paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan

JT Vortex Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This accessory fits on all current JT goggles, such as the Proteus, Flex 7, IZE, nVADER, and nFORCER.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
StormBrigade Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, only fan I've never needed.
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3 /w Storm Trigger
9V Viewloader Hopper
Pure Energy 3000 PSI 68 CI HPA Tank
Walmart Goggles
Strengths: Blows the fog out for good
Weaknesses: Very hard to install, and to change battery
Review: Once I got this fan I was psyched. No more fog. But putting it in was a different story. First to install a battery you have to unscrew 5 screws which doesn't take very long. But then you have to put in on your goggles. (Fits all models). This is where I ran into trouble. Sticking the ends into the air holes was very hard, and tore up my fingers. They recommend using a flat head screwdriver, read this after the fact. I tried it for the first time. Down here in Louisiana where it gets to 95 degrees and 100% humidity I was impressed with its performance. I forgot all about it until I started fogging (That discreet). I turn on a switch near my visor, and whirrrrrr. In less than 20 seconds my fog was gone. I left it on the whole game and didn't have any problems. I went home changed the battery (10 hrs. of continuous use is not bad for battery life). Then put it back on with a screwdriver to help push the prongs in. This still took me about 30 min. to do though.
Conclusion: Pros
No more fog
Discreet
Fits all models
Long battery life

Cons
Expensive $25-$80 (These are the highest and lowest prices I found)
Hard to Install

*Get this fan, I only wish that JT would make it easier to install*
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JohntheBunkerer Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like this before
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Remote Line
20 oz Tank
Red Dot sight
Strengths: Reduces goggle fog.
Comes with batteries.
Weaknesses: Loud.
Review: Pretty good concept from JT. It is a little loud so it's hard to hear what's going on around sometimes. Needs a higher setting to clear fog faster. Generally keeps my mask clear though. It attaches to my mask very easily and it is very easy to keep clean. The on/off button is annoying though because with gloves on and a visor on my mask, it's sometimes hard to locate but that's my own fault. Fits well under visor.
Conclusion: If you sweat like a horse, nothing will really help. This is the best solution that I have seen and heard about. It works well for me. Plus my friends thing it's hardcore to have a fan on my mask. I give it an 8 because it works decently but it's a little too loud and it isn't cheap.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

getupk8 Saturday, October 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I use a JT Excellerator 6.0 with all the stock parts which are excellent and a 14" custom barrel a 12v revy and tons of other great stuff!
Strengths: It cools your head off and clears your goggles.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was so easy to install and it is a great buy. When you are playing and your goggles wont stop fogging up just turn on the fan just like you do in a car and it all goes away. Then if your hot and playing just turn it on and it will circulate cool are within your whole mask.
Conclusion: Buy it because its such a great extra for your gun its awesome and i love it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

codeman24 Wednesday, July 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: 2k3 vert feed cocker and Type x cocker witha green revy w/ xboard and 68/3000 crossfire tank
Strengths: keeps me from foggin up.
Weaknesses: loud expensive Fan its self is small
Review: Well I bought me a Jt Proteus clear mask and i had some fogging issues. So i bought this fan. I heard its not suposed to cool you down or n e thing like that or sing for you. To me it does what exactly it is suposed to do and that is reduce fogging. i like this fan it does what i want it to and i dont have any problems with it. And it is kind of cool to tell people new to the sport i have a fan in my mask.
Conclusion: Personally i think this is a great buy. It is a lil expensive i like the fan idea i just with teh blades were bigger. And all that. The fan out side its self looks pretty kewl and all. And it keeps my lenses on my mask from fogging
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2003 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigshroom714 Thursday, January 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder classic razzor barrel stage 4 lapco expansion chamber lapco drop forward trigger job
Strengths: it definently keeps the fog down i wear glasses and it would be near impossible to play during the summer without it i suggest still getting thermal lenses more you sweat and humidity the little fan just cant handle it
Weaknesses: to loud no one else hears it but it being right ther i have to turn it off sometimes to hear teamates talking
Conclusion: does what its suppose to if you wear glasses definetly get one
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

banditb17 Friday, February 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2- 1 inch computer fans run by a switch and a 9 volt (much better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, flatline, voodoo folding stock
Strengths: Its better than nothing
Weaknesses: small fan, low battery life
Review: It doesnt seem to move enough air. I wear glasses so moving air is essential! Also, there is only 1 small fan, and its on the right side, so you only get your right eye back when it actually does something.

