paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse

Smart Parts Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse
[ View Photos (91) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 640
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Impulse is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. It has a new lightweight vertical feed body, improved fire rate and integrated on/off switch. The Impulse also features our Max-Flo regulator that works on compressed air or CO2 and includes a Progressive rifled barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Dphily3 Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black Impulse
Egg
3000 psi
New designs trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vision
Trigger
Bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Slow
Price
Wieght
Trigger
Bolt
No eyes
durability
Review: I would recomend this gun for a beginner, but not for a experienced player. It slows you down and it brakes easily. It teaches you how to play and where to move because during the game you are not worried about how fast you are shooting. You are worried about where you are and how you can move up.
Conclusion: It isn't for advanced players.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PntbllnPsycho Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech Timmy, Dark IR3, Rat impulse, Shocker, and other assorted low-end electros
Marker Setup: Green/Ghost Flame Impulse
Vert Maxflo
12in SS freak
Custom Green Kapp Drop Zone 2
Custom Green I-Frame
Dye Clear grip pannels
Demonic Devil Tongue Titanium trigger
'99 Revy (ye olde skool hehe)
(2) 20oz on/off anti-siphon tanks
..::on the drawing board- 5in Custom Green freak::..
Recommended
Upgrades:
all you need is a good loader, and a nice barrel system. the rest is all up to you. you like the hyperball, get a new trig. and a vision. you like the woods, get a Genisis board and camo duct tape.
Strengths: Very fast outa the box
decent barrel outa the box
Awesome array of aftermarket parts!!
Weaknesses: Definately heavier than a fly angel or a spyder
THE FRICKIN FEED NECK IS WEAK!!
Review: I have put some serious cash into my gun, and I'm not done yet. ~~OUT OF THE BOX: I was very impressed with the looks of the gun. The curves and the flow of the body are subtle yet pleasing to the eyes. The trigger was a bit sloppy, but I could still rip on it. The barrel is by far the best "stock" barrel on any gun. Smart Parts actually sells this barrel as an aftermarket barrel for other guns. ~~UPGRADES: The first thing you want to get with any electro is a new loader and second, a new barrel. If you get a stock impulse without Vision, the stock board is capped out at 13.7 BPS. This insures that a 12v revy with fresh batteries and paddles that dont rub on the shell will be sufficent for the impulse. The vision board is capped at 18 BPS. I personally believe that egg's suck, so get a halo or dont shoot over 13 BPS. As for a new barrel, dont waste your time and money on a single barrel. If you have the money get a freak, if you dont have the money, get a second job. It is that important! I always read reviews were people say "the gun is in/accurate"and i laugh to myself. Accuracy comes from matching the paint to the barrel. I can honestly say, if the back player shows me the finger, I will shoot it. ~~FEED NECK: Be very careful about diving w/ your Impulse. The stock feed necks are the only design flaw on this gun. I would recomend getting an aftermarket feed neck for it. I slid into a bunker and tapped my barrel on the bunker and my full revy flew off the gun...with my feed neck. After that happens, stripping the threads on the body and the neck, there are two ways to fix it. 1) New body and new feed neck. or 2) Weld that sucker into place.
Conclusion: For the money, this is an excellent gun for rec/tourny players. For $300 you get a spyder AMG, for $400 and some change you are ready to sling paint like the pros! I played in the 2002 World Cup with my Impulse (xcept I didnt have the I-Frame) and played back (with my '99 12v revy) and never chopped a ball! In fact in the 2 1/2 years I have had it, I have chopped 11 balls, I keep track. The Impulse performs like an Angel, costs about the same as a tricked out spyder, and needs as much maintence as a Tippmann...hardly any! I love Imps!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diablo60 Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 2k5 Impulse no vision
Full freak kit
Pure energy 72/3000 tank
2k5 Evo II (cut 1" off feedneck)
Trinity t-lock low rise feedneck
CP 2.5' lightning drop forward
Smart Parts voodoo bolt
New Designz blade trigger
Vertical Maxflo
Black Micro-line kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Defiantly a low rise feedneck
Get a vision, helps when you get into a 4on1 fire fight
Trigger
New board would help out too
Strengths: See review....
Weaknesses: See review....
Review: STRENGTHS:
Not too bad out of the box
Shoots pretty smooth
Easy to turn on and off

WEAKNESSES:
Trigger is sloppy, but not too bad
The no vision thing for me kinda sucks
Feedneck is way too tall

