paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse / Smart Parts Impulse

Smart Parts Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Impulse
[ View Photos (91) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 640
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Impulse is the best open bolt electropneumatic semi-auto for under $500. It has a new lightweight vertical feed body, improved fire rate and integrated on/off switch. The Impulse also features our Max-Flo regulator that works on compressed air or CO2 and includes a Progressive rifled barrel.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
thend emo Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rat Impulse, Angel IR3, Angel IR3 Dye Ultralite, autocockers, Bob Longs. (Vision Imps
Marker Setup: I have had over 13 markers, but my Imp had main basic addons, like a new trigger, and the tapeworm and such. Althought it had 700 bux put into it, and a CP Classic. The ONE I HAVE IS A VISION IMP. You want to spend the extra $$ on the vision, its 100% worth it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tapeworm
The stock barrel is really nice, but I would recommend a CP Classic, or a Dye Ultralite, also my RAT impulse was really nice with the Freak Kit. Probibly a new trigger, but other then that this baby is ready to be locked and loaded ! An delrin bolt is also nice.
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Reliablity
Durability
(Mine had Vision so that was a REALLY nice key feature)
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bulky
Gas Hog
Vision breaks easily
Review: First off WOW. I have had just about every gun under the sun and this one is by FAR the best for the value. Now adays people go for the ION over the Impulse, but my friend (who fixes guns) has the ION and right out of the box it worked perfectly, until about 3 games later when it started leaking in a few main areas, he coulden't even figure out what was wrong. Anyway I don't like the ION but there are many mixed reviews about that. Now on to the Imuplse!

This gun compairs to my Angel IR3 with a Dye Ultralite! (my other just had the stock barrel). Although the Angel is a bit lighter (more then a bit...) and has a nicer paint job, and a few more key specs, the Impulse had the SAME PERFORMANCE AS AN ANGEL. There are Lexuses and there are Toyotas, same basic idea, one is lugery, the other one is reliablity and more then you need, this one is a Toyota, and also a Hummer mixed ! This thing is a monster. One small scratch the Angel and the value suddenly drops.

The Accuracy


Now this is one of my favorite features, needing to play in both speedball and woodsball. You can shoot 200 balls per second, but that dosen't mean you'll hit anything! So you need accuracy. At about 150 feet away, there was no significant difference between this gun and my Angel. (the Impulse is also about 1,000 $ less then the Angel in its prime days).........Anyway back to the review. At about 150 feet away, the ball moved about 7-12 inches each stroke, although sometimes it would be more narrow, sometimes it would be a little less accurate, depending on the pressure setting. All I can say is I won a LOT of games useing that Impulse.

Compariables?---Angels---Bob Longs---Autocockers---


Speed

I thought it was really handy how the gun actually shoots faster with the Vision on! Yes thats right, you get more for your money. I would recommend adjusting the trigger (lighter pull) and getting a new, sleeker triggers for this bad boy. Once you adjust a few things, its AS FAST AS YOUR FINGERS CAN PULL, and thats really your only set back.


Reliablity


Smart Parts has made some great guns, but this thing is like a tank. (read the durability section below.) the reliablity is incredible, and you can hit this thing on a rock and it won't have an issue, you can use it for 3 or 4 years, and it still works like the day you got it.

Durability:

This gun is made to get down in dirty for tournament play. Mine was not easily scratched (it had some odd red paint job, not the regular black). Also I have fallen so many times, and this gun keeps on going. You now don't have to worry about hurting your gun by running into that bunker to fast!
Conclusion: This gun is great value, will last a life time, and is good for just about everything. I'm giving it a 9 because it could be a little bit lighter, and less bulky, also its a gas hog. I'm also giving it a 9 because it beats my Angel, and shoots better then guns worth well into the $1,000 range. (I have 9 of them!)

Good Job Smart Parts !

