paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse

Smart Parts Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse
[ View Photos (91) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 640
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Impulse is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. It has a new lightweight vertical feed body, improved fire rate and integrated on/off switch. The Impulse also features our Max-Flo regulator that works on compressed air or CO2 and includes a Progressive rifled barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pbN00B Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months121 of 143 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that are electro
Marker Setup: 2002 Imp with vision i installed, Tapeworm, 20oz, Remote, ND Ram, Pin, Hammer. Evil Pipe barrel kit. Soon to be Air America N2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends what you are playing. Want to upgrade a stock just hunt around for impulse aftermarket internals. Some people say vision, if you have the additional 150 get it already with the marker, if you dont like me, you can get it later, just get the upgrade board and follow directions. Make sure you have a decent Hex Key set before, actually get a Hex Key set if your getting this marker anyway, it will save you a headache and if you ever need to add or replace anything your set. Plus its only like $10. I would also suggest an LPR of some type. Either the SP one or the New Designz LPR kit. Will give you a good amount more shots per fill. Will also allow you to operate at a super low pressure, like 90-110 (this may vary from marker to marker) with improved distance/accuracy. Now, i would highly recommend you get a Tape Worm($20), or LPR like the ones above so you dont get bolt stick, which is when you fire without a ball in the chamber and the bolt sticks forward, very annoying. And a delrin bolt($35), New Desginz has good ones, will make a big difference in performance and allows you to lower dwell which in turn helps the marker, plus no lube. Those are the only two "musts" you would need that i would suggest. However even those two things are a pushing it, but if you dont mind spending a little more, just get those two things, will help your marker and you alot.
Strengths: Awesome out of the box gun great reg, great barrel, solid build.
Weaknesses: Weight heavy to newbies Barrel short for longer ranges but good for everything else.
Review: You want a review about what you get for your money here it is. Im not going to tell you how awesome my marker is because i put another 300 dollars after market parts into it. Im going to tell you my impressions on it out the box. First, its nice milling, low profile which i personally like. People complain about this gun being ugly, well to that i say, who cares? Just cause i didnt spend 800-1000 for a Timmy, Angel, or Cocker and didnt get that wicked awesome eye catching look doesnt mean this marker cant defeat all. Personally if i had one of those guns, high end cocker, Timmy, Angel, i would freak if it was hit with a paintball, especially around the LCD display. With this, you can shoot it all you want and i woudlnt even think about it. Honostly what do looks do for paintball guns any way except jack the price up and get you some comments before or after play when its during play the marker really needs to show its beauty. And that my friends is where impulses really shine. On to other things. Weight, It was not really heavy to me, before i had been using piranhas and a couple tippmans so, it was about that weight. Normal i guess. People complain about the barrel, and yes i did go out and buy a 150dollar barrel kit for mine, but that doesnt mean the stock is bad. Hey some people go out and spend $20-$40 for a progressive right, and SP gave it stock. Better than a true peice of junk like on $200 semi and electro guns and some higher end ones like stock cockers. Regulator, while bulky, does an awesome job, I get amazing consistancy of +/- 2 or 3(from co2 this is amazing). Again, that alone is not a cheap peice of equipment and SP put it in there stock. Unlike Bushmasters where all the reviews say "must upgrade regulator", here you do not, and should not ever. Grips are prickily and do feel like hard plastic, but i assure you they are rubber and i dont mind, i wear gloves so what do i care. But if it matters, another 15-20 and you got some new grips. Gun is EXTREMELY SIMPLE TO OPPERATE i cannot stress that enough. It was my first electro and i was totally blown away at how many moving parts this actually had; like 5. I never had a problem with first shot drop off, as others may say, and the only reason i upgraded the interals was for a different weight balance and personal preference. If your really scared about the FSDO problem, research has found that on all impulses experiancing the problem, proper lubing of the hammer fixed the problem EVERY time. Permanently. Take out the hammer internals, clean, relube, replace, no more FSDO even after waiting an hour and firing. The last thing i want to go over is ROF. This marker, especially with a blade trigger, can shoot very fast (fast as you can pull the trigger average is like 7-9BPS), it is semi only and that is all you will need. People who own electro's with a ROF selection mode i think waste money if they put it any higher than the first burst setting. Timmy owners and the company bob long, for example, brag about how their gun can fire 22BPS. I laugh at how stupid you are for this, you paid a thousand dollars for a marker that can empty a 200 round hopper in 9 seconds. Wow your cool. For starters most tournies and rec places dont let you use full auto. Second people who use full auto are jerks for trying to hit someone more than once and i would say its pretty equil to purpously shooting hot during play. And third this defeats the purpous of aiming when you fire that fast. Paintballs are not cheap as well so emptying a hopper that fast cant be appealing to anyone. To make it clear im not bashing Timmy owners or Bob Long, you guys have quality kick ass markers, but so do I and i spent half of what you did. If you really want to make your imp into a no talent machine gun you can get a new board with fire selection for your imp which takes about 3-5 minutes to install. Go to www.exarin.com for info on that. You would want a Genesis board, goes for $110, if you want full auto.
Conclusion: Anyway, your reading these reviews because your comparing this to another gun, most likly a Bushmaster, or Cocker, Automag, Matrix, Timmy, or even an Angel. Let me tell you, impulses are in a world of there own. Pro's use them every day. They dont break. Its got minimal moving parts. And its price, while steep for some, will give you alot. This is not an autococker or Bushmaster in anyway shape or form because you do NOT have to upgrade this gun with $100+ worth of parts to get it working as good as the hype. As far as the more expensive markers go, if you have a large budget go for em but i guaranty you will be paying alot more for basically the same as what this gives you for $300-600 less. It really kicks a$$ stock. Other reviews for different electros put this marker down, but take a look at them closely. Using B2K2 as an example, like 2/4 reviews say that a b2k is better than an impulse but yet its $50 more stock, then according to their own reviews you need a new barrel and a new reg right off the bat. Thats another 150 for the same quality you get for an impulse. Not to mention quite a few of the ICD BK model reviews have people who no longer own their guns, or are trying to sell them. I dont see that in any of these reviews, or any of the aftermarket impulse reviews. Dont trust this review? 300+ people on here agree with me, and there is a site donated to just the impulse, www.impulseownersgroup.com, check it out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 14th, 2003 at 3:48 pm PST
I found this review  
82 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Wednesday, February 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months34 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angels or other Electronic ProMarkers
Marker Setup: Boy howdy, am I glad I got rid of my old C98

