeze up if he temp is below 55
I promise you that much. Save 20 more dollars and invest in a ACi Sub zero. I have used several diff x-chambers so I know how to compare.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sentinel623 Tuesday, October 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Team X-Chamber (This product is MUCH better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Silver
PB Drop Forward
PB X-Chamber
PB Power Tube & Bolt
Double Trigger
Full Boar Shadow
Maddmann Spring Kit
14" Lapco Bigshot
Ricochet AK Hopper
Strengths: This product is absolutely excellent. It is extremely cheap and gets the job done extremely well. It is durable and looks good on your gun. Added consistency and efficiency to my TIppy.
Weaknesses: Some people complain about the simplicity of the design, but sometimes it is the simplest design that ends up working the best.
Conclusion: All in all, this product is wonderful. If you are looking for a great cost effective way of getting better consistency and reducing the dreadful blue flame, then this it the best path. It works very well on my 98 and I would not go with another expansion chamber.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dark bob Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock TL+ chamber (piece of crap), tippmann 4 stage
Marker Setup: TL+
16" 32* Carbon Fiber *OR* 12" SP Progressive
PB 8-stage chamber
PB Pro-style dropforward
lightened/shortened trigger
Strengths: this is great! just the other day i was out with my friend who has the 4-stage on a tippy, and with my gun, you couldn't even see the cloud of gas, but with his, he was spitting ice like crazy! looks really sweet too. a lot better than te stock one. PRICE!! $16 from countypaintball! you can take the micro cells out of the top if you just want a gas-thru.
Weaknesses: it gets really cold if you play in cool weather, and your hands freeze. at first it was shooting a bunch of ice, but i guess it was just broken in or something.
Conclusion: great product! i would def. reccommend this chamber to anyone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

todzilla85 Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ---tippy 98c---
psycho ballistics universal df
psycho ballistics 8 stage expansion chamber
14" all american barrel
smart parts grips
spee t-cocker
Strengths: looks cool
decent for an exp chamber
Weaknesses: bad in cold weather
Review: i bought this before i knew about regulators and such. its pretty good for an expansion chamber, very rarly see co2 come out of the barrel, but when you use it in cold weather it doesnt work that well, but thats what u expect from an expansion chamber. ive heard that some people have problems with it freezing up in cold weather, i have not yet experienced that yet, but i dont really paly that often in the winter. if your new to the sport and want something to help co2 but cant afford a regulator, get this. it does help in warm weather, i have noticed that it does help co2 efficiancy
Conclusion: its good for an expansion chamber.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilman Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, first x-chamber
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha G3 VF BL, 32 Degrees Quiet Riot 12" barrel, flush cocking system, venturi bolt, shocktech short drop.
Strengths: Made well, looks good, gives you a good forward grip, doesn't pass liquid as far as I can tell even at rapid fire, doesn't get cold I wear gloves so it's not a big deal to me, core of chamber cn be removed so that it can be used as a gas through grip, inexpensive $16 at Countypaintball.
Weaknesses: On the top of the X-chamber ther is a retaining clip that holds the core in. Since getting this X-chamber this retaining ring has broken twice. This allowed the core to to out of the chamber slightly. If I had removed the filter from my vertical ASA as many have recomended, the pieces of retaining ring would have gone into my marker causing serious damage. I sent it to the manufacturer and all they did was replace the clip.
Conclusion: A good grip, a decent X-chamber, and inexpensive. Well worth the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaltj Tuesday, May 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c, vertical adapter, X-core, J&J ceramic 14", full boar rc/rva, custom polised internals, custiom paintjob
Strengths: This product keeps my velocity consistent, and i never shoot snow. Between shots at the crono last sunday, my fps varied by about +/- 2.5 between 5 shots, and it was a warm, sunny day (given to inconsistent velocity). Two weeks before i played in about 50 degree weather, and never shot snow. A really solid product. Oh, and to those who say that 8 little chambers are worse than 4 big ones, your logic is exactly backwards (take some intro chemistry). I thus far have not had the problem of the x-core getting cold during rapid fire, which others sometimes report. I actually find the grip quite comfy.
Weaknesses: velocity during the day, as the tank warms up, has a tendency to spike dramatically, especially on cold mornings with warm afternoons: i cronoed in in the morning at about 265, and when we broke for lunch at 1:30, i recronoed and had jumped to 325 (ouch). so watch yourself from game to game.
Conclusion: Aside from the velocity spike, this is a really solid product. i haven't used any other x chambers, so i can't really make a cross-product comparison, but i will say that this one is really solid. and especially for the price, it can't be beat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebeljay Tuesday, April 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
...
Marker Setup: Black Rebel... PB 8-stage x-chamber, CP 12" Barrel
Strengths: THE PRICE! This X-Chamber is only $15. AND it does a way better job then all the others. I've never had any problems with it, it looks great, wonderful handle, and bottem valve hole so you don't have to line it up with your bottem line. I've gotten ALOT more shots out of 9-12 oz tanks. And a lot more consistency.
Weaknesses: It gets real cold after a while. The bottem connector leaked for a while. But after putting lock tite on it, and let it dry for so long, I had no problems.
Conclusion: WONDERFUL product, GREAT price, GOOD looks... this is the ideal x-chamber.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32* 6 Stage, ACI 6 Stage, and Benchmark 6 stage
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Rocket Cocking, PB Double Finger Trigger, Dye Stickies, 14 in" Dye Xcel, Modded Vert Adapter, 8 Stage X-Core Expansion Chamber, Low Pressure Chamber, 12 Volt Revolution Hopper, PB Universal Drop Forward, Scope, 20 oz Co2 Tank
Strengths: In my opinion, this is so good, it cant get any better, unless they made a 10 stage or something. Its the best expansion chamber ive ever used, and it makes for great consistancy. All you need to install on tippmanns (what i have) is a vert. adapter, on most other guns, you jsut screw it in and attach a hose...it doesnt have metal stages like other x chambers...for a picture go to www.countypaintball.com, they have a pic of it and a cut away view to see the insides...besides the price to to get to let go...half the price of most 6 stages
Weaknesses: nothing bad at all....hardly even gets cold likke otther ones
Conclusion: Great product..and its only $15...get it now...or ...jsut get it! fast
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: TL+, Smart Parts Boss Progressive barrel, Psycho Ballistics X-core expansion chamber, 12v revvy, Crossfire 47ci nitro tank, Mako E-Storm electronic trigger, and psycho ballistics drop forward (coming soon)
Strengths: I can fire very very fast (notice the E-Storm up there...ya thats wat i thought...gotta love that thing) and it hasn't frozen up at all. when i play against my friend, who has a stock tippmann (except Lapco Bigshot barrel) and i can see his gun blow liquid co2, cuz he fires fast or its j/ too cold. this is a great x-chamber. and the price is way lower than what the part is actually worth! it has done me good: in really cold weather & hot fire fights. its one of the best! and its universal so you dont have to worry about getting the wrong part for the wrong gun! easy to put on also great performance, great price, great product!
Weaknesses: can't think of anything...people say it gets cold when u shoot really fast...which is true...but thats so minor and its no big deal at all....if anyone gave it a lower ranking j/ because it gets cold...is dumb....yes dumb
Conclusion: great product...i played w/ my cuz in WV and it gets colder up there than in VA. I went up there and played w/ it when i still had my stock kingman mini x-chamber and it froze up my gun every 5 seconds! now w/ this i haven't had the gun freeze yet...o and i mite add that anyone that can't decide btween a tippmann and a spyder...diffentately go w/ the spyder cuz you can customize it so much easier!!! get a spyder.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media