paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Phat Barrel / ACI Phat Barrel / ACI Phat Barrel

ACI Phat Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Phat Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Phat Barrel
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The PHAT system maximizes your range, accuracy and efficiency, all in one package. One gun, one barrel. Just choose your paint and shoot. The PHAT Performance Barrel System is available in 12.5 and 14 inch lengths for the Graffiti Series Flag, Bones, Flames, Drips and Snake Barrels. Also comes in Solid Black, Blue and Red.
Product Availability 
The ACI Phat Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
j312cr Wednesday, January 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco s/s spirit, Dye s/s
Marker Setup: 2000 ANGEL LCD with a BENCHMARK dropforward, Luxor 68ci tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used cheap paint with the phat barrel system
Strengths: This thing is awesome! I got the flags and four different inserts they are: .683, .689 .686 and the .0692. I tried blaze paintballs then tried some cheap paint, sized it of course and both paints performed the same AND did not break one ball! This is amazing! Thats not all, it was amazingly accurate! I can't say enough. It is expensive, but compared to all other brand barrels it is well worth it. I give it an A+++
Weaknesses: Just the price, I paid 160.00. plus tax.
Conclusion: A great product from ACI. I bought it because I like to play and to play you need paintballs and to get paintballs you need money. Well, I buy the less expensive paint and can play all day and then some with this barrel system.
TRY IT YOU'LL LIKE IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak barrel system
Marker Setup: Black Dragun Patriot stars and stripes
Recommended
Paintballs:
thats the great thing you can use a wide varity on this system
Strengths: it was good to me, i don't knnow why yall gave it those ratings, yall are probably being bias, i use this and it works great, improved accuracy just as good as the freak, and being able to choose a nice aci grafite is nice too, yall probably haven't even used it if you say such low ratings
Weaknesses: it was great, looked good, shot accuratly and quitely!
Conclusion: whoever put for the good "none" and for the bad "everything" your stupid sorry to say it but you probably never even used this! it says to explain why you put what you did, since you did not do that, that mean you don't know why! don't put anything if you haven't used it
overall this barrel is great! go ahead and get it, you get a cool looking barrel, new inserts are coming out and it's cheaper than the freak!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gypsy06 Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Barrel Kit
Freak
Marker Setup: #1 ANS GX-3 w/ Mac Dev Conquest 88/4500
#2 Defiant w/ Mac Dev Regs and Pure energy 68/3000
#3 Phantom VSC Bone Stock and Lovin it!
#4 Pro Team Micro mag RT w/ level 10 bolt
#5 PGP - nuff said
#6 Spyder SE (loaner gun)
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Evil
Strengths: First of all I like the locking sleeves, unlike the Freak they have a locking collar at the chamber end that keeps them in place when the barrel is screwed in to the gun. That means that the sleeves don't rotate or slide inside the barrel. Second it's a real light barrel even with the stainless back and I like the stainless back for the durability it provides in the insert section of the gun which will get the most wear. The freak over time wears out and the inserts no longer fit snugly. Third the over all barrel profile is real low so it doesn't have the large cross section of a boomstick especially at the muzzle. Fourth the porting is real small so when a ball does break the ports don't load up with paint which runs back into the barrel after you squeegee it.
Weaknesses: The inserts should be longer, I haven't measured but if I remember right they are only 4" while the freak and Scepter are at least 5". With longer inserts it provides more of a control bore and better gas efficiency. Also the lower profile means a thinner barrel so what ever you do don't take a digger with this one or your liable to bend it. Also the inserts do not at first fit snugly into the barrel which means they fall out when you unscrew it. Of course because of the locking ring they fit nice and tight when the barrel is screwed in but once you take the pressure off the compresson ring they fall right out (annoying but not crucial). Lastly the inserts that came with my kit seem to have more of a satin finish than a high polish (kind of like the RP advantage vs the Diablo ball)
So far it really seems to be no problem but I just like a nice high polish on my parts (dust finish is for lazy people)
Conclusion: At around $150 the Phat is a pretty good deal. It's priced cheaper than just about every other multiple bore barrel kit out there and it includes more inserts than the JT or Titanium barrel kits at less money. I definitely like it better than the Freak and think that the locking sleeves make a big difference. Also the light weight and low profile make for a naturally pointing barrel with clean lines (no big muzzle break to work around).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rbuonauro Sunday, January 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP autococker
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintball
Strengths: To start with it's less expensive than the Freak. Does the same job as the Freak. Unbelievably quiet. I shot three different paints. Marbs, Big Ball, Point Blank. After choosing the right insert with each paint , all shot completely accurate even the cr@py Point Blank. You make the money back on this barrel by being able to buy cheaper paint
Weaknesses: nothing yet
Conclusion: Totally awesome barrel . This is the only barrel you will ever need.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" aci zero gravity combo
14" 32* carbon fiber
12" custom products two piece
14" all american
Marker Setup: WGP Sniper 3, NWPP 5" dropforward, ANS pnuematics, Shocktech frontblock, PMI pure energy reg, 48 ci 3000 psi PMI pure energy compressed air, ACI Phat barrel system, System X hinge trigger, ricochet 2k
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs (any will work because of the inserts, but i prefer marbs)
Strengths: Accuracy. This barrel is the most accurate thing I have ever seen. I can sit back, shoot through small holes in my bunker, and through even smaller holes in my opponent's bunkers. Quiet. I can't believe how much quieter this barrel is than my other ones. I don't know what is making it so much quieter, but I like it. Shoots through breaks. Unless you chopped one with your bolt it will keep about 80%% of its accuracy with a break.