All in all, i love this marker! Just the few aftermarket parts i bought made a difference. The blade trigger helped a lot, it shoots faster you just need a hopper to keep up. I chopped an inch off the Evo II feedneck and got a low ride t-lock, the hopper sit's low and looks a hell of a lot better.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker for anyone. If you like to tinker around with a marker, this is the one for you. I do highly recommend upgrades for this marker, it makes a big difference though.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

drummerguy791 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel g7
06 ego
Marker Setup: right now im using my 06 ego (stock)
on the impulse:
new desingn trigger
CP drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
LPR
new bolt
freak barrel
on/off
blackheart board
WARRENTY
trigger
n ne thing that helps with its poor gas effiecency
Strengths: lots of thnigs u can do with it (not that it helps)
NUTHIN ELSE
Weaknesses: effieciency
accuracy
reliability
chops even with eyes
MAINTENANCE
Review: Alright, i first rolled out with this gun n i thought it was great. I got onto the field n the thing cudnt shoot straight for ne thing n i was using nice paint with it also. Not like the cheap wallmart stuff. also i was out gunned horribly. U hav 2 fight to get past 13bps. after like a month, the gun was getting the worst leak problems n i would go 2 get them fixed, play the next week then i get another leak. I changed every o-ring n still nuthin. Ive been playin 4 a while n ive shot all kinds of guns since im a ref and sponsered. Ive played with dm4,5,and 6, an angel g7, an 06 ego, all the protos n alot of timmys so id no wut im talkin about. Even with eyes the gun chops more than a weed wacker with a super charger.
Conclusion: If you are san then ull stay away from this gun. its not worth the money n ull spend more money on fixing it
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Hawaiianbro Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Classic, Spyder E-99, Spyder Flash LCD, 2003 Angel Dark IR3, 2k2 Autococker, 2k3 Ironmen Intimidator
Marker Setup: 2k2 Impy(w/Cricket Board), 5" Drop, 68ci 3k Nitro Duck, Dye Ultralite Barrel, New Designz Delrin Bolt, Planet Eclipse Blade Trigger, Planet Eclipse Ball Detents, Dye Stickies, Evo ll, 68ci 3k Nitro Duck, Dye Invision, Soon to come:, New Designz Ultimate LPR Kit, WAS Equilizer Board, Vertical Max Flo, etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
First off get a new Trigger(blade), Bolt(delrin), Fast Hopper(Evo ll or Halo), LPR(so you can rip on the field), Nitro Tank(if you don't already have one), Barrel(Dye or Freak)
Strengths: Great right out of the box, very upgradable gun(if you buy the stock).
Weaknesses: All your friends will hate you when your not on their team!
Review: I bought a stock 2k2 Impy, and with a little bit of elbow grease and some greens, I turned this baby into a very quick marker. With the new board(WAS) coming out, your Impy will be able to shoot just as fast as the new timmy's. Now back to the Impy. It does have a little kick to it, but that can be easily fixed, by a Nitro system, Delrin Bolt, LPR, and getting the Dwell adjusted right. I had a hard time adjusting the dwell at first, but it gets easier and easier each time. This gun is probably one of the best guns out there, No really!! I'm not just saying that because I love the Impy so much. Let's compare, Bob Long Timmy(now i'm not dissing the Intimidator because they are really cool!), $995, Impy w/ all upgrades needed to shoot and be as accurate as a timmy $750. Now that's an approximate estimation. But you get my point right? The reason why you can do this is because of a new blade trigger, and this new board called a "WAS" Equilizer board, they put it in the new intimidators and now it's available for the impluse!! But the only thing they don't come stock for any of the Impys yet, you have to buy it separatley.
Conclusion: The Impulse is a great gun for beginners to pros. Now, the reason i'm giving it a 9/10 is because Smart Parts could have put a better Trigger on there, and a better Bolt. But out of all the guns i've tested except the Dark IR3 Angel($1295!!), this gun is by far the on the better side!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Favonious Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse, Smart Parts 16'' Progressive Barrel, 3000psi Nitro, Dye sticky grip, Max flo system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts All American Barrel is a positive upgrade for any marker!
Electronic Hopper
Max Flo System
Siphon Line, just in case.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Lightweight (compared to my old TL Plus)
-Weight is balanced nicely
-Never Chops Paint
-Comfortable
-Good Price
-Looks Cool!!!
Weaknesses: The worst part about my Impulse is that the hopper sits really high above the marker, There have been a few times in speedball or hyperball where i've been hit in the hopper because it won't fit behind the bunker.
Review: This Marker is outstanding for the price. It would make a really good intermediate marker for any type of player, woods or hyperball. I recommend using nitro over CO2 but I'd get a siphion line, just in case you play locally, and nobody fills Nitro (it happened to me). This marker does a great job on speedball, woods, and hyperball. it's a tough marker and it's always ready to play. It's an easy marker to maintain as well.
Conclusion: Get the Smart Parts Impulse Today, it is a great marker and well worth the price!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa888 Wednesday, November 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel
shocker
timi
Marker Setup: 2k3 impulse
freak
aff
nd bolt
brass hammer
bob long torpedo
werm stick
70/4500 center flag
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
any u can kind including halo, nitro, bolt,barrel,lpr or tapeworm.
Strengths: lightest trigger
upgradable
fast
nice stock reg
lp system (125-180psi)
Weaknesses: heavey
tall
ugly kinda
expensive to upgrade
sucks stock
bad effiency if setup wrong.
Review: i bought this expecting it to be the coolest thing to ever hit the streets and it didnt. 500 bucks in upgrades later.............is ok i can put about another 500 buck in to it easily. its pretty fast. ok i lied its unbelieveable fast. it breaks down consiterable alot if its not taking care of. if you play your cards right you could havea atop notch paint ball gun exceding any angel(definatly an angel) or matrix(highly dought it) or intimidator(they suck bad) out there. very accurate with a lpr. get a RAT impulse. they have thebest packages out there. low pressure is great i can get mine down to 120 and still have great effiency. i dont like how it works like a syder like most guns outthere. thats why i like matrixs and eblade cockers far better.
Conclusion: pretty cool gun. go and buy it if your low on monney. or just buy a high end impulse like a strange, shockteck or adrenaline impusle. impulses r well biult but ok when they r stock. dont come flaming my post if you dont even have a impy. im giving it a because smartparts is evil and they could of put mor effort in make it better stock
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 26th, 2003 at 3:49 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

