paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PGI Edge PG1 Pro / PGI Edge PG1 Pro / PGI Edge PG1 Pro / PGI Edge PG1 Pro

PGI Edge PG1 Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PGI

Buy PGI Edge PG1 Pro

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PGI Edge PG1 Pro
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The PGI Edge PG1 Pro is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, March 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider special edition
Marker Setup: Original Setup, regular hopper, w/ 20 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better hopper, better ball detent (if available)
Strengths: I've had the gun for 5 years now from when it first came out. The gun is made of hard steel so it is very hard to break. It's very reliable, I've had no major problems with it. Just make sure you keep everything clean and don't strip any threads. The gun fine tuned has good accuracy.
Weaknesses: The bad about this product is that the company that sell the gun has gone out of business so product help from them is out of the question. Also parts are very hard to find for this gun. The gun also does use a lot of CO2 so find some one who fills for cheap.
Conclusion: The gun kept well maintained will last along time its lasted me 5yrs and is still going strong. Becareful of the ball detent because it may get caught in the venturi bolt make sure the ball detent is moved back so that doesn't happen. Also DO NOT strip any threads or you will be forced into buying a new gun because replacement parts are very hard to find.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Piranha-Worm Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pgp 2 is more accurate but slower to shoot.
spyder shutter with many upgrades (doesn't compare spyder like 10 times as good as this gun)
Brass Eagle Avenger(doesn't compare Avenger is a little better)
piranha vf blf (doesn't compare Piranhas are better but odviously all of the guns I have named so far are at least twice as expensive so you could by two pg1 pro's, get remotes, and beat everyone else)
piranha sts G3( doesnt compare almost as good as the shutter but not quite :(
tippman custom 98 (just about as good, because of the trigger pull on them but you can change that for the tippmann.
brass eagle silver eagle pg1 pro is much better
tippmann pro carbine (probably the worst gun I have ever tried, way worse than the pg1 pro.
Marker Setup: Piranha sts g3 (black)
Scott extreme stalker mask (olive green)
pump pgp2 backup gun (black)
an NRG gun which is really sweet (green)
22 stage thermal expansion chamber (black)
16 oz. co2 tank (black)
vl 200 round hopper (black)
a wall to shoot at (grey)
and hopefully sonn a new barrel I don't know what kind yet though
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
if possible a better venturi bolt because the one in the gun may break easy.
Strengths: It has okay shot grouping,and it is cheap.
Weaknesses: some websites might cheat you, and say it's the tornado, and sell it to you for more money, that happened to one of my friends.
horrible trigger pull.
way too heavy, if you are going to want to run around and rush people don't get this gun, it should only be used by snipers.
Conclusion: this is an ok gun for its price, but make sure that if you want to get a tornado that it's not this gun, because it happens alot and they look the same.(one way to tell is on the bottom part of the body, kinda close to the trigger it will say pg1 por instead of saying TORNADO.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tim520 Monday, March 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000
Spyder TL Plus
Brass Eagle Raptor Extreme
Marker Setup: Edge PGI Pro
9 & 20 Oz. Co2 tanks
Dye Stickey Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel would be nice cause the stock barrel sucks, just like every other stock barrel
Strengths: Powerfull. Pretty Acurate (for all stock equiptment)
Sweet old School Getto Looks
Comfortable foam gripon the xchamber
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loud
Uncomfortable stock grip ( some cheap plastic stuff )
Eats up C02 like no other gun i've seen ( a 9 oz lasted me a meer 250 shots)
Conclusion: Its a good gun for $50.
Very heavy (It weighs about 9 lbs with a filled 20 oz co2 on it)
Well Worth the chump change you can get it for
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000, Brass Eagle Avenger, Brass Eagle Talon
Marker Setup: Trying to get one.
Will add Armson 16" barrel, Psycho Ballistics X-Core 8 stage X-Chamber, Laser Sight, and maybe a Drop Forward and a Stock or a Butt Plate for 20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, VM-68 barrels fit this gun, not Spyder. Don't get the Stealth, just the regular. It costs $50. Choose VM-68 or Tornado barrel threads, they are both the same thing, VM-68 will easier to find if you are looking for it somewhere else.
Strengths: Really cheap, $45
Limited upgrades (saves you money)
accurate for stock barrel
very, very durable
doesn't need expensive paint to work well, Brass Eagle does fine.
Weaknesses: Limited upgrades (limits te performance of the gun)
sort of heavy, not really, you don't notice it when you are playing.
No sight rail.
That's about it
Conclusion: I gave it a 9 for the fact that you can't really upgrade it and thare is no place for a sight rail. This is better than any Spyder Compact and many others that costs 3 times as much. If you are poor like me, get this gun. If you are rich, get a couple and put drop forwards on them and new X-Chambers so you can hold each with one hand.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

