paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest / Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Flurry Industries

Buy Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest

Paintball Vests

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ultraback Tactical Vest incorporates everything into it that you might need on the playing field. It's modular, Special Forces inspired design lets you configure it how you want. Whether you want to wear the packs horizontal or vertical its very easy to switch the setup. You can also add or take away the tank holder attachment if you want to run a remote setup! When playing with friends with these vests you can toss a whole attachment pack to them that they can secure it right onto their vest.
Product Availability 
The Flurry Industries Ultraback Tactical Vest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Creeper Monday, October 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32* 4+1
APP 2 Pod
Redz 4+1
Cobra Vest
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98 with lots of stuff.
Strengths: Pretty much everything. I just played from 9 to 4:30 today, and washed my vest an hour ago, and I can tell you that there are few if any reasons not to buy this vest. I've had the vest for over a month and a half but haven't been able to really field test it out of some backyard skirmishes.
1) It keeps your body and tummy warm. It started at about 45* and went up to 60* and I was comfortable all day.
2) It doesn't move. I flanked this guy, sprinted about 50 yards to their flag, and sprinted another at least 80 along the tape, over hills, back to our flag station. I'm 6'1", 170, and the thing didn't move at all.
3) Reloading is better than any other vest out there. The Ripcord system allows you to take off the velcro without reaching to the end of the strap. It dangles at the opening, pull this and the strap flies open. It is quite easy to put the pod back into the harness because the opening is a sturdy plastic so the opening is always ready.
4) It carries enough. The elastic straps on the pod holders are tough as hell to fit a tube into, you or your teammate will NEVER be able to get it back in. Use it to store a water bottle and your extra 9 oz incase your 20 oz runs out.
5) Play remote? Use the conventional 2-tank-2 setup, or use a four left tank right setup like I do. No remote? Put your pods in at angles for maximum ease of loading. And buy another pod pack so you can carry a total of 6.
6) Stores more than enough. I took a rag, an allen key to strip my gun, an o ring, and chapstick in the chest pocket. Stuff so if something hapenned I wouldn't have to go back to the car. If you have one, use a 2 way radio.
7) Grenade pouches. Use one for a grenade, the other for your barrel plug, sqeegie, etc. The pouches are deep, so anything you can fit.
8) Fully adjustable. It will fit on you no matter what your size is. Probably for 5'7" and upward. If you are a really big guy, don't worry, it still should fit you.
9) Sooooo durable. I don't think it can break. The velcro seems indestructable (can people make better velcro than anyone else???)
10) MASK CLIP! Wow, you don't know how great this is until you try it. You will never have to wear your mask ontop of your head and get it all fogged up. And never forget it either. It is a great piece of equipment.
Weaknesses: 1) A pain to clean. I hand washed it, the foam holds lots of water so its a bit of a pain to dry. However, its easy to hang up (the vest dissambles into a front and back half, and each module comes off).
Conclusion: Even if you've never seen one or used any other harness, get this vest. If you play recball (not only scenarios, this is great for everything) at all, get this vest. Unless you live in really hot areas where this vest can be uncomfortable, get it without hesitation. It is probably my favorite purchase, after my gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ArchAngel17 Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Mom and Pop store harnesses
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
Strengths: This is a great product!!!!
- Completely Adjustable
- Adapts to each type of player (i.e. Remote users, heavy ball users, light haulers)
- Removeable Pod and Remote attachments.
- Many different ways to arrange pods!
- Extremely durable and light (without full pods)
- Many compartments
- Looks tough!!
- Prevents welts
Weaknesses: Deflects hits so good, sometimes I don't know I'm hit. Ref needs to call me out!
Conclusion: I recommend this for weekend warriors like myself where parking is far from the field and security sucks. A friend got his car broken into at a paintball park and his wallet, sunglasses and cell phone were taken. I put my wallet, keys and personal stuff in my Ultraback vest and don't worry about a thing! Paint doesn't seap into compartments and paint wipes off pretty easy too!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jdragon Thursday, December 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Autococker 2k2 with quite a few upgrades
Strengths: The vest fits nice in my body.
There is no bouncing pods or tank in my back.
Nice to run with a remote.
Perfect for close combat situation.
You get bounces from paintball instead of breaks.
Looks Awesome ( like some people say Swat-team-ish ).
Can carry up to 6 pods of 100 or 140 rounds.
Excellent built to Last Forever.
Weaknesses: People get jealous because they do not have one, and they only have dreamed of it.
Conclusion: Protects you very well from Stupid people who like to shoot at close range .So if you get shot at point blank range, you will not feel a thing. Makes me feel more protected in the field therefore makes me more aggressive player, so i rush more, bunker more, and get more people marked which equal MORE FUN!!!!!! I will give it a 10 because IT IS THE BEST compare to other harness or vest.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sniper111387 Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 sniper with extension and sight with flurry tactical vest
Strengths: Great fit
Awesome mobility
Neat interchangable system
not bulky
great feel
Good price
Weaknesses: none
Review: My props to flurry industries for their awesome vest and products. Even has padding if some one on the field has cranked up their velocity in which it will reduce the pain. I have used it for about a year now and i feel that this vest is great. Sometimes i where it and not even know i had it on. It is so versatile in its configurations that i have no problem finding one that will work for me.
Conclusion: Great vest for any player at any level. Good price for what you are getting. I think more people should get this vest.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gein Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A camelback, if you can even compare the two.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C with a 16" barrel, Response Trigger, Expansion Chamber, New Front Bolt and Power Tube.
Remote Line that hooks to a 47cu 3000psi tank.
Or 114cu tank if I feel the need to show off.
Strengths: Sturdy
Places to put nearly everything
Pod and tank set-up personally configureable
Fits great
Weaknesses: No zipper in the middle
Review: Good-
This vest is a great buy for those looking to find a way to carry all of the things they'll need for recball or scenario games. I even use it when I play speedball, mainly because of the remote line and pods. It provides me with great flexibility when I play speedball and any sort of game when I need to lean out of bunkers and slide into safety. It also fits snugly on me. I'm 6'1, 180(ish) pounds and this vest fits me near perfectly. I can load it down with tools, grenades, rags, comm gear, maps, my air source, pods filled with paint and it'll feel as natural as if it were empty. It also stays in place when I run, slide, crawl, sneak, and eat despite it being stuffed like a pizza crust.
Considering that I'm left-handed, I just use the mask clip to hold my gun in-between games, or when I need to climb over something. That way I can hold my much lighter mask or use both hands to avoid falling.
I washed this vest last night, on the delicate cycle and dried it in the no heat/fluff setting.
All of the paint came out and the vest is still in perfect condition.

