paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A

Odyssey HALO A Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO A

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO A
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Odyssey H.A.L.O. promises to be the next big thing in paintball! The sleek, flawless design of this new hopper promises to make it a best seller in the near future. The H.A.L.O. utilizes a reflected infrared beam located at the top of the feed tube to detect the presence of paintballs. A single recessed push-button is the H.A.L.O.’s only control; it uses an on/off/on sequence to activate the hopper. The recessed button virtually eliminates the possibility of the hopper being activated by mistake in your gear bag. The electronics are in the back, and the battery pack (6 “AA”) is in the front, giving the H.A.L.O. a nice balanced feel.

View videos of the H.A.L.O.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO A is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
C]-[iLDe Wednesday, March 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Turbo Rev
Viewloader Revvy
Marker Setup: Green Marble Adrenalin Angel #134
68/4500 Maxflow
Halo
Various barrels
Strengths: - VERY fast feed rate
- Ball detent in hopper allows you to remove it without losing all your paint
- Looks Cool
- Recessed switch and on/off sequence make it hard to turn this hopper on or off by mistake
- Feed neck can be sanded to fit each individual marker perfectly
- About same size as revvy
Weaknesses: - Pricey @ $130
- Uses a lot of batteries
- Will constantly drain batteries if the battery pack isnt disconnected
- Battery chamber door is held in place with a small phillips screw, inconvenient to access batteries
- Stock lid is WAY too tight and prone to breakage, replacement lid is even worse
Conclusion: All in all, I believe this is a GREAT loader. My Halo fed consistently at 12+ bps all day with no skips or chops or breaks. I have never seen anything like it; How did i ever play without one? For the price though, the lid SHOULD fit properly, and the replacements should be of a better quality and fit. I would also like to see a snap-fit battery door that is easier to open and close. If Odyssey resolves these issues (and beats the recent Brass Eagle lawsuit without going belly-up), then we could quite possibly see the PERFECT hopper. I would highly recommend this product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rico AK, 2K 12v revy (yuck),- all really cant compare as this is force fed
Egg 2-Faster more reliable than this but not nearly as good as the halo b
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Strengths: Pretty Fast
Strong Shells
Great customer service
Weaknesses: Can be unreliable
Pretty heavy
Review: Well I've used this before and it was pretty fast, seemed very durable but was also pretty heavy. Some people will tend to complain about reliabilty problems and the excessive weight but it does get the job done. Its a fast hopper with great customer service. So if you cant get a halo b go for this hopper.
Conclusion: I'd say stay away from buying this now only since the Halo B is out, but its not a bad hopper by any means.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lorquas Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, warps... all kinds of stuff
Strengths: Strength, SPEED, Ease of use
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This is a great Back Man's hopper. It will feed fast enough to keep up with any shooter. I've never had a jam or a break inside of it... and the batteries lasted through several cases of paint. It is also FORCE FEED, a wonderful feature that allows you to shoot a few paintballs even if you're holding the marker upside down.... this is great for those wierd shots that you need a little extra. I never chopped with this loader. It could also take a beating and still be ticking.
Another nice feature is the button... it won't turn on for no reason inside your bag if it gets bumped.

However, the thing does weigh like 2 pounds. Not something that is ideal for speedy snap shots.
Conclusion: If you don't mind the weight... you definately would wanna consider one of the halo's.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jynxfactor Friday, June 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader power series 2000, 9 V rev, 12 V rev, Turbo rev
Marker Setup: Sandridge F5 on a Spanky supercharged fishbone cocker
Strengths: Feeds fast
Feeds consistently
Sturdy construction so hopper hits don't break paint in side (not yet anyway)
You can fire at greater angles out of your bunker
Weaknesses: A pain in the (you know what I'm gonna say) to clean if you do manage to break paint.

