paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade / Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade / Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade

Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pioneer Laboratories

Buy Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade

Paintball Miscellaneous

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $5

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features include water based thick gel that won't stain, zip tie fastener that for stationary booby trap use, and 12 ounce bladder.
Product Availability 
The Pioneer Laboratories Meteor Shower Grenade is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Cadet2005 Thursday, September 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squadbuster
Marker Setup: 98C, RT, CAR Stock, Proteamdirect A1 carrying handle, Proteam Direct 14" Commando barrel w/handguards
Strengths: This grenade is dependable, won't bust in the pocket and I have even rolled on the thing as long as the retaining band is on it. A forty-foot throw didn't have to be thrown all that hard to detonate and I put two guys behind cover from the paint to allow my squadmate to come up their flank and surrender them. If nothing else, it makes for a nice distraction tool for somebody will duck and hide or shoot at it when it is incoming, thus diverting their attention from a possible flanking manuever.
Weaknesses: Cost inefficient...but for the fact that it works I think it makes it better than a Tippmann squadbuster.
The pressure-detonation system is still a bit crude, but short of getting an explosive device there isn't much else you can do about it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to somebody who plays in woods and likes silence. I use them to distract indivudals like I said and then my partner silently makes them surrender allowing us to move in and take the rest of our opponents by surprise. Other than the cost (about 4 bucks locally) they are pretty decent and I usually pick one up when I can.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Saberwolf Friday, November 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Squadbuster
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Meteor Grenades
All use Grenade Launcher
Strengths: Great blast area
Portable
Can be shot from Grenade launcher
Booby trap
Arodinamic design
Weaknesses: cost inefficient
Review: There is no set throwing standard unlike the Tippman it can be thrown any distance with and arc. Great all around grenade. Hands down is much better than any other grenades on the market. If you have ever thought about getting grenades then this is the only kind you should buy.
Conclusion: This is the only grenade that should be used for paintballing simply because it meets all requirments for a grenade in this sport.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Squad Buster
Marker Setup: RT PRO with power feed, Intelliframe, 12 V Revvy w/ X board, 14" DYE SS, PMI 88/4500 HPA,
Strengths: 1) Nice aerodynamic design (feels like an M26 Grenade) which helps it in flight.

2) Very uncomplicated design and is very easy to employ. Yet it is rugged enough to survive being in a pouch during multiple low crawls.

3) Goes off every time, even when the throw was questionable.

