paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Invision Mask / Dye Invision Mask / Dye Invision Mask

Dye Invision Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Invision Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Invision Mask
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 498
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DYE Invision System offers mask-vent color combination choices that have never been offered before. Invision Goggle Systems are available in a variety of venting, goggle frame and lens color compositions. If you want to truly express yourself or your team, you can do it in style with the DYE Invision System. The DYE Invision System is sold standard with a thermal clear lens, visor and goggle bag.
Product Availability 
The Dye Invision Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (50):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ImpulseKing69 Saturday, February 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months46 of 57 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a wide range of paintball masks from Scott, Raven, JT, and whatever you want to call it Brass Eagle. Masks from feilds and fellow paintball newbies. Over all this mask beats them all by a long shot. Take my advice.
Marker Setup: I am shooting a Smart Parts Impulse with a new vertical regulator on it, ricochet 2k, Crossfire Nitro system, 14in. Dye titanium barrel, and other goods and appearal by Dye.
Strengths: The Dye Invision mask is a great mask to own and play with in rec ball and tourneys. People have said that the mask fogs up when you play with it, but if you take care of it and not use household cleaners the protective layer on the thermal goggles will not come off and WILL NOT FOG. Just read the instructions. This mask has a ton of aspects like great looks, fog protection, voice projection is one of my favorite, and the fact that it has such well ventalation.
Weaknesses: There is not that many bad things to say about the mask besides its cost and the size of it which is kind of small. What i mean is that if you like the looks, the fogg protection, and the other aspects of the mask then you should buy it. I have a kind of big head and it covers up the face but if you open your mouth your jaw will be hanging out. It works for me and it will work for you too.
Conclusion: The Dye Invision Paintball Mask is a great mask for beginers and pro's and for all types of play. It has everything you would ever want in a mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 at 12:13 am PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

JEDerrick Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months41 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Proflex
Brass Eagle 280 Mask
JT USA Axiom FX-10 Thermal Mask
Marker Setup: WGP 2004 Silver Vertical Feed Auto Cocker
Orracle CT 3-Way
Halo B
Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
68/3000 Pure Enegry HPA
Strengths: Durability
Feel
Doesn't Fog
Customization
Looks
Weaknesses: May expose more face than one would like.
Changing lenses can be a test!
Review: When I first thought of upgrading from my JT Proflex to a newer mask I was torn on many different concepts on which to choose a mask. Besides the feel, durability, and fit, I was judging more on looks, and cool factor, than anything else. I must admit that I was shocked at the amount of comfort and customization.

#1. The mask fits perfect right out the box. Not only did it have a great fit, the straps included with the invision are quality straps that don't allow slipping, insuring a constant fit. That alone was a great plus.

#2. Perhaps this is more of an opinion than and actual fact, but the lens was very sharp, and clear. Even after several games it has retained its clearness. I am not sure if all masks come with a lens as clear as invision but, my Jt Proflex wasn't as clear.

#3. Second if the overall feel of the product. This may go back some towards the straps, but the mask has a great feel to the face when worn correctly. I am sure this is the case again with most masks. Yet I have to say that the invision has a snug, yet comfortable fit to the face.

#4. More of an secondary category is the ability to customize your mask as you see fit. I was well pleased with the selection of colors, lenses, frames, face masks, and other extras that can be purchased to give your mask its own personality. The game timer, and fan, being two of the extra goodies I found very interesting.

#5. The only problem if it can be classified as a problem is the process of changing lenses. I swear the first time you attempt the super human feat your thumbs will bleed, causing you to wonder if it was a sick joke on the part of Dye. In all actuality, the lens changing process was a bit of a pain. Mainly reattaching the colored fram back to the lens.

#6. Also I have heard stories of Dye lenses fogging up on people in games. I really don't know how that has happened seeing how I have played both in the cold, and hot weather while wearing said mask. Never has my mask ever fogged or come close to fogging. So in my opinion the lenses don't fog. Just proper care and maintenance will prevent that!

Overall I am very impressed with the function of the Dye Invision mask system. It has proved its worth as one of the great goggle systems, and I am sure that it will continue to evolve towards greater things.
Conclusion: A great goggle system that has almost no flaws what so ever to its design. I am giving a 9 cause I have not the ability to judge any product a ten based on the fact that no perfect systems has yet to be created.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 4th, 2004 at 4:13 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

camokazicapt Wednesday, May 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months23 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force, jt stuff uknow
Marker Setup: RED ICD BKO with 32* flame drop 12vlt revy and a pmi68ci nitro tank
Strengths: made by dye, comfy, very very breathable, forms to the face, great field of vision.
Weaknesses: this is a dye product ...so whats this space doin here
Review: Now to put all of that stuff I couldn't fit in above. First of all you cant describe how much more breathable this thing is than any other mask. Next the 3 stage foam feels like somebody took a pillow with a lens on it and strapped it to your face. Another thing the vents look very cool heck the whole mask looks cool. Now then going to performance this mask is extremely low profile with a wide range of vision so its a speedball players best friend and you can hear through it like there is no mask there at all.
Conclusion: Great mask even for the price (you get what you pay for.....really).The mask is made with high quality (hence dye). every thing i mentioned above.
no weaknesses.
so just go out and buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 4th, 2003 at 9:01 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