Bad-
Sometimes the vest gets a bit warm because of the foam lining. However, I'm not going to remove it considering the vest is being borrowed from a friend. I'd also like a zipper on the front like a jacket, but I can't complain too loud because my wallet can only speak so loud.
Conclusion: Overall this vest is great for what I need it for and I'll be sad to see it go back to it's owner. It is a great first time vest to learn with and allows you to get used to the concept of using a vest properly. It also will provide you with a great back-up or loaner to others on your team if you decide to upgrade to a more advanced vest.
Overall I recommend this to anyone that is considering a vest.

It's not perfect, but again, I can't complain too loud.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 9th, 2004 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fridaddy Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various tourney style setups. Military LBE/782 gear.
Marker Setup: AIM Customcocker "Eagle 21" Freak Barrel system, 3A 68/45K tank.
Pre '99 Bob Long 'cocker with AA air system
Paintballstuff.Com Sidekick pistol in a Copps911 drop down holster
PT Extreme w/ tank adapter and hopper adapter (when I general a scenario)
ACI F-4 setup as a M-4 for LE training.
Strengths: Looks badass. Holds everything you will need.
Weaknesses: Hot (take out the foam) needs belt loops.
Review: OK my background first. Been playing for 17 years. Capt of Teamlockdown.com. Full time Deputy Sheriff, prior Narc Task Force Medic.

This is a great "assault vest" Carries almost everything you will need. When I step onto the field people notice it. A prior poster said pros and adv. players will laugh at you, well I been around and I use it for rec/scenario play. Close hit dont hurt and some even bounce. The front pockets are great for ten round stock class tubes for my pistol and will fit grenades nicely. The upper I can fit a notebook and pen, maps, small tools whatever.