My new toy is...
Impulse 2k3 (VERT maxflow)
47/4500 Crossfire FiberWrapped
X-BoardRevy With Vortex Impeller (loads 14.6 balls per second, not bad for now)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tapeworm
Eclipse Blade Trigger
Delrin Bolt
EvoII or a Halo(This think will often times out shoot my hopper)
Grips (the stock ones hurt my hands =[ )
HighRise
Barrel
Strengths: Awesome gun right outa the box. Serves me well for now, but I will upgrade mine to its fullest (you know, after I win a couple tournys and get the money to pay my dad back the 300 dollars he loaned me =b )

Nice and Quiet, Even stock.
Nice and Cheap, best gun for the price I payed
Nice and Upgradable, even if you only have 40 bucks
Nice and Accurite, Even stock, but still can get so much better
Nice and Fast, especialy once you get that blade trigger on there
Nice and Easy to maintain, lubing and cleaning is easy
Presure is....
Nice and Low, mine runs about 140psi stock, After a lighter bolt, and other things, it will get lower.
Weaknesses: Eh, stock trigger kinda stinx - its all wonky, and wiggles back and forth.
Stock barrel stinx too I start shooting fast and it breaks balls on me, but probably because my paint to barrel match is HORRIBLE with the feild paint I am forced to use...
Stock grips hurt my hands
Horizontal Regulator is UGLY and gets in the way, but I have a vert so it doesnt bother me at all...
Conclusion: Great gun for any player, specialy your fronts like me, its all short, and easy to snap shoot with. Good outa the box, and can get even better. Compfertable to hold without a dropforward or whatever, but then again, its my opinion that all dropforwards are hard to hold it with. Cheap, accurite (compaired to any other cheap electros, spyders, black draguns, e-class piranahz, ect...) and works at a lowww operating pressure. Great buy - Get one today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

