paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse

Smart Parts Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse
[ View Photos (91) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 640
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Impulse is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. It has a new lightweight vertical feed body, improved fire rate and integrated on/off switch. The Impulse also features our Max-Flo regulator that works on compressed air or CO2 and includes a Progressive rifled barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
AyE_JizzLE Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader lynx- great begginer gun very light and cheap MY FIRST GUN
bob long milenium- sucks don't buy it its like a spyder but more expensive bad performance
pirhanna evo- good gun for the price, can go 17 bps with right trigger skills
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse (check it out its pic 29,30 its the ones with a flag)
LPR-red
dew designs trigger-red
hedlockfeedneck-red
freak Jr- barrel kit
JT USA- 3000 psi
shocktech bolt-silver
the freak handles
CP regulator-red
CP rail-red
CP ASA on/off-red
Halo B w/ rip drive- Black Z-Board
Dye invision googles- blue to black fade
Cricket Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, bolt, regulator, and feed neck
Strengths: operating on low pressure, MAX FLO reg., price
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I reccomend impulse to people who want to upgrade their gun but only have 700 to spend and want a really fast gun. My suggestion to u is to get a new board and barrel thats all you need. The impulse is a great air ball machine once u trick this thing out. the trigger is very senstive and when u put a LPR you can set the PSI to 80 and get effient shots out of it. This makes the marker quieter and at the same time theres no recoil and get more shots out of your tanks.
Conclusion: impulse is a great gun too trick out since instead of buying a bob long you can get this for 450 and trick it out for 700 saving you hundreds of dollars and it works the same.
its great even without vision doesn't chop balls and a great price for a SP
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trek150 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom, WGP Outkast, WGP E-Orracle, Roughneck Impulse, RJR impulse, Spyders, Bushmaster BKO
Marker Setup: 2003 Impulse
2004 Dye Sticky Grips
Fireball Mountain Bolt
Fireball Mountain Choke Chain Low rise
PE Blade Trigger
Smart Parts Tape Worm
New Designz Standard Drop
Egg 2 w/ Y Board
Crossfire 68/3000 Fiber wrapper tank
Jt Usa bottle cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely new grips, low rise and a trigger, a bolt helps alot, drop forward and I had to buy a faster loader than my Empire Reloader.
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Accurate
Easy to Maintain
Built Well
Looks Nice
Used by Pros
Weaknesses: Had chopping issue with a slow hopper
I wish it was a little more efficient
Review: I had this gun on CO2 for a while, which worked out pretty well. I would recommend using until you can get Nitrogen. The only problem with Co2, is when I would rip on it the max flow would get pretty cold, but thats it. When I first got Nitrogen, my gun started chopping. It turned out just to be my hopper, so I bought a Egg and it works perfect.

