paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Defiant / Bob Long Defiant / Bob Long Defiant / Bob Long Defiant

Bob Long Defiant Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Defiant

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Defiant
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Inline regulator, Quick release bolt, Different size barrells, Custom milling, Double trigger, Aluminum grip, Aluminum body, Vertical feed, Special splash anodize, Short and long barrel attchments, 3 shot, 6 shot, and full auto, 13 balls a second, and Low-pressure operation (225-250 psi)
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Defiant is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
VRJustin Thursday, June 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot Shockers, Angels, Timmy's and tons of semi's
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant 2k Lava Anodize (Rare)
Pretty much stock
12V Revy, Custom High Rise (Buying these is so pointless, PVC + 20mins = highrise)
68CI ACI Gen2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on how much money you have!
Freak if you can afford it, I will have one soon.
Revy and Adjustable Air Tanks are necessity
You can do lots more such as Sonic RED Valves, new regs etc. but the gun already runs of 225-250 psi, so It doesn't need to be any more low pressure
HIGH RISE - Very important, stacks up to 11 balls not 6.
Strengths: Pretty, if they came with cool milling would be beautiful.
SO FAST! Honestly, once the trigger is set up, holy crap!
I shot it faster than an Angel, then again I wasn't used to the angel's trigger.
Accurate,even with stock barrel, inserts for this barrel available.
Comfy, with the right drop forward it is really tight.
Comes with Delrin Bolt - Awesome bolt
Weaknesses: It is TALL, it looks tall and it is. When you play with it you don't notice till your hopper gets hit. Need to make it even taller with a highrise so you don't outshoot hopper.
The stock wire harness is crap crap crap.
Needs an adjustable tank (older Defiant's bushys)
Don't put regular PB gun oil in it, ONLY LITIUM GREASE (Shocker Lube)
Found that out after it was done.
First Electro for me, and it seems complicated, but I'm getting it figured out.
Conclusion: I have seen many Defiants in my area work very well and that is why I bought mine. I had mine a short time and many things started going wrong with it. But I stuck with it, because everyone said they were good guns. Eventually, I sent me gun down to Arizona to get it fixed up and it should be back this week. They put a list of new stuff in my Defiant for free, very good Customer service. ONly bad thing is since I live in Canada, exchange and shipping kill me. I am confident when I get my gun back it will be rocking jus tlike the day I bought it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SethStoddart Friday, August 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive shot IR3's , Timmys, dark lcd's ... and the list goes on and really , i think my defiant is THE best working of them all, only gun i like more would have to be an impulse (and not one of thoes ugly stock ones, a Freak Factory)
Marker Setup: My big tall purpe defiant , a 68 mac wih a pure energy adjustable (verry nice reg ... its no maxflo but it does the job) and a Ricochet Ak (don't get the ones with the screen waste of $) oh and the hardware store special 1" pipe fitting high rise for the cheap person in all of us :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
HIGH RISE HIGH RISE HIGH RISE with a ricochet , u need it , theses things are QUICK! oh , and all the sonic stuff !
Strengths: The speed!! The pressure! The trigger ( microswitch not push button!) light , lighter than an IR3 which is pritty friggin light! its tight too, u can shove ur tank under the gun soo far because the back of the gun is short, it doesn't try to poke u in the face :) the pressure is sooo low out of the box too , 225 , cant beat that ( impulse but shhh!) accurate too, i love it ! for a electric squirt gun its got quite the tight shot pattern. the trigger tho, mmm mmmm , play with it a bit, crank it down soo close that u can blow on it to make it shoot, i did it to mine the adjustable trigger is a great feature on these guns. the delrin bolt is beautiful working a nice bolt for a out of the box bolt.
Weaknesses: not much but there are definately a few things that could be improved apon.
-The driver pressure adjuster ... IRRITATING TO ADJUST , its got these two little holes ... the weirdest way to adjust something ive ever seen ... would it have killed them to use a standard allen key? ( needle nose pliers work)
-same idea with the stock reg... adjusting it with a quarter is just plain weird lol... once more an allen key would have helped :)
-its tall and it only gets taller once u high rise it... but really when was the last time u were shot in the gun, although that hopper is waayyy up there in the air... just be carefull about hangin ur hopper out (get a ricochet)
Conclusion: this is a WONDERFUL product, nice workin right outta the box. cant be beat for the price, definately a gun worth looking into ( i picked mine up for 500 canadian ... definately a good price)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