I had to use what was the absolute worst paint I have ever seen last Sunday and broke paint in the loader. I tried cleaning it out at the field and managed to loose two parts. When I got home I canalized an old rev and fixed it good as new.
Conclusion: Without question I will never use a rev again. They just can not keep up with the Halo (original not even the belt driven version, that one should me hear next week).

My recommendation is to get two since cleaning them at the field is difficult at best.

I'm giving the Halo a 9 only because of the difficulty in cleaning. I agree with the guy below on one item the way the IR sensors are in stalled should be modular.

Happy hunting!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rico - 12v&9v Revy - Warp Feed - Stock Tube
Marker Setup: Diablo matrix
centerflag reg (the real one)
smart parts freak barrel set
pmi pure energy 68/3000
drop forward
halo
Strengths: Flawless operation: Never had any feeding problems while playing.

Strong Construction: Plastic is durable. Feed neck is double reinforced.

No paint breaks inside halo

No paint breaks inside stock matrix

Fits perfect once sanded.

ON/OFF features smart and easy to use if you read the manual
Weaknesses: Neck has to be sanded to get it to fit. According to webpage this was intentional. Good way to get a perfect fit but you have to sand quite a bit to get it to fit a stock matrix (which has a tight fit to begin with)

Takes 6 AA batteries. This provides better and more constant power than a nine volt or 2 but it makes the halo heavy.