4) Can be employed as a "booby trap" (which a Tippman is not really capable of )
Weaknesses: NONE
Conclusion: Buy this product. I plan on ordering more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bocasean Monday, November 5th, 2001
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The gel is thick and bright (I had the red color) and the blast radius is fairly impressive. It bounces up a few feet in the air, and violently spins clockwise like a firecracker. It has gone off reliably every time I've thrown it. In fact, if I'm far enough away from a target, I'm 100%% sure that it will go off on impact. The farther it travels, the more velocity it picks up, which all but guarantees detonation. The best thing about it is the "booby trap" option. There is a bunker where I play that always draws players to it, and I love setting a trap up in it. It's hilarious to watch a player run in, only to come out soaked and dejected moments later. It also works defensively, since I can trap my blind side and not worry about watching it.
Weaknesses: At close ranges, you really need to throw it hard, which usually means you have to expose your arm and shoulder. I don't like sticking my arm out if someone's shooting at me from 15 feet away. Also, the mechanism that allows it to detonate so reliably also makes me paranoid that it'll go off in my pocket while I'm carrying it. It's never happened, but then again, I'm very cautious when I carry it.
Conclusion: The Meteor Shower is the closest thing to the old exploding grenades that I've found. It's reliable and effective. I wish it was about a dollar less expensive, but it's still worth it to me. It's the best grenade currently available.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 3rd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Cool shape, reliability, blast radius. It worked when I through it ( you need to throw it at a high lob so it comes down on the are ), it threw paint around a 15 foot radius.
Weaknesses: The color, i got milky white ( all they had ), it is kind of a crappy color, could barely see it. The grenade's firing last only 2 seconds, then its done. Didn't really cover the whole area, but good enought.
Conclusion: Good for the price, easy to use, and a hell of a lot better than the tippmann's grenade ( crap ), so pick a few up for the hell of it. Should work good in speed ball or close open woods games.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kamikaze33 Monday, January 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Water bombs?
Marker Setup: Spyder xtra pretty much all stock:S
Strengths: Nifty, lasts a LONG time
Weaknesses: Didn't spray as i expected
price
Review: This thing is pretty decent, especially what you pay for. I had to hide mine, so i had it hidden in an air vent. (dont ask). it was in there for about 3 months, and came out fine.
When thrown right, it makes a good spray, and lasts a few seconds as opposed to BAM and then done.
Conclusion: If you like grenades, get these, as they are decent. lol.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g_splat Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Squad Buster, Banana Bombs, Other Brands Of Paintball grenades
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 RIS Scenario, Armotech Zeus Pistol, PGP Pistol, Spyder AMG Electric, Spartan Pump, Pure Energy HPA 3000, 12v Revolution, Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0, Ronin Gear 5 pack, COPS 911 Scenario Vest, Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Strengths: Size, weight, can be used to make booby traps.
Weaknesses: None that I've experienced.
Review: Overall I liked this product. The size and the weight make it extremely easy to carry and throw. The grenade has a zip tie on it to hang off you gear or tie around a tree or post to rig a tripwire booby trap. It's made out of very rugged materials and you don't have to worry too much if you fall on it while carrying it. My only concern is the 'fuse' device. there's a large rubberband that you have to slide off before you throw it. It slows down the throing process considerabley. I've yet to have one bounch or noit go off after being thrown. Overall, I'd suggest thios over the Tippmann Squadbuster to people.
Conclusion: Great product! Great Price! If you're looking for a good trustworthy paintball grenade, go for the Meteor Shower!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kraus Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Squadbusters (tested, they suck)
Marker Setup: LP Spyder Shutter
-14 inch Dye Ultralite barrel
-Dead-On Pro Blade Drop w/ ASA and On/Off
-Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
-Bob Long Vertical Adapter
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-PMI Pure Energy 68/3k Fiber-Wrapped Tank
-12V Revvy w/ X--board
-Polished Internals & Removed Venturi

Strengths: -Nice Blast Radius
-Always break on impact
-Sprays in all directions
Weaknesses: $5 a grenade
Review: I tested this out with my friends. I tossed it about 20 feet in the air towards one of my friends. It bounced off the ground and then about 2 feet in the air, and thats when it went off. One end of the grenade holds shut, while the other sprays out paint all around. I play at a field where a spec of paint from a grenade means you are out. This thing will get anyone within about 15 feet of the impact point. You need to be a good throw to aim this thing. You could easily miss by a couple feet. (My friend saw it coming and stepped out of the way). It always deploys when its thrown, unlike the squadbuster.
Conclusion:
In all, this is a great grenade. If you have the money, I'd say go for it. I give it a 9.5 b/c I was expecting a bigger blast radius, but its got a decent one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 24th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman
Marker Setup: Spyder Tl Plus with smart parts All American 14", smart parts expantion chamber, custom made drop forward(e-mail if you want me to make one for a price), and 20oz tank.
Strengths: goes off when it's ment to, unlike the tippman, has a really nice blast radius, and setting a trap is just the best.
Weaknesses: cost too much.
Conclusion: they would be good at any level of play, even tourment level. More ppl would use them if they were only cheaper. SOme ppl may think that in tourment play granades are pointless, but can change the tied of a battle if they are used with proper strategy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann squadbuster grenade
Strengths: it has a nice green fill the store around here which sells them they sell for $4 where the squadbuster is $7. they are sensitive but they never broke in my pocket (to make sure they work take the rubber band and put it slightly to the side of the lid). has a loop to hang of a hook or something. good design for throwing. nice blast radius! i got 4 guys out who were hiding in a tower. and i got another 3 out who were behind this ledge and were taking out half the team.
Weaknesses: i can't think of anything really evrything u would expect from a grenade.
Conclusion: if u caan't get enough room to pop ure head up throw the grenade their way or if their in a key bunker and they won't go out well...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media