paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PGI Tornado / PGI Tornado / PGI Tornado / PGI Tornado

PGI Tornado Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PGI

Buy PGI Tornado

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PGI Tornado
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tornado brings back memories of good old American industry. Solid metal construction with battle-ready pneumatics, this gun is built like a tank. Its smooth response trigger, forward expansion chamber and performance barrel add a real unique flavor and style.

Features include: Semi-auto, Full metal construction, Side cocking, Rear-velocity adjuster, True venturi bolt, Expansion chamber with hard line & foam grip, Dual ball detents-for really fast shooting, 12" performance barrel, "Maximizer" mult-valve, parts kit including O-rings, cup seal, etc., and Sold as-is, manufacturer offers no warranty.
Product Availability 
The PGI Tornado is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Gozer Friday, November 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 C
Various Spyders
CORE Sharc
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
R/T Trigger
X-Chamber
Richochet AK hopper
J & J 14" Ceramic
PS Rocketcock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, definitely.
Strengths: Solid steel construction, a tough gun that feels like it means business. The basic core of the gun is simple, reliable and well made, comes with a venturi bolt and powerfeed. Several of the parts are interchangable with Spyders or VM-68's, so you can make most repairs. Performance-wise, it seems about average with other rec guns out there. The best part is, you can get one dirt-cheap - for about $50 - and this gun is way better than any plastic marker out there. Pretty efficient with CO2, also.
Weaknesses: If you do buy one, be prepared to do some work to get it running properly. Mine had the wrong mainspring in place and it would cycle (i.e. full-auto) every time the trigger was pulled. The spring was WAY too high of a rate and was causing the gun to cycle. I changed it to a Spyder spring and it worked fine.
Also, the X-chamber and bottom line were not screwed in all the way, and because of the way they were tapped/drilled into each other, could not be tightened all the way and still fit the gun! I wound up taking them off, although I suppose some Loctite would fix that problem.
Stock barrel is quite inaccurate and loud, due to no porting.
Gun is HEAVY, like 8 lbs. fully loaded, and a bit bulky.
Lastly, the gun is out of production and as a result you won't find many upgrades or options out there for it.
Conclusion: A great 2nd gun, I actually bought it for a friend of mine to use and had to do some work to get it shooting properly. Once I did, it worked pretty well. A real good deal considering its price, just remember its limitations - it's an older design without a lot of room for improvement.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ulyanov Friday, September 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Genesis - Tornado is better
Marker Setup: new 4 stage PMI expansion chamber and macroline bottom line feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
4+ Stages expansion chamber and new barrel
Strengths: The gun is CHEAP! Great value, and very simple. Dont have to worry about the little things. Nothing goes wrong with it. Great for beginners and people looking to have a dependable gun, experienced or not.
Weaknesses: People whine about it being to heavy? SUCK IT UP! The only problem I have with it is that it is a hog on CO2. Gun needs occasional cleaning or will chop balls. (Dont all markers though). A new Barrel would be suggested as it is a little loud.
Conclusion: This gun is great.. New player or not. Especially if you are on a limited budget.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 15th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun is a very good gun for its price! I got it for 45$, and so did my brother and my friend. It is acurate and has an ok shot rate. it can easily get up to 320 fps and comes at that rate out of the box. It is a side cocking gun and is solid built. the stock barrel is only 10' but is ok. I did not replace mine.
Weaknesses: There are a few bad things about this gun. Every Tornado (PG-1 Pro Classic as mine is called) comes different than the next. Many of the faom grips come loose and tear, and the guns dont always run smoothly. My triger gets jamed sometimes, and ive had a couple balls chopped. The gun has a power feed but the feeder is not part of the gun, it is screwed on. This makes it so your hoper wobles after a while. Also the gun is not a vertical feed but the feed gets in the way of looing down the top of the barrel. You have to look down the side of the barrel, (plus theres no sites anyway). Hte grip is plastic and the bottom line is to, its also a hard line so you cant add a drop forward. Its pretty heavy too.
Conclusion: This was my first gun and I have had it for about 3 months. I like it but I think I am going to buy a new gun soon, for a reasonable price for me im getting a Piranha G3 STS Fertical Feed. The gun worked pretty good in combat, it could shoot a little faster, and was a little heavy to run around with. I got this gun because i wanted to start paintball and it was the cheapest gun i found, i did not realy like it more than any others. It preforms well stock but could use some upgrades, i didnt upgrade, but im pretty cheap. THis gun is totaly worth the money, and if you want a REALLY CHEAP gun this is it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KaosLord Saturday, October 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 Custom, multiple Spyders.
Marker Setup: I currently do not have a working paintball marker. My Tornado (or maybe it's a PG-1 Pro, not sure) is badly broken.
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A (See Marker Setup)
Strengths: Well, it IS made of steel. Seems to be a Spyder clone.
Weaknesses: Threads in steel strip easily.
Review: While an all-steel body gives it great durability and makes it easy to paint, threading in steel tends to be a little easier to strip out. This has happened in four places on my Tornado/PG-1 Pro, rendering it useless. I wish I could fix it, but as of now I can't without a new main marker body and some new bolts.

