paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The NUVIS-1 2.0 is not just a goggle, but a "protective vision system", built from the ground up for the sole purpose of enhancing your game and giving you the edge. No other creation has bent the rules with technology like the NUVIS-1 2.0. The new standard or upgraded features will include a visor/forehead protector, new larger cushy face foam, consistent 100% no-fog/condensation performance, and more secure mask connectors just to name a few.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 2.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
=WDP= Tuesday, January 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Angel LCD, Armegedon Drop Forward, 45 cu Nitro Tank, 16" Dye Boomstick, 10" Dye Boomstick, 14" J&J Ceramic, 12" J&J Two Piece, ANgel Infiniti Stock barrel, 14" All-American, and Raven Mask
Strengths: Great Shape (for looks and comfort)
Clear Lens
Blocks Sun Great
Great Protection
Would reccomend to any semi-good PB player
Sweetest looking mask aroung (omit Invision)
Weaknesses: It is sort of uncomfortable on one side of the mask because of a little plastic piece that sticks out but overall that really doesnt matter.
I seriously cannot find any other things that r bad.
Conclusion: I RECOMMEND THIS MASK VERY MUCH
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TommyGun Tuesday, August 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Thermal lens
Brass Eagle (Bug eyes :)
PMI
Marker Setup: Impulse Vision with delrin bolt. CO2
Tippmann 98
Spyder Compact
Piranha (early ones)
Strengths: - Peripheral vision is better than anything I've worn.
- Tinting is not visible...but I have worn it in sunlight that would bother your eyes and when wearing the mask the glare is gone. I've even worn it driving.
- It is light weight.
- The box it comes in is useful in transporting it.
Weaknesses: Alright...
- It does have sharp edges at the back...but no big deal you just sand them off.
- The tinting is not radically visible...it blocks the glare but it won't look tinted and you won't be using it to look into the sun.
- It fogs...in hot summer play...so good for tourneys but bush play, well... see conclusion for hand hint on defogging
- The visor is as crappy as they say...but it serves the purpose of reducing direct light on the lens...not good for air flow though...probably why it fogs
So far all stuff you've heard in other reviews...BUT here's a couple more points:
- I had a one-in-a-couple-thousand hit on the joining point of the nose and goggle lens and it popped it open enough that the paint was on my eyelashes which didn't hurt me but didn't go a long ways to making me comfortable
- I GET HIT ON THE HEAD A LOT WITH THIS MASK! Even with the visor on I get my bell rung at least 2 to 3 times per play period. Other mask visors cover the front of the head better. I've gotten a lot of bruises on the hair line.
Conclusion: Now I realize that there is a lot of negatives, and most of them are what I had read here in the reviews and felt that I could deal with anyway...I still bought the mask knowing all of those negatives but two or three.

It is the lightest, best peripheral vision and glare reducing mask I have worn.

With the fogging problem I have a solution:
Pour a bit of pure mild dish soap on the inside of the lens.
Use a paper towel or even softer cloth to wipe it until it is dry.
Don't use water after that or mixed in with the soap...it won't work.
You don't need to "leave some of the soap on" if you wipe until you can see clearly, some will be left on.
I don't recommend this for thermal type lens on JT's and such but this mask is not a thermal lens.
I have been doing this for 4 masks I own (but not my JT thermal) for a couple years without a problem
And forget any "anti-fog" coating they claim to have on this mask...it doesn't work worth a sh1t

Overall I'm not sure I would have bought this mask knowing that the tinting isn't so radical, that it doesn't cover your head very well and that it popped apart on that one shot....I might have. I will use this mask always for tournaments and speed ball practice...but I doubt I'll ever use it for the recreational play.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1 Tuesday, January 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, JT
Marker Setup: 2000 Aotococker, 32 De. Terminator barrel , Dye hinge trigger, bulldod 48ci.
Strengths: Hmm. Well I dont own these anymore and most players dont use them.
Weaknesses: FOG FOG and more FOG! I couldnt see anything within ten minutes into my game. They also kept digging into my temples and were very uncomfortable after about a half hour I had to use my old JT's which didnt FOG.
Conclusion: For the money these are not worth it at all. For half the cost I got a good set of Scotts and they dont FOG and are much more comfortable. I was lucky enough to get a refund at the store where I purchased them and that store doesnt even carry them due to other complaints as well. SAVE YOUR MONEY!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kdxmaster Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT headshield
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Autococker Outkast
Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt
Full freak kit
Pure Energy N2
Evlution 2 hopper

Spyder Compact 2 in 1
ESP trigger
System X expansion chamber
CP barrel
Richochet AK hopper
Strengths: Protects face
cheap
Weaknesses: lens scratches easy (all seem to)
sometimes hurts after long periods of use
Review: It is not the greatest mask. but considering the price that i paid for it, it is awesome. i paid $20 for it at an ebay store. it does hurt on the side of the head but it you wear a hat with it, it doesn't hurt. i also haven't had any problems when it comes to it flying off.
Conclusion: it is a good mask if you don't wan't to spend $60 like me. i recommend getting thermal lenses for it though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Puddleglum Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray (hahahahahhh) oh......boy
JT Flex IZE
Raven Nuvis
Marker Setup: AKA Viking
Nickel Blade Trigger
27 bps software
HALO B
DYE Aluminum
J&J Two piece
CenterFlag 200 45 4500
Strengths: Great product by a wierd company. I think the mask looks kinda funny, but it is a little different. It has a great lens that is very scratch resistant. NO FOGGING......at all. I have not had any fog in this mask. Good peripheral vision and overall good looks. This is a great mask for any tournament player. Look on eBay.
Weaknesses: I did not like the visor at all. I got one from a Flez 7 and got it to fit. And the lense was supposed to be photochromatic and was for a while, but it doesn't change with the light anymore.
Conclusion: Overall I think this is a really great fitting mask. I like the clasp on the back instead of having to put it over your head. The lense is great, but it is hard to find any other than clear(I think that's the only one available). Great mask for anyone and they are available for a good price. Highly reccomended. Only other suggestion would be the Flex 7.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Crap
Marker Setup: Rental Crap
Strengths: I don't play often, but I finally decided to spend a little money on my own mask instead of getting into the sweat-crusted, scratched-lens crap that most outdoor places rent you.

