paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan / JT Vortex Fan

JT Vortex Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Vortex Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Vortex Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 45
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This accessory fits on all current JT goggles, such as the Proteus, Flex 7, IZE, nVADER, and nFORCER.
Product Availability 
The JT Vortex Fan is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
mike47 Wednesday, June 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder shutter with a 12 inch dye excel barrel, shocktech quick strip bolt, 32 degrees 6 stage expansion chamber,
Strengths: this fan is great i never have to worry about my goggles fogging up. It is very quite and is not heavy at all. Very easy to install SNAP......SNAP..........SNAP its that easy an it keeps you cool in the hot weather.
Weaknesses: the only bad thing is the people that say it is sooooo hard to install the people that say its hard to install have no idea what they are talking about. Because all your have to do is pop off the visor and snap the fan in than snap the visor back on and your done.
Conclusion: It is the greatest thing to happen to paintball masks I recommend that anybody who plays paintball should get one of these fans WELL WORTH THE MONEY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boltproblems Tuesday, December 11th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Crosswind
Marker Setup: Currently i have no gun worth putting up here. But i have a lot of paintball experance.
Strengths: > Reduces fog tremendously
> Makes mask look high tech ^_^
> Nice cool breeze
> Quiet
Weaknesses: > insanely hard to install
> whirring of fan can become bothersome
Conclusion: A must for people with glasses or people that just want to cool off. I wear glasses when i play and this has changed my whole paintball experance. Only really bad thing, is its really hard to install. But worth the $70-80 dollars if you wear glasses
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mpbojangles Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Its one of a kind...
Marker Setup: Spyder compact deluxe soon to be 2002 VERT FEED COCKER! Woo hoo!
Strengths: Works well when your not sweating like a hog...I've only played with it in the fall and winter...but so far, when your goggles start to fog, this bad boy does it job. Fits on mask perfectly...very small, good for back players who dont move around a whole lot. very good if you have a non thermal mask...with a thermal, im sure it still serves it purpose...and its not loud at all...just a low humming noise.
Weaknesses: makes it a lil hard to hear things going on around you but not bad enough that you cant hear a stick breaking or a shot. hearing is still good.
Conclusion: Great product. Not worth the 60 bucks you gotta pay for the little 2 inch thing...get it for 20 bucks on ebay.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Homemade GoggleFan (CPU/9V battery) - The Vortex is WAY better than the goggle fan I had rigged before.
Strengths: I use glasses, and I've been forced to play most of the time without them because they would fog up INSTANTLY when I started doing any sort of running. Not anymore. The Vortex fan is AMAZING at clearing the fog off of the goggles and my glasses.
I apply an anti-fog wax to my glasses before I go out, and now I dont have any problem with fogging at all.. Its wonderfull to be able to see again :).
Weaknesses: - To change the batteries you have to take the entire fan off of the mask
- Its a little loud
Conclusion: Great purchase. I would Highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3022 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
number of types self made fans from 12V PC fan´s and 9V cell
Marker Setup: Old style PGP (many), ZGP-94 (two), Sterling Bronze (three), P68SC, AGD MiniMag, Kingmann New Hammer, Spyder Compact (two), Crosmann 3357 Spotmarker
Strengths: Easy Installation?
...lightweight, good looking?
Weaknesses: Is loud and trough that makes nothing
It is hard to change battery
Review: I have bought this one used fan in good condition for reasonable prince (8$) from friend who finished with paintball, because I wound testet "Profi-fan" (I have used cheap single lens mask with small PC fan and it works well). I wear glasses so a fan is worth. But this thing makes nothing - lens still fogging, its makes no perceptible difference when the fan is on or off... and its so loud, that person who wearing it can hard get to hear what's going on around.

Maybe others have better experiences... bud my JT Vortex fan goes for nothing. I really know not why all others here are excited with this... but I guess when you have good mask with thermal lenses and you not wear glasses, you simply do not have a need of fan... and this fan looks good on mask and gives you some additional moral support :-).
Conclusion: JT has a good idea here, but the fan is just way too small and weak. And loud. Tiny engine powered with one AAA is not up to do his work, especially when is placed so that so the mask body sightly disturb its air flow.