db8erboi Sunday, March 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP- 2003s (sexy gun), IR3,2002, 2000
Warped Sportz- Dark Angel v2.1
All kinds of cockers
Marker Setup: 2k2 Smart Parts IMPULSE, VISION Mod, Full Freak Kit, Jackhammer II LPR,Vertical Reg, Undertow Bolt, Demonic Strangler Low rise, SS Hammer, Slick Shot, I-Frame, CP Chrome Flame Drop, 68/4500 Centerflag Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
^^Above...
Strengths: -Low pressure --> low ball breakage
-Accurate
-A little heavy, but well weighted (esp with I-Frame)
-Insane ROF (esp with I-frame) (normal board capped at 13.7bps)
-THE MOST DEPENDANT marker I have ever used (NEVER breaks down)

Weaknesses: -Stock gun doesn't look as nice as Other high end guns
-Stock trigger isn't fast enough
Conclusion: Smart Parts has created one of the best high end guns on the market with the IMPULSE. Imps are sweeet. They really dont break down very often, have tons of good upgrades... I often considered getting a new angel (I have 2) and sell my imp.. but once I bought my I-Frame.. my 2003 and Dark 2.1 have seen the action from the staging area. Imps are now in high demand.. People have begun to realize their glory!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nos911 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Other Electros and Blowbacks
Marker Setup: '04 Impulse
WAS Equalizer Board
Vertical Max-Flo
Smart Parts LPR
Empire 7-Piece Barrel Kit
ND Pro-Mag Trigger
ND Equalizer Bolt
ND Ti Bolt Pin
ND Ball Detents
Impulse Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR - Always a good choice. With this you are able to adjust your bolt pressure so you can get better efficiency, less chops, and more ways to setup your marker. You can find good ones for around $70

Delrin Bolt/Ti Bolt Pin - If you leave the stock one in there for too long then it can scratch up the inside of the body. Also with the Ti pin it is a lot lighter than the stock setup, resulting in less air to move it, which in turn give better efficiency.

Feedneck - I don't care who you are, you are probably going to need a new feedneck at some point in time. The stock one is insanely tall and it isn't very strong. Look into clamping feednecks

Trigger - The stock trigger is crap. Period. You'll at least need a blade or maybe even a magnetic trigger if you really wanna rip on this baby.

Detents - Some people have this problem and some people don't. In my case, I use a Halo and it was just pushing the paint right through the stock detents. If you don't have a Halo, then don't worry about replacing these. If you find these do need replacing, get the ND detents.

Fast Hopper - You will need AT LEAST a Y-Boarded Evo2 to keep up with this thing. Especially if you have a new trigger/frame, look into a force-fed hopper.

Equalizer board - This is by far the best upgrade you can buy for your Impulse. No chops, best eye logic for the Impulse, more features than any other board, etc. If you have a non-Vision Impulse definitely check this product out.
Strengths: See Review Body
Weaknesses: See Review Body
Review: Strengths
Simplicity - Wow, what a great design for a marker. A nice simplistic design so that anyone and there grandmother can understand it.

Price - Only $500 for an Impulse with a Vertical Max-Flow, Smart Parts LPR, ND Pro-Mag Trigger, and Impulse Stickies? Now thats a deal. Best place to buy them would be www.ratpb.com. Better known as E-paintball Outlet (EPBO). You find stock, colored Impulses for as little as $425

Upgradeable - Hundreds of parts you can throw on this puppy. The best ones are made by New Designz (ND or NDz for short). Over 10 bolts to choose from, 4 trigger frames, 5+ LPR's, etc.

Accuracy - Surprisingly accurate with the stock Progressive on there. With a higher end barrel it can be dead-on accurate.