Halo is heavy even without the 6 AA batteries.
Conclusion: The halo is good at what it does. I had no problems with it whatsoever. Not once did I break paint in the hopper or chop paint in the marker. I would recomend it to anyone who has had chopping problems with their gun and has tried other cheaper hoppers but still had problems. This new hopper will perform.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL-200, Ricochet, Revolution, CRAPO (HALO)
Marker Setup: JT 3.0 with MAKO E frame, J&J ceramic barrel, JT 4.0 expansion chamber & regulator
Strengths: Is fast, plastic well built, great idea about the screws with nuts. Sturdy feeling. Good idea, needs some finishing but is OK for the try
Weaknesses: Bad electronics!!, the IR sensors are crappy installed, hard to clean, make that extremely hard to clean and service. They should take some ideas from Viewloader in this particular area.
The motor should be a brushless type to save some batteries,( 6 AA!!!)
Heavy but well balanced
The on/off button, damn is hard to turn on this thing, should make it hard plastic and a "click" type. You dont even know if you press it or not!.
Dissasembling is a pain!!!, should use allen head screw or better quality philips screw. Also, if you plan to dissasemble it, light up some candles and pray!, the crappy IR sensors DO NOT ALWAYS line up and do not stop loading.
Is a shame that such expensive product have bad design, crappy materials.
I was expecting a high quality product for the price I paid (120). Also expect to have an adjustable pressure sensor for various paint quality and shell thickness.
I will never again try out new products. I am keeping my good ol' Revy proven and tested everytime!!
Conclusion: I plan to contact Albert @ OPP, and give him some ideas. Even I am modifying my own HALO for them to see.
Some mods are:
fixed mount IR sensors ( Viewloader style)
improved brushless motor
better feeling On/Off button
adjustable pressure or feeding rate
more battery efficient
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revolution
Marker Setup: Automag R/T, 2001 Angel, 2002 Evolution X Autococker, and a '97 Autococker 68 cu" Armageddon
Strengths: Extremely fast, I can not out shoot this hopper. The weight is not an issue, I can barely tell a different from a revolution. The construction is very nice and I don't think that I will have a problem with it cracking.
Weaknesses: I guess you could say that the lid is a little tight but I like it, so I know that the lid isn't going to pop open when I slide into a bunker. Also I occasionally will chop paint when using my Angel, but I believe this is due more to the horrible paint that I am forced to use more than the Halo.
Conclusion: Overall I would say that this is my favorite hopper. It feeds as fast as I can pull the trigger and it has a refined look. I can't wait until they come out with the clear halos so I can get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it
Marker Setup: angel armagedon 45/68, boomstick, halo
Strengths: the first one had its problems i will say. the blow back from the gun knocked the balls back up in it so it wouldnt load very fast on vertical guns. Odyssey has fixed the problem with the halo B. it is now belt driven with spring tension. the new ones kick butt. they literally can not be out shoot. i know the guy who designed it(tex) and got to use his prototype one. i shot 13 shots a sec on my angel with no problem. Tex has shot guns at 24 shots a second and the gun broke before it out shot the hopper. oh and its alot quieter i mean quieter than the revvie. it is really awsome. everyone should get one
Weaknesses: only with the Halo A the B kicks butt
Conclusion: once the B comes out which will be in about 2 weeks everyone will wish they had one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy with Impeller, Rico
Marker Setup: 99 Shocker Turbo
Glacier AT Board
Angel Frame
WDP Lightning Trigger
Gadget Grip
On/Off
Air Assist
9v Mod
Drop Forward
12" Cp Barrel
14" AA
14" Dye Boomy
Blue Dye Sticky Grips
Strengths: Umm, you get a workout since it is sooooo heavy? I dunno. It looks kinda nice. I think I got one bounce, but it wasn't anything that another hopper wouldn't have bounced. I guess the way to turn it on is nice so it doesn't turn on while traveling and drain your batteries, but it is VERY annoying when Istarted out for the first time with it.
Weaknesses: Breaks balls in the gun by forcing more than ine ball into breech. Breaks balls in the hopper itself for unknow reason. I shoot a fairly nice gun and yet the halo still breaks balls. Rico diidnt, revvy didn't and the halo does. Go figure, they charge and arm and a leg for a paint blender.
Conclusion: It isn't worth it. Piece of junk.I'm going back to a rico now.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: *Cobra LCD Angel
*Odyssey Paintball H.A.L.O.
*Air America Apocolypse 2K Air System x2
*Dye Titanium Boomstick Barrel 14" and 16"
*Warped Sportz Dark Series Barrel 12" and 16"
*JT Spectra Proteus
*I only use RPS All Star Paintballs
*WGP Black Magic Regulator
*Cobra CNC Milling and Engraving
* LCD Low Pressure Internals
*Infinity Barrel 14" .687
*Cobra Barrel 12 or 14" .685,.689 or .693 (your choice)
*Govnair Grip Regulator (ASA threads)
*Cobra Single Piece VRA with or w/o a gauge hole *
*Single or Double trigger grip frame and trigger w/double set screws
*Trigger adjustment screw (takes out side to side play)
*Cobra Hopper adapter ( low or high rise)
*Cobra LPR Air Chamber
*Cobra SS Super Hammer
*Cobra Bolt (custom fit)
*Cobra Breech Knob
*Shut off Switch w/rubber boot cover (replaces yellow plug)
*LCD Intelifeed (internal wire and sight rail plug)
*Cobra Wall Charger (WDP approved)
*Angel AIR
Strengths: This is the best hopper ever, it works so good. And there is an adapter so it runs on a lot of double a batteries. I just run mine on one 9 volt battery! Look at the wire that atatches to the thing that holds the double a's. It also is VERY fast, and the warp feed is the only thing faster, but the warp feed still needs an electric hopper.
Weaknesses: * Pricey @ $130
* Uses a lot of batteries
* Will constantly drain batteries if the battery pack isnt disconnected
* Battery chamber door is held in place with a small phillips screw, inconvenient to access batteries
* Stock lid is WAY too tight and prone to breakage, replacement lid is even worse
Conclusion: All in all, I believe this is a GREAT loader. My Halo fed consistently at 12+ bps all day with no skips or chops or breaks. I have never seen anything like it; How did i ever play without one? For the price though, the lid SHOULD fit properly, and the replacements should be of a better quality and fit. I would also like to see a snap-fit battery door that is easier to open and close. If Odyssey resolves these issues (and beats the recent Brass Eagle lawsuit without going belly-up), then we could quite possibly see the PERFECT hopper. I would highly recommend this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media