paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel / Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel / Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel

Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann sniper barrels are crafted to increase the accuracy and range of your gun. Designed by Tippmann for Tippmanns.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 Sniper Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Ddtrick_Pballer Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees whisper barrel, 12 inch tippmann sniper barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom 14'' sniper barrel, halo hopper, nitro tank, a e-bolt electronic system, lapco power feed, and a gta double trigger kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Um...and thing that .689 will work excellent but the new blue streak (very cheap) are very good
Strengths: Everything accurate, goes further and on target
Weaknesses: It seems like it increasing the sound a little bit
Review: Alright i had this for about 1 year and it is a amazing barrel. I got it for my b-day last year and i wanted it like really bad so yeah i got it so i took 1000 dusk diablos out to my range and used the entire box and 4 out of 1000 broke. It is a very accurate barrel, and goes alot further than the whisper barrel. But yeah i recomend this to anybody who is a sniper or likes wood play or speed ball! And i know some people say that it is not a good barrel but it is one of the best. Before i was about to get it i was nervouse b/c they were saying bad things about it but don't listen to them take my word for it if your velocity is right ull enjoy this barrel. They probebly have they're velocity all the way up or have some left over paint chips from when they didn't know wut they were doing but yeah jsut go buy some dusk diablos (100) and just go and get it just right. It is a amazing barrel everyone with a tippmann should get this barrel.
Conclusion: EVERYBODY WITH A TIPPMANN GET THIS BARREL i would give this higher than a ten if i could
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 21st, 2003 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Digger Monday, October 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Flatline, Tippman stock 8.5" barrel, Dye Stainless
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c, expansion chamber, rocket cock, double trigger, rear velocity adjuster, Tippman 12" sniper barrel, Flatline, VL200 hopper, 16 oz CO2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use PMI premium
Strengths: This barrel gives you excellent accuracy for a decent price. I found it to be much improved over the stock barrel in terms of accuracy and noise. In my opinion, it competes with any other barrel I have tried. The barrel comes properly polished with no sharp edges. I have not experienced a single ball broken yet. Buying a product made by Tippman for Tippman was something importnat for me.
Weaknesses: Threading seems a tad long for the body. First portion of threading becomes crumpled.
Conclusion: For the price you simply cannot beat this barrel. Its relative shortness gives you flexibility on the field - but yet it maintains a high level of accuracy. I could consistently hit (5 shots out of 5) a 2" sapling at 30 yards.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper301 Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Terminator barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Inch Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap sport series worked really well with this barrel, I did not chop once with the barrel, Dusk and evil also work well with this barrel
Strengths: Doesent chop
Nice bore size
Works well with almost all paint
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Not the nicest looking barrel
Review: I have used this barrel about twice so far with my tippmann 98 custom, and so far it has worked very well. Out of over 2000 paintball I have not chopped once. This barrel works very well with Zap Sports Series, Evil, and Dusk. The barrel is extremely accurate, I would recommend this barrel to anyone who has a Tippmann 98. The only bad thing about this barrel is that it is not the nicest looking one out there, but I really don't care what my barrel looks like. If it gets the job done, then I am happy. This barrel really gets the job done with it's great accuracy.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel, it is great, you wont be dissapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I shopped around. I am pretty good friends with several field owners and a couple of store owners, so I was able to talk a them into letting me test drive a few of their display barrels. I tried Stone Cold, All-American, Stock M98C Barrel, Armson Stealth. Nothing outperformed the Tippy Sniper 14" (Which was the first one I bought anyway).
Marker Setup: I'm shooting a black M98 Custom with Low pressure kit(currently shooting 290 fps at 325psi and lovin' it!), Response Trigger, Double trigger, 14" Tippy Sniper Barrel, Benchmark Drop Forward(The gauges on my tanks interfered with the Psycho Ballistics D/F), Pro Team Pro-Feed, 12v V/L, 2-68ci Java Adjustable Nitro Tanks.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I haven't found anything that shoots any better than Anarchy Mayhem(Purple that breaks Blue) and just about anything RP(Marbelizer, All-Star, EL Tigre, JT). Even PMI seems to do as well. I've had some problems with PowerBall and Point Blank.
Strengths: V-A-L-U-E this barrel is clearly the best bang for the buck int the M98C market. It performs with or beyond barrels that have twice the pricetag! If you are looking for a great barrel that will shoot consistently at a reasonable cost, you cannot afford to overlook this model.
Weaknesses: At the first hint of steady rain, the performance of this barrel(and all others I've used except the Armson Stealth) decline markedly. I do not remember the last ball I chopped with this one in the field. I will note that my goggles started to fail at about the same time as the barrels in the rain, yielding another drop in performance due to the limited sight distance.
Conclusion: B-U-Y IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chi cha Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock - worse
progresssive -- pretty close
teardrop- lil better
taso stone cold 2-- o yeah.....the best ive ever had
Marker Setup: --98 custom 18" taso stone cold 2 or 14" gta sniper barrel, chrome front grip tasco sight rail W/ crossman sight double trigger gas through stock w/ remote rocket cock rear velocity adjuster fire star bolt & halo tsa--
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus or pmi diablo
Strengths: alot more accurate than most smart parts barrels made for the 98
Weaknesses: not as much added length as i would like, but good for teh price
Review: its a good barrel for the price, and i would recomend it...i wasnt planning on upgrading to anything else til i got the stone cold in a package deal...but a good deal for the price, my brother is a front man and he loves it, and i mid and i loved, just an all around good barrel .. i would recomend getting it as the first upgrade for a new tippy
Conclusion: nice barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wassup88 Sunday, December 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock barrel
armson stealth
32 degrees nyte stick
Marker Setup: all stock except barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use JT USA Maxim and have never had a bust. They are a little expensive but worth the money
Strengths: everything. This barrel is deadly accurate, light and will never achop a ball. Definitely the best barrel for the buck!
Weaknesses: it scratches realy easily but who cares about that
Conclusion: Great barrel and definitely ideal for a new player who wants a good barrl but doesnt want ot spend a lot of money on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only the Stock Barrel and Pro/Carbine stock barrel
Marker Setup: 98c, 12oz CO2, crossman red dot scope, and 14'' Tippmann sniper barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any type of Paintballs. Brass Eagle seems to do well when it is below freezing. Make sure that the ball matches the barrel.
Strengths: 1. Very accurate. I was hitting people at 40 yards or 7/10 times.
2. Very quite It was 75%% more quite than the stock barrel. Has a nice amount of porting.
3. Doesn't Break paint I have shot over 500 brass eagle paintballs out of them none broken.
4. Easy to clean after your done.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Maybe a bit expensive.
Conclusion: A new barrel should be your first up upgrade. This barrel has given me the consistency that i need as a back player. If you want a barrel that is accurate, quite ,and won't eat a hole your wallet this is the barrel for you. I bought mine from tippmann for $45. There customer service can't be beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