Weaknesses
Board - The Cricket board without Vision is capped at 13.7 bps. Now this may sound like a lot to some new players, but when you really want to start shooting fast and you have to fill up those lanes, that cap is VERY annoying.

Height - This isn't a big problem with a new feedneck, but with the stock feedneck it is. If you buy a Low/No Rise then this won't be a big deal.
Conclusion: I agree when Smart Parts said this is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. If you want a solid performer with unlimited ways to customize it and a reliable marker all in one, get the Impulse. I'll give this a 9 simply because of the small problems it has.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 22nd, 2004 at 4:13 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Badjojo Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
An 02 cocker-accuracy better but also more for the mechanically inclined
02 shocker-just played a game with it....heavy, no im not weak its just heavier than other guns accuracy not bad, if you dont have the right barrel-paint match balls roll out of barrel, same with cocker
02 bushy-SUCKS I have a friend who owns one, they arent accurate worth crap get an impy muuccch better
Marker Setup: 02 vertical reg Impy
System X grips
CP lightining drop
ND Equalizer bolt
ND Slick shot ram
Jackhammer 2 LPR
15 degree vertical reg mount
12in teadrop
ND blade trigger- lighter than mouseclick wohoo kicks @ss
68/3k and 88/45 Crossfire tank(Great tanks!)
-Ricochet 2k-Best customer service in the world period! Nice hopper too
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a new barrel, im prolly gonna pick a new pipe or scepter up.
A new LPR is good
Im gonna buy vision once i get the money<--Verry important the vision is!
Equalizer bolt is the best that would help
Slickshot ram is the best, get that too
Strengths: -Trigger is less than mouseclick with blade
-Very accurate
-fires incredibly fast
-not comlicated at all
-no problems with it
-stock barrel suprisingly good
-Its made by Smart Parts!
-Very easy to take apart and clean
-Lots of upgrades, nowhere near the cocker but there are alot of useful ones, unlike the cocker :)
Weaknesses: -hmmm they dont all come stock with vision...i think that would improve the impy image signifcantly *wink Smart Parts wink*
-Some problems with FSDO (First shot drop off) But its not really a big problem just fire a few shots at the beginning of the game
-Milling is not stunning but its only a stock gun so i wont hold it against it
Conclusion: GREAT ELECTRIC GUN!
-Especially if you get a tricked out one, like a Rat, Freak Factory, Strange, or Adrenaline (OMG THEY ARE THE SEXIEST GUNS EVER MADE!)
-I certainly wont even look at any other guns (except for the nerve mmm that is sexy)
**Try one out at yer local field this is probably the best advice i can give. It says you can get it for 500 psh you can find 399 on most sites.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 5th, 2004 at 2:09 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

xX[Empire]Xx Thursday, December 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, tippmanns
Marker Setup: 2k3 Impulse
Blade Trigger
Tapeworm
Shocktech drop
Dye Stickies
New Designz Internals
Empire ReLoader
Recommended
Upgrades:
tapeworm, new internals, blade trigger
Strengths: fast, accurate, quiet, efficient, very upgradeable
Weaknesses: a little tall, thats it
Review: Ok, I just got this a week ago. As soon as I got it, i put in the ND internals, lubed everything up and took it to my local field and chronoed it and tested it out.

Speed
This gun is fast with a new blade trigger. I haven't shot it with the stock trigger, since i had mine come with a blade trigg. It isn't one of the fastest markers, but it is fast enough to do the job well. i use an Empire ReLoader and I do fine, but I am planning on getting an Eggy2 soon.

Accuracy
This gun is very accurate, even with the stock Progressive. Getting a new barrel is always a good idea. From about 50 feet away the balls were hitting in a spread of about 5-6 inches.

Efficiency
This gun is very efficient. At the chrono it shot at +/- 2-3 fps at around 285 fps. That is great considering that I used to use my old spyder running at normal 850 psi and the fps was never consistent. I am using a 68 3k and on the spyder i got about 600-700 shots. On the Impulse, I used 3 hopper fulls, and i still had more than 2400 psi left in tank. I didn't have the FSDO problem, considering i am using a tape worm and ND internals.

