paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker / Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker / Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker / Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker / Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker

Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ballistic Sports

Buy Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker

Paintball Custom 98 Cocking Kits

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Closed cocking system for the Tippmann M98, and M98 Custom. This system will cover the cocking slot of the M98, and M98 Custom and alow you to cock your gun from behind with a "T" handle much like a M16. By covering the cocking slot you eliminate all dirt and debris from entering the gun body. Made from billet aluminum and anodized, this system will last for a very long time. When in use the handle DOES NOT move each time the gun is fired. The handle locks into place (closed) when not being used to cock the gun eliminating all outside movement.
Product Availability 
The Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dead Monday, September 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing else.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom - Polished Internals, Milled Sight Rails (Dye Izon attached), Maddmann Spring Kit
Lapco Bigshot
Lapco T-Stock/Bottomline
Lapco Direct Feed
Q-Loader
BSI Stick Trigger/Guard
Sticky Grips
DOP Pro-Seal and Front Bolt
Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Rear Bolt
3k/207ci (yes, 207 I'm "fire extinguisher guy") on a remote line
Strengths: -Blocks paint
-No moving external parts
Weaknesses: -Doesn't return automatically
-Rubber stopper is kind of small
Review: I bought this because I liked the way it looked over the Rocket Cock. Also, at the time, the only Rocket Cocks were plastic - and I made it my mission to get rid of as much plastic as I could on my marker. It blocks paint from getting in you rear bolt and theres nothing to move and hit your mask. However, you still have the rear part of the T handle sticking out farther back than the original cocking nob ever went. So, if you were hitting yourself in the mask or something with your stock cocking knob, you're not going to be able to get your gun that close to your face anyway. That's not really a big deal. I'd say the main reason to get this would be to not get pain inside the rear bolt.

Problems I've had with it, were that the little rubber stopper you put in is not quite large enough in diameter to keep the T handle from falling back. So when you're running hard sometimes it will slip back and forth making noise, and generally once it falls out, you have to push it back past the rubber stopper to get it to go in, so if you sprint somewhere, then are trying to hide behind some brush, if you forget to put the T handle back in, it will rattle at times when you'd rather not be making "clank clank".

The handle does not return by itself. I modded mine to make it automatically snap back in to position using an elastic. I believe I'm the first to do this =) You should be able to figure it out yourself, but I'll be posting on PBnation soon with some pictures.
Conclusion: A bit expensive I think, they're making a killing, but it works.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CanadianSamurai Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Flatline barrel, 4x scope, CO2 remote, JCT Collapsible stock, and Spee-T M98 Bolt.
Strengths: -Keeps marker clean and quiet
-Makes rare jam's easy to remidy.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: I just bought and tested this and it performed beautifully. It ws a little tricky to install with the flatline shroud, but it wasn't anything that couldn't be fixed with an Xacto Knife. Not only was the gun quieter, but those little clumps of dirt were absent from the bolt. This made it more reliable proven by the fact that the bolt didnt jam at all in sand.
Conclusion: If youre looking for an excellent upgrade to reduce number of times you need to strip it and sound than this is it. If you like having a loud dirty gun, than stay away. That simple.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

usamridbd6 Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, J&J ceramic 16" barrel, ACI Sub Zero 6 stage expansion chamber, Hyperstar bolt.
Strengths: Made of Aluminium not plastic,
Weaknesses: Hard to use with the flatline shroud, or so I'v heard, The logo.
Review: Before I purchased the spee T cocker I read several reviews of his and the rocket cock. (they are the most simailair and thus I will only compare these two). The fact is, that if you want to keep the action clean. And/Or if you want to eliminate outside moving parts. then you will want to consider a external cocker. The main differance between the two is that one is made of metal and the other is of plastic the spee T cocker cost me $37 directly from the company shipping took awhile but i'm quite happy with the cocker
Conclusion: Since the spee T cocker and the rocket cock are almost the same in almost every way except one is metal. one is plastic. air go the metal one is better
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hooha Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
14" Teardrop
Spee T Cocker
Strengths: Keeps the dirt out.
Very easy to install.
Weaknesses: Not very refined. Needs some breaking in.
Review: After falling in some mud in the middle of a game, and being out for about an hour cleaning my gun, I decided something had to fill that gaping hole in the back of my gun. I thought about a Rocket Cock but didn't like the fact that it's made out of plastic.

This thing is great. It's not a very refined product (took a little breaking in), but it's built like a tank. If this ever breaks I'll be totally amazed.

Some people say this makes the gun quieter, but I haven't really noticed any difference.

Complains :
It didn't slide smoothly when I got it. I had to force the slider back and forth for a while before the paint wore off in a few spots. Now it slides just fine. Some lithium grease helped a lot with this.

Also, they sent the wrong screws! (The screws were too short. I had to find replacements at the hardware store.) Kind of a hassle, but it only cost about $0.50 to fix.

Conclusion: A great buy.