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mdew Saturday, December 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion/dm4
Marker Setup: 2005 black impulse
-q lock feedneck
-ndz magno blade trigger
-tape worm
-14in all american barrel
-halo b
-68/45 crossfire

-soon to come---W.A.S
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo
-feedneck
-tape worm
-trigger
Strengths: Easy to clean
Always works
Fast
Accuracy
Efficiency
Great reg
No breaks
Weaknesses: Heavy
Tall
Review: I bought this gun after a couple of months of searching on the Internet, talking to people that haved own an impulse, and testing it out. For me all factors played a role in my decision on buying this marker. (i suggest you doing this with whatever gun you buy...you should never buy something right off the bat cuz you might kick your self later)
After owning the Impluse for a while and have learn its good's and bad's i have found that this marker is far under rated for what it is. most people when they think of an impulse a heavy brick comes to mind and while lighter is better sometimes that 1 ounce lighter doesnt make a difference. now yes the impulse is heavy but for some reason it doesnt brother me. im not going to go an say "lift weights be a man!!" cuz thats just dumb but if you work alot anyways and/or weight doesnt brother you then the whole weight issue is not a problem.....just for the record my impulse is 2.75 lb(which is really good)...my halo is 1.75 lb...and my tank is 2 lb
strength's
-its a good solid gun. it never breaks and always works. when the other guys are playing with there dm's or ego's you can be out there having a ball while they are stressing over there fancying new gun.

-fast. the non-vision impulse is capped at 15 (which is the legal limit at psp or nppl) but if that isn't fast for you then a simple upgraded can get you unlimited bps (W.A.S)

-reg. the max flow reg is still one of the best regs out there and with the new shocker reg begin on all 2k5 impulse's it is really a great reason to buy a new impulse. the reg can use c02 or air but i suggest air (crossfire)

-accuracy. since the impulse runs at about 150 psi (low end guns run at about 850 psi) the accuracy increases 10 fold because there is less pressure on the ball which can cause breakage and/or ball curving. the stock barrel is one of the best stock barrels too but if you want evern better accuracy get an freak kit

-effecincy. the impulse is great on air or co2 getting over 1300 shots off a 20oz tank and over 1400 shots off an 68/45 tank

weakness's

-heavy. as stated in opening paragraph if you are so worry about every ounce that is on a marker then dont get this gun but if your like me and dont care then the weight doesnt matter

-tall. yes the impulse is a very tall marker but if you buy an halo your going to need a short feedneck which lowers the body alot. if you have a 12v stick with a stock feed neck (which will make the gun tall)
Conclusion: overall i love my impulse. when people bash a gun because you didnt spend $1300 on it i like to sit back and laugh and just have a great day at the field and take much pride taking aim for that one kid. ^_^ also the impulse will never chop if you have an halo but if u have an 12v u may chop a little due to the fact that the loader cant feed fast enough. now since the ion has taking over the smart parts maket i will talk about why i think the impulse is a better buy. now yes the impulse cost more but personaly i hate the feel of an ion. i think im going to break it when i dive and not just the shell but the whole gun. Also if anything went wrong with an ion you cant field strip it and fix it with in 10 mins. it would mostlikly take a half hour or an hour because of the way it is made. the impulse on the other hand can be taking apart and put back together within like 5 or less mins. the impulse has been batted tested for years and years and has been improved on over those years and that is why i bought an impulse. this marker will never let you down but do your research and see if this is the gun for you. i know it was for me

viva la impulse

the impluse will never die!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 11:38 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Jay Lawrence Thursday, July 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Impulse is really it's own marker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Pi Drop Forward
Ricochet Apache
10' Braded Hose
Double Trigger
RT
20 Oz. Co2
CP One-Piece Barrel
Strengths: A smaller reg and an aluminum grip frame would be nice.
Weaknesses: Bulky, trigger's too sensitive, isn't very sexy.
Review: I tried this marker when I was at a local paintball field taking pictures one day. It felt pretty good and solid, but I do have a few problems with it. Then again, I also have good things to say about it.

Cons:

Trigger: First off, the trigger is too sensitive to leave it as it is. I've heard of the impulse firing by simply tiping it upwards, or by someone accidentally bumping into it. I won't really rag on about this since the trigger can be adjusted, but it kinda made me wonder when I saw a player accidentally shoot his own hand while puting his barrel cover on.

Bulky: Second, this marker is pretty bulky. The body is built to sit really high, and the reg is too big, in my opinion. The Impulse might be tough for a front-player to use because of it's profile, although a backplayer or mid player would get by well using it.