petefol Sunday, July 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spider
Marker Setup: minimag
max-flow 68/4500
14" j&j ceramic
palmer stabilizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
i think this marker takes spider internals. if so i would get a better bolt and a new grip. the stock barrel isnt too bad but i would upgrade that too.
Strengths: its only 40$ comes with everything you need to play except c02
Weaknesses: the one i ordered from acepaintball didnt come with a manual, and the company that made the gun went out of business so you can't get any support. the ASA wouldn't work with my c02 tank so when i finally got mine working 2-4 balls would sometimes shoot out at once. it also has the same barrel threads as the VM-68, so your barrel upgrades are extremely limited if you can even find barrels. it is also really heavy.
Conclusion: there's really no reason to get this gun, for just a bit more money theres a few guns in the 70-90$ range that are much better. i really cant think of any reason to buy this, maybe as a back up or if you want to learn how paintball guns work.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mugsey Friday, August 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon- VERY BAD GUN!!!
Brass Eagle Tigershark- Pretty good for a pump
Brass Eagle Avenger- good gun
Black Dragun- awesome but it craps out alot
Marker Setup: standard
Recommended
Upgrades:
uhh... if you could find a new barrel thatd be good i think the all-american barrels can thread onto it and maybe an electric hopper but thats about it
Strengths: -can shoot pretty far and VERY accurate
-can shoot kinda fast
-looks really cool (its old school which is cool to)
-very distinct sound which is cool cuz wen the people hear it they know whos coming after them and they freak out! it worked for be evry time i played
-dirt cheap and by that i mean price not quality
Weaknesses: -breaks alot of balls
-heavy
-kinda a gas hog
-pretty big with a 9oz tank on it but u can get like a 12oz which are shorter so i guess thats not that bad
-doesnt come with an instruction manual and you hafta assemble a few things but thats only bad if your so mechanically impaired that you bot no an industrial nut from a testicle
Conclusion: good gun! buy it!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chi-town_Bandit Wednesday, June 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, pump markers, various rental markers
Marker Setup: stock Tornado/PG1-Pro
Strengths: This is a well made marker. Although this model is no longer supported by the manufacturer, support groups (like the one listed above) exist which will help orient new owners quickly. Solid construction. I've had no problems with ball breaks, and the velocity has remained surprisingly consistent even with playing throughout the day. When the marker fires, it is loud. Again, no problem if you play the right way and don't stand still with no cover or concealment, like a moron. Why am I putting this in the good category? I scared the living hell out of a pair of players who walked past my position. The sound of my Pro roaring behind them made them both practically jump out of their skins.
Weaknesses: When you receive the marker, it comes with no instructions. No problem, the gun setup is straightforward, and if you have problems there are groups (see above) that will help you iron out the details. As with all new markers, make sure that you clean and lube the interior of your gun before use. The marker came with some flash (excess metal) on the trigger guard and on the inside of the ball feed, below the brass coupling. I used a fine round file to smooth these out, and extra fine sandpaper to make it even smoother. Don't know if it would have made a difference in ball breaks, I did it as a preventative measure.
Conclusion: I'm giving this product a 9, because I feel that the cost of the gun more than justifies the rather insignificant blemishes on an otherwise great product. Don't bother with reviews saying that the gun doesn't look "cool", or is too heavy. This is a perfect gun for casual players, of all skill levels. Easily competes with rental markers, which is what you will face 99.99999%% of the time on the field as a casual player, unless you're looking for tournament action or live on the field. In which case, spend away the trust fund. But for a poor student such as myself, this gun is the best buy out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
In order from best to worst
+spyder shutter edition (with many upgrades and is way better than this gun)
+piranha sts g3 (way better than the pg1 pro)
+tippmann model 98 w/ flatline barrel
+piranha blf g2
+pt extreme
+sheridan pgp 2
+brass eagle avenger
+brass eagle silver eagle
+tippmann pro carbine
+NRG paintball gun
+edge pg1 pro
Marker Setup: Pirahna sts g3 (Black)
nrg paintball gun (green)
sheridan pgp 2 (black)
16 oz. co2 tank (black)
core 22 stage thermal expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you could get upgrades here is what my loooong list would be
a new barrel (wont help)
a new gun
nitrogen (won't help much considering it won't work on this gun)
a new venturi bolt (if you have this gun u may need one)
mabey if possible shave off some of that extra metal and make it less than 10 pounds so u can acctually rush.
a double trigger frame (good luck finding one)
more skill like doug he has skill
Strengths: it can be handy to accually have a gun when your on the field instead of not.
it's not all that bad, and it's only $50
Weaknesses: bad trigger pull
stock barrel has no accuracy
heavy
doesn't look that cool
hard to feild strip
too big to manoover
not a great choice for a gun if you're a rusher.
Conclusion: this gun is okay not good or bad, and it is onlty $50 so if you are not a hard rusher like doug don't get one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impulsive1 Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder TL+, Bob Long Millenium, Piranha VTL
Marker Setup: BL Milly with ELCD 3.1, LP mods, Dye Boomstick / Lapco Autospirit, Smart Parts MaxFlo Reg, 12V Turbo Rev...
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (If you can find one for a VM68)
Strengths: It's cheap, it makes a good spare parts gun for a Spyder Classic, it makes a good "blank" if you decide to try milling your own marker. Maybe worth $1 as aluminum scrap...
Weaknesses: Wow! Where do I start? This gun has NEVER worked. It was a lemon right out of the box. I ended up using the striker in my Milly for a while. I guess I can part it out... I gave $39 for it originally, the striker alone runs $25, maybe a couple of the O-rings are useable ($1), the valve / valve pin can be cut down ($20) and used as a spare...
Conclusion: PLEASE don't buy this gun! Don't reward a company for producing absolute CRAP. This gun is worth more if you strip it for parts and throw the body / grip away.

Save yourself trouble later, buy a Piranha. ($80)
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FooTemps Sunday, January 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock PG1 Pro with 12oz chrome moly co2 mounted vertical.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Seems like no upgrades availbe.
Strengths: It's tough.
It's cheap.
It fires ok.
It can knock anyone unconcience.
Weaknesses: It's loud
It's hella heavy. It is all steel contruction so that is what I expected.
The trigger is kinda hard.
Conclusion: Well, this isn't the best paintball gun out there. In fact, it kinda sucks. This is my first paintball gun and I've fired a lot of other. I'm just going to say that is good for preparing people for better guns like automags or autocockers. After playing with this gun, everything seems light and fast.

I gave it a 7 just for the sake of it being so cheap and tough.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media