Upgradeablility
Man, is this marker upgradeable! There are so many aftermarket parts out there it is hard to choose. First, i went with a tapeworm, drop, and stickies. Then, I had read on ND internals and from what I read, they were good. So I said, what the heck. I bought a Slick shot hammer shaft, High Flow Valve, Hammer cap, and Pro Equalizer Pro Delrin bolt. These are awesome parts. They make everything better.
Conclusion: This a GREAT marker. I recommend it 100%. Just get a few aftermarket parts with it and you will be set. This was a great investment. Buy this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 18th, 2003 at 3:42 pm PST
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

Impyrocker Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E- nice once upgraded, however, i don't really like the feel of it
Automag- what do they do to this thing, put spikes on the bolt?
Black Maxx(rental)- yeah right, a $35 paintball gun
Marker Setup: Impulse
Mini Max flo
New Designz equalizer bolt(white)
WAS equalizer board
Smart parts lpr
Pshycoballistics bullet drop forward, flipped around
eclipse magno trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
YOU MUST GET A NEW BOLT!!!!!!!
A trigger, if you want to shoot faster than 8 bps
Was board is nice, i really like mine
Feedneck, stock feedneck is way to tall
and lpr is a must if you have a was board, otherwise, velocity adjustment is REALLY annoying
Strengths: Cheap(100$ off orderpaintball)
Stock board fast
low operating pressure
stock barrel nice
Weaknesses: Stock trigger/bolt suck
being fased out
ugly?
Review: Overview: I got my impulse as my first gun, the fact that is a high performing marker that isn't all fluff and puff really appealed to me.

Pricing: i got my impulse for 100$ off of orderpaintball. The upgrades i put on it are, Equalizer bolt($16), was board($100), new desingz feedneck($21), Smart parts lpr($29.99), NDZ lpr nipple($5.99), elcipse magno trigger($40), pshycoballistics bullet drop forward($30), and soon to be a new hammer.

Accuracy: Very accurate, i'm not going to say it was ball on ball, but for the fact that i was using the stock barrel, and seconds paint, it was pretty dang accurate.

Speed: Once i got a new trigger, i was ripping away like there was no tommorow with an evo 3. Once i bought my was board, i upgraded to a Halo B, v35 board, and hybrid shell. I turned my debounce down to 2(yes, i know it isn't legal, i was only doing it in my back yard) and shot so fast it blew my breath away. I was very amazed at how fast th eimpulse could cycle, even with no lpr, and stock bolt.

Feel: Yes, this gun is a bit heavier than some guns, but it is also very tough, and i like how solid it feels. I can dive with no fear of this gun breaking, and i really like that.

Playing: with my drop flipped around, this gun is so well balanced, i'm able to shoot with one hand easily. I am a front man, and good balance is more important than weight to me. The impulse is a little taller than i would like, and i rarely if ever play the snake anymore, but i still love this gun.

Maintenance: This is not a tippman, so yes it does require some maintnance, but also, if you treat it well, it will treat you well. You can play all day as hard as you want, but when you get home CLEAN IT WELL! if you don't clean and lube it, you'll soon be left with a pile of junk, and might flame impulses, which no true impy user wants.

Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun for any seriousrec player, or tournament playee with a limited budget. I put about 250$ worth of upgrades into this gun, but now, my imp can hold its own against any gun. (yes, the gun does matter a small amount, i have played with rentals for 6 months, and this gun made a huge difference to my playing ability. However, if you have 2 relatively equal guns, or even a well working gun vs. a tourny level gun, it is the player.)
If you are considering this gun, and are willing to spend a little on upgrades, stop considering and go buy!!!
I give this a 9/10, because both the stock trigger and bolt suck and NEED to be replaced. However, with the upgrades i have on my gun, this thing is an 11/10 for its price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 25th, 2007 at 1:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, October 18th, 2001
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Looks - This is a very understated gun. Like Tippmanns, the stock Impulse's looks don't tell you anything about how it might perform. The only thing that might give anything away is the pressure gauge on the regulator. This gun is son understated, you wouldn't even know it had a regulator ther onthe bottomline unless had done some research. It's very nice to see a gun that doesn't brag about its capabilities. Plain black, no funky colors or paint schemes, and certainly no chrome. It's about time someone made a marker with serious performance, without making it look like a piece of jewelery.