laxwrestler27 Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used Timmy's, I own a shop and I have used Angels, E-mags, E-cockers, if there is a high end electro i've used it!
Marker Setup: Bob-Long Defiant with PDS 25bps board, AKALMP Sidewinder, New Solenoid, and a 14" Boomstick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
AKALMP Sidewinder, PDS, and a boomstick.
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, Price
Weaknesses: Solenoid is weak on high pressures
Review: The defiant is a nice milled, fast, accurate, and cheap electronic gun. It is great for begginers. There is a problem that the solenoid is weak on high pressures. I believe this is better then a "poor man's angel" it is an angel. The great thing is it is cheap used. I reccomend though instead of spending 125 dollars at ICD paintball for an eye. Spend the extra 50 dollars at Dingo Paint ball for 175 buy the dv8 eye with lcd.
Conclusion: If you have the money (not much), find one used and instead of buying a tippmann, you can get a nice one for 300.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 22nd, 2001
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Probably the most remarkable feature of this gun is the price vs performance ratio. Sure, there are less expensive (and more expensive) electro guns out there but the questions that must be asked are "what am I getting for my money and how does it shoot?" The Defiant is incredibly fast, so fast that it will out run a 12 volt revy, when the trigger is set to the "tap on me and I will shoot" position. The stock J&J barrel is the barrel I used in the Mardi Gras Open, because it was the only barrel that would match up with the crappy DIAB-- paint! It performed very well and I had numerous eliminations with this barrel. The side-to-side play in the trigger that everyone remarks about is absolutely no worse than a stock Angel or Shocker. In fact, if the trigger is adjusted very light simply drumming the SIDE of the trigger will produce a string of balls that will scare YO MAMA! This "gun is extremely light and easy to snap shoot. Also, the width of the gun is very narrow, thus presenting a very small target to the opposition. The 'gun uses Autococker barrel threading, so if you own a Cocker you will not have to purchase any additional barrels.Annodizing is first-rate and I here that Bob Long and company are very easy to work with should you ever have a problem. I got mine and I think that you cannot find a better deal anywhere! The marker is very accurate and will put a ball anywhere you want it, providing you have a good paint/barrel match.
Weaknesses: 1. Not much choice on the grips due to the finger grooves in the trigger frame.
2. "Coolness" factor. Everyone seemingly needs an Angel to be cool. Pocket the 600-800 bucks and send the punks to the dead box!
3. Needs an adjustable tank or another reg when you are using a pre-set tank. Can be tricky adjusting the 3 regulators to work in concert.
4. Everyone complains about the battery. Just buy a T-handle allen wrench and you can have the battery changed in about 3 minutes. The wires attaching the battery to the 'gun are no more fragile that those commonly found in a transistor radio.
4. Little or no upgrades available for all of you add-on junkies.
5. Indian Creek says don't oil it or you will mess up your solenoid...so don't put any oil in it, ever! Use clear Lithium grease only!
Conclusion: If you are looking to enter the electro world, this is the marker for you. It shoots insanely fast, is reliable, uses Cocker barrels, looks good and is almost as accurate as a Cocker unless you shoot 13 balls per second. With minor modifications/add-ons, you can go blast those 3-foot tall kids with their Warped Sports Dark Angels! Once you understand the 'gun, it is extremely simple and easy to maintain. Personally, I like the replaceable battery because NiCads develop a memory over time and will not hold a full charge. NiMH batteries do not have this problem, but are not readily available for most 'guns. On a Defiant you pop out the old battery and put in a new one, which should be good for thousands of shots.I have to give it a 9-out-of-10 simply because I do not think that there are any markers that are perfect, all of them have certain quirks. Compared to other electro markers, I just do not think that you can beat it for the money!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bdcoak Friday, February 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha sts g3
autococker
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant-Cp Barrel, cap dropfoward and asa, genx reg, 45/4500 pe nitro, 14 all american with freak front.
Piranha sts- smart parts progressive barrel, tubo valve, venturi bolt, expansion chamber, ram air.
Strengths: Very accurate
fast, fast, fast
short trigger pull
Weaknesses: little side to side slop on the trigger
stock hpr sucks
when full auto, sometimes misfire if rate of fire is too high. (buy a chaos chip)
Conclusion: With a few minor upgrades, which all guns need, this becomes a great gun. Performs just as well as most angels, and half the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

comando345 Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old School Shocker that I owned, many electros I have tested
Marker Setup: Old Defiant with a Palmer Stabilizer, Micro Rock by Zenitram, Zenitram Valve and a J&J Edge kit. My Nitro Tank is an old Apocalypse.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well it had the stabilizer since I got it, but I assume upgrading the reg would be most important. I haven't had any trouble with chopping, but anti chop bolts are available.
Strengths: Fast, fairly light, cheap, easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Poor wiring harness, gas hog, some maintenance is irritating.
Review: Over all it is a pretty good gun, especially for what you can pick them up for now a days. There are some flaws, but most guns in this category have a few. It is fast enough for me, and with an aftermarket regulator is shoots as consistent as most guns. The wiring harness is irritating, the lack of the battery door and cheap aluminum screws make the finish of this gun average amongst paintball guns. It isn't as poor say spyder, piranha etc... but is not as high as say AGD, WDP or Tippmann. Like I said, it's about average, the milling and tapping is notably nicer than the wiring harness and screws.

