paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson SSR Barrel / Armson SSR Barrel / Armson SSR Barrel

Armson SSR Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson SSR Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson SSR Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Armson has combined their newest SSR (Straight-Stepped-Rifling) technology into an incredible two piece barrel design. Muzzle ends area available in several lengths to allow you to change barrel lengths in seconds.
Product Availability 
The Armson SSR Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Joe Shmoe Saturday, August 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick
Marker Setup: Pirahna STS with: Armson 16in, 9 volt hopper, and sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
kick'n (don't ever use big ball)
Strengths: this barrel is wicked amsome, it is very accurate (goods for picking of guys that have small body parts hanging out, and shoots longer then anything i have seen, less than a boomstick
Weaknesses: picky with paint, , hard to clean except if you get a straight shot then cleaning is a breeze. besides that nothing that makes it not worth the money. it is definetily worth it to get one i think it is the best barrel out there
Conclusion: better then boomstick for the money and accuracy and range,and everything, so if you have the money and are looking for a good aftermarket barrel go out nad get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Xcel 14"
Dye Boom 14"
Armson Stealth 13"
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+
22-stage Core expansion chamber, 8" black magic drop forward, Armson SSR 16", 12v revy, Cyclone III bolt, homemade stock, raised sight rail w/Armson sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS.....RPS......RPS
marbs or better
Strengths: --Shoots absolutely straight --------------------->
--Easy Cleaning two piece
--Fires through break extremely well. (dry fire 5-8 times and its back to 95%%)
--Extremely light
--Cheaper and overall better than a Dye Boomer or for that matter, any Dye (cept maybe titanium series but how many average joe's can afford that????)
--Fairly quiet
--Barely ever breaks paint! 1-1500
Weaknesses: --Has a tendancy to fire with top spin so the balls drop off sharp every now and again......this only occurs when firing with heavy velocity pressure!
--My barrel came and the two pieces didn't match perfectly when you look down the barrel but hell......didn't affect accuracy at all as far as i'm concerned.
--16" may be a lil long......takes more CO2 per shot to get it at a good distance......heavy pressure tanks may affect accuracy with this barrel as with any.
Conclusion: This Armson is a great barrel overall. The only thing I would suggest is getting a 13", it will be just as deadly and not as CO2 costly........if your not completely sure about it, EMAIL me.....i'll give you more info.......armson stealths are worth a look also.
Honestly I think Armson still has some fine tuning to do on their Straight-Stepped Rifling but as of now it's pretty damn good. ARMSON ALL THE WAY!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Strider Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth
Armson Pro-Series
CP
Marker Setup: EMag with and without Level 10
Automag
Recommended
Paintballs:
ZAP Chronic is a perfect fit
Strengths: As with all barrels, when met with a proper paint bore size match, it shoots consistent and accurate. I find it a little more forgiving with the paint, due to it's rifled nature.

I found that it shot through broken paint very well.
Weaknesses: Backs aren't offered in all bore sizes... A dream of mine. :)
Conclusion: I grew up with Armson, and will be staying with them as much as possible. Very well built barrels, I would recommend them to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

enderzjeesh Thursday, December 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Boomstick - boomsticks are better
Marker Setup: Stock imp (no mods), Halo B, DYE Boomstick & 3K 48CI PSI HPA.
Recommended
Paintballs:
don't member what I used
Strengths: rather accurate and looked fairly good on my TL Plus
Weaknesses: It's kinda loud
with the hex riffling it's not the easiest to clean with a straight shot. So you gotta get a swab.
Conclusion: it's an okay barrel but if you can afford it get something better like a boomstick or a freak.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rogueronin Wednesday, July 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth, Smart Parts Freak kit.
Marker Setup: Read my profile
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus - Blaze or better.
Strengths: Makes the autococker much more silent.
The accuracy is astounding.
Easy to clean. (I broke a ball on purpose by short stroking my hinge trigger)

Works the best with the right paint, nothing beats it then.
Weaknesses: I hate playing against one - it always hits me.

Less versatile than the Freak kit. (but it is cheaper)
Conclusion: The best out there. As good as the Freak if you match the right paint. So it is cheaper than the entire Freak kit.

Cheaper than the best Dye. More accurate as well.