I have done some mods. Added four belt loops so I can attach a belt for my pistol/12 grams holder and so on. Added a radio holder on my left shoulder. Put my name and team name on the front and back.

I would add a hydration system (available in the new version) and longer Velcro straps.
Conclusion: This is a great vest. The cloth is much softer and pliable than other makes of paintball vest. It also is less bulky than others. Grest for any recball player or scenario player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

erikb_02809 Thursday, January 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
generic 4+1's
Marker Setup: model98 custom w/10"j&j ceramic, rockect cocker, tippman expansion chamber, cheesey $14 walmart scope
Strengths: just about everythings good. I still haven't got the new pod holders, and the old stle pod holders were really my only complete about the product. Doesn't bounce, protects you from knuckleheads who shoot from2 feet away with their velocity turned up all the way, plenty of extra pockets. looks badass. I just strated playing woodsball with a new group, and just about everyone seemed pretty impressed.
Weaknesses: the old style pod holders suck, but they've fixed that. I still gotta get them. Bright red logo sux, but they've fixed that too. Slightly warm in the summer. thats about it.
Conclusion: Great product. I lile it a whole lot and consider it to be one of the best paintball purchases I've ever made
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Interceptor911 Sunday, November 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
muliple set ups
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash LCD with SS Lapco Bigshot, Ricochet 2k, 68ci 3000psi tank..
Strengths: This is an update on my original report. I have used this thing for around a year now, and I still love it. I got the new style pod holders, and they rock. Theey are just want I wanted them to be, and that corrected my only real complaint with the system. I have since added a Camel Back for those all day senario games, I just stiched velcro on the back of it, and slap it on the back of the vest. I use smaller strips of velcro to run the tube over my shoulder. It works great. The mask strap is a great addition, and the radio pouch is perfect.
Weaknesses: nothing from my end. Yes the vest gets alittle warm in the summer, but hell, what doesn't? if it is 100 degrees out side, it's not going to matter what you are wearing. It seems that the company has corrected the complaints that people had with the red logo and the tube holders.
Conclusion: This is an excellent vest from a company with excellent customer service. For the woods and senario gamers, or even law enforcement and military, check out this vest. you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DarthAlan Thursday, July 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees 4+1
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
polished internals
CMI R-2000 Regualtor with gauge
6 stage expansion chamber
Psycho Balistics Pro drop Foward with gauge
CO2 4, 12, & 20 ounces
Strengths: 1.Pods dont bounce around.
2.Keeps the wearer slender. I was able to hide behind a 1' wide tree while I was being shot at. NO hits.
3.I've got shot about 6 times in the vest, and only one ball has broke.
4.I can fit my needed stuff in the pockets (allen wrenches)
5.Can put a straight shot in the back (between your back and vest)
6.The mask holder comes in handy when you are lugging gear to you playing destination.
Weaknesses: 1.Get laughed at for having body armor.
2.Not accepted at all fields, or tourneys
3.Heavy. Makes you feel slow.
4.Really, extremely hot. This is the worst part of the vest. It's unwearable because of the heat. Don't buy this unless you play in the winter, or live in Antartica.
Conclusion: Great, if the weather is cold. Pods don't move. Prevents breaks. Too hot for me, and I'm used to my apartment being about 90 degrees during the day. Good deal at $55, but I'm already looking for something that doesn't cover the whole upper body.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing similar to this.
Marker Setup: I have a Black M98 custom, 13" Armson Stealth, Lapco foregrip. Lapco side bolt, double trigger, and Dye Invision Mask
Strengths: It is comfortable and fits well. The straps adjust to almost any size and the modifications that can be made are amazing. It has enough pockets to hold most of the items you need. It is well padded for new players who can't stand the hit.
Weaknesses: Nothing, except that you can't find it in any local stores and has to be ordered over the internet.
Conclusion: This is a great product for someone who doesn't want the usual 2+1 or 4+1or other similar items. It is easy to move in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media