[az]John Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A few really bad masks
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
ACS Delrin Bolt
Vl electro hopper
2 piece smart parts barrel
Strengths: A crazy looking mask
No fog
Lots of viewage
Weaknesses: Price
Vent (see body)
Doesn't cover your jaw area when your mouth is open
Review: I love this mask I've gotten a lot of complements, those people who gave it a 1 out of 10 clearly do not understand what a mask does.
----------------
1) It keeps the paint from hitting your eyes.
2) It protects your ears.
3) It stops the direct hit of the paint hitting your face.
----------------
This mask has an excellent lens (its a pain to replace) (but it looks cool). I'm serious though it took a half an hour to switch lenses.
Earlier someone was complaining they got hit in the neck.... But really though how many masks cover your neck.... (Get a "neck" protector)
From the same review they said they got paint through the vents. Hmmm... Vents, holes, air, they can't filter the paint without suffocating you. Any ways vents, they are there for communication... if you don't like it cover them with duct tape (joke). If paint comes through, donít post it on forums, it happens to all of us. I guarantee paint will go through any masks vents.


(Seriously no offence to any one who doesnt agree, but its a top of the line mask)
Conclusion: A really nice looking mask, if youve got the money but one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PAINtball Ruler Friday, September 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 204 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex-Great Mask, Ultra Low Profile, Best For Speed-ball
JT Proteus 2- Also a great mask, probably my favorite. Its light ,comfortable, you have a full field of vision and your hearing is amplified, it's like your not wearing a mask at all.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
Dye Boomstick 16' (backup)
Freak 16' With 2 Inserts, .684, .693, All American Front, Stainless Back
Pure Energy 68cu 4500psi (16oz Co2 backup)
GTA site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -Eating Paint
-Exposed Neck
-Bad Hearing
-Small Field of Vision
Review: The Dye Invision Goggle System is the most overpriced goggle system I have seen. When I first tested it out, I put it on, and ran to the town center, for the refs explanation of the game. The Game started out great, no fog comfortable etc... Well anyways, the other team had hustled to the town, and controlled the Bridge, the wall, and the church tower. Well me and about 20 others, flanked a small hut on the outskirts and pressed on from there. Well about 20 minutes in, My group of about 20 took a few more buildings and were nearing town center. Well, I popped up to see if a small group of others had taken another hut, seeing through a window in that building, that there were two guys waiting on either side of the door. I yelled out to the group, and from out of nowhere, I took one clean in the mouth, straight through the Vents. That was my most horrible paintball experience. It ruined the whole Scenario Game for me. I had to get a stitch on my bottom lip. Another time Speed balling, I was laying down at a Taco Bunker, and a guy came right around a corner and bunkered me, RIGHT IN THE NECK, from 3 feet away. Well, those were the two main events that caused me to sell my mask for a Proteus 2, by JT.
Conclusion: I personally hated this mask, although I will admit for the short while I owned it, I thought it looked good. If you wish to avoid an experience like mine, then get a Proteus 2, they offer Pro-Flex neck protection, and Are WAYWAYWAY better. If You're Really Into Speed-ball, then get a Pro-flex. I also own on of them. I prefer the Proteus, but a true speed-ball nut would prefer the Pro-Flex.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2003 at 7:29 pm PST
I found this review  
77 Comments - Add Comment