inliner1212 Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, Cmi Tri Flight
Marker Setup: Black Model 98 Custom With 14" Sniper Barrel, GTA Double Trigger, GTA Expansion Chamber, 2 12oz and 1 20oz CO2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS, Zap are ok, The Blue Streak Work Great
Strengths: Length, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I like this barrel alot it is better then Tri Flight , and stock, Quiet Riot. The Accuracy is great on it. But the bad thing that is loud. It is great for speedball, and woods play. I think it should be made for the other markers. I was shooting form the far corner of my step dad house and was shooting a some small brick pale. I hit it at least 10 out 40 shots.
Conclusion: I recommend for someone that went a new barrel for a cheap price 30-50
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sapian Saturday, June 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
1) J&J Ceramic - BETTER ACCURACY THAN THIS, maybe less range
2) Teardrop - SIGNIFICANTLY BETTER
3) All American - JUST AS GOOD AS TEARDROP, IF NOT BETTER
4) Big Shot - haven't had a chance to use it, read the reviews for this barrel. sounds good.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (stock):

1) Lapco Big Shot
2) Maddman Spring Kit

thats it. ahaha...i havent had much time to upgrade it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Don't use brass eagle...nel-splat are actually pretty good..but anything that basically matches the bore size should be alright.. ZAP sports series isnt that bad of a match for this barrel, but there are probably better paints like the RPS Premium
Strengths: A LOT better range than stock, more accurate thanstock. Still doesnt compare withother aftermarket barrels
Weaknesses: Plain looking, bad finish, isnt very accurate compared too MANY other aftermarket barrels
Review: Well, compared to the other barrels ive tried, this barrel was the least accurate. The finish inside wasnt a lot better than the crappy finish inside the stock, and it looked pretty plain. It added 30-40 feet to the range from a stock barrel, so i guess it lives up to its name. But what is range when you dont have accuracy to hit the target 150 feet away? I recommend this barrel to someone who desperately needs a replacement for the stock and doesn't have much money. But if you can gather up around 20 more dollars quickly, i highly recommend you get a smart parts barrel for your M98, like the big daddy (only 33 dollars on EBAY) or the teardrop or all american (looks cool, accurate as hell...only around 40 on EBAY or on most sites). OR EVEN BETTER, the LAPCO BIG SHOT *heh*.
Conclusion: I DONT recommend this barrel for someone that has 40 bucks and really wants an increase in accuracy or range. I DO recommend this barrel to someone that plays woodsball with his beginner friends and wont have much money for a long time to replace the stock barrel.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 16th, 2003 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

firefighter 327 Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock,true flight
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, 12 inch Tippmann Sniper barrel, DOP double trigger,

homemade drop forward, Custom camo airbrushed paint job
Spyder Aggressor XT, 12inch true flight barrel, homemade drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
all
Strengths: DISTANCE
Weaknesses: cant find any
Review: I bought this barrel when i first bought my gun. I played with guys that had these barrels and was very empressed. They were out shooting everybody. I played against guys with j&j ceramic and they couldn't touch me. I just was totaly out of thier range. One guy did have an All American that was as good but ill bet its more than $40.
Conclusion: its a good barrel. It weill improve your range and is accurate. I dont understand why it doesnt have a better review
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media