Looks: Finally, the Impulse isn't the hot rod of paintball, but it isn't the white trash of the sport, either. It looks decent, but it isn't sexy like a Timmy or a Cocker. I get the feeling that it was designed to have a retro look so that it would fit in with both scenario play and speedball. This makes it good for someone who likes tournament play but also enjoys retreating to the woods often, as well.

Pros:

Smooth: This marker shot very smoothly, unleashing ropes of paint without much recoil at all. This factor makes it good for speedball because shooting fast doesn't come at the cost of losing accuracy.

Solid/Tough: One of the first things I noticed after holding the Impulse was the durability. It just felt solid, although it was a little on the heavy side. Then again, a good marker will have SOME extra weight, especially if it is as tough as this. It's not quite as durable as a tippmann marker, but it could still probably take quite a beating.

Quiet: The Impulse is also very quiet. When it was fired, the only thing I could hear was a faint 'tuck' kind of sound, which couldn't even be heard from a distance. This is another thing that makes the Impulse equally good for woods and tourney play. I personally love how quiet it is because I'm not a huge loud noise fan.

--

The Impulse is a great marker, even though it doesn't exactly have a low profile. Then again, one could fix that by buying a smaller reg and, if available, a different body kid. I've seen some impulses without the piece of the body that covers most of the bolt, which decreases its profile but is also probably an expensive job. Also remember to adjust the trigger so that the only thing making it fire is your finger(s) touching it.
Conclusion: A grat gun that is equally good for both scenario play and woodsball. I wouldn't suggest this to a front player, although a back/mid player could do well with it. Remember to adjust that trigger!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartparts368 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
e bladed cocker
ions
Marker Setup: 04 smart parts impulse
vert max flo
NDz pro mag trigger
NDz 15* adapter
shoktech supafly bolt
shoktech long drop forward
Freak barrel kit
SP twister feed neck
VL evolution II
PMI pure energy 72/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
vision
trigger
barrel
feed neck
maybe an LPR
Strengths: Fast
accurate
simple bolt assembly
Weaknesses: Need UPs
heavy
tall
Review: This gun is amazingly accurate. i am a backman and i have never had a problem hitting anyone at the other end of the field. i know it has a lot to do with the freak barrel/supafly bolt but either ay the are necesarry upgrades.
this gun is air efficient too. i have heard a million people say this gun is a gas hog with mine it is the complete opposite. i can get an easy 1500 shots out of my 72/4500 tank which is great. and even if you do have an efficiency problem you can just get an LPR.
this gun is also fast. it is really fast because of my pro mag trigger, but this is also a problem. since the non-vision board is capped at 14 BPS. whoever the hell thought of a capped board must be a geniouse and an jerk. this is geniouse because it gets us all to pay 170 dollars on a vision board so we arent breaking a ball every other shot. (thats right i can BREAK 17 balls per second on this gun) it also makes the jerks because guess what its our money they are stealing. but nevertheless this gun is fast.
this guns bolt assembly is amazingly simple. i can take the bolt out lube it up and put it back in the gun between the games which at my field is unbeleivably short. while being simple they can also be a little bit of a problem if you dont understand how they work. you need to put the bolt back in exactly where you took it out or else it wont go in right. so instead of being ready in the 20 seconds between games 3 games have passed before you find exactly where you took out your bolt.
UPGRADES
you need to upgrade this gun!
if you dont you are absolutly screwed. i was dumb enough to wait to get vision last for my upgrades. your first two upgrades should be a new trigger and a vision board. it is necesary to get these 2 at the same time because the stok trigger is crap but a new one is unnecesary if you dont have vision and the stok one wont keep up if you do have vision and not a new trigger.
second get a new barrel. somthing with special bore sizes because they are worth every penny of it
third get a new feed neck because the stok one is way too high and you will have to sand down you hopper feed neck which is totally unnecesarry,
fourth get a new bolt. the stok bolt is no good you will need a delrin bolt. they are accurate and quet and you wont need to oil it between matxches because they dont need oiling. the only reason you ever need to take out this bolt is to wipe dirt off it
fifth a 15* adapter. some people say they are useless others say they are ugly only one of them is right. they are nt the best looking thing with the vert max flo but they help you grip the gun and you can snap shoot a lot faster.
after that none of it is necesity. you can get a new trigger frame like the OTB frame if you like the 90* trigger frame. you should get an LPR if you are a back amn and you like a lite weight gun. (this may sopund stupid but think about it, more air efficiency the smallerthe tank you need the smaller the tank the lighter the gun) thats really it
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun and you should definately buy one if you are thinkin about getting one. they are great gun and if you have any more questions on them you can just email me the question and ill send you an answer
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