Price - All considering, you get more than what you pay for. Consider the stock gun - electronic trigger, solenoid controlled valve, 150psi operating pressure, Progressive barrel, MaxFlow regulator, drop-in support for upgrades. All of these are the same things you would expect on markers costing upwards of $1,000 - but you get it all for less than $500. The price is expensive, and migh put it out of reach of most rec-ball players, but most rec-ball players shouldn't be playing with this gun unless they're very serious about their game. I believe they could charge another 30%% for this marker, and people would buy. Needless to say, the price is right!

Range - range is good with the stock barrel. Due to simple physics, you won't get much more distance from this gun than any other - you can only make a sphere travelling at 280fps go so far. However, because the gun is cleaner in how it accelerates the paintball (reducing ball deformity), the paintballs *might* fly further because they haven't been beat up in the barrel.

Accuracy - This marker is highly accurate. Because the operating pressure is so low, the muzzle velocity remains very constant - reducing wild variations in ball speed. It's these variations in ball speed that can cause erratic flight behaviors. Also, since the ball is not deformed as heavily in the barrel (again, due to low operating pressure) the balls are more round and smooth - resulting in cleaner aerodynamics and straighter flight. All in all - very accurate. From 50 feet, you can drop balls, literally, one on top of the other. My non-scientific testing yields 8" groups at 60 feet, from a crouch position, with PMI Premium paint.

Dependability - get one thing straight: this is not a Tippmann. You can hammer nails with a Model 98 and it will still shoot the same as the day you took it out of the box. This gun, however, *requires* TLC. Take it on the field, beat it up, shoot a case of paint, play hard all day - but then you need to maintain it. If you care for it, it will be *rock-solid*. Neglect it, and you'll have more problems than you know what to do with. This gun is not meant for someone that wants to shoot the trees in their backyard. This gun is meant for tourney and serious rec-ball players that can, and want, to make a commitment to their gun. That said, this gun is very dependable. I've not had a serious problem with mine, ever. Show it love, and it'll love you back.

Maintainance - is dead simple. Follow the instructions in the manual - _read_the_manual_! Don't *ever* use paintgun oil on this marker. Perform a lubing after *every* day of play - or pay the price (like whatever you payed for the gun). Physically, it isn't at all that difficult to maintain. The bolt comes out by removing one pin, and hammer is removed by unscrewing it from the back. The valve is removed by unscrewing the chamber cap from the front. Lube the bolt with Dow-33, put some lube on the hammer o-rings and the tiniest amount on the valve right where the manual tells you. That's it - that's all. Put it back together and you're finished. The MaxFlow regulator also need to be maintained from time to time, but the interval is much longer. Also dead simple.

Cold Weather Play - very good. The design of this gun lends itself very well to cold weather. On Nitro or HPA, it would be a non issue - as neither on of these is as unstable as CO2. However, what smart-parts designed was a gun that operates at 150psi. What's that mean? Liquid CO2 can't exist at 150psi, so liquid never gets into the gun, so nothing ever freezes. Also, due to low operating pressures, there is minimal (if any) shootdown during rapid firing. I've put over 100 paintballs through this marker in very rapid fire with an outside temp of about 50degrees - and the last shot came was chrono'd at 15fps slower than the first. Accounting for wierdness - that ain't bad at all. Keep in mind, you can't just screw any CO2 tank onto this marker. The CO2 tank *must* have an anti-siphon tube installed, as well as an on/off valve - no pin valves allowed! If you don't use an anti-siphon tube, you *will* break your gun. At the very minumum, you'll need to perform an overhaul onthe MaxFlow.