CockerFreak12 Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months17 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT masks
Marker Setup: 2001 WGP cocker
Dye single swing trigger
Dye sticky
Dye ultralight barrel
12 volt revvy w/ x-board
Shocktech bolt
Strengths: Durable, looks cool, has a stock thermal lens and is VERY comfortable
Weaknesses: i can use only 15 words here so i'll list it below.
Review: it's made by dye so that has to tell you something right there that it is high quality. It is a mix of rubber and plastic to give the mask a hard feel so that impact doesn't hurt you but also encourages bouncers. It is very comfortable, way better than the JT's except for the proteus which i haven't tried so i can't judge it. It is kind of exspensive too but this is paintball and you ARE going to spend all the cash in your wallet.
WEAKNESSES-if you are yelling to your teammates, your jaw will drop under the mask and if you get shot in the venting, paint WILL spray all over you face and into your mouth
Conclusion: This mask is awesome and i love it. i would highly recomend this mask to anyone who wants the best in the industry, SO GO OUT AND BUY IT ALREADY!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Impy4335 Monday, September 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, a mask being a mask, I have used several.
B.E. thingy-doesn' compare at all
JT thingy- doesn't compare at all
JT Flex 7- other than the fact that they both protect your eyes, don't compare
JT Flex 7 IZE (brown)- let's just say I'm trying to sell mine
Marker Setup: I have an almost stock 2k1 PTP Sleeper Cocker STO. I would upgrade but am too busy being a student ;).
Strengths: Well, basically everything. I had a bunch of junk around that I traded for mine that was used, so I got a pretty good deal. I even got an extra lense with all that mask stuff. So if I bouht the mouthgaurd thingy I could have2 masks! One of the lenses was yellow-black fade, and that did SO much for my speedball game. I could see perfecctly!! The JT lenses were just too dark....I couldn't play the woods/speedball field!! I got this, and I can see perfectly! The other lense is a blue-black fade thingy. It's ok, but the other is my favorite. The lenses don't seem to fog up, but the previous owner got a TON of paint and crap ALL in them, so they are all scratched and everthing. I believe they were from the first batch or so, because the lenses were cracked when I got them, and I know it is hard to crack a lense. I contacted DYE and they are fixing it for free!! :) I played oncec with it before I noticed the cracks, and it was perfect! I have a large head, so my chin sticks out just a tad, but a welt there would be cool anyway, sorta like a temporary battle scar, and besides, it's better than a huge zit.....I like the way the masks fits. It feels like it is form fitted for MY head!! I don't know HOW DYE made such a PERFECT foam, but I really have to applaud them. My IZE has 2 pressure points onit, so I always go home with a headache. This mask, well lets just say I came inside my house after playing on my ffield for a couple of hours, came up the stairs, as was taking off my shirt to shower when I noticed I still had it on. First time thats ever happened to me. :) The lense had some scratches, but other than that seemed VERY nice. It never did fog.....and I drank about a gallon of water--and sweated most of it back out before the day was over. Florida can be HOT in the middle of summer @ noon! I DID eat paint, butnot much. My friend got 1 shot on the side....I didn't duck fast enough.....but it was cool. The mask stopped most of the shell. My friends didn't tell me I had splatter all over my chin....so I walked around for a while looking stupid....;) overall this mask rocks! and if I ever sell my IZE I am buying another!!
Weaknesses: Well, nothing really, other than the fact that it is addictive. I put it on all the time for no reason! my family looks at me wierd when I come downstairs for dinner witha p-ball mask on!
Conclusion: Overall, if you haven't bought one yet, you should! In the beginning, they were pricey, and the price dropped tons. Now though, people know this really IS the mask of the future, so they are WILLING to pay $60 for this! If you want to get better, and not have to worry about your sorry mask anymore, buy one of these and kick some butt!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scud Monday, September 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Invader, Proteus
Marker Setup: E99 w/ 88/4500 crossfire, teardrop and custom foregrip
Strengths: This mask does not fog up - I'm not sure how people in past reviews can claim to have fogged these, but they simply do not fog. After 6 hours of intense, sweaty speedball, despite all the perspiration there was no trace of fog - I even TRIED to breath "up" and see if they'd fog but they didnt - excellent fog-proof goggles.

Secondly: The 3 layer foam...YES, it makes a tremendous difference. On any other goggles, the foam gets sweated up, saturated, nasty, smelly and disgusting, not to mention, aside from uncomfortable, it causes major fogging, even on the Proteus! The Dyes will not fog, and a big reason is the 3 layer foam - it is more secure, MUCH more comfy and ALOT more fog proof than anything else I've yet seen out there including the Proteus.

Lastly - Periphery. This mask offers incredible periphery, it really has a big open lens that just lets tons of light in and lets you know whats going on in the game - nothing is more unenjoyable than paintball with a fogged mask - its frustrating, uncomfortable and just plain sucks. The Dyes really add comfort and excellent field of vision, which means you see more and play better by being more alert and aware of what is going on around you in the game.
Weaknesses: The only downside to this mask is that you can't use them with glasses - unless you have SERIOUSLY low profile glasses. The only advantage the proteus has over the dye is the glasses factor - there is alot more room beneath the lens, thus its easier to use glasses....BUT- that's the irony, despite more air space underneath the lens, the Proteus still fogs- EVEN with the fan (which honestly is so damned loud I refuse to use it).

If you do not wear glasses, the Invision is the absolute best choice.