highroller1225 Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO
Marker Setup: 2k4 impulse
stubby bolt
shocktech drop
all-american barrel
egg w/ z board
blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Progressive is weak
New Bolt stock one is heavy
Strengths: Reliable
pretty fast 13bps
Weaknesses: None realy
Review: This is a nice gun if you are just getting into playing tourneys. I would get vision. Get a freak if you are going to play tourneys. Reliable never have to worry a bout it braking down on you. The gun is worth the money. If you have the money i would get a off the break trigger frame.


Conclusion: Great gun i would definetely buy it woth the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dafence Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Amp Reactor (but that really isn't close)
Marker Setup: SM Impulse w/ blade trigger
Evil Driver barrel 14in
HALO B
48cu 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, personally i don't like the 12in progressive because it doesn't have the range
VERY FAST HOPPER
blade trigger (you don't need the magnetic but its a plus)
start using touney grade balls if you are not already
Strengths: Fast
Quite
Accurate
Compact/Small
Cheap (for a high end electro)
Lots of upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy (for some)
High feed neck
Stock Trigger
No Drop forward
Review: First off let me clarify that i am going to give a review as balanced as i can. This gun is very very fast if you get a fast hopper... like a HALO B, Egg, or even a Evolution II. It is a very quite gun and you can sneak up on people when you are playing woods ball or if you are playing speed ball, it won't give your position away. This gun is accurate even with the stock 12in progressive barrel although it doesn't have the distance that i would like it to have. It is a very compact gun besides the fact that it doesn't have a drop forward and even my small 48cu 3000psi tank hits my shoulder if i try to bring it up close for snap shooting. Its a very cheep high end electro (about 450 to 500 without the vision) even though it might be out of younger players price range. Also if you want to make your own "Frankenstein marker" which is totally custom to your liking... its rather easy to do that. Now i know that it is not very heavy for me but also there are people out there who require there markers to be ultra light will be disappointed with the weight of this gun, however, most players will be fine with it. The feed neck on this marker is very high and rather annoying to me because i often get hit on the hopper where as if i had a low to no rise feed neck it wouldn't happen. The stock trigger is hard for me to walk it because it puts my fingers to far apart. Just by a new trigger, they aren't that much. This gun is very easy to break in, i just met somebody who is selling his impulse to buy a car and he was telling me that all he had to do was shoot 500 and it was perfect. Me however, i had to shoot 1000 but that isn't that much when you compare it to a evil pimp for example. They have to shoot 3000-5000 to get it broken in correctly. You also don't want to be shooting anything less than tourney grade, even if you are just going out to play in your friends back yard. Now like i said before you need a fast hopper for this gun. If you have that you will not need a vision system plus you will save money because you won't have waisted 175 for a vision when you could just buy a HALO B for 120.
Conclusion: This is a wonderful wonderful low priced high end electro and can easily keep up with an angel speed, DM5, Matrix, Nerve or any other gun that you can think of as long as you are just as skilled as them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omanboy429 Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
omen
outcast
a-5 RT
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Black impulse
(red) voodoo bolt
brass new desgins hammer pin
68/45 hp tank
new designs on/off drop foreward
halo low rise feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new bolt( the stock one is very heavy and needs lots of oil)
on/off drop foreward
Strengths: VERY accurate
never chops paintballs
very fast
reliable
Very tough
Weaknesses: lots of lubing
Review: Ok first the impulse is AWESOME it never chops even without the eye. it is a great gun. it is affordable at mrsp at 450 dollars. That is a great price for this awesome second level gun.
Another thing that the impusle is great at is shotting fast. I love the trigger it looks like you can shoot it but i can get 15 BPS!!!!!!!!!! although if you get an impulse get a new bolt because the stock bolt is very heavy needs lots of oiling and its scraths the insie of the gun. get a derlin bolt.
Conclusion: GGEEETTT the IMPULSE it is AWESOME it shoots extremly fast and it is extremly accurate IT IS AWESOME
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