In the end, the marker performs pretty well for me. It has been pretty reliable at the field, and broken paint has been very rare. Over all I am satisfied with this gun, considering how much I spent on it.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap electro this gun will likely fit the bill. Just be careful taking the grip frame off.

I give it an 8, since there is a lot of room for improvement, but the gun functions well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Prairie_fire_PB Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster, Impulse, BKO... I'd say the Defiant is right up to par with these guns if not a level above depending on the upgrades placed on the other guns I've used.
Marker Setup: Purple 2001 Defiant, Gen-X II regulator, Full Freak Barrel system, Xtreme ON/OFF drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is really good but you just can't beet a Freak Kit, also I would definetly recommend a new regulator, good ones to use are Max-Flows, Sidewinders, Gen-X II and Palmer Stabolizers, all great choices.
Strengths: Speed, weight, size, looks, delrin bolt and diferent firing modes.
Weaknesses: Battery is a pain to change, a little tricky to adjust LPR reg.
Review: I bought one of these things in an auction for cheap because it leaked and had a bad wiring harness, not knowing much about the gun and already owning an Impulse, Shocker and a plethora of blowbacks, I thought I'd buy for a project gun then sell. Well after recieving the gun I found that all the problems were trvial and I fixed them within the day. When I first used the gun I knew I had a gem, this thing did everything I wanted it to, snap shooting, laying balls on top of eachother(with the freak), consistent shots at the chrono(with Gen-X II reg) and just all around solid gun, very competitive. Thinking I would sell for profit I ended up selling the my Impulse and Shocker(both great guns might I add) and keeping the Defiant as my main gun! Definetly worth the money and with a few mods this gun just plain STANDS OUT!

Only complaint is the wiring harness is easy to mess up and break(wiris connecting the battery to the computer and all the other parts of the gun) and the batter is very diffecult to change, since you have to remove all 4 screws(hard ot get out, tight angles) on the battery tray and then be carefull not to yank any wires out of the wiring harness.
Conclusion: Light, playable, cool looking, fast, accurate, easy maintnence, smooth, cocker threads and so far very relaible! How can you go wrong.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redzman Thursday, August 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushmaster 2000, impy
Marker Setup: Blue fade 6 slot defiant, with sonic lpr, sonic asa, sonic red valve, gladiator, halo-b, sonic trigger fame, chaos chip, 12" dye boom, 12" and 14" full matching freak system, and 88 4500 Apocalypse 2k.
Recommended
Upgrades:
all of the above
Strengths: I love this gun. I love the ano, the solid feel, and the insane ROF after a chaos chip. I went from 2 highly modified cockers to this baby and haven't had a single bit of regret. Not that tall , as everyone says , it is about the size as a grown mans hand (just the body).
Weaknesses: the fact that it is the exact same as a stock bushy and that after the first day of use I had to send it back ICD because of a blown silonoid.
Conclusion: great gun, over all worth it. If you want a gun that will keep up with the big boys and don't want to be just like everyone else then get this bad boy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CockerStopper Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Avi Vision Impy
Marker Setup: blue to purple difiant
pmi 45/45
taso big bore
cp barrel
eaglewerks barrel from a rainmaker
9vrevy
Recommended
Upgrades:
sonic frame
new reg.(aka or gladiator)
vapor parts
Strengths: shoots fast
cocker threads
Weaknesses: a bit tall
sloppy trigger
stock barrel~but most stock barrels sux anyway.
Review: With the recomm. upgrades it would be sweet. To me the gun was not very balanced. The grip frame is awkward. The gun is a bit tall for my liking. Not Really a Bushy on steroids. The wiring harness is frail. Look at getting a Impulse if you are considering a defiant/bushy; you'll me much happer.
Conclusion: I would recommend a Impulse to anyone considering a defiant. To me it is a more balanced marker. Comes stock with a great barrel and regulator. Add a blade trigger and a W.A.S. board and then you'll be hooked. I was gonna get a RAt but i came along a a good deal on a avi.THE ONLY BOB LONG GUN WORTH OWNING IS THE TIMMY. Which i now own a 2k3 Losoya Timmy.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 11th, 2001
 
1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The good thing about this is when it works it is fast it is very light and a very small marker making it great for speed ball. The adjustable trigger pull on it is very nice also variable rates of fire and shot modes make it fun to play with.
Weaknesses: Performance wise there realy is no difference between the defiant and the bushmaster. The inline regulators on the markers have a tendancy of going bad and not working and many of the internal parts although the same as a bushmaster are made cheaper by another company causeing the soloniod to go bad often. The marker is very problematic and often needs to be repaired and maintained
Conclusion: The cost on a defiant while not as much as an angel are higher then the bushmaster. The bushmaster is made almost Identically so performance is very close. The defiants however are made a little cheaper and while they are better looking they are not worth the additional 200 dollars over the bushmaster. They take cocker barrels which is nice. I would also like to say that although not all of them have problems they can have them. When they work they work good not as accurate as a cocker or an angel though.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media