paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan

JT Vortex Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This accessory fits on all current JT goggles, such as the Proteus, Flex 7, IZE, nVADER, and nFORCER.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Menohl Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, never used a Fan before
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 3" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
NcStar 4X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Keeps the lens from fogging
Easy Installation
Easy Operation
Weaknesses: If you are wearing glasses as well, it will not defog your glasses
Review: I recently purchased the JT Elite Headshield (See my review on it for more info) and the only issue i had with it was that if i was running my ass off for awhile and then stopped to bunker in, my mask did fog. I decided to get my hands on the Vortex Fan to see if it could stop this from being an ongoing problem.

When i got the fan i found it was extremely easy to install on the top of my goggles. The unit hides completely under the visor with the exception of the Suck/Blow/Off Switch. I did cut a tiny notch in the side of my visor because when i switched the unit to blow it was pushing in against the visor and would sometimes spring back to the off position.

When i got it onto the field, i found that as long as i turned the fan on just as the game was beginning that it did its job and i never had fogging issues with my mask lens. The only issue i did have that day was with my glasses, because like an idiot i forgot to put in my contacts prior to heading out to play. I did occasionally sweat and fog my glasses, but the vortex fan is not made to defog your glasses, its made to defog your lens. Had i been wearing my contacts i would have had zero problems.

Some people have complained about the noise the fan makes, but after using the fan all day i can honestly say that you get used to the fan really quick and even forget its there after awhile. As for people saying that you will not be able to hear anything when the fan is on, that is complete BULL!!! Unless someone is whispering at you from 30 feet away you will have no problems. Myself and a buddy were bunkered down in a woods course as an ambush point and had zero difficulties communicating in hushed tones.

Update: 2 Months ago i purchased a thermal lens for my mask, so i felt that the fan was no longer neccessary. I quickly noticed that i was wrong. As the temperatures here in my local area spiraled up into the 90's i noticed that although i was not fogging up, the inside of my lens was getting covered in persperation and i was still unable to see. I put the fan back into my mask and set it to pull air out of the goggles and to blow it back over my head. The persperation in my goggles is no longer a problem. So remember even if you get a thermal lens, this fan is still a must have!!!
Conclusion: If you are having fogging issues, GET THIS FAN!!! I would recommend looking on ebay as i got mine there for $30 instead of paying the $60 store price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 8:37 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k2 Vert Feed Cocker
Lapco AutoSpirit & BigShot barrels; Palmer Rock reg; palmer ram; KAPP 3-way; AKA straight pump rod; WDP hinge trigger; MACDEV RED valve; ShockTech Phat hammer; Maddman springs; MACDEV Gladiator inline reg; Paintball Pins Skull grips; CenterFlag 68ci 4500psi tank w/ 5" drop forward; AKA Lightning Bolt w/ Evo style pull pin; KAPP Twisted cocking rod
Strengths: Controls the humidity inside your goggles. Switch is two-way, which controls airflow to the top part of your mask. This is great because the user can direct wind into or out of the goggles, making venting very efficient when you need it most. Since I sweat like a hog, thermal goggles prevent the normal fogging but not the condensation which collects after a few hours of running in the woods or sprinting through the speedball fields. Since wiping down the inside of your lenses is absolutly NOT an option in-game, normal visiblity is impossible when heavy steam builds up. This product saved my a$$ a bunch of times when normally all I could do was wait till the match was done. Recommended.
Weaknesses: Installation is a pain. The actual fan isnt had to install, but the visor that goes on top of the Spectra has weak attaching points which creates headaches for the unaware. And please, please dont be stupid and forget to take this thing off when its time to wash the mask. =P

Noise: Is not much of an issue environmentally (ie. your opponents wont hear the whirring noise) but it could be distracting. I turn it on only when I feel the moisture building up, and turn it off before I make any big moves on the field.
Conclusion: I would recommend this accessory to anyone who sweats alot onfield. Lazy players need not apply, as thermal lenses would do the job of keeping your vision clear since the lazy player doesnt run much anyway. Another nice thing about it is the personal air conditioner aspect. Hanging in the dead zone isnt half bad when I flick the old switch on...catching some air while the dead shoot the breeze. If on a budget, the Cross wind is a similar product (which JT might've phased out, not sure) that a person could look for that does a similar job. The only feature that the xwind lacks is the multi-directional function, not a big deal. In short, its an upgrade that can truly help your game if one of your problems is fog. A great gun and a cool jersey does nothing for you if you cant see where youre running or what youre shooting.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdp72 Wednesday, July 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision Turbine
Marker Setup: Angel Speed, Angel Force 4, RatPulse & Spyder Clone
Strengths: Light weight
Weaknesses: Small fan and somewhat loud noise
Review: I am a heavy sweater, and so my INVISION goggles constantly fog up... So I went on a man-hunt to find the perfect anti-fog goggle system. Prior to this I used a JT Thermal Mask, and that would constantly fog up and so I was pointed to the Invision which does fog considerably less...but any amount of fog would bother me.

So I drive over to ActionVillage and pick this up for $22 after tax and take it home to install on my JT Mask.

I don't know what everyone is talking about with the difficulty in installation. I thought it was a snap, way easier than trying to swap out a lens. It only took me like 5 mins to put on my JT Thermal Mask, and the only reason it took me that long is because I thought there must be something more since everyone was complaining about it.

