paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye 3-Way / Dye 3-Way / Dye 3-Way / Dye 3-Way / Dye 3-Way

Dye 3-Way Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye 3-Way

Paintball Autococker 3-Ways

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye 3-Way
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The P. M. P. 3-way has eliminated the need for an actuating rod coupler. You now have a heavy duty shaft that will never bend. To install, remove the coupler, install the 3-way housing, screw on the 3-way shaft, then lock it down. This 3-way works in reverse compared to a standard 3-way.
Product Availability 
The Dye 3-Way is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DMclean Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ans, sto, stock 3way
Marker Setup: Pre 2k minicocker (milled)
- palmer rock reg, DYE PMP 3way, clippard ram, WGP venturi bolt, Freeflow valve, Freeflow Tungsten hammer, carved back block, all american barrel and 5 others, air america violator reg, drop forward, ACI bulldog 68/3000, pro connect, Eclipse Blade Swing trigger frame, DYE stickies, milled stainless beavertail. 12V Revolution.

2K2 WGP Sniper II
- air america violator reg, WGP venturi bolt, benchmark trigger frame, all
american barrel, drop forward, ACI bulldog 68/3000 with proconnect (same as on my minicocker, just switched it over) 9V VL2000
Strengths: - easy to time
- short throw
Weaknesses: - craps out in bad weather
- needs DOW 33 to work
Review: what's good:

- looks amazing as all DYE products do
- the rod in the 3way fits the chamber snugly so there is little wobble
- Externally Adjustable, extremely easy to time, i can time it in under 10 seconds from having the rod taken out... literally it's that simple
- short throw
- rod won't bend

what's bad:

- didn't come with set screws and it doesn't take standard size screws, but DYE sent me a bunch after i called.
- First time i gassed the gun up it was really sticky, i would pull the trigger and it wouldn't return. The 3way doesnt work of normal gun oil as most do it seems, so i just used DOW 33 and it was fine after that. Don't use paintgun oil on it such as splatlube, it does nothing, use DOW 33 grease aka shocker lube. All paintball stores should carry it.
- it doesn't function very well in poor weather such as rain or below freezing temperatures.
Conclusion: It was a pain to get it fully working on my gun smoothly but once i did it has worked out great. Fairly smooth, and sturdy, can get it pretty short... with my blade frame a 3 mm pull measured at the bottom is the best i can achieve without leaking which is pretty good. I can get about 2.5mm on a bomb measured from the bottom. And btw, don't listen to these people saying you can get a 1.5mm pull on a hinge trigger. They're measuring from the middle of the trigger or the top, not the travel at the bottom as you are supposed to when talking about trigger pull. A 1.5 mm pull at the bottom of the swing trigger is impossible on a mechanical autococker with all present 3ways without leaking.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2003 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

haden Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Oracle 3-way, stock 2001 WGP 3-way, stock 2003, WGP 3-way
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Cocker. Freak AA barrel
Strengths: Physical construction is good. looks good.
Weaknesses: Poor Design, Worse than the stock 3-way.
Review: This three way makes no noticeable (positive) difference in performance. The only reason I am using it is because I broke one of the nipples off of the stock 3-way. This three way was very hard to setup. It is designed differently that the stock, instead it has three o-rings which allows the hose configuration to be the same as it would be on a slide trigger when used with a hinge trigger. The connection nipples are small and look nice when not hooked up to the gun but are to small for standard cocker pneumatics hose. They still work though, just not a tight fit. This 3-way is worse than the stock and is actually be very pressure sensitive. With high pneumatic pressure it has a hard time venting on the return which means that you actually have to increase the trigger tension by putting a stronger trigger spring in to get it to return properly. There is a very small window of pressure when it works properly.
Conclusion: Not recommended. Although it may look better than the stock is performs worse. Unless you get it set up exactly right it won't work at all. The stock 3-way allows for a greater variance in operating pressure and vents much better allowing faster cycling rates.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JeepsRcool Friday, June 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock '01 STO 3-way
Marker Setup: '01 Autococker STO
Dye Swing Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips
12V Revvy
Crossfire 68ci/4500psi
Strengths: VERY short pull, Looks good, Easy to adjust, No need for collar
Weaknesses: I go through too much paint now, other than that, none.
Conclusion: Many people before said to keep hoses the same as stock, that is incorrect. If you leave them the same you have to have trigger pull with swing at max, and leaks. As long as you set up the hoses right, you will have short pull, and no leaks. You WILL need to retime your gun.
For the hose set up, if you have barrel facing right, from left to right, the first hose on 3-way needs to go to the front of the RAM,(the one with 2 hoses on it), the second hose needs to go to the jackhammer(the largest around one)and the last hose needs to go to the rear of the RAM.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ellerbee4pfd Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock, ans
Marker Setup: '02 vert feed with hinge trigger cocker, shocktech superfly, 14" dye titanium boomstick, crossfire 68/3000, halo b w/rip drive
Strengths: Solid, you can't bend it with a hammer
Weaknesses: Have to buy the Dye trigger rod for it, and installing it was a pain
Review: At the time Dye still made these things and I picked it up on ebay relatively cheap. I got the Dye LPR, Ram and front black srew to complete it and the front end instantly looked sweet! I did have a problem installing this thing though. after the initial pain in the rear to put it on, I have never had a problem with it since. it's short and sweet, if you can find both the 3 way and rod in a close out sale somewhere you can get a great 3way at a great price.
Conclusion: Make sure to find it onsale in a clearance sale since Dye stopped making them and everyone tried to to sell them off. if not for the pain in installation and the fact that you have to buy the dye trigger rod I would give it a 10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ice_11 Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
hollow point 3-way it is a lot better than this peace of s*%#
Marker Setup: psychoballistics super bolt autococker
worr games on off
lapco locking feed neck
DOP regulator
47 3000 psi nitro tank
system X beaver tail
CP 0-600 psi guage
stock front block
Strengths: Nothing it sucks!!!
Weaknesses: It leaks, pain to time, big trigger pull
Review: I got my gun lubed it, aired it up 3-way leaked no big right, easy fix. wrong! i spent hours trying to get the damn thing to work! finally i took it to the local shop... it took them over an hour but they got it to work. I just hope it keeps working long enough to play a whole day! I am defentally getting a new 3-way!
Conclusion: Dont buy it!!! It sucks!!! Get a hollow point!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xadion Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 3way
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics Lightning- WGP STO HPR- DYE LPR- Bomb 3way- STO Ram
Strengths: Looks great- strong arm and easy timeing
Weaknesses: sticking w/ normal oil
Review: This came stock on my lightning and worked great- the gun was pre lubed with a dow33-like lube and the gun was awsome...later it started to stick...and I did not know why (till I read the review below) and during that time some crap happend at my local paintball store and I basicly got a free bomb 3way to go with my hendge trigger...so thats the only reason why I am useing it and not my dye..

