paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Knee Pads / Dye Knee Pads / Dye Knee Pads / Dye Knee Pads

Dye Knee Pads Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Knee Pads

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Knee Pads
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
From the abrasion-resistant outer skin, to the energy rebound metal insert, DYE Core Knee Pads will give you a sense of protection like no other.
Product Availability 
The Dye Knee Pads are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
reo01 Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Strengths: Excellant Knee padding, stays in place and does not twist or slip. Quality made.
Weaknesses: Dye can't size, be careful of the size you pick.
Review: If you have knee problems then pads are a must. I have had 3 knee surgeries and at 40+ need to take care of the knees I have left. Thanks to other reviews on this product I was careful about sizing. I'm 5'-10 and 194 lbs with muscular legs. I used to wear your typical elastic braces on both knees. The problem with them is they slip and I have to keep pulling them up. After slamming my knee going into the "snake", I was determined to find a good set of pads. I highly recommend the Dye pads. Well made they stay in place, give excellent protection and the snug fit give some bracing effect to the knees. I highly recommend you do not order these by Internet. Go to your local shop with gym shorts and try them on and walk around for about 15-20 minutes. Squat, twist, bend and you'll know if they will fit. I took a size XXL so you can see Dye can't size. You can wear them a little at a time around the house to stretch them out a little. They are warm, maybe too much for some people but if you have knee problems the heat actually helps.
Conclusion: If you want to save your knees get these pads. You get padding, support and they stay in place. Just make sure you try them on first or you'll be sending them back for another size.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zalzal010 Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder e-99
delrin bolt
20 oz co2
dye boomstick
Strengths: very very good padding
Weaknesses: a bit hard to get off
Review: I've played 2 full days of paintball with these things, leaving them on all day, and i have no complaints. I like to kneel when playing, and these things make it ooh so nice, especially at the park i play at, where the terrain is just rocks - no grass. Its so squishy, yet firm. The things even give me some good support when running. kinda put some spring in your step.

To fallow up on some reviews about them not fitting - i'm about 200 pounds, and i got size XXL, and they fit fine. They're hard to take off after a long day, just cause they're moist with sweat. Big guys get xxl, and normal guys get xl. large or small are for girls. It seems they do have some problem with sizing these, but just go big, and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Great support and padding. No more sore, scraped knees. Worth the $35 i payed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MarkmanA5 Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
volleyball knee pads( no I am a guy but they work just as well I tried)
Marker Setup: Prostock
70/4500 crossfire
freakset
supafly bolt
orracle front block
CP reg
W manifold
torpedo drop forward
Strengths: Strong, Looks, tight, stretchy, brand, protection
Weaknesses: No ventilation, tight, slipage, hard to get off
Review: Strong-
I play speed and woods ball but not much damage ever happens in the speed ball fields because it is all oily and full of paint on a flat surface which you slide on easy but in woods ball, there is rocks,tree stumps, roots, holes, mud, etc. so These pads take alot more damage in woods ball but anyway, these havn't lost a seam and don't show any signs of starting. These are awesome in this category.
Looks-
These pads look good. I can't give much credit to this category because most people aren't going to be lifting your pants to look at your knee pads but it is an honorable mention.
Tight-
this can be good and bad. first good, they don't slip much on speedball courses for which they were designed(For the tourney player) but in woods ball every hard hour or so of playing when I find my self sliding and shooting on my knees often I need to pull them up and slide them back into place. and it reduces ventilation and make it 5 times harder to get off especially if you are sweating like crazy
Stretchy-
This can be good and bad too. good, they stretch to fit your knee very well so it reduces slipage but doesn't eliminate it. bad the stretchyness (for lack of better word) will evantually wear out kind of like a rubber band. Thisd hasn't happened but it will sometime
Brand-
this brand ( Dye) is a great company. they make almost everything very high quality and out of great materials.
Protection-
this is the most important part of the product. These give great protection so the next mornig you don't wake up with a huge bruise from when you slid into a bunker full speed and hit a rock sticking up from the ground They DO protect your knees.
Bad
No ventilation/hard to get off
This is VERY bad because most people again dont take these pads off between games so the heat keeps buinding up and never gets a chance to be released so at the end of the day when you are sweaty and hot and tired, these pads are very annoying to try to get off and make your knees very uncomfortable during play but you get used to it a little ( it still bugs you but not much)
slipage-
like I said these pads are ment for speed ball so when playing in the woods they slip. (my hands are getting tired so I dont' feel like typing a whole 2 paragraphs)
Conclusion: good product but just go and buy volley ball knee pads unless you want the DYE jewel and looks in your knee pad
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aglar Saturday, April 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hockey style pads, Redz pads
Marker Setup: Piranha STS G3
Centerflag Preset 68/4500
14" PMI Razzor barrel
Shocktech drop forward
Boo-Yaa E-LCD Trigger frame
Viewloader Revolution 12v with X-board
Richochet 2K0
Strengths: -Very Comfortable
-Mad bounces :)
-Protects well
-Doesn't slip
Weaknesses: -A bit pricey
-Tight at first
Review: When I first bought these I wasn't too sure if I had made a good decision. Well, let me tell you, one day at the field cleared my doubts. The first day or two that I used them they were a bit tight. Nothing terrible, I was just glad to be able to take them off at the end of the day. Now that they've been broken in, though, I honestly forget I'm wearing them. They're comfortable, they don't restrict my motion, they don't move during an entire day of play, I no longer get banged up knees, and I take all kinds of bounces off them :) True, they weren't exactly cheap, but you really do get what you pay for. If you can find them in your size, I highly recommend them.
Conclusion: From what I've read people with larger legs have trouble getting them to fit (though apparently a bit of modification helps here). As long as you can find a pair that will fit you like mine do me, you're golden. These are the best pads I've ever worn, hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gord516 Friday, August 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Urm, Ronin sucks.
Marker Setup: Strange Imp 68/45 maxy.
Strengths: Urm its hard to get on and off and doesnt move.
Weaknesses: It gets REALLY hot inside, its hard to get on.
Review: its so freakin hot in der fer like 5 mins i had to take em off. i dont even know how to put these on correctly cause its so tight and loose in all spots. i dont think its that great for sliding because u do not "slide" you come to a complete "stop". it is good fer u people who are on ur knees but not good fer sliding. i wish there was some venting in that mother. also, sometimes it moves side to side, and i stand up and feel like my kneecap was moved :( bad times man.
Conclusion: I think its a good product with alot of bugs in it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GodRoxMySox Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never worn knee pads before
Marker Setup: Invert Mini w/ 14" St!ffi and w/ Rf chip
Draxxus Pulse - black
Draxxus 68/45 tank w/ diablo cover
Strengths: Very padded
Never move
Very good at sliding
Feel good
Weaknesses: Little hard to get off
Get a little hot
Both don't really matter
Review: I have had these for about 4 weeks and I love them. I had them given to me so I really don't care about the price. My knees feel a lot better when hitting the ground and I can slide a lot further now. Little hard to get on and off but I can stand that.
Conclusion: Great knee pads. Never will be disapointed. Get them now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXblinkXegoXx Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: Gold 2k3 shocker, freak kit, aci bulldog 68 4500, halo b clear, HE bolt kit, dye sticky 4, dye tank cover.
Strengths: Comfortable, cheap, protects harcore, puts a very nice spring in your step.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: These things are awesome. No adjusting straps or anything. Feels nice and jelly. Puts a very pleasent spring in your step because it is an elastic kind of material. If you are tall like me and love to kneel down, these are for you. These are a nessecity for paintball, you must have knee pads, and these are just the ones to get. They are very low profile, and cant tell when they are on if they are under some pants. Very sleek and comfortable, and durable. Kindof works as a nice little knee brace too.
Conclusion: As said in the review, these give you a pleasent spring in your step, which seemed to me like it made me run a little easier, beacause it kindof snaps your leg strait when walking, so it gives you that spring. very comfortable, and protects like no other. i have never had a bad product from dye, and this is no exception. go get the dye knee pads, or elbowpads too while your at it, youll like them a lot. :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