Some people say they fear the lack of protection - I say this is false, it actually makes you play in such a way that gives you BETTER protection...The goggles lack of chin protection is designed to make you keep your head tucked in close to your chest- more compact and harder to see for your enemy - Smaller viewable area means harder to be seen and more stealth and more ability to move around unshot. If you're getting shot in the chin, you're doing something WRONG - stop sticking your neck out!!! tuck that head and stop being seen!
Conclusion: The price isn't even that bad - 65 bucks at PiratePaintball- you can't beat that, except for Ebay occasionally. This is absolutely the BEST goggle out there - I've used the Proteus and I'll take the Dye EVERYTIME. Also bear in mind, I'm not even a major Dye fan - in fact alot of their stuff is overpriced and not worth it, but in this case, they did their homework and literally just made the hands down BEST mask available. The only other mask that comes close is the Proteus, and the only reason I'd ever use it is if I needed to wear glasses - otherwise, DYE wins every time. The Invision is the best.

Ignore anyone that says it offers poor protection- it just means they're easier people to shoot on the field. This really is the best mask, and at 65 bucks, it is considerably cheaper than the 85/90 dollar proteus which fogs up! Again, I'm not of major Dye fan, but this is one of only 2 products which is truly believe deserves a perfect 10 - well done Dye
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ragebkrookie Sunday, February 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vforce armor, jt spectra,vforce sheild
Marker Setup: Red Fade (Not made anymore) mac dev gladitator inline reg, angel air, 12v x-board, dye small drop(not made anymore)
Strengths: This is the best mask ever made. After I got this mask the kills started going up, just because of the huge veiw you have with it. You hear everything you see everything and its not bulky.
Weaknesses: Lense is a bit hard to clean but so are many others masks. Your chin sticks out when you yell.
Conclusion: This is an awesome mask. Simply way to keep away from the bad things, don't get gogged and don't let them have a shot at your chin. This is another one of the excelent produsts dye makes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carthage Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler -- Much better, can give some bounce, larger field of view, and easier lens replacement
Old JT nForcer -- The old one look just like a proflex with a more rigid bottom half.
Marker Setup: Black polished Angel 4, Modded EggyII, Scepter barrel kit, uni-mount
Strengths: -Looks pimp
-Great protection (rigid)
-Lens is above average
Weaknesses: -ZERO bounces
-Lens is a b**** to take out
-Bad throat cover
Review: COMFORT
Considering this is an expensive mask, its not that comfy. My old style JT nForcers are WAY more comfy. They have much softer foam on the inside. I was truly surprised by the low quality foam they put in these things. The foam doesn't hold sweat well either making it prone to getting sweat in the lens. The VForce Profiler has much softer and more durable foam.

DURABILITY

There's no way these things are ever gonna break or tear on you because they are made of entirely hard plastic.

LENS

There was a test done on clarity of lens, to quote:

"Most human eyes can not detect a lens for lenses that score 91% and above. In other words, if you have a mask that scores over 91%, your eyes will think that you are not wearing a mask at all or not looking through a lens at all.

So how did the masks do?

A JT spectra mask, with a smoke/mirror color scored 85.67%. A brand new clear JT Spectra mask scored 88.87%. An older scratched up JT Spectra clear mask scored 85.78%. The VForce goggle scored an amazing 90.62%, which puts it at the top of the line of the masks we tested. Very close to the 91% threshold."


Essentially means VForce has the clearest lens on the market.

Here's the make or break on this mask: The lens is a total b**** to change. The proto Switch and VForce Profiler are 1,000x easier to change lens. Also, the way the mask is designed it lets sweat from your brow onto the lens f***ing up your vision badly on hot days of play.

However, although a little unsafe, I've had my lens for 6 months and they have yet to fog. The thermal lining on the inside is tearing off though. A VForce Profiler is a single

WEIGHT

According to What Paintball Gear magazine's test of masks, this is one of the heaviest ones on the market.

PERIPHERAL VISION

This mask has very good side peripheral vision, extending past what the normal eye can see but where it lacks is the vertical peripheral vision. A VForce Profiler has much better vertical (about the same horizontal) peripheral vision than the Invision.

PROFILE

This mask does hug your face keeping your profile nice and tight. That may be why it has such hard plastic on the bottom half.

BOUNCES

You will get NO bounces on this mask. Shoot it with a flatline in a straight shot and make it so the ball hits the mask as its an inch away from the ground and it STILL won't bounce. If you're really worried about bounces get a JT ProFlex. The Vforce Profiler will also get more bounces with the small soft spot in the mouth area of it.
Conclusion: I recommend buying a VForce Profiler (little more $) or JT ProFlex (little less $) instead. I really think the people at VForce looked at all the design flaws in this mask and fixed them all in their new Profiler. It beats the invision solidly in every category. The Invision is due for a design change.

So all in all this is a very good mask. One of the best, but definitly not THE best. There are better masks for about the same price. I promise you will be much happier with a VForce Profiler.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 6:29 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (50):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media