My recommendation: make our own fan from small 12V PC (Notebook) fan and 9V cell - its not so loud, works sightly better, is much cheaper and you can adapt it better on your mask.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 4th, 2006 at 1:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball_db Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Classic Boblong Intimidator
A+ Ultra Low Rise Vert Feed Clamp
Halo Belt Drive Series
Tomohawk Eye Covers
Delron Bolt
Long Shot Barrel
Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
Crossfire 68/30 Nitrogen System
Strengths: slightly reduces fog.
Weaknesses: Noisy
Breaks easily
Review: I paid $40 for this fan, it is a $40 I wish I wouln't have spent. I bought this before I had my good goggle system that didn't fog up. It was very loud, im not kidding, you can hear this thing across a field on a quiet day. . . I would take it out to clean my goggles after every day of playing. On about the 5th time I used it, one of the parts that holds it in broke off in my goggles. The whole fog reduction thing, you can barely notice a difference. And don't count on it keeping you cool either, theres now way that little fan can do that.
Conclusion: I would not reccomend this product at all
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KillerWale Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Home made set ups
Marker Setup: Autococker
Strengths: solidly built
Weaknesses: Noise, Lack of real air movement
Review: This is a great concept, but Jt just hasn't lived up to its usually high quality standards. The body is sturdily constucted, but I find that the unit just doesn't move enough air to reduce the fog fast enough on my lens. I live in South East Louisiana. The humidity is intense here, so fog in the lense is routine. I started out with a home made fan system using a 9v battery, a toggle switch, and a computer fan. It was much quieter and moved more air. I am disappointed. I'm sorry JT, this product is not good enough, especially for the price. I am giving this product a 3 just because the housing is well built, just change the motor to something quieter, and you may have something.
Conclusion: Build it yourself, its cheaper, and it works better in my opinion.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 9th, 2004 at 8:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

richk Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: -PMI Piranha Pro TS (Added Storm Electronic Trigger, 14" All American barrel, and Ricochet AK Electronic Hopper)
-Sheridan PGP (Added C02 quick change, wrap-around rubber grips, velocity adjuster, quick loader, and new pump handle) held at my side by a cops911.com tactical holster
Strengths: Mildly reduces heat in the mask. Easy to install.
Weaknesses: Noisy.
Review: I bought this hoping it'd really reduce the heat inside the mask, but it only did so mildly. You barely feel a small cool breeze from the fan, which helps, but it simply isn't enough. Luckily it isn't too expensive, and it's super easy to install. It just needs more power though.
Conclusion: Overall, if you have the money to burn go ahead and buy this product. It'll help a little bit. Otherwise your money is better spent on some elbow pads or a new bolt or something.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RuffRyderZilla Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
No other type of fan used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-Dye Ultralite
-CMI Drop Forward
-Response Trigger
Strengths: Entirely concealed by visor
Cools the inside of the mask
Weaknesses: Not strong enough.
Loud.
Too expensive.
Review: My first impression of this fan was: "Wow, I cannot believe I paid $20.00 for this piece of s***." I still cannot believe it after I used it.

I have the JT Proteus II and installed the vortex fan on it. I play woods ball and the fan was a little help. If I wasn't doing anything for a while, I would flip it on and a bunch of cold air would rush to my eyes or forehead but it's just not strong enough. I'm a heavy sweater so it didn't really help at all.

The fan is underneath the visor, therefore it cannot be hit with a paintball and break.

The vortex fan can either take in air and blow it into your face or extract air from the inside of the mask (mainly face mask) and blow it into your forehead (or outside), reducing the humidity.

The weaknesses. It is loud, INSIDE the mask so your hearing level will decrease a little. NOT significantly however you will want to hear everything you can if you play woods. You can hear how loud the fan is by turning it on and placing it on the ground so you can determine how far an enemy can actually hear your mask. The fan is NOT as loud from hearing it outside of the mask than it is from the inside (wearer).

******If you wear glasses and hate when they fog up, get this fan.

It is very expensive though (I got mine for $19.95 however). If you're really desperate to get a fan, go ahead but if you're not, save your money.
Conclusion: The fan is not as bad as it seems. My tone may be downgrading it but if you wear glasses that fog, go buy it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Speed Dustin Monday, January 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Have heard that one other fan exists but have neither seen nor tried it.
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann A-5 with 14" Lapco Big Shot barrel, running off Co2.
Strengths: The concept of the Vortex fan is really nice. You supposedly can switch the fan to have it suck air up and out of the mask, or you can have it so that it blows air into the mask.

It is also low profile, and if you have your visor installed on your mask, the Vortex is nearly completely concealed, protecting it from any direct hits from incoming paintballs.

Weaknesses: One issue with the fan is the noise. It is not very quiet, and even though people ten feet away can no longer hear it, you can clearly hear the buzzing noise it emits, which is somewhat irritating.

Next is it's effectiveness when applied. If you set the fan to blow air into your mask, in effect to cool you down, you really don't feel any air current at all. If you set the fan to suck air out, again, it hardly does so in any way approaching effectiveness.

Last, as others have mentioned, the battery housing is rather horrible. In half of the vortex fans I have tried out, the battery fails to make contact on both the negative and positive sides, and thus the Vortex does not work for lack of power. And since the battery plate operates via a Phillip's head screw, you can't adjust the battery in it's housing mid game. Sometimes the battery does make contact, but it's a weak one, and the fan hardly works at all, which again reduces the Vortex's application in the field to a pointless one.
Conclusion: All that can be said for the Vortex fan is that it has great potential, but bad results. The battery housing needs to be re-evaluated, and then the whole issue with the fan will be eliminated. In order to get an effective fan, you must try out the one you got, and if it doesn't work correctly, exchange it for a new one, and so on, 'til you get on that works. I finally have one that works how it should, albeit the fact that the fan is still a bit weak, but it took me a couple exchanges before I got a good fan.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media