Barrel - Stock is a Smart Parts Progressive. The Progressive is nearly identical to a Teardrop - make you're own conclusions from that. Personally, I like it. It's a top-o-the-line barrel as far aas I'm concerned. It's quiet, accurate, and has an ultra-smooth bore. Yes, there are better, but it's way better than most stock barrels. Consider that the Progressive is considered by most to be an excellent aftermarket upgrade barrel, and you can see where I'm going with this. The only other barrel I would even consider putting on this marker is an All American. But I have no plans to do that yet.

Fit and Finish - is visually very good. The anodizing is very good, and the black dye is deep and rich.
Weaknesses: Ball Chops - Here's where I become flamebait. I have chopped several balls with this marker, using a 12volt Revolution. How's this possible? Other people say they never chopped a single ball! Here's why. My Impulse has no electronic eye - as all stock Impulses. That, coupled with my *very* fast trigger finger, makes the Impulse out-shoot my Revolution hopper. I would think, that if I had bought the Impulse Vision, I would never chop a ball - but who knows. I *must* qualify this though. I have *never* _ever_ chopped a ball during game play. I have only ever chopped a ball while on the target range, beating the trigger to a bloody pulp. Cleanup after a chopped ball is so simple though, that it really is a non-issue anyway.

Maintainance - You *must* be prepared to make a commitment to theis marker! It is not for the weak of heart. If you fail to maintain it, it *will* fail on you and you'll be stuck with no marker - or a $425 paperweight. This isn't really a "bad" - just a stern warning.

Fit and Finish - the rubber cover that covers the dwell adjustment cap and other ports onthe side of the gun is little floppy. I would really like to see a hard plastic cover rather than a floppy rubber one. That's really my only actual complaint with the marker. The side cover *needs* to be stiffer. During heavy play it can flop open, exposing the insides to dust and dirt and moisture.
Conclusion: This marker is the best I've ever shot in stock form - bar none. I know that Angel and 'Cocker users will take exception to that statement - oh well. All of the features on this gun, coupled with a sub-$500 price tag, make this the ultimate in affordable elctro guns. So Spyder has the EM1? Big deal - the operating pressure on the EM1 still is very high. The Impulse has 140 to 160 psi operating range - try that with your EM1!

Accuracy, silence, speed - this marker ought to make an excellent sniper setup. Before your opponent knows what happened you can have a dozen balls on them. Not that I advocate spraying someone down - but you could.

Affordability! A base Impulse is under $500 at most retailers. If you want a Vision - it might cost you $650. No doubt - the best price/performance ratio of any marker out there.

If you want upgrades, you can get upgrades. Barrel, trigger jobs, upgraded controller boards, Vision eye, air assist hoppers, delrin bolts, whatever - you can find it. However - the stock marker is pretty darn good!

Hands down - the finest marker for under $500. This gun raises the bar in performance and price, and other manufacturers are playing catch-up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