I installed 2 computer fans up there, and glued a switch and put a 9 volt under the elastic strap, wired it all up (made it all waterproof) and it moves air like a dream, fog is nonexistant now!
Conclusion: Its alright, if you dont wear glasses, just get a thermal lens, if you do wear glasses, it will help a bit... but its not worth the money
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spawndawg Sunday, January 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: "14 in JJ barrel
Tippmann E-grip
Rap4 Aluminum blot & hex head front bolt
Maddog springs
Nail for a stiker pin
Strengths: Helps with fogging. Cools down your face.
Weaknesses: Kind of loud. Expencive
Review: If you have an elite full headsheld this is a must have. It really does help with fogging. It has to modes of operation, in & out. It also cools down your face which is a great help for me, because that helmet can get hot. Has a couple of problems though. first: it is kind of loud, but if u put a drop or two of gun oil on the fan it's not as loud. Second: it costs more than the helmet does. My friend got a fan with his JT Spectra headsheald, And he only payed $50 for his helmet. But it's a must have. Works great.
Conclusion: Get the Spectra Headsheld. you get mor for your money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zensins Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used another fan in a mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with LPK, Apex, SP All American 14", Lapco SAW stock, red dot, CP reg.
"Rocky Cagnioni" Warped Sportz IR3, Worrgas 4500 peanut tank, Halo
Eclipse E-Blade 'Cocker, Minicocker w/adds, Tippmann .68 Carbine, 2k Shocker Turbo/SF
Strengths: It works. Defogs your mask no matter what the conditions.
Weaknesses: It's cheap. As in, cheaply made. Out of the box, it IS noisy.
Review: I bought two for the two Proteus Chameleon masks my wife and I are using. Both of them were noisy and cheap-feeling out of the box. However, they do keep your mask clear of fog, which is hard to do in Florida in the summer. Also, the good news is, the noise can be overcome, and the cheap feel/look is misleading. Both fans are still going strong after quite a few games. The other reviews suggest using some gun oil on the motor axle are right on. Doing so cuts the noise in half once it has had some time to penetrate. I used a little WD-40 which worked too.

However, I also took the noise dampening to the next level. A little bit of electrical tape around the back edge and two pieces on the front nodes before replacing the back plate assembly helped a little bit. The big difference came when I shot about a bullet-size lump of silicon caulk into the case so that the rear of the fan motor embedded in it upon reassembly. This cut the noise in half AGAIN once the caulking dried. Be careful not to put too much caulk in so that it gets forced up into the fan blades when you replace the plate assembly. Also try not to clog up the air ports to the casing. It just has to contact the case and the fan motor housing to absorb some of the vibration. With a little oil and the caulk cured completely, this fan is QUIET. Without this attention, the fan still works fine, you just have to use it when you fog up and then turn it back off. Hearing is just too important in woodsball to sacrifice even some of it for defogging. It's important in any game to hear everything loud and clear.

Conclusion: For the money they want for this fan retail, it should be higher quality and much more quiet out of the box. Get one from eBay, tinker with it as explained above, and you should be happy with it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 12th, 2007 at 8:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jimmynz Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Used on JT Proteus 2, and JT Proflex
Strengths: Battery life
2 way operation (sucks and blows air)
Weaknesses: Mounting prongs
Battery casing
Fans come out of alignment
LOUD
Review: The vortex fan has serious problems. I've been using two of them for 4 years and both have had issues since day 1.