This is a great mask, the same price as all other decent masks (in Canada, anyway), and when I tried it on in the store, try as I may, huffing and puffing away for five minutes until I was out of breath could not fog the mask.

If you're Asian, then two things probably plague you. You wear glasses, and have a flatter nose than most people. This mask fits great over my glasses, and the foam padding on the nose makes a great seal, no amount of breath is going to get up to the lens.

Love the auto-tinting lens, can't wait to try it in action. Looks badass, too. :)
Weaknesses: The first one I bought was the one with the purple mouthpiece, which looked like blue in the store, until I took it outside. Had to exchange it for the all-black one. :P

Also, on the first one I bought, the visor pegs didn't fit completely tight, and the right end peg came out once in a while. Second mask was perfect.
Conclusion: Can't wait to get out and kick some butt in this mask, with all the features it has, I should be able to put it to good use.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle 280 Xtreme, JT Spectra, 32 Degrees Defender
Marker Setup: Green Spyder EM1:
Vigilante Regulator
Green KAPP DropZone 2 Dropforward
KAPP On/Off Tank Adapter
Green Dye Sticky's
12V Green Revvy
N-Bolt
Freak Barrel System
Teflon Ball Detent
Green Macroline
Crossfire 68ci 4500psi Tank
Green Lok Sok Tank Covers
Strengths: This mask is REALLY comfortable. Compared to some of the masks ive used it hardly feels like im wearing anything on my face. The lens is really close to your face which is hardly a good thing it helps in keeping the profile nice and tight. The thing I think I like most about the mask is just having the lens and overall mask closer to your face. The air flow is really good and im not sure about some people but I feel a little more free not having a heavier mask on my face. I love the auto tinting lens!
Weaknesses: The only bad thing in my opinion is that it leaves the entire crown of your head vulnerable to a paintball hit.....Anyone thats been tagged in the head knows this isnt the greatest thing in the world. Im sure this is why the mask gets it's light weight feel. No problem though I think ill just get a sock hat or a beanie to start playing in cause I really like the mask. Oh yah and mine didnt come with a visor? Oh well ive seen what they look like and I prolly wouldnt have used it anyways.
Conclusion: Its a great mask. Anyone willing to be spending around 45-60 dollars for a mask should seriously look at this one. Ive found the straight black one's for 45.99 but the colors are all up around 59.99
Some of the features of the mask are great I was reluctant to spend the money on it but now im glad I did. The only down is leaving the top of your head open to a bear hit on the head......Just wear a sock hat or a beanie and you'll be good to go though! Even despite the negatives I stated im completely happy with the mask!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT ICE, Nvader Thermal
Marker Setup: 1994 Cocker, 14" boomstick, Air America 114 Nitro w/Unireg, ProConnect remote, KAPP front setup
Strengths: Own a field and store in Central Texas. Have played paintball since 93, always used thermal mask. Liked the description of the Nuvis, bought one to try. I can not believe how comfortable this mask is! The clips in back are a treat to use, you are able to take it off without messing your head gear up. The photo lens is INCREDIBLE. I play in an High Humidity environment. To this day, it has NEVER fogged up. I have let several others use it to test and have been selling the heck out of them! Air flow is good, sound is good, perif is AWESOME!
Weaknesses: The visor is the weakest part of the mask. It's kind of shabby and can get in the way when you are putting it on.
Conclusion: Of all the masks I sell, even though this is not the most expensive, I push this one the most. Every one that I have sold has made the player happy and now they push them also. Even though the visor is weak, I still have to give this mask a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Foo Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra Thermal, BE Xtreme Vision
Marker Setup: Toxic Vision Impulse
Matching Anno. Full Freak Kit
HALO
88/4500 Crossfire PHAT System
Strengths: THIS MASK HAS NEVER FOGGED ON ME ONCE! I've played in rain and very humid conditions and this mask has never fogged on me at all, the Photocromotic feature on this mask is by far the best thing in the woods it sharpens certain colors and improves contrast but only in natural sunlight, mask is very good fit, can chaneg lenses very quickly and not painfully.
Weaknesses: Photocromatic does not work while playign indoors (has to be in natural sunlight) , there is a semi-sharp peace on the back of the mask, visor may pop off if even closely snagged on somthing. Foam around nose dosn't fit exactly right , somtimes feels as if it pulls on my cheeks a little but im 15 so my face is a tad bit smaller than all these old guys running around :)
Conclusion: GREAT mask very nice and comfortable, improvements could be made but overall it gets a 8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, JT Flex-7, Diablo Skull
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ 32* Whisper Barrel, Vigilante Reg, Delrin Bolt, eVLution Hopper
Strengths: Tight fit, low profile... less target!
Earlier lenses fogged, but after 2 months and numerous shots to the lense I replaced it. My goggles have fogged since, except once after playing in the rain for like 4 hours.
The glare on the lense is reduced dramatically from other goggles I've used. The photocronic effect is really cool, and it really does sharpen greens and helps pick out camo fabric from the scenery! (as far-fetched as it sounds..)
Weaknesses: The back of the mask is kinda sharp.. I just sanded it down. The visor is a piece, but I use when it's really bright out anyways.
Conclusion: It's expensive, but if you have the extra cash it's definetely worth your money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media