redwolfsniperXL Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
bare skin
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP A.C.
RED ANS Hinge
Lapco BigShot Barrel
KAPP RED-hoses,macroline,pump arm
Red Psyco Ballistics Long Drop w/ on/off
Smart Parts Evolution RAM
Shocktech BOMB 3-Way
ANS red FRONTKIT-the 3way
ANS red boltkit
RED ANODIZED Gate Feed
Shocktech rebuildable detent
red sytem X beaver tail
68/4500 ACI Bull Dog
Strengths: comfy when ur on ur knees.gives u a good inch or 2 in hieght

Weaknesses: dye sux at sizing
Review: one agian i will say it DYE SUCKS AT SIZING! just plain terrible. i have huge knees and thighs. it doesnt help either that im 255. normaly i fit fine in XXL and even XL, but these are for anorexic size people,lol. I like bigger clothes so naturaly i bought a XXL for the pads and they would not go over my knees!i had to cut these babies up a bit but the bands at the top are still restricting and i fear that they might rip in 2 someday but for $35 it was a nice buy if u have small legs.
Conclusion: dont buy if u cant fit in a size 40
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ditangquan Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Pads, foam pads.....
Strengths: Good quality construction, they appear to be really nice. I think that someone that would fit them would be really very happy with them. They have really good no slip features and excellent padding.
Weaknesses: ummmmmm, well I got the XL pair. I'm not that big of a guy. These pads at XL are made for some friggin neanderthal pygmy they found in a forest in Zimbabwe. I couldn't even get them over my knees. WTF? Who sized these things? I wore them a couple of times with just the pad below my knees to try them.....AAAAAGH! my calves ballooned up cause the blood quit circulating . These XL pads are better suited for elbow pads, NOT KIDDING. If you are an average sized or even bigger guy, don't bother. Don't even look at them. You'll waste your money. If you are Mr. Bones or smaller, ok, these probably rock. They are quality, but the just don't fit and it ain't an XL brother.
Conclusion: Buy if you are skinny. DON't buy if you are average or large. They won't fit and you will be in serious pain.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wrxtc82 Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Generic foam knee pads
Marker Setup: Impulse mostly stock, Ion - New Designz QEV, Shocktech Micro Drop, CP ASA on/off, CP blade trigger
Strengths: The look, the design, Dye marketing, their reputation...
Weaknesses: Fit isn't that great. Sizing is off.
Review: These knee pads are well constructed and look cool which are the reasons I bought them.

Dye sizing is off, I have skinny but atheletic legs, aka "chicken" legs. I originally got a medium/large and couldn't get them on. I exchanged them for an XL which fit better but not perfect. They are loose at the top of the thigh which eventually leads to them slipping down after a few knee slides/dives. Maybe all knee pads do this and need to be readjusted between games.

One other minor complaint is that the neoprene bunches up behind your knee when squatting or kneeling. I've seen some other brands that either have a hole cut out in the back or use a thinner material.

In the end they do what they're suppose to do, protect your knees from impact with thick padding and offer lateral support.

Conclusion: These are pretty good aside from minor fit/comfort issues. Definitely better than wearing NO knee pads at all, but I will keep my eyes open for other brands that might look like they fit better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media