paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm

Smart Parts Tapeworm Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Tapeworm

Paintball Impulse Solenoid Optimizers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Tapeworm
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Solenoid optimizer.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Tapeworm is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Hood_12 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. I guess you can get a nice LPR which could fix it but the tapeworm is kinda its own product.
Marker Setup: 2k2 Impy, Evo2, freak barrel, all kinds of upgrades
Strengths: IT FIXES FIRST SHOT DROP OFF HOLY CRAP...... nope... just kidding ha ha.
Weaknesses: one weakness is that the point isnt sharp enough?
Review: Its a well made product. Now for the good part. I know there are newbies out there who will say they dont know how to install this so im gonna help you right now. RED lock tite is tough shizzle. Many people i have talked to said they were afraid to strip the screw in the font cuase the allen wrench wouldnt move. NO WORRIES MY FRIENDS!
Step1. Get your Gf's or sisters hair dryer.

Step2. Put it in the highest setting and point it at the screw.

Step3. let it sit there heating your gun for about 5-7 min

Step4. The gun WILL be hot so dont be a spaz and burn yourself. Get the 3/16th allen

Step5. Gently apply preasure at first to loosen the screw and then start to crank it slowly

Step6. the screw should come off with a little force then get some alchohol and q-tips

Step7. Clean the threading with the alchohol WELL till you cant see very much of the red

Step8. Go buy the blue grip locktite for medium jobs (its not permenent)

Step9. Apply to the threading. Put some Doww 33 to the little o-rings so it slids in easy

Step10. screw it in slowly then give it a good crank to assure its tight.

Step11. You should after it dry's be able to dry fire your gun with no problem.