I put the mask on and wear it outside... The first thing I notice is the fan noise...just loud enough to bother me, but as long a I don't have fog I could live with it. I shoot 1/2 a case at some targets and wear it in 90 degree humid weather...and there was still some fog there. Not much better than my Invision probably would have done.

Conclusion: I think JT has a good idea here, but the fan is just way too small. Not sure why they didn't opt for 2 fans, or at least 1 larger fan. This little sucker is like maybe 1inch in diameter TOPS. It sort of does it's job, but not really...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 at 7:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gungriffin Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i guess thermal lenses and rain-x
Marker Setup: spyder shutter, dye chrome double trigger, freak barrel kit, ans 4 stage expansion chamber, 12v revy
Strengths: wow I have used this on my goggles for nearly 3 months and every time out it has kept everything from fogging up. I now have none of the problems since I put this on. It makes noise but not too much(you can hear it but not to where anyone could pinpoint you where you are) just above a whisper.
Weaknesses: I have yet to find anything wrong with this product exceeds expectations.
Conclusion: I wear glasses an live in georgia. In order to see I must wear my glasses underneath my goggle setup. the problem that I was that my goggles were fogging up due to the humidity. I have a thermal lens so that wasn't a problem but even after using rainx they were still fogging up to the point that I couldn't see. After putting this on my goggle system I have had no problems even durring the summer when the temp and the humidity are extreme. my glasses now have no problems with fogging. If you wear glasses and have a fogging problem then don't hesitate buying it. worth every bit of the 30 dollars i spent on it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Xwind
Marker Setup: Blue custom cocker
Strengths: I wear glasses so a fan is a must.
nice and small
works well
easy 3 minute install (dont know what these other people talking about hard to install. Snap visor off, snap fan on, snap visor on. No biggie.

Weaknesses: Little bit loud, and have noticed that its easy to accidently turn it on like when putting goggles in goggle bag etc.
Conclusion: I will rate the fan an 8 because it is a little loud and the fact that it turns on accidently might leave someone stranded without a battery. Would be better if it used a AA instead so that way its more of a common battery.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowface Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5- Flatline, Double trigger, 68/4500 nitro w/ remote
Strengths: helps a little
Weaknesses: loudness
Review: This thing can be a little hard to put in, depending on what kind of mask you use. It helps a little with fogging overtime but not much, its very loud to the person wearing it and it can get hard to hear, and gives me a headache. The fan really isn't strong enough to get rid of fog but it is strong enough to keep it out for a while.
Conclusion: I don't think its really worth it, it dose help a little but not enough to put up with the noise.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

presbo Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Profiler
Marker Setup: '03 v/cocker
Strengths: The JT mask is a nice mask. Very comfortable.
Weaknesses: The fan doesnt move much air. And makes too much noise.
Review: The fan is very costly and really doesnt do much. The fan fits easy on the mask. But the fan needs to be bigger and better. I wish JT would come out with a BIGGER and better fan for there masks. And maybe a better design. One that would have people that wear glasses and or paly in very hot areas.
Conclusion: I do NOT recommend this fan. Save your money.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPART8N Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: phantom
pgp
pirhana eforce
Strengths: ABSOLUTLY everything.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Every one that ahs given this a bad review are just fanboys of other companies. this fan is AMAZING! it gets rid of fog compleley and its not as loud as others have said. i dont fidn that it decreases ur hearing at all.

Im telling you this is a great fan for your mask....i use a proteus and i NEVER fog up anymore....i promise u NEVER......anyone that says diffenrnt hasnt used it or is a fanboy coming form another company.
Conclusion: Defe\inatly worth the money! helps EXTREMELY. you WILL NOT be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angered Fists Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Xtra with 20 oz CO2 and VL 200 hopper
Strengths: Helps defog your mask
Great for days when a thermal lens just isn't enough
Weaknesses: A bit noisy, but not too big of a deal
Review: Some people may complain that the fan isn't effective enough, or that it is too noisy. All I can say is that I only use it when I need it and it hasn't failed me yet. I don't leave it on full time, because you don't need it al the time. You only really need it when you are starting to fog up. With a thermal lens this should only happen under certain circumstances so you can choose to turn it on briefly, let it do its work then turn it off and continue on your way. I think it works great.
Conclusion: If you have a thermal lens and still have problems with fog, this may be worth the investment. It's not cheap, but seeing properly is worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swimfan144 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 for now.....
Strengths: Convient fan better than lifting goggles which is never good
Weaknesses: loud
blowing air out
fan not super powerful
Review: this fan to me has proven to be an asset to me. I wear a JT Spectra with a SINGLE lens and i hav a fan to go with the mask everytime i feel a little hot i turn on the fan and i can feel the fan blowing air on me espically wen ur sweaty but the fan is not that strong which i dont think is really nessisary. With my single lens in hot sunny weather has not fogged on me even the slightest with my fan on. My thermal lens b4 had fogged a bit b4.
Conclusion: i say if u can get this fan for less than 50 dollars go for it. it does work for me it does anyway from making my single lens from fogging and it keeps u cool at a nice rate.
9 because so far it has prevented me from fogging
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media