It was a little annoying that it needed some breaking in and a trip to the hardware store.n Now that that's done, I love this thing. Sooner or later, everyone with a 98 is going to get crap in the rear-bolt area (dirt, paint, whateva). It will put you out of a game and cause extra wear on your gun's internals. This part will fix that, no problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thehalls Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
F4's passive bolt system (comes standard w/ F4)
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom with...
Flatline (w/ optional aluminum shroud)
Vertical Ergo regulator
anti-siphon tube
Strengths: The Spee-T-Cocker effectly converts the M98 to a passive bolt system (no external moving parts). This helps keep the gun clean as well as removes the possibility of getting any of your body parts torn up by any moving gun parts.
Weaknesses: Instalation: The STC requires removing the bolt to install. This is a pain in the ass on the Model 98 - especially when you've a Flatline barrel installed. I don't know why they couldn't have used the factory cocking handle and just made the STC a bit thicker. Also, the STC requires that you modify the Flatline shroud a bit.

Use: The STC cocking handle does not have a spring return on it. This isn't *that* big of a deal, but it changes the feel of the product from a refined addition to the gun to the feeling that your next accessory is going to be duct tape or bailiing wire.
Conclusion: The Spee-T-Cocker does everything advertised. But it is not a well-refined product; for just a little bit more design work it could have been SO much better!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

141db Saturday, July 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
only stock cocking bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
Dye Stainless 12" barrel
CMI tactical drop forward nickle plate
Pure Energy 48ci Nitro tank
Ricochet 2k lcd loader
also own a tricked 98custom
Strengths: my gun finally can stay clean the whole day. no dirt or paint in my rear bolt anymore! I like the look, just like the m-16 cocking handle. it is built very well and fits the gun like a glove. it WILL fit with the flatline barrel shroud with MINOR modification to the shroud (all you need is a small saw or dremel tool and a few minutes) and it WILL fit with the ProTeam Products m-16 car stock, you just have to remove the locking ring from it. also I like the price. I paid $35 shipped straight to my house from Ballistic Sports. (I know people that paid $30 plus tax for the rocket cocker, so I'm happy :-)
Weaknesses: it is true that the screws use a different size allen, but that wrench is the same size as the wrench that tippman gives you with the gun. also I feel that it looks better with that size allen holding te cover on. so I have absolutely no problems with this product. well other than the ballistic emblem. it would be alright if I was into speedball, but I want the "real gun" look
Conclusion: I am very pleased with this product, gun stays clean, looks better, outside movement eliminated, very good price, overall an excellent product from Ballistic Sports. I hope to see more upgrades available from them in the future.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Full Boar Rear cocker
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker
KAPP Dovetail dropzone
KAPP K2 Dropzone on/off adapter, chrome
Air America Me'Lee 68ci. 3000psi.
Lapco Bigshot, Aluminum
VL Revolution, 12V
Strengths: Covers the bolt
Slightly quiets the gun
Simple design
Easy to install
Unobtrusive
Weaknesses: Stupid Ballistic Sports logo sticker on the side
Screws require a different sized allen wrench than Tippmann screws
Conclusion: I switched from my Full boar rear cocker in favor of this because the rear cocker's beavertail hit my goggles. I got the chrome model. It couldn't have been easier to install. So far, it's worked great. My only complaint is that the screws supplied with the part (they replace 3 of the stock Tippmann body screws) require a different sized allen wrench than the Tippmann screws. Ofcourse, if it was that big of a deal to me, I could find replacement screws that matched. I highly recommend this part.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom, Tippmann 4 stage expansion chamber, 12" Dye Ultralite barrel, Tippmann double trigger, polished internals, Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker.
Strengths: Keeps debris out of the internals of the gun, by covering the opening for the bolt to move. Made of sturdy aluminum, not plastic like other types. It does exactly what it is supposed to do. It locks into place, and stays put. Makes the gun look a little more spiffy. Very easy to install, it took me about 2 minutes to get my gun apart, and about 30 seconds to get everything set in place, and about another 2 minutes to get my gun back together.
Weaknesses: The only bad think I have to say about the Spee-T-Cocker is that the screws that come with it do not have the same size hex-wrench holes as the rest of the guns hex screws. The price is kinda high, but it is better than spending money on cheap plastic ones, and having them break, unlike spending money on something that won't break. $29.95
Conclusion: I would get this, it keeps the inside of your gun clean, it looks cool, it does what it is supposed to do, and it is really sturdy, and will last a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rocket Cock
GTA Rear Cocking
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Newstyle GTA Expansion Chamber, Reactive Trigger, Polished and Silenced Internals, Spee-T-Cocker, Ricochet 2K, Lapco Bigshot, Flatline Barrel
Strengths: It's nicely machined and locks into forward position, looks neat, covers your cocking knob slot, offers easier recocking for lefties, available in many colors, seems very sturdy, made of metal. Customer service is good.
Weaknesses: Doesn't fit with the Flatline shroud!
May not fit with any of the CAR stocks!
The screws that come with it are need a totally different size of allen key than any other part.
It's kind of bulky on the side of the marker.
Conclusion: I may take it off and go back to side cocking because of the way it doesn't accomodate my Flatline shroud.

If you don't use a Flatline, you really like the looks, or you hit yourself with the stock cocking knob, then buy it. Otherwise you may want to save your money, this is largely cosmetic (though very nice).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom, Lapco Bigshot, Spee-T-Cock, Psycho Ballsitics Drop Forward, Air Tipps RVA, Air America Me'lee 68ci 3000psi Nitro, 12v Revy
Strengths: It's made of aluminum and not plastic like the other types. Looks great on the gun. Keeps all the dirt and debris out of the bolt area. Dosen't become loose after repeated playing.
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Conclusion: This is a great addition to your gun and does just what it's supposed to, keeps your bolt clean.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media