Overall, nothing beats it, Freak matches it....but for the money...Armson rules.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

osoksniper Friday, January 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14" J@J Ceramic, Stock 98 barrel, 16" 32* Night Stick, 12" Progressive, 16" Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: 16" Armson SSR Rifled Barrel, BSA Red Dot scope, Dead On 8 Stage Expansion Chamber, Macroline, 32* Gel Grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Heat paintballs fit this barrel like a glove, also anything that is medium bore.
Strengths: Accuracy, Silence is golden, Less costly than Dye Boomstick, but more accurate. uber efficient
Weaknesses: Ball Picky.
Review: I have owned this for a while now and the barrel is awesome with the right paint, of course this is a must for any barrel. I would recemend this barrel to anyone who wants an accurate, quite barrel, with the money to buy good paint (Diablo RULES!!!).

This barrel is troublesome on rainy days because the rain goes into barrel through porting and throws off the rifling. It loses a point for this. It also loses a point for the high price. Other than that the barrel is excellent, but there are better barrels out there, they are few and far between.
Conclusion: Excellent barrel, go get one worth the money and chalk up some kills.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 11th, 2005 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Saturday, January 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye booomstick
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
13" Armson SSR
ESP frame
OCC Rear Cocking mod on bolt
Blue Kapp Cocking rod
CIP 15 deg Assault block
Bob Long mini-gauge
32 Degrees 03 6 stage exp chamber
CP Flame drop foward
Recommended
Paintballs:
small bore paint-- marbalizers are good
Strengths: accuracy
looks
interchangeable muzzle lengths
Weaknesses: clean up
paint picky
Review: I purchased this barrel a little bit ago and am so far pleased with it. Its accurate and I like the idea of interchangeable muzzle lengths. You can easily change from 13inches to 16inces. Plus this barrel just looks plain cool. It does tend to be paint picky and you may break a ball or two when first trying it out. The important thing is to find the right paint. Marbalizers work good with this and i havent had any problem with using them. Clean up is a little challenging though. The small ports and the straight stepped rifling inside the barrel can leave little patches of uncleaned paint in the barrel. I usually go over it with a swab twice after clean up just to make sure its clean.
Conclusion: Bottomline: if looking for an accurate barrel and dont want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on a boomstick, get the ssr. You wont be discouraged with your purchase-- the only thing is making sure to find the right paint.....and never use BE paint wit this....can you say soup? I would recommend this barrel to anyone as an upgrade barrel or recball/ tourney barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 2nd, 2004 at 1:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thor II Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels, A-5 Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel/ Armson SSR
Double trigger
Proteam Intruder
E-grip
Smart Parts 20oz Anti-Siphon tank W/ on-off switch
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Dusk/ RPS Premium
Strengths: Accuracy, Quiet, consistant
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This is a very high quality product and an original one because of the SSR Rifling that actually takes away all of the spin on the ball. This rifling greatly adds to the accuracy, range and overall performance of this barrel. One time while I was using this barrel I shot a 10" by 10" target six times from about 80 feet and hit it five times.

ACCURATE
ACCURATE
ACCURATE
Conclusion: Definetly buy this barrel!!! It will not let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson ProSeries 16"
J&J 12"
Marker Setup: Automag
Smart Parts drop foward
Hyper Frame (Center Flag)
Revolution Hopper (12 volt)
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY
Strengths: This barrel shot 6 month old paint like it was new, I put paintball after paintball on top of each other at 75 feet (With old paint and the bag was opened the whole time.)
With my ProSeries i could out shoot any barrel; therefore, I thought you couldn't beat an Armson ProSeries, but the Armson SSR just blows it away.
The barrel looks sweet too.
Weaknesses: NA
Conclusion: GET IT!!!
Dont waste $50 on crappy aftermarket barrel, get this barrel and your save in the long run (more accurate=less misses=less paint=more money for you).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boom
Marker Setup: spyder shutter with new spring nito setup, shocktech low preassure chamber
new micro line 9volt and aci 4 stage sub zero exspasion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs are really good in this and also el tigre
Strengths: percise, light weight, looks really cool, 2 pice
Weaknesses: it is so hard to clean becase of these little holes on it .
Conclusion: it is a could barrel if you have the money. now im telling use it with good paint and take care of it. if you do that no one will stop you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media