saltilance Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2001 lcd angel, 2003 bushmaster
Marker Setup: e-mag, chrome ule body, freak w/AA front, 68/4500 pmi pure energy, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, tapeworm, new bolt, lpr of some type, new hammer, definately new trigger, new grips, almost everything on the marker.
Strengths: Its easily upgraded.
Weaknesses: It really wasn't good stock.
Review: Well I got this marker from a shop after reading some reviews and doing my research and shooting the marker a few times. I decided, hey this marker isn't so bad. but then after playing with it for a few months I was thoroughly disappointed. I was getting +-20fps over the chrono. Absolutely unacceptable. I looked at the reg, seemed ok, fiddled with the dwell a little bit just incase, and it didn't do anything, and then I whiped all the grease off the bolt after my buddy recommended it, and it tightened up to +-10 fps. Still not great, and the paint/barrel match didn't seem all that bad either, coudn't have been a whole lot better but the balls were curving every which way. the marker also chopped more than my old mag classic without LX, and I'm not exaggerating at all. I chopped 3+ times a day and i'm not that fast on triggers either so I doubt it was me. Also, with the tapeworm and upgraded internals, I still got horrible FSDO. very annoying the microswitch just completely fell off one afternoon, i couldn't believe it. I called SP and left a message with my number since they didn't pick up the phone during working hours, and never got a call back. I called them again and they put me on hold and hung up on me. Thanks a lot SP. Then i finally got them to talk on the phone and i got my marker mailed in. I got it back about 3 weeks later, and it still didn't work. they mailed it back with another bad board!! I couldn't believe it. I went to a local shop out of frustration and just paid 75 dollars so I could buy a new board and have them put it in, and they did it right. BUT SP did relube my whole marker and maxflow while they had it though....thanks? Then soon after getting my board fixed, the feedneck decided to fall off. but by that point I really didn't give care anymore, I was getting ready to throw the thing in the trash anyways and was happier with the performance of my pirhana. the consistency never was better than +-10 fps on the imp, and I knew how to maintain a marker, I lubed the reg and everything appropriately. But somehow, I found a guy to buy my imp for 400....I don't know why, but thats what he wanted. But the first day he tried to play with it the regulator leaked like crazy. haha not my problem, I had a different, better gun.
Conclusion: This is probably the worst electro I've ever used. Think about it, your paying 400-450 for a marker that has one of the worst, sloppiest stock triggers, is very tempermental, has a heavy not so great stock bolt, the regulator has all kinds of problems, requires an expensive "special" grease, suffers from horrible FSDO, and doesn't even come with decent grips. if you upgrade this marker a lot it can be a good marker potentially I guess. I shot some bushmasters a few days ago and realized how under rated they are, they are much more refined and much better stock than any impulse, hands down. they require much less maintenance too. For 450 dollars, you'd be much better off getting an omen or bushy, seriously, this gun is such a rip off. I realize I mightve just had bad luck and had a lemon or something, but even if it never broke, I couldn't possibly give it above an 8 and I think most of you people are very wrong in giving this a marker a 10. Even for the money this marker does not rate a 10 because it has horrible grips, a horrible trigger and FSDO, and an even worse company for support. It doesn't even come with an LPR. This marker is such a joke, there are other markers out there, that for the money, are so much better. I think people buy this marker for the name maybe?
I don't know. 5 years ago, an imp might've seemed like a good deal for 450, when all other electros were 800+, and there weren't too many choices out there, but nowadays, give me a break. if they sold it for 250 or 300 it'd be more acceptable. you can get an omen or bushmaster or a ule custom for around 400 and have much better quality and require MUCH fewer upgrades.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 7:27 pm PST
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

nordic Sunday, February 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster, Shockers, A-5's, A few Angels, Matrix, Mags, Cockers, Etc.
Marker Setup: 2k2 Custom Built Impulse, 14" Dye Ultralite, CP Drop, Vert Max Flo, Tapeworm, ND Slik Shot, Blade Trigger, ND Low Rise, SP Voodoo Delrin Bolt, 88/3k Pure Energy Tank Halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Fast Hopper is all you really need.
Strengths: Speed, Low maintenance, Accuracy, Reliability.
Weaknesses: Efficiency, this can be fixed with a LPR which will help the kick and accuracy.
Review: I waited 6 months to write my full review on the Impulse. After 4-6 cases of paint and numerous hours upon hours of play in all conditions I've come to a conclusion. Wow. For the price of this gun its awesome. I can't complain the good far outweigh the bad. Some people will say they are unreliable but I haven't even had to clean mine yet! I have slid into bunkers in a half foot of mud and it keeps ticking. Just whipe it off with a cloth and it was all ready. It's easy to use everythings electronic but not complex at all! Just a few clicks and your set with whatever you want. The gun is really tournament ready out of the box. It comes with a SP Progressive which is one of the best stock barrels you could want. The Impulse is very upgradeable and there are so many to chose from. I've had a ton of fun shooting it and would highly reccomend it. For the price you can't get any better.
Conclusion: This is a great great gun! Get it if you have the money. if your looking at markers in its price range then stop and think Impulse. Sleep Impulse. Live Impulse. You won't regret it down to the last dime.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 1st, 2003 at 8:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media