EvolutionXCaptn Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Outkast, M3, Bob Long Dragon, Shocker
Marker Setup: 2003 Outkast
Dye Throttle 70/4500
Halo B
Check it sports on/off drop forward
Dye Boomstick

Smart Parts Shocker
Revy 12 Volt
J&J Barrel
Co2

2003 Impulse
Halo B
Progressive Barrel
Co2

System X Base Model
Halo TSA
System X X10 Drop Forward
System X 90/4500

Team Gunz

Looking for an extra player
Recommended
Upgrades:
Equilizer board
LPR
Freak Barrel
Halo B
Compressed air tank
Strengths: Accuracy is with an autococker
air efficiency is the best
Weaknesses: none
Review: I had this gun for about 11 months and it had the best accuracy and definately the best air efficiency i have ever dealt with. after a while i just wanted an autocoker and sold it to a person on my team and it rips he has a halo b on it.
Conclusion: i would definately recommend this gun to anyone just like i said before it has the best air efficiency and the accuracy is crazy. plus if you get the equilizer board u can shoot like 20-25 bps
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 24th, 2004 at 5:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brandon Drontle Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 Angel LCD, Bushmaster 2000 BKO
Marker Setup: 2000 BKO with 12" dye boomstick, dye sticky grips, 12 volt revy, drop forward with 68/3000 psi crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Magno trigger, delrun bolt, dye sticky grips, 12"tear drop barrel
Strengths: Super accurate and pretty fast, especially if you upgrade it.
Weaknesses: You need to upgrade it a little if you buy it stock.
Review: The Impy I tested performed great on compressed air, but terrible in the winter with CO2. Do not use CO2 with this gun unless you have an anti-siphon for it, and even then I don't recommend it! However, on compressed air it worked fine, easily shooting 15bps with great accuracy. However, the hopper was only a 9 volt, and couldn't keep up with the gun. If you buy this gun, I recommend buying a halo B, warp feed, or evolution II. Gun comes with quick release pin, like most tournament guns, for easy cleaning. If you're thinking about upgrading the gun, replacing the stock bolt with a delrun bolt (self-lubricating bolt) is your first priority. The stock bolt isn't anything special. Don't worry about replacing the barrel right away because smart parts makes exceptional barrels.
Conclusion: This is a great gun at a reasonable price. Impulse's are used by many professional paintball teams. My friend paid $400 for his gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

william Wednesday, August 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not similar but i had a spyder TL Plus with co2 and terminator barrel
Marker Setup: Impulse with anti-syphon tank with on/off valve, 20oz can
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tape Worm, new barrel (inside gets worn real easy), new trigger (sloppy), i don't think u need to get vision right off the bat cuz i can easily shoot 13 bps with out breaking 1(I out shot my brothers full auto esprint frame made by kingman, and his shoots 15bps) . new sticky grips cuz the stocks are hard and uncomfortable. and most important is the twister feed, the hopper sits way to high off the marker... like 4 or 5 inches (easy hopper Shots)
Strengths: Shots very fast and is very consistent on hitting the same spot on a target
Weaknesses: need the anti siphon and on/off valve or it f***'s up ur reg
Review: over all this is the best gun you can get on the market for under 500 and if ur lucky under 400. One of the most important things you need to know with this gun is you have to have an on/off valve or your will spend so much money on orings and new reg parts. I love my gun and i am not planning on getting a new one unless she breaks down and will cost to much to fix which wont happen because smart parts has great tech's and help u install and fix things over the phone. I don't understand this whole boycott thing with them... I understand there trying to screw over small companies but they have such great products.
Conclusion: I know this gun is a perfect gun for tourny's right out of the box. if your looking for a high end marker and u cant afford an angle, timmy ( Intimadator), emag or cocker, u should go with the smart parts impulse.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (64):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media