paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Air America Vigilante Regulator / Air America Vigilante Regulator / Air America Vigilante Regulator / Air America Vigilante Regulator

Air America Vigilante Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Air America

Buy Air America Vigilante Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Air America Vigilante Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This regulator screws onto any ASA adaptor and is easily adjusted by using an allen key. The Vigilante will increase you markers consitency and allows you to not worry about shooting hot.
Product Availability 
The Air America Vigilante Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ZapTheMad Saturday, March 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't tried other regulators. Don't need to.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra set up for low pressure. I run it about 275 psi. My kid also has one that I set up for regular pressure. He gets incredible efficiency at 600 psi. Both guns run on CO2.
Strengths: Keeps up with my flow under rapid firing at 275 psi. I was able to get it down to lower pressures by replacing the washer between the spring and piston with a thinner one. The stock washer is pretty thick. I don't see a need for the low pressure spring with this mod unless you need pressure lower than 250 psi. The stock blue Xtra foregrip cap fits on it and looks way cool! I bought it for $49.99 online, so the price is great!
Weaknesses: Had to file the top down a little so it turned the right way. Also had to modify it for lower pressure use. Neither issue was a big deal.
Conclusion: I love this regulator! I've used it on CO2 with no ill effect. I heard that they aren't good for CO2 but I've had no problems with it. It has a CO2 type o-ring in it and I installed an anti-siphon tube just for good measure. I have 2 guns set up with them and have not blown an o-ring in over 10,000 shots between them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 22nd, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Extremely high flow rate. The Vigilante can keep up with any marker out there, including electronic superguns. Can handle low pressure markers easily (450psi or lower) with a simple change of an inexpensive spring.

No need for an accessory tournament cap, it's included. Plus, you can remove the cap without tools. Easy to adjust - an allen key or even a quarter will allow you to raise or lower the pressure.

Very well made - as usual, very high quality manufacturing from Air America. Sturdy, holds up to field use very well (have used one for over a year). Due to aluminum body, lighter than older AA regs.

Length and diameter makes for a great front grip.

PRICE!! Despite the great performance, ease of adjustability and robust construction, the Vigilante is very inexpensive. There's really no reason to buy a budget regulator when one of the best regs out there costs well under $100.

Air America itself - one of the great customer service companies out there. Have dealt with them since '95 and have had consistently superb backup and service from Air America for over 5 years. And not just with one staff member, but with everyone whom I have dealt with. First rate, a class act. I can't say enough good things about this company.
Weaknesses: While the length of the Vigilante makes for a good front grip, the Vigilante may interfere with your drop forward. This all depends on your drop forward's design and the placement of the vertical ASA on your marker of course, but it is something to be aware of.

If the Vigilante is too long, the alternative is to get Air America's Messiah.
Conclusion: The Vigilante is second best in-line regulator on the market. The only thing that outperforms it is Air America's other reg, the Messiah. The Messiah is also shorter, so it will clear virtually all drop forwards.

The Messiah, however, is much more expensive than the Vigilante. For its price, the Vigilante is an incredible bargain. It will probably outperform the stock reg that you got with your marker.

For its price, its performance, its ease of adjustability and for the fantastic company that backs this product, I'm giving the Air America Vigilante a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gopedidiot Friday, April 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI reg, and stock WDP reg
Marker Setup: 99 RF
-Air America Vigilante Reg
-Custom Products Drop
-Custom Products on/off Cradle
-PMI Pure Energy 68/3000
-ANS Jackhammer reg
-Dye 3-way
-Shockteck LPR
-Shockteck Ram
-14" Dye Boomstick using a 14" Smart Parts Stainless Though
-Delrin Bolt
-Rat 3:16 valve
-Benchmark 45 Frame with extensive trigger work
-12v Xboard'd revy
Strengths: This thing is very versitile, easy adjust, great looking, Easy install
Weaknesses: Too long, Bigger color choice wouldnt hurt.
Review: Great overall reg. Perfect for my needs. The worst thing for me was that it wouldnt intall just how i liked it, so i shaved off a bit at the top. My custom Products Lightning drop forward clears this reg by about 2cm.. very close. Best reg ive used easily
Conclusion: Get it. Its perfect for the money. Best ive ever used, i wouldnt use anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nole16k Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America Messiah, basically any AA reg.
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Outkast Autococker
-DYE Stainless Steel 12"
-Orracle Bolt
-KAPP Drop Zone II
-Nitro Duck 114/3000
-12 Volt Revolution
Strengths: Price and quality
Weaknesses: Kinda big
Review: I used this regulator for 2 years with no problems. It has a fast recharge rate, and worked great even with CO2. One of the best things about this regulator is the price. You can now find them for $50. As many people say that this reg. does not work great w/CO2, mine worked fine (Although, I had anti-siphoned CO2). I only had to repair it once, and that was after 2 years of use with CO2! And best of all, it is made by Air America and carries a lifetime warranty.
Conclusion: This is a great reg. for the price. Go buy one for $50 now. You will have no regrets, and your reg. will be backed up by Air America.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 22nd, 2003 at 9:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BourneKiller Thursday, October 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PE Reg, AA Black Ice, WGP Stock Reg.
Marker Setup: -Black Piranha EXT Pro G3
-12" DYE Boomstick
-White Wolf "Blitz" Delrin LP Bolt
-KAPP "Twisted" Autococker cocking rod
-Maddman "Rocket" Valve
-Custom milled striker and pin done by the certified milling gnome tim!
-Chrome CP Lightning Drop
-Chrome KAPP Dovetail
-AA Vigilante w/ LP Spring
-Clear TurboRev w/ WAS Vortex Impellers
-Centerflag 68ci/4500psi
-Operating pressure of 300psi.
Strengths: -Looks great
-Very affordable
-Does NOT spike or surge at all w/ proper input (like, don't put in a HOT CO2 tank :D )
-Easily adjustable
-AirAmerica's Bulletproof Lifetime Garauntee!
-Very stable
-HIgh-flowing!
-Ported for a guage
-Tourney Cap
Weaknesses: -Doesn't come w/ a guage.
-Doesn't come in Nickel or Chrome plated :(
-This is not a bad in my book, but some people like the regs that have the inputs at the bottom as opposed to the top. I happen to like it at the top, so I will just mention this.
Conclusion: Great reg for the price, better than most regs out there, excepting only a few. However, if you're looking at LP and you want great performance at a great price, get the Vigilante! AirAmerica always delivers very high-quality products; I have never run afoul of any of their products! The Vigilante is perhaps THE best LP reg out there!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

be1498 Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: This is pretty decent reg for the price, with a few shortcomings. It looks nice, and is available for about 55 dollars. Very easy to adjust.
Weaknesses: I have the LP version, and I had a spike that totally unspooled my 300 psi Ashcroft gauge. I'd rather have a reg that mounts the input hose on the bottom, like a Sidewinder.

You can get a Bob Long Torpedo reg at County for about 55 bucks. I hear that it's based on the very successful Palmer Stabilizer. It still has the input on the side, though.
Conclusion: Personal preference, but I think I'll get a Palmer or a Sidewinder.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChuckSplat Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used PMI Reg - No comparison
Marker Setup: Custom Built Spyder
Custom Mech Double Trigger W/ Extreme Rage Timer Grips
14" & 10" Smart Parts Teardrops
Maddman Rocket Valve
AKA Lightning Bolt
Air America Vigilante Reg
Strengths: High Flow and Consistancy, FPS deviation went from -/+ 10 to -/+ 2.
Weaknesses: Soft brass adjustment, easy to damage adjustment cap.
Review: Many people say this reg isn't for CO2, I have been using this reg for over 3 years with CO2 more than 3 times a week. Maybe it's because fps deviation is almost non-existant if you use this with hpa. With Co2, my velocity goes -/+2. This reg has a great feel to it, very heavy duty. Watch however because it won't fit with some larger drop forwards. This reg is high flow and consistant, but sometimes can be hard to adjust while the gun is gassed up due to the soft brass adjustment cap.
Conclusion: I recommend this reg to anyone insearch of a decent reg, its a little less consistant with co2, but co2 is less consistant anyways. Great Reg, but get a different adjustment system.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iTsOnNoW Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
on my sto cocker, had a sheridan reg which was basically like running air straight into your block. Vigi is much better.
Marker Setup: 99 STO autococker. 68/3000 cf, 2002 kapp single trigger frame, vigilante reg, ans phase II front reg, shocktech bomb 3-way, sto a/m ram, super fly bolt, p-block custom setup, roller-bearing sear assy.
Strengths: Hardly no spiking from air source.
multi-ported for mounting air hose/press gauage
Weaknesses: extremely difficult to access the internals.
Review: bought a vigi reg off ebay used. My sto never ran sweeter since I hooked up my hoses to that thing. Its the only reg ive used on it since the stubby sheridan which acted mainly as a grip anyway. Maybe there are better ones out there but im still happy with it.
One drawback was replacing the internals (pin, o'rings & cylinder) because oil damaged the o'rings. I had to clamp it down in a vice using lead to protect the finish and unscrew it with battery pliers - thats how tight they are factory sealed. There are now teeth-marks in the metal but it still works fine. Oh well.
Conclusion: I don't believe in buying brand new regs, running well over $100 for them. Buy one used and it will keep you smiling and keep away the penalties.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rpedmind221 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Stock Reg, Black Magic Reg
Marker Setup: Vert '03 Cocker
vigilante reg
Shocktech Front Block Kit
Cam Adjuster
Strengths: Doesn't fluctuate much, can put on a guage
Weaknesses: Huge, macro line connects near the ASA
Review: This is the best inline reg I've used, but I have a feeling it's not the best out there. Strong feeling. But I did get it for a friend, and it still is much better then the stock reg that comes on the '03s, so you can't complain much.
Conclusion: It's a good reg, and I'd recomend it to people looking to spend enough on a reg that won't make your parents think you're insane, but want to still have a good quality reg. The thing is steel. You could drop it off a cliff onto concrete and it wouldn't have a dent. Definatly for those of you who prefer reliability.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BluedogsV8 Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Preset tank regs?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c, crossfire N2, Air America Vigilante reg, Pb pro-drop, lp kit, rt kit, flatline, big shot, 20 oz anti-syphon & on off, ricochet AK, kaner system w/ lapco adapter, double trigger, I'm sure I have left something out

2003 Red AKA Viking, bs drop, shared kaner barrel system, shared rico ak hopper, soon to have eyes and covers
Strengths: Price, high flow rate, warranty, Air America name
Weaknesses: A little long, position when attached
Review: Upon attaching this reg I knew there may be trouble, too long. Also when tightened snug in my vert adapter it is off center. Hard to explain but the words on the reg are at the 2 o clock position instead of in the front (12 oclock) or on either side ( 3 or 9 oclock.) BUT....... it does agood job, never starved my marker or spiked.
Conclusion: I like this reg a lot but after attaching it, cosmetically it looks terrible. I may sell and go with a palmer stabilizer or sidewinder.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media