As far as accuracy, I believe its the same as cockers. Cockers can shoot farther though, but i don't think they are any more accurate. I have shot an Outkast, E-Orracle and a totally custom cocker and I think Impulses are just as accurate. The imp really shoots fast, so be careful you don't blow all your paint in a game. The air efficiency is great on 20 oz Co2, you get about a 1000-1100 shots. With my 68/3000 i get about 860. I could get about 1200 with an LPR and a New Designz Hammer assembly. You basically need new grips and a new trigger, the stock ones are terrible. I didn't notice a difference in performance with a tapeworm, so i don't know it that helped. Its also extremely easy to maintain.
Conclusion: I love this gun, and I would recommend it to any one over any cocker, except maybe one with an e-blade. This is a great gun for a player looking to start playing in tourneys.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingman89 Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian Creek 2004 BKO
Marker Setup: impulse, max flo regulater, 14 inch progressive barrel, blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt
Strengths: accurate, quiet, light, fast, easy to maintain
Weaknesses: stock bolt really sux
Review: i just bought this thing and i must say i love it! i played with it last sunday and it was awesome! when i was done i go home to show my friends and the stock bolt jammed up. so i took it out and looked inside to see if there was anything in there that was causing it to do that and there was nothing. so i asked a friend of mine that has the exact same gun and he told me just to buy anew bolt because he had the same problem with his and he just bought a new bolt and it fixed everything. but this gun is awesome! i have my trigger pull set to less than a milimeter. its really easy to take care of too. the only thing u really have to clean is the bolt.
Conclusion: all i have to say is that u should definetly buy this gun if u are looking for a good marker. just buy a different bolt because the stock one really isnt that good.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 23rd, 2004 at 3:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Over the last 12 years I've played with.....PGP pump, Tracer pump, Spyder, Model 98, Piranha, 2 Autocockers, and now an Impulse.
Marker Setup: Stock gun, 12 volt revolution hopper, and two CO2 tanks with antisiphon tubs and on/off values.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You really don't need to go out and waste any money on upgrades. The barrel, regulator, and small drop forward on the new releases are excellent and don't need to be replaced. It's been my experience over the last 12 years that it's very easy to waste a ton of money on "upgrades" that don't do anything or don't do enough to be worth what I spent on them.....listen up young guys and don't make that same mistake. Lots of paintball manufacturers are always looking for more ways to get more of your hard earned money -- so always be a little skeptical when you're considering buying "upgrades". I'm not saying don't ever buy any upgrades at all....just be very cautious and very well informed before you buy.
Strengths: It shoots fast. You can't short-stroke the trigger (short-stroke the trigger and chop paint, like with Autocockers and Automags). You can shoot as fast as anyone else on the field, except the guys with the Angels. Being able to shoot extremely fast without short-stroking the trigger was the main reason why I bought this gun -- I played with two different Autocockers for a long time and could never get used to their trigger. The gun seems to be very reliable -- I've played with mine 7 times now and haven't had any problems. Two of those times were during below zero temperatures while running CO2 and the gun didn't even flinch - unbelievable! I've never seen a gun handle CO2 so well, especially in cold weather.
Weaknesses: My impulse seems to be a TINY (almost unnoticeable) bit less accurate than my old Autocockers. But in my opinion, the ability to shoot so much more paint so much faster more than makes up for a very small loss of accuracy -- "accuracy by volume."
Conclusion: If you want an awesome, reliable, electro.....and you don't' want to blow your life savings on an Angel.....and you don't want to have to buy a nitrogen tank right away.....I'd suggest you take a serious look at the Impulse.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impyguy101 Friday, September 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. I test-drove a WGP Black-Magic with the E-Blade, but the Impy is better
Marker Setup: 2K3 Black Impulse
Horizontal Reg
Gadget Gas-Thru-Grip
Progressive Barrel
12v Revvy
45/4500 Compress Air Tank
Blue Tapeworm
DYE Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
TapeWorm definately!
Hold off on a new barrel for a while. The Progressive is MORE than satisfying.
New grips, the stock ones SUCK!(no offense to you, Smart-Parts!)
Good Agitated Hopper - you gotta keep up with the AWESOME trigger pull.
Strengths: Fast
Affordable
Easily upgraded
Solid marker
EXTREMELY QUIET!!
its easy to walk.
Weaknesses: A little heavy
problems with FSDO(first shot drop off)
Review: Extremely good and solid marker. I would choose this gun over an Intimidator ANY DAY!
Just MAKE SURE YOU GET A TAPEWORM!!

I would and will recommend it to anyone and everyone who is looking for a solid electro at an affordable price.

AWESOME GUN!!!

GET IT!!!

Go TO SMARTPARTS WEBSITE AND BUY ONE RIGHT NOW!!!!
Conclusion: A man once said 4 words that made me buy this specific marker. those words were "Perfect for the Price". I completely agree
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 6th, 2003 at 12:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts shocker- nearly a head to head match on this one you either go for the larger size and weight with longer range. or smaller size and lower weight with a bit less range.
Marker Setup: Smart parts impluse satin purple with gas threw grip (no gadget wich is HIGHLY over rated but on that game stock on it). Cp flame drop forward blade trigger and soon to have delerian internals.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, the progressive is smartparts lower end barrel, it gets the job done but not as well as say a freak or bomey. A new trigger isn't a must but it will make a substancial diffrence. I also sugest getting a new bolt (delerian [sp]) to cut back on the kick.
Strengths: To simply state it this gun i shte best gun for the money, period. I got my setup with upgrades listed about for under $600 BRAND NEW. Other guns such as the bush master and matrix offer simmaler performace as the impules and granted in most cases better peformance but you'll end up paying allmost $1000 dollars to get it at a level that the impulse gets to at 600 bucks.

The impy runs extreamly well on CO2 due to it's top of the line regulator included, Smart Parts Max Flo, with a constant volociety of +/-4-5 fps. It dose run well on N2 as well and will give you insane consistances with your FPS but with no shutdown all weather performance and littel to no spikes I see no reason why you wouldn't run CO2.

Rate of fire: This baby really cranks them out! with the right trigger job (under a mouce click )and finger you can get this gun easly fireing faster than a shocker (the board on the shocker caps it off a 13 I think, I maybe wrong ) and as fast as a matrix on feild conditions (i.e. no computer firing it).