If you want you can also put the little spike guy in the back with the same silver screw by your On/Off switch. Thats what i did and it does the same thing. Looks more unique.
Conclusion: Ummmm get it? why not, you can chase your cat around the house with out the barrel condom and scare it more? Its a good deal to get guys.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
LPR- better but can be waay more expensive
Marker Setup: -Trilogy competition
14" kaner
overdrive loader
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
-'96 Black Magic
16" dye ultralite
halo backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
halo frontman
Strengths: Helps prevent recocking problems
6 diff colors
Nice cheap upgrade
Weaknesses: Does Not cure FSDO like ppl think
Tuff to get in/out some times
Review: Instalation is easy just take out the skrew under the front cap and put it in (older imp models may require more work). It has red loctite on the skrew so heat it up if u want but i just loosend it wit a good turn. Well ive been using this for about 2 months and i am able to dry fire, and have not had one recocking or other bolt problem. My imp does seem a lil more consistant and i can operate at a lower pressure, not by much but is helpfull. You can get them in about 6 diff colors, barley wieghs anything so dont worry bout making ur imp heavier, it looks kool and is a cheap upgrade.
Conclusion: Awsome, cheap upgrade, it should be the first upgrade u buy for the imp unless u are considering an lpr set
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 2:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DynastyKiD69 Saturday, June 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Impulse
Vertical Reg
Blue Tapeworm
New Designz Equilizer bolt (flush w/ back)
Dye stickies
PB drop with SP inline on/off
68ci 3000psi Crossfire tank
Strengths: Does what it is suppose to...get rid of the bolt stick
Weaknesses: None great product
Review: Not much to say about it. its a great thing to have on your pulse. Comes in colors too thats pretty cool. well worth the 20-25 bucks. Most likely one of the best upgrades you can get for an impulse...any solenoid optimizer for that matter i would assume they are all pretty similar performance. Go out and get one if you dont have one already.
Conclusion: This is a must for your impulse. I would recommend this to everyone that owns an impy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Muffin_Man1356 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
lpr-much better but more expensive
Marker Setup: 2004 Smart Parts Impulse /w Vision Eye
Vertical Max-Flo Regulator
2004 Smart Parts 12" Progressive Barrel
Viewloader Revolution Hopper /w X-board
48ci 3000psi Crossfire tank
New Designz Equalizer Bolt
Eclipse Blade Magnetic Trigger
Smart Parts Tapeworm
New Designz Back Cap
New Designz Ball Detents
Smart Parts No-Rise Clamp Feedneck
Kapp Bottom Line
Strengths: Lowers dwell (makes gun more efficient)
Stops Recocking Problems
Stops Bolt Stick
Weaknesses: You can't use it with an lpr... you have to take it off.
Review: This part is REQUIRED for a stock impulse. If you don't have one, get one now, unless your willing to spend 125 bucks on an lpr. What it does is help out on the consistancy of the firing and recocking. I had really bad recocking problems, yet this tapeworm is my savior. I recommend it so much that I believe your wasting your money on an impulse without one. I even set my dwell 4 clicks lower than normal.... amazing
Conclusion: Get it as soon as possible. I'm telling you... you really have to get this, specailly if your gun has problems with the recocking and shooting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sprucemoose Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 2k3 blue imp,
ND SS hammer setup,
ND equalizer flush bolt,
ND highflow rip valve,
WAS equalizer board,
ricochet atuohop,
14" progressive barrel,
LPR kit,
blade trigger,
48/3K HPA,
maxflo GM REG
Strengths: This product does what it is designed to do, is easy to install.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: If you cant afford the LPR kit, and if you're really bothered by dry firing your gun and nto having it re-cock, then buy the tapeworm. However I have heard some people say to buy this product to eliminate FSDO, this is not true...the tapeworm doesn't affect pressure levels at all, it reduces effects caused by them.
Conclusion: Great first upgrade, easy to install and does its job NQA. Looks like its worth about $2 though. Has nothing to do with FSDO.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball Mun Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LPRs.....
Marker Setup: -Black Impulse
-12'' 689 Freak Barrel
-Tapeworm
-ND Delrin Bolt
-ND Blade Trigger
-PMI Perfect Drop Forward
-System X Sticky Grips
-Evolution II Hopper
-ACI Bulldog III 68ci 4500psi
-ND Fang Ball detents
Strengths: Eliminates all recocking problems, and allows for a lower pressure
Weaknesses: -Misleading instructions
Review: This is a great product, and does exactly what it claims to do. By installing this, you will be able to shoot at a lower operating pressure, with a great velocity. I can shoot at about 150-160 psi with 285+ fps. There is no bolt stick, but I recommend using a delrin bolt none the less. It will help you lower your operating pressure as well. This does not eliminate the FDOS at all, sorry. The instructions are absolutely terrible. For one thing, you NEED a smaller set screw for the body plug underneath the VA. They do not provide you with one unfortunately, so you'll have to find one in youur toolbox, or get one from a hardware store. It is a 10/32 thread size. WHATEVER YOU DO, Do not use the same screw, that oyu just took out form underneath the VA. If you use it, it will thread into the tapeworm, and you will not be able to get it out. Other than that, everything is peachy.
Conclusion: Get it, it beats paying $100 for the whole LPR deal, and it does lower your pressure too. Just make sure you have a smaller set screw for the body plug underneath the VA.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IMPULSE FREAK Thursday, February 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
agressor solenoid optimizer
Marker Setup: Black to red fade vision impulse, vert maxflow,2 finger i-frame,full freak kit, smartparts delrin bolt, tapeworm,dye stickies,new designz slikshot ram,rat hole SS hammer, kapp dropzone, freak factory low rise, evolution 2, new designz Titanium pull pin, new designz back hammer cap, crossfire 68 ci 4500 psi low pressure tank, eclipse detents.
Strengths: Does exactly what it is supposed to do eliminate bolt stick, it is not supposed to do anything else
Weaknesses: Nothing bad at all
Conclusion: All of these people that think that this gets rid of first shot drop off should have their impulses taken away! They do not no what they are talkin about. This is a great upgrade and you cant go wrong for 20 bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impyboy Monday, December 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Nasty
Strengths: I really wish people new what they were talking about when they write their reviews about products. Like the guy at the bottom, he said you dont need to adjust your dwell. WTF!!!!!!!! tapeworm has nothing to do with the dwell. And then you have a guy below me complaining how the tapeworm doesnt solve FSDO. Well hell, thats cuz its not supposed to. All tapeworm does is stop bolt stick, resulting in leaving the valve open. And Smart Parts claims you can lower your pressure, but i dont find that evident, and either do so many of my buds that have tapeworm. Tapeworm definitely does stop the bolt stick, therefore, it is worth the 20-25 bucks i payed for it.
Weaknesses: nothing is bad, it does what its supposed to do. A simple accessory, but an effictive accessory.
Conclusion: Good god, you people that are complaining that tapeworm is expensive, and giving it a lower rating because of this, are freaken psychotic. Its a little amount of money to pay, so solve a rather annoying problem. This is a great product, please do not be afraid to buy this, its a great accessory.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impyshooter Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: GRAY TO BLACK FADE TKO VISION IMPULSE, 12V REVY W/XBOARD, SHOCKTECH DROP, 68/4500 CROSSFIRE, TAPE WORM, 14 INCH ALL AMERICAN AND A 10 INCH J&J EDGE BARREL SYSTEM
Strengths: THE TAPE WORM DOES EXACTLY WHAT SMART PARTS SAYS IT DOES. AFTER INSTALLING THE TAPE WORM I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH FIRST SHOT DROP OFF OR BOLT STICK. THE CONSISTENCY OF FPS IMPROVED AND THE LITTLE SPIKE LOOKS COOL. AS FAR AS INSTALLING THE TAPE WORM I HAD NO PROBLEMS IT WAS FAIRLY EASY AND HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH LEAKS.
Weaknesses: I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS WITH TAPE WORM ITSELF BUT I CAN'T SEE HAVING TO SPEND $850 ON A MARKER AND THEN HAVE TO SPEND ANOTHER $25 TO MAKE IT WORK PROBLEM FREE.
Conclusion: THE TAPE WORM DOES WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO, I CAN DRY FIRE MY IMPULSE NOW WITHOUT HAVING TO COVER THE BARREL, THERE IS NO BOLT STICK AND NO PROBLEMS WITH FIRST SHOT DROP OFF
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silver Dragon Tuesday, September 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: RAT Impulse
Strengths: i;ve only shot with this but i had it installed when i got the gun for a reason. i got it to make sure i had good consistensy and well i do. i can shoot a steady 240 fps 6 or 7 times in a row on the chrono.
Weaknesses: well i had it installed by e-paintball out let so i dunno wat its like to install but ppl r complianing its hard to do.
Conclusion: its a good little add on to an all ready awesome gun. i dont see why some1 shouldnt get it and besides, i think it looks cool on the side of my gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media