Having never actually gotten a chance to fire it, I can't say much. It does seem to be very solidly built. I personally have never liked the "speed-feed" or whatever it's called, but I suppose I shouldn't complain. I like the slight milling on the barrel, though some porting would be a good thing. I wish I knew more about this marker so I could figure out how to fix it!
Conclusion: I got mine free, so I can't exactly say if it's "worth the money" or not. However, I can say for a fact that just from what little I can tell, it's a decent marker. I'm going to give it only a 5/10 though, simply because I have no personal experience as to how it actually performs.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patton Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann C98, 18inch freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, expansion chamber, remote line
Strengths: Strong, durable, easy to maintaine and easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Heavy. Dosent work the best in cold weather
Review: This gun was the first I bought. I found it to be strong and dependable. It shoots accurate even with the small stock barrel. The draw backs are that it is on the heavy side. But I like that because I like to feel the weight in my hands. It is an air hog so you should have two 20 oz tankes or somthing like that.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to who ever is just startin to get in the game. This gun is way better than any Viewloader or Brass Eagle gun I have ever used. So buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aadac Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: The gun with one 20 0z, one 16 0z. carring belt, air hose, mask, gloves.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrle, smart valve
Strengths: durable, nothing will break on it. Good accurcy. easy maintnence.
Weaknesses: To heavy. Get a smart valve to save air.
Review: This gun is awesome and will last a life time of abuse. Me friend's have veiwloader guns and PMI and the always have troubles with them. This gun could be dropped hundreds of times and still work. Also a variety of paint works in the gun. JT max 2, PMI premium, JT predator, Big Ball all work.
Conclusion: This gun is great and I would recomend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 2nd, 2003 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timesplitter71 Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: I use a Tornado paintball marker with a silver Tasco barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: The best feature in this gun is the Venturi bolt and really good trigger action
Weaknesses: The only weaknesses I find for this gun is Blaze paintballs.
Review: This gun has a complete metal body. I have been using one for about a year and I love it. It is a little bit on the heavy side but not too bad. well all I have to say is this gun is built like a tank and it is well worth buying.
Conclusion: I reccomend people getting this gun because it is really accurate and rarely ever busts a ball. Dont use damaged paintballs with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 28th, 2003 at 1:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darthmal2086 Saturday, August 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor
Marker Setup: Saved up, got myself a spyder Tl+, with a 14" Dye aluminum, 6 stage Aci Sub Zero Expansoin chamber, New Shutter gripframe, Shortend trigger pull, wizard drop forward, along with a 32* regulator, and a Rebel Micro guage., all riged up to Steel Flexi hoses. With a 9v VL hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, but its not THAT important
Strengths: Its cheap. Sturdy. and its intimidating. It look slike a Bushmaster or somthing, its so big and beafy. It comes standard pretty well balanced. and you can fire 1000 shots directly on target due to its heavyness, there is no recoil. Comes with, Ex chamber, and hardline. for 45.00!!! Becouse if its simple deseign, its easy to fix.
Weaknesses: Its hard to find parts for it. VERY hard. and if you do they are expensive. Everything is plain, no porting no nothing. The hardline isnt standard, witch also means the hole son the Ex chamber arent as well... meaning you cant upgrade to steel hose, or Macro Or micro line(s)...
Conclusion: Its a great gun for the price. However iv had some problems, it seams to chop alot of orings, witch isnt expensive problem, but can anger you while in middle of game. also check out my paintball team GHETTO BOYZ http://www.geocities.com/darthmal2086/ghettoboyz
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ricknew Wednesday, June 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha - is a slightly better marker
Rapture - equal
Spyder - is a slightly better marker
Genesis - the Tornado is an equal or slightly better marker
Marker Setup: Completely Stock
Strengths: The price is right on the money. The performance of this marker is as good as, or even better than, markers costing 2, 3 or 4 times as much. Comes with an honest to goodness venturi bolt. Accuracy in the stock configuration is very acceptable. If you use this gun for a backup, a loaner for a friend, for backyard battles or on weekend warrior duty you'll love this gun. In my humble opinion the expansion chamber is worth the price alone. The "Power Feed" works great, no matter what it looks like, or how much it wiggles. I'm still waiting for my first ball break.
Weaknesses: It is heavy (mainly because its built to last). Barrel is not ported so the gun is a little on the loud side. The Tornado is no longer in production so upgrades and repairs will need to be made with parts from other guns, for example the barrel is threaded for a VM-68 (there are web sites to help you out with this). Although the jury is still out on this point, I have a feeling that the Tornado is a bit of an air hog. I (like several other reviewers have had to do) had to file a little on the feed port. This is not hard to do and not really a problem, you just need to be aware of it.
Conclusion: I bought this gun off ebay for $21.00 plus shipping (you can snap up a new one up for $50.00). The seller stated that there was air leaking out the barrel but I decided to buy it anyway for something to fool around with. I installed a cup seal from a Spyder and fixed the problem in about 2 minutes. This gun is a phenomenal bargain for someone who wants to see if they are interested in Paintball. When they decide to stick with it, the Tornado will serve them well until they graduate to more expensive toys. When compared to other semi auto blow back guns the Tornado definitely deserves a 9+.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle, Piranha
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: I have 3 of them, they usually don't break balls, I havn't had any problems with parts. Solid construction, one of them is very accurate, the others are just above average.
I like not having a vented barrel
Costs half as much as a Brass Eagle Avenger, and shoots twice as good
Weaknesses: Had to file down the ball loader a little because it had some rough edges. Other than that, no bad's yet.
Some say it is heavy, I say suck it up. I don't have any problem with it.
Conclusion: I recomend them to people who want to play and need a decent gun. I buy them for people to play with instead of other guns. For a third the cost of most reasonable guns, you get a lot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media