Consistoncy: as I sadi before no shut down no spikes no heavy feild matnace. If your tired of stitting out every other game becuase your cocker is throwing a hissy fit go for the impy. The littel mantance it needs takes under 1/2 an hour and all ya got to do is greae the bolt and hammer. But I sugest giving it a more thorow cleaning after a case or two.

It looks awsome, the older imppys were ugly....but recently they received a new mill job and (although mine isn't) the custom impulses are to die for (TKO, TOXIC)

Cost like I said before 600 bucks and I don;t have to spend a dime on an upgrade other than a berral for the rest of it's life and judging how it's holding up for me now that will be a long long time.

Customer service alot of people have beef with smart parts and I can understand why, but I live about 1 hour away from their HQ and whenever I call ahead and make sure they have a tech in I have no problems (only brought it in to be timmed).
Weaknesses: well it all can;t be good can it?

Range: stock berral on this thing really makes the balls drop fast, if your looking for range go for the coker or shocker. But I'll see how it will fair with a new barrel and bolt.

Kick: if you test fire it at the feild you might not notice it at first but after a day of play making tricky shot one handed on one foot between the legs to googel that dude with the angel, you'll start to notice that the gun kicks considerbly but with a srop foward this is reduced greatly. To completely solve this problem slap on a new plastic type bolt.

Hieght: people complane how tall it is but it is not a factor for me. Admittaly it dose stand much taller than your avrage gun (wish I had a mesurement for you) but how often do you go over the top? After at least 10 (working at a feild is great :o) days of play with it I have not been hit in the gun once.

Conclusion: Form your own opion on this one guys from what I said but I would hgave to say this is top of the line and a deffant buy for the guy who can't spen the grand on an excalabure or a tricked matrix.

Although it is defently worth a ten I'm not giving it one because of the (small amount) of upgrades needed to make it solid. Also when I see the spyder Tl with a 9.8 rating it makes me sick (I have one), it's not a 9.8 it's a 6 or 5......I wish they had like a experance limmit or something....oh yhea I'm writing a reveiw ain't I...

Get it, love it, sell your other guns for paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2kturbo Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
adrenalin angel,emag,shocker,viking,nasty impulse,2nd batch 2k impulse
there is no comparison every other marker ive owned has been a pleasure to play with the imps on the other hand gave me nothing but frustration.
Marker Setup: wased/aced 2k3 viking
Recommended
Upgrades:
I bought the 2k brand new and the nasty used
nasty's valve was defective and they refused to fix it
2k just literally fell apart in my hands after 2 weeks of use
Strengths: compared to other markers the imp has no strengths over another true electro
Weaknesses: feed neck strips easily
maxflo leaks
no lpr
sloppy trigger
inefficient
capped at 13bps
Review: I have owned 2 imps both let me down big time.
Both stripped their feed necks
triggers were horrible compared to other markers trigger frame designs such as trix and angels
Had the bolt pin fly out the first day. Called smart parts and they charged for a replacement pin. The gun was only 2 weeks old at the time.
Whenever I went to play with the imps they were fine for the first game but after that they just ceased to function properly.
With the nasty the valve would get stuck forward leaving me stranded in play.
Its just a flat out horrible gun. If you like the feel of an imp buy a bushmaster it is a much higher quality marker.
Conclusion: DON'T BUY IT
Its unreliable and reliability is always the most important aspect of any marker
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 6:54 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

SPImPuLsEDude Sunday, June 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
(not similar at all but who cares)
My maxed out spyder rodeo(pretty good gun for a sypder but i upgraded it alot)
04 WGP Vertical Autococker(most acurate out of all my 3 guns but not as fast)
Marker Setup: 2k3 sp Impulse w/magnetic blade triger and cricket bord,
Dead On drop
48/3000 pure energy N2 tankw/ dye cover
EGG2
progresive barrel
SP impulse tapeworm
locking screw feed nek
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would def recomend a big drop to level the weight
tapeworm so if u dry fire the bolt wont lok up and all ur air comes out, new detents after awhile of use cuz itl start to chop or just get a WAS bord u can get vision but it doesnt see dark paint, freak kit (im savin up for one) u should too and a new feed nek
Strengths: Very easy to clean
Fast
Reliable on the field
Weaknesses: Heavy, Dry fire lock up (tapeworm will solve)
Review: well wen i first got it i got it from a friend and boy was this gun in bad shape so i cleaned it and oiled it up and stuff and took it to the bak yrd and started shootin all good the ran out of paint and the bolt locked up and air started shootin out off the barel so i called G's paintball shop and the techy said i need a tapeworm so i went and got it went to the field the next day and boy was i amazed. I went threw hoper after hoper and it was shootin pretty acurate and the choping was low and all the paople that were there were lookin at and stuff sayin it was a nice gun which it is the gun is a tough gun to i accidently droped it off my computer desk and it hit my hard wood floors and i was woried sumthin was broken took it out shot it some nothin wrong