matlax Saturday, July 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothings this heavy
Marker Setup: Sp Ion black
Halo b rip drive
crossfire 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
feed neck
tapeworm
remove trigger spring on stock if you're not going to buy a new one.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Low air pressure
Weaknesses: HEAVY!!!!!
stock feed neck
expansion chambers huge
Review: This is my buddy's review he's just using my account:

I started out just borrowing this gun from my friend, obviously I liked it since I bought it.

The good things are that this gun can rip! But in longer games it can be so heavy that your back starts hurting.

The stock barrel is really nice and accurate.

Conclusion: Good gun but there are better
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camodogfighter Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Smart Parts Ion
Diablo Wrath
Marker Setup: 2k3 Impulse w/o vision
stock board
Blade Magnetic Trigger
Max Flow Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a blackheart or a was board
Locking feedneck
Barrel
Bolt
Strengths: Its an electro

Weaknesses: Heavy
Needs eyes
Review: I got this gun from a friend of mine after playing with it Tippmann 98 customs, It was fast compared to what I had played with. It may not stock be able to fire like a DM, PM, or Angle. When I got this gun it had the stock bolt in it and it was really bad on the fragile paint, I upgraded it up to the Strange bolt and it does it better. I had it out at the field I play with and you can see all the new players by the way the eye your gun. Even though mine isnt the best it is still funny. I think this gun is good for the price. You cant really find the Impulse in stores but on Ebay for about 150 or so. If you are looking into getting into speedball and dont like the Ions, and dont want to drop a lot of cash then go for the Impulse
Conclusion: I would say go for it to get one of these. I have only had one problem and that was a gasket was missing from when I cleaned it. But other than that I have never had any problems with my impulse. I give it a 7 for it is not the best gun but it is also not the worst gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

QuiksilverMV Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, Spyders, DMs, PMs, Shockers, Nerves, Timmys, Ion, Cockers
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vision Impulse
Cricket Board
Tape Worm
NDZ Blade Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips
Evil Bolt
Ion Reg
Ion Barrel
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop
12 Volt Revvy
68/30 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
~Vision
~Tapeworm
~Trigger
~Bolt
~Regulator
~Barrel
~Feedneck
Strengths: ~Fast
~Accurate
~Consistent
~Cleaning
~Upgradeable
~LP Operation
Weaknesses: ~Over Priced
~Size
~Stock Bolt
~Stock Trigger
~Stock Feedneck
Review: I had originally tested this gun at my field, a guy forgot his tank at home and my day was pretty much over so he let me play a few games with his impy if I let him use my tank till I had to leave. That is what got me on buying an impy. I recently traded my wrath for an uppy vision impy. I was really happy because it came with all the upgrades I already wanted so I was pretty much set. I took it to my shop got some air, paint and a revvy took a couple shots to make sure it worked and left. I came back home and turned the air on and loaded up and started shooting. I have a stock ion barrel on it and it was really accurate. I shot from 3 distances, 25 feet, 50 feet and about 75 feet. At 25 feet I had out of a whole loader about a 6 inch spread, from about 50 feet I had about an 8 inch spread and 75 was just under a foot. During those test I started ripping, I chopped about 3 shots because I had the eyes off, other than that it doesn't chop at all, and it just flat out shoots ropes. When I took it apart to clean I expected all sorts of parts to disassemble and thought it'd take me about an hour to clean, to my suprise it took about 15 minutes. The ram is one piece unlike most guns, so it probably took about 10 minutes off my cleaning time. The only problems I had and that could have been a problem were the stock bolt, feedneck and trigger (but I didn't have those stock parts so I was fine). It was a little big, they could've cut some more off, but since I'm a big guy I can't stand a small gun so this was a great size for me. The last problem I have is if you buy one their a little over priced, just about $400 for a stock vision, for that price you could get an ion with some ups or a PMR or Mini. Other than that it's a great gun.
Conclusion: Great gun, fast, accurate, consistent, easy to clean and very upgradeable. I plan on keeping this gun for a long while. Get it, definately. 9 out of 10, BUY THIS GUN!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media