Look at the weaknesses in my review, there are some things you need to know...

* Mounting prongs are SEVERELY prone to breakage
* Battery casing prone to breakage
* Battery casing prone to impacts and rough handling
* Fans come out of alignment and cease to operate
* LOUD

The bottom line is, the plastic the fan is made from, and the basic electric internals are far too flimsy and prone to breaking. You don't even have to be rough, the mounting prongs WILL break upon simple removal and attachment of the fan to the top of your mask. The plastic is just too weak. Each fan has 4 prongs, and I've also almost all of the prongs on my 2 fans break off.

The casing itself, since it's the same plastic as the prongs, is too weak and is vulnerable to paintball impacts. take a direct or indirect hit on the fan, and chances are your fan will cease to operate... at least until you can take it apart and try and fix it. This happened twice with one of my fans.

The fans are olso only a couple of millimeters away from the casing, so if they get bumped in the slightest, they will come into contact with the casing and will cease top operate. Usually it's fixable if you remove the fan from the mask and use your finger, but you shouldn't have to do this nonsense in the first place.

The fan is LOUD. It's not loud from a distance, but at 3 inches away from your ear, you can forget about 'listening' for movement. At that distance it's loud to you.
Conclusion: Please bear in mind one thing: Most reviews posted on this product are by users who have only used it for a short time, ie- 6 months or less. I have been using them for 4 years. And my review represents how the fan(s) have performed over that time. (Which is NOT good)

Avoid the Vortex like the black plague. I see JT have a vortex 2, so I suppose you should get that instead. Though I don't know how much they have improved upon these issues, if at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 5:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYSEguy Monday, November 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VL Triad w/After market barrel, 20oz tank, and 2nd hand drop forward
Strengths: Controls the buildup of fog
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: It really does make a difference. I got mine new off of ebay for about $30 including shipping.

I have had awful problems w/my mask fogging up, especially since I like playing woodsball and it seems that the air is more humid and my mask is more prone to fog in the woods than when I'm in the open. I got this and the fogging problem went away. It's a snap (no pun intended) to install, easy to use, and has a low profile. The unit is made of hard plastic, so it can be easy to break one of the tabs that keeps it affixed to your mask. However, there are 4 such tabs, and missing one won't affect the performance in any way.

While the fan cured the fogging problem, it created a new one, albeit less serious, but a problem nevertheless. It is loud. It's not loud in the sense that others can hear you, but it's loud in the sense that you have a tiny motor spinning a fan that is right on top of your head. It' sounds to you that it's as loud as a freight train, but in reality you can only hear the whirr of the motor within a couple of feet. However, because it's so loud to you, it makes it impossible to listen for people moving through the woods and leaf litter, and it makes it difficult to hear the voices of your teammates trying to give you instructions. I found that I would turn it on when starting to fog, then off so I can listen until my mask started to fog up again. Once the shooting starts, it really doesn't matter about the sound, so I then turn it on and leave it on (basically when I don't need to use my ears to try to pinpoint the opfor). I found the noise is louder w/weak batteries, so fully charged AAA batteries helps to mitigate this somewhat.

When you are looking at AAA batteries, look for the highest Milliamperage you can find. I have found that w/my rechargables I use, the ones w/higher M/A seem to spin the fan faster. This not only moves more air through the mask, but because the fan spins a litter faster, it seems to reduce the noise the fan creates. The faster fan overcomes the natural imbalance and "wobble" (vibration) inherent in a spinning object. (ala an out of balance tire which reaches a certain point (speed) where the vibration goes away due to the speed of the spin.)
Conclusion: It is worth it, and the noise factor won't give you away to others, but it also won't allow you to hear the others approaching either. Use it w/fresh batteries and turning it on and off periodically will help control this drawback. It is very good at keeping your mask clear. Even with eyeglasses too.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 29th, 2006 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media