I LOVE MY IMPULSE
Conclusion: the impulse is a very nice gun on the market fast,accurate,durable,sweet lookin wit a drop. All i have to say if u get it keep it in good shape and def get a tapeworm and dont use CO2 itl screw it up and i forgot to tell about the LPR(Low Pressure Regulator) if u have the money get it it relly cuts down on air usage but if u dont get a tapeworm.

im gona give it a 10 out of 10 cuz it is a very nice gun i love my impulse
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 30th, 2005 at 10:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
2k1 Impulse (Mine)
Marker Setup: 2k1 Impulse
J and J Edge Kit
Eclipse Dart Bolt
Smart Parts LPR
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vision or WAS
Barrel
Bolt
LPR
Strengths: Fast, Light, Accurate, not as tall as people say
Weaknesses: If you get a hori max flo the for grip is really small
Review: I got to test one of these babies the other day at a field in Denver.

The new 2k3's are sweet. It was very smooth with the new bolt, and vision board he had in there.

It also ripped!. I could easily rip 15 bps with no chops due to the fact that there was an eye.

The accuracy of this marker is unparralleled. It can shoot a consistent ball, even with paint that is too small of bore for the barrel.

It has two ball detents which helps prevent rolls outs.

Lets break it down a little better now:

Feel:
I love the feel of them. Unlike what most people say, I don't find these to be heavier than a cocker. I don't even find the 2k3 to be a very tall marker in general.
Just that small fore grip.

Accuracy:
Great, I could shoot darts with it.

Performance:
Didn't ever chop a single ball. Absolutely rips. No shoot down.
Conclusion: It's amazing for a out of the box setup. If you throw some after market parts up on it. It performs with most anything out there. I give it a 9 because it's great, but to get it amazing you have to put some money behind it(like the one I shot).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Deadgunuser Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Timmys, Angels, Tippys, Spiders, Pretty much everything
Marker Setup: Impulse Vision, I-Frame, Freak Kit, Manifold Max-Flo, No Rise Feed, Smart parts LPR kit, Voodoo bolt, About to get a black heart board, Halo Hopper, NDZ Magnettic Trigger (similiar to the blade trigger, but faster)
Recommended
Upgrades:
All the above
Strengths: Unbreakable, Fast, Accurate, Quite for what it is, Efficeint
Weaknesses: Heavy (but i like it), Ugly (but its cheap), Stock Trigger=poop
Review: Ive been playing since i was 8, this was before electronic markers. My first gun was a brass eagle, what a piece of junk, then i got a JT 5.0, my first electronic marker, man that was fast but man did it chop paint (metal bolt with heavy springs) also very innaccurate, but hey it was based off the spyder design and it was cheap so i didnt care. Then i started to wonder about the pros so five years after i got the JT i got an impulse, used of course, im a real paintballer i cant afford new guns im spending all my money on accurate paint, well i got ripped off, 350 dollars for a ugly gun with an ans jackhammer 2 lpr, old single trigger I-Frame, no vision, a CO2 tank with an anti-siphon tube (which i still have) and a freak Barrel (wich i still have). This gun was faster than my JT, but it had an amber light board, it broke of course, it was so old but i didnt know that i just thought that smart parts didnt know what they were doing. I swore never again to buy anything smartparts. Well a few years ago i so a kid playing with a tricked out impulse, he was keeping up with my timmy, So after the game i asked him about his gun, and after a short conversation he asked me if i wanted to buy it, i asked how much and he said 350 dollars, well i did, i sold my timmy, got some extra money and i still use that impulse today it has a WAS board on it now but im getting ready to geta black heart board (for resale value), this gun has never broken down on me, i think ive lubed it maybe only four times in the three years of owning it, and it works great, for the money its the best gun you can buy, but then again, smart parts has discontinued the impluse and instead are making the crappy ION=poop, if you can get a tricked out impulse get it, you wont be dissapointed, my gun on its current setup can do about 23-25 ball a second, on semi only too, thats fast imagine it with ramping, and the gun is very effiecient, i dont recommend using CO2 but if you have to which i sometimes do, my 24 ounce tank will last a whole case of paint, thats crazy now i am getting ready to get either a hybrid traitor series shocker or a ANS GX-E so we will see how that goes to
Conclusion: If you can find someone who will sell you there tricked out impulse buy it (as long as its for a reasonable price) but definitely don't buy a base impulse ever, especially because smart parts doesn't make them anymore thus making harder to find upgrades
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media