I NEVER had leaking problems from the 3way.
Conclusion: Good- short pull (almost as short as bomb)- looks awsome easy timeing
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stewylouie Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
KAPP 3-way
Marker Setup: KAPP Cocker, KAPP Rhino Reg, Clippard Ram, ANS Gen-X Reg, KAPP Back-Block/Bolt, KAPP 45 slide trigger frame, KAPP trigger.
Strengths: Price, Looks, Smooth Pull, One Piece Shaft.
Weaknesses: Did not come with a set screw.
Not as crisp or short as others.
Review: Overall the DYE 3-way is a good product.
It was simple to install, looks good and has a very smooth pull.
On the other hand, it's not as crisp or short as other 3-ways available.
Installation of the single piece shaft simplified things alot.
It's a 3 o-ring design, so you have to install the hoses backward (as you would on a hinge frame).
Lack of set screw was disappointing since it uses a non-stock size (a tip I learned by a earlier review is that the set screws from a standard trigger shoe will fit). Also as sugguested on a earlier review, I called DYE and they sent me a couple set screws at no cost.
Timing was very simple, as a matter of fact, the pretruding head of the shaft makes it easy to spin the shaft on the timing rod in and out.
I've experienced no leaks at all.
Conclusion: Good solid smooth 3-way, but there are other 3-ways with quicker and shorter pulls out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FSU Paintball Wednesday, May 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP 3-way, Orracle 3-way
Marker Setup: 2k2 Dye Ultralite Minicocker with Dye PMP 3-way on nitro
Strengths: Light, quick pull. Looks great, and the tip moves when you fire (cool!)
Weaknesses: Backs out constantly, throwing your timing off at the worst time possible.
Review: It looks VERY nice, and it's got that cool actuating action when you pull the trigger. Did I mention it's light?

It's got a really bad weakness though - it always backs out. I played with it a few months, but it would always fail on me at exactly the wrong time (including at a tournament). No 3-way should be backing out like this one did. It probably did it more than once per case of paint I put through it. Not good at all.

I replaced it with the WorrGames 3-way, the one they put on the Orracle. I couldn't be happier with it. It's not as light (I had to add some heavier springs behind the trigger), but it's shorter than the Dye PMP, and very snappy. And best of all, it never backs out. Problem solved. It's the ONLY problem I've ever had with my cocker.
Conclusion: Another example of style over performance. The design is plagued with problems. Too bad... I wanted to like it.

Get a different 3-way, like the Bomb or Orracle.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supaman5000 Sunday, June 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocker 3-way
Marker Setup: 2k2 vert autococker, 14" '02 all american, supa fly bolt, dye pmp 3-way (duh), palmer micro rock regolator, black magic foregrip, WGP hinge
Strengths: it's really, really smooth when you install the air source... it feels rough w/ no gas in it
if you tweak it right you can get trigger pull down to 1mm or less (mines at 1.5)
its pretty small and compact
it looks good
you rarely have to lube it
and one more thing... soul catcher, what do you mean you have to retime on every new tank of air??? if you do then you must be doing something wrong because i've put 3 tanks of co2 through mine w/ no problems
Weaknesses: its a little tough to get working at first, just use windex to lube it and you should have no problems
Conclusion: a great 3-way at a great price! i bought mine online for $29.95, and its so small that shipping was only a few bucks. the downside is if you are new to cockers and haven't put a 3-way on before, you may need some help
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tommy714 Monday, June 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Palmer Micro Rock
ANS Ram
ANS Quick Pull Bolt
Dye PMP 3-way
WGP Hinge Trigger
10" Dye Boomstick
Strengths: I find it easy to time and work on. The ability to eliminate the timing collar reduces the number of parts I need to keep track of. It looks great. Tight trigger pull.
Weaknesses: Only one complaint; the set screw is a different size than the standard. There is no good reason I can think of for this. I must admit, however, when I sent Dye an email asking to purchase some set screws, they sent me one for free. Gotta love good service.
Conclusion: Great item. Strongly recomend. I have not had any leak problems with this 3-way. I am pretty good at working on and timing autocockers, and this is my favorite 3-way for ease of adjustment, (however, System X has a new one that looks even easier. I don't know how short the trigger pull is though.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media