Weaknesses: none
Conclusion: I love it. I tell everyone who askes me about which barrels to buy, to buy the Phat. Go out and get one, it will be the best money you ever spent on a barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juit Friday, November 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot 12
Armson stealth barrel 16
stock 14 barrel
OTP G3 14
Marker Setup: Tactica trilogy
Black magic LPR
Lapco Bigshot 12
Armson stealth barrel 16
Phat 14 barrel
Tippman drop forward
Revy Fully Upgraded
Centerflag Upraising Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xball
Visual Impact
Strengths: Not picky with balls
deadly acurate
silent
Light
Weaknesses: Need more colors
Review: Got it for 10 bucks on Ebay and let me tell you what: it rocks!
Buy it they are very rare and are on extintion so if you see one buy it you wont regret it
not a dye but it hits like a dye
They have been made with love and hits with hate!
Conclusion: Buy it Buy it Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Boywonder Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak with multiple tips, System X 2-piece, Smart parts progresive
Marker Setup: Piranha e-force with: hp reg, lp chamber, turbo valve, revy II, considerable trigger work.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any and all
Strengths: multi sized, very quiet, somewhat self-cleaning, nice case, excelent fit and finish, price.
Weaknesses: Hmmm... Not too many retailers carry it.
Review: Let's be accurate; This review is for the seven piece, newer kit that doesn't use the inserts. It has four different size backs, and three different size fronts (the new kits have up to five backs).
This was an economical alternative to a freak, and I'm glad I took the chance on it. I couldn't be happier with the performance. Simply size the back to your choice of paint (cheap paint tends to be smaller) by fitting the paint into the different backs until you find one that fits snug, but can be blown through with your mouth.
Then pick the front you like.
I liked it so much, I got one for my son. He likes em long, I like em short.
Accuracy was excellent, shots were quiet, and I save money by shooting cheaper paint.
I also have a Freak kit that came with my Bushy to compare to. The ACI Phat is equal except that the Freak uses more sizes with less size difference between sizes.
Conclusion: Anyway, I highly recommend the Phat Barrel kit. Buy it and you won't be sorry!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cbissett Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, 12 v revy, ebolt, GTA double trigger, ACI phat barrel ,20 ounce C02 with on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Blaze all the way
Strengths: -accurate
-quiet
-looks sweet
-alright price
-high quality
Weaknesses: none
Review: damn good barrel super quiet just a bit long tho i suggest teh 12 .5 i own the 14 but all round this barrel shoots like a freak @ half the price. why waste you money on a freak or a boomstick when u can get a barrel like this that performs just as well fer half the price?? BUY BUy Buy it, its a no brainer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: get get get it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: Bushmaster 250 psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything to match the smallest two inserts
Strengths: its cheaper than a freak, little quieter, good for small time tourney players
Weaknesses: i got this for my bushy to try it out as well as to give some people some feed back on it, well here it is. the two largest inserts the .693 and the .689 dont fit in my gun, the largest got stuck and messed up the tip of the sleeve. it works ok with the smaller paint, make sure u can blow the ball thru relatively easy as so long as the ball comes out with some force.
Conclusion: i cant give this a great rating, but it deserves some recognition. its not